What is the most famous single kick of all-time?

Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Dec 21, 1999
Far North Fitzroy
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Is it Barry Breen's wobbly flag-winning behind in 1966? Perhaps it's Blighty's post-siren torp at Carlton in '76? Or Micky Conlan's against the tide major in the '86 EF? Maybe it's Plugger's groin injury defying roost that put the Swans into the GF of 1996? Or something else?

Your opinions please.

Anyone from SA will remember Billy Barret's goal from the centre of Adelaide Oval which in the words of Ian Day was "A hell of a boot"

[This message has been edited by Spogs (edited 27 October 2000).]

Definitely Barry Breens Premiership winning kick.

For North fans, Malcolm Blight's long roost vs. Carlton, and maybe that behind he kicked whilst running into an open goal
wink.gif
God, I still get nightmares over that one.

The kick that scored a goal within the fisrt 2 seconds of the NSL game.
I'm not sure about the player's name. Damien Mori or something. He was playing for Adelaide City I think
confused.gif

BUT, since we are talkin' PROPER footy here, it would have to be Breens kick. Definately!!

[This message has been edited by CJ (edited 27 October 2000).]

In the interest of the game as a whole, I reckon Locketts point after the siren to point the Swans into the GF in 96.

Maybe Hudson's out of bounds to equal the season goalkicking record?

Blighty's hoof against Carlton was a doozie (bet that in another 20 years time it will be......oh at least a 120m kick
biggrin.gif
)

Cheers

Gonzo

Not a fan of the Pies but Twiggy's kick along with Breen's would have to make it. Suma's miss against the Pies would have to be the worst miss of all time and Lockett's kick was big for the game overall, particularly in Sydney.

Don't forget Neil Cromptons kick (and goal) inthe dying seconds to win the dees the 1964 flag against the Pies.

And, even more famously, in that same game, Ray Gabelich took 5 bounces, running into an open goal to give Collingwood the lead late in the 1964 GF. That is replayed afgain and again and AGAIN on TV. It is often referred to in football matches in the modern era, where are commentators refer to "gabo's run."

Ok so this wasn't a grand final

But I really dont care this is my favourite

Dockers vs Adelaide
Night game i forgot the date

There is a point in it with less a minuet to go.
In Adelaide's forward 50 who should get it but the man widely touted as the best kick of all time.Thats right Darren Jarmen, all he needs is a point to tie the game.Well for some reason (wether it be a mistake or arrogance) he decides to torp it.And then proceeds to watch the ball sail out of bounds on the full.That was the last time the ball was in the crows forward 50 and they lost the game

Gee i love that kick

Originally posted by Dan24:
Don't forget Neil Cromptons kick (and goal) inthe dying seconds to win the dees the 1964 flag against the Pies.

Gee,I didn't realise that Crompton played Football before he drove for Ford Tickford Racing in the V8's.

He doesn't look old enough -lol.

------------------
"The good humour man can only be pushed so far ". -Bart Simpson

1947 GF, I was being conceived at the time when a Carlton player with 8 seconds to go kicked the goal that defeated Essendon by 1 point.

His name will live forever..(what's his name again?)

What a great result that was....oh oh, here they come again. I'm betting Dan24 and Ricey to start with.....

Nice topic for my 500th message.
wink.gif

I don't think it is any surprise that Barry Breen's mongrel punt is chosen by me.

It is remarkable to think that a teenage player like Breen, in his first year (I think) would go on to play 301 games and become the games record holder of the club, yet will forever be remembered for "that kick".

I wouldn't expect some people here to understand, but winning just the one premiership in such a way sometimes feels as good than winning 16.

Strange logic but just adds to the mystique of the St Kilda Football Club.

I'm not expecting anyone to understand that statement either.
wink.gif

The kick from Scotty Cummings at the WACA this year in the game Eagles vs Adelaide for his 14th goal. Even though the kick was terribly wonky, It somehow found the middle of the sticks
smile.gif

Speaking from only the games I have attended point of view...... I have to say Wanganeen's kick in the dying secs of the Bears v Essendon Final at the Gabba in 1996. It hit the post - the crowd roared, more than I can ever remember, on the video you can't hear the commentators or the fianl siren go. It was amazing - I still get goosebumps just thinking about it!

Games I've seen...

Fitzroy v Geelong at PP. Kevin 'Fine Young Cannibal' Caton's kick after the siren to win the game ( hit the post ) after the Lions were 5 goals down.

Fitzroy V Collingwood 1993 - Paul Roos snap with 16 secs. to go to answer Gary Pert's goal.

Fitzroy v Collingwood 1981 First Semi - the balding Lee Murnane's miss in the last seconds that failed to answer Ross Brewer's goal, meant that the Lions lost by ONE POINT. A VERY LONG walk home that night.

Special Mention...

Buckenara's "Jim Stynes" goal - 87.
Tank Conlan's goal - '86
Chris Grant's 'non preferred banana" goal to hand Bombers their only defeat - 00.

What is the most famous single kick of all-time?