What has changed?

I strongly believe the players just don't care. They don't care because since the Tippett affair and the non removal of anyone responsible, we have the ever growing perception of having a very soft underbelly.

We don't drop senior players - they worked this out last year with Reilly going out of the side and coming straight back in.

They have this feeling of being safe in the team as it's easier to get into than out of. I hope as many as 17 or 18 players thus week are walking in egg shells with the thought they could get dropped. But some hoe, I don't think they will. We will only make 1 or 2 changes and we will make Grigg a scapegoat again.

Once you are in this team and be one an established member, you are safe.

We need a major shake up from top to bottom and inside and our. That way, the only player who feel safe are the really elite ones.

Therefore - the think that has changed is that feeling of being safe. They feel safe for their spot in the side. In 2012, only 5 or 6 players felt safe. Now, it's as many as 17 or 18 each week.

I strongly believe the players just don't care. They don't care because since the Tippett affair and the non removal of anyone responsible, we have the ever growing perception of having a very soft underbelly.

We don't drop senior players - they worked this out last year with Reilly going out of the side and coming straight back in.

They have this feeling of being safe in the team as it's easier to get into than out of. I hope as many as 17 or 18 players thus week are walking in egg shells with the thought they could get dropped. But some hoe, I don't think they will. We will only make 1 or 2 changes and we will make Grigg a scapegoat again.

Once you are in this team and be one an established member, you are safe.

We need a major shake up from top to bottom and inside and our. That way, the only player who feel safe are the really elite ones.

Therefore - the think that has changed is that feeling of being safe. They feel safe for their spot in the side. In 2012, only 5 or 6 players felt safe. Now, it's as many as 17 or 18 each week.

Yep. I was going to example Hinkley but I'm sick of the way that mob seemingly has its **** together.

I would take a fully fit Tippett over JJ every day of the week.

If Tippett is at the contest, then he is a beast. However, after leaving our club he's not exactly set pb's in consecutive games played. Jj is a bit weaker in the air and in competitive nature, but he is a more natural athlete. He could play the tall winger, ala richo, and use his pace, height and fitness and be almost unmatchable. I'm comfortable with jj. I wouldn't get with Tippett at $900k.

A big difference between 2012 & 2014 is that we used to play on quickly to give our forwards use of the ball before the opposition could flood back.

Now our ball movement is too slow. No issue when trying to slowdown because other team has run on or players stuffed but should not be the norm.

Hence we have gone from being one of the most exciting teams to most frustratingly boring!

Watching the difference between us in 2012 (particularly the flogging of carlton and geelong) and us last weekend is astonding. No passion, no heart, poor gameplan. We have gone so far backwards it's not funny.
full of confidence in 2012.

anybody think our reaming at the hand of the umpires in the Prelim is also a factor? I know I felt as strongly as ever that the AFL didn't want to allow us to win anything, ever again.

A big difference between 2012 & 2014 is that we used to play on quickly to give our forwards use of the ball before the opposition could flood back.

Now our ball movement is too slow. No issue when trying to slowdown because other team has run on or players stuffed but should not be the norm.

Hence we have gone from being one of the most exciting teams to most frustratingly boring!
thing is, we have to wait for our forwards to get back too o_O

full of confidence in 2012.

anybody think our reaming at the hand of the umpires in the Prelim is also a factor? I know I felt as strongly as ever that the AFL didn't want to allow us to win anything, ever again.
If the players are playing crap because of 2012 finals umpiring - delist them now!

We lost our only coach with a coaching brain. They plan poorly and adjust when under the pressure of the game even worse. I simply don't rate any of our coaches at all. Duds.

I reckon Paul Roos won the game the other night before it happened.

We'll only win games where the opposition has clearly less talent.

thing is, we have to wait for our forwards to get back too o_O
No our poor ball users can't use missing forwards as an excuse. That is pathetic! Kicking the high ball to Eddie 1 on 3 should never be encouraged regardless of personnel.

Anyone see the Fox footy segment with David King

He highlighted Sando in his review using the word lazy to describe players

He then showed footage of Vince in the back pocket at a throw up and in the next minute of play being in the forward pocket ........King then showed behing the goals footage of 3 Adelaide midfielders still in the midfield whilst Vince was in the forward pocket

Dangerfield
Thompson
Jacobs

Good offensively ......bad defensively

Sloane & Douglas show the way in two way running .......too much focus on Reilly & co when the real heat needs to be on the team stars
But yeah bernie was always the lazy one....

Anyone see the Fox footy segment with David King

He highlighted Sando in his review using the word lazy to describe players

He then showed footage of Vince in the back pocket at a throw up and in the next minute of play being in the forward pocket ........King then showed behing the goals footage of 3 Adelaide midfielders still in the midfield whilst Vince was in the forward pocket

Dangerfield
Thompson
Jacobs

Good offensively ......bad defensively

Sloane & Douglas show the way in two way running .......too much focus on Reilly & co when the real heat needs to be on the team stars

Whilst I understand the significance of that, there are a couple of things to consider;

1. It's an isolated example.
2. Jacobs has always been overworked by design or personal choice in the ruck. I remember when both Tippett and tex were playing in 2012 he was taking boundary throw ins in the fwd pocket with Tippett and tex in the vicinity. Ffs mate, take a breather a kick and a half behind the play.
3. Thommo ambles backwards at the best of times. He has no leg speed, so when he pushes back it's too late.
4. Danger gives his all, but if he's not working back hard enough then he should have radars hbf. Let him feel the pain of an unaccountable midfield.

When decision mAking is poor & leads to plenty of turnovers - easy for players to look lazy chasing the other way.

I was more disappointed with our players running hard to provide a leading option when we had possession which was part of the reason why our ball movement was slow.

Good stuff splat. How do we rate for marks I50?

Our game has certainly lost the ability to break away from contests. Most other teams can pressure us right up so that we are stumbling over the ball, fighting each other, losing our structure/set-up,and worst of all when we do take possession we so often only have the option of scrubby blind kicks which may or may not clear the pack and are mostly cleared by the opposition. We 'use up so many petrol tickets' (Ha! sorry) this way. Conversely we are unable to apply the same contest pressure to other teams. This is a real problem and I smell disenchantment.

We sit 8th for marks inside skooby.

But only port, hawth, cats, collinwood have a major advantage.

JJ ninth in the comp, and Pods 14TH.

So not too bad there.

Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk

we seem to bring the ball into the corridor a lot earlier, almost between half back and full back it seems, in 2012 we were bringing it back in just back from wing.

1. Our players were relishing playing with freedom after Craig's strict regime

2. Tippett/Walker combo was a seriously potent forward line

3. It was a very, very weak year. The standard of football was low. Since then every team has improved while Crowa went backwards.

The Tippett saga really took all the momentum out of 2012 and we haven't been able to recover. I don't care who's fault it was - it was a giant cluster ****.

Tex Walker pure and simple, a fully fit Tex changes our team from a mid range team into a top eight team capable of beating the good teams. Look at Freo, Hawks 2012.

One thing I noticed in 2012 was that Adelaide were contesting throw-ins/ball-ups from 30m-50m out as if they were right in front of goal, (ie. willing to take the risk on a shot at goal from there.) This occasionally resulted in poor accuracy and was found out in the finals when Sydney did the obvious thing and stuck an extra on the goal line to mark the shots that would have bounced through (I haven't gone back and checked, but I have a suspicion the number of goals stopped in that manner was greater than the final margin in that game.) However, in general it was much more succesful than harmful.

This is most definitely not a feature of 2014 Adelaide.

No Tex, we don't win EF and don't get close in the PF.

Thats true, but we were still sucking early 2013 before Tex went down. If he played out the season we would've got to wear the clown suit in an away EF, but even the great man can't solve the problems keeping us from being a serious football side. Only the broom can wake us out of our stupor.

1. Our players were relishing playing with freedom after Craig's strict regime

2. Tippett/Walker combo was a seriously potent forward line

3. It was a very, very weak year. The standard of football was low. Since then every team has improved while Crowa went backwards.

The Tippett saga really took all the momentum out of 2012 and we haven't been able to recover. I don't care who's fault it was - it was a giant cluster ****.

We were superfit and super disciplined. Sando made it fun and bulked them up a bit, we thrived.