hawkfan5

What is it with cheersquads?. As soon as your team starts playing badly they shutup and dont say a thing. I thought it was terrible yesterday that when the Hawks started to play badly and they needed the cheersquad to lift them they were just sitting there and sooking (the cheersquad). It was left to us other supporters to start the Hawthorn chant. And yet when we started it they didnt join in. That caused one Hawks supporter to almost get into a fight with a member of the cheersquad. And what does another cheer squad member do but come in and threaten the guy who was actually cheering!!!. I patted that guy on the back and was yelling at the cheersquad. They were terrible when the Hawks most needed them and should realise that the Hawks need them the most when they are playing badly. So come on cheersquad, get your act together. I am only 15 and I was up on my feet trying to start chants when the Hawks looked down and out!. So come on CHEER SQUAD, get it together. You say you are the most passionate, so SHOW IT!!!!!!!!!!!!.

------------------
Rob's Unofficial Hawthorn Hawks
http://robshawks.virtualave.net

Cheer squads are a great place to be and a good cheer squad HAS to be loud and proud well at least that's our motto with the collingwood cheer squad and we are getting better as we have introduced a lot of singing with our chants,and it has taken off really well with the rest of the squad.

The days of clap clap clap are gone its boring and innefective and pretty old stuff
i would say that if anyone cant see any reason to sing or cheer in a cheer squad they should not be there regardless of whatever the score maybe.
At collingwood we regard it as a great honour to officially represent our club in the cheer squad,its fun its wild its passionate and it certainly isnt a place for tea drinkers.

Before every game we give the squad a pep talk sometimes i do and sometimes alf does
just to remind everyone that the purpose of sitting in a cheer squad is to cheer,and we do the same thing at 3/4 time.

We also have a policy that no matter where we are on the scorebaord at the 25 minute mark of the last quarter we all sing together the club song as a show of unity and love we have for our club.

We already have 12 or 13 different songs and chants we sing at different stages during a match and its bloody great fun.

We also have a weekly newsletter that is given to everyone that sits in our squad and of course we all get involved in banner making and holding the banner on match days.

Cheer squads are good the friendships are endless.

I hope you sort out your problem because there is nothing better than a united cheer squad in action infact its bloody awesome.

------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.
'YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE'http://www.mp3.com/joffa

I was sitting next to that bloke that arked up at the cheer squad ....and he had every right to be pissed off at them....he wanted to help them but the shunned him away...Probably as he was pissed...but thats not a reason to do that sort of stuff they did to the fellow..He was very passionate and one eyed and they ignored him when he was trying to get the fans cheering....look when the C.S are in full voice they are good but i recall alot of times when we need crowd support they go missing...mostly when the game is tight and we are against the run of play.....Bulldogs came back because their supporters gavered voice as their team got a run on....only once did our cheersquad try to drown them out and that was when thommo got K.Oed

Originally posted by hawkfan5:
What is it with cheersquads?. As soon as your team starts playing badly they shutup and dont say a thing. I thought it was terrible yesterday that when the Hawks started to play badly and they needed the cheersquad to lift them they were just sitting there and sooking (the cheersquad). It was left to us other supporters to start the Hawthorn chant. And yet when we started it they didnt join in. That caused one Hawks supporter to almost get into a fight with a member of the cheersquad. And what does another cheer squad member do but come in and threaten the guy who was actually cheering!!!. I patted that guy on the back and was yelling at the cheersquad. They were terrible when the Hawks most needed them and should realise that the Hawks need them the most when they are playing badly. So come on cheersquad, get your act together. I am only 15 and I was up on my feet trying to start chants when the Hawks looked down and out!. So come on CHEER SQUAD, get it together. You say you are the most passionate, so SHOW IT!!!!!!!!!!!!.

I'm a member of the Hawthorn Cheer Squad and i must say it made me pretty shitty yesterday when no-one would cheer when we were down. A friend and I tried countless times to start chants but no-one would join in because they only follow the people that usually start it (and the ones that usually start it are w***ers anyway..which explains why we sit as far away as possible from them)

I understand fully where youre coming from

Joffa, wasn't there some factions in the Collingwood cheersquad? Thats what Eddie Mcguire said anyway....what happened there? There used to be 2 Hawthorn cheer squads too, the official one and a 'rebel cheersquad' they are all together now though i think.

I reckon it's good that cheersquads are starting to sing songs, Collingwood are obviously starting to do it, and i know that Richmond do too.

On the Hawthorn CS, i was at the match yesterday in the pocket and i did notice there was some sort of abuse flying around, but i didn't know what for, it's pretty poor, i hate in-fighting so get your act together!

You should go to Brisbane matches.
I have had the pleasure to sit near both squads,in Brisbane and in Melbourne.
The Brisbane mob, don't need to do a thing, the whole crowd starts a chant.But they should start it when the team is down.Not like it is now.They are quiet for a cheersquad.
As for the Melbourne lot.They have this one lady ( the term is loosely applied ), who yells and screams at people, she says I am the boss, this is my cheersquad.But, they don't chant or make a noise. Its woeful.They even yell abuse at Brisbane players. They should be disbanded like Collingwood was and start afresh I reckon.As for someone thinking they own a cheersquad, thats sad.

Originally posted by collingwood_joffa:
... its fun its wild its passionate and it certainly isnt a place for tea drinkers ...

Ah, well. Looks like my days in the Cheer Squad could be numbered.

Joffa, I am a PASSIONATE tea-drinker. I absolutely LOVE tea. I'm one of those fuddy-duddies who make it with tea-leaves ... in a pot ... and I warm the pot before I put the tea in ... then I add the boiling water ... then I let it stand for 5 minutes ... then I spin the tea-pot around, four times clock-wise and once anti-clockwise ... then I tap the teapot TWICE ... then I spit over my left shoulder ... then I put the milk in the cup ... then I pour the tea ... and BINGO ... a perfect cup of tea.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Originally posted by Joy:
... As for the Melbourne lot.They have this one lady ( the term is loosely applied ), who yells and screams at people, she says I am the boss, this is my cheersquad.But, they don't chant or make a noise. Its woeful ...

Oh no. Don't tell me our ex-president has gone and joined the Melbourne Cheer Squad!!!

[This message has been edited by AlfAndrews (edited 29 April 2001).]

Ah, hawkfan5 and others,

The age-old problem of how to get your supporters chanting when the team's not going so well.

Some advice, for what it's worth. Be patient. But be persistent. Be encouraging. But don't lose the plot and start bawling people out, because that won't work. It will have the opposite effect. A pep-talk is good. But a dummy-spit doesn't work.

I think that people join cheer squads because they really want to cheer, to chant, to go a bit crazy. But they also need leadership because there are not many people who are willing to be the first. That's why you need chant-leaders. People who are willing to run the risk of looking stupid if they start a chant and no-one joins in. And, believe me, it's happened to me PLENTY of times.

We've got this new chant we were trying to get started at the ANZAC Day game and I tried to get it going several times during the day and it fizzled out every time. But I'm just gunna stick with it because I know it's a great chant and it will sound awesome when everyone joins in. But until it catches on I'll just have to cop a bit of embarrassment.

I think Hawthorn Cheer Squad had a bit of a revolution after the failure of the merger talks in 1996 and the old official Squad got the arse and was replaced by the rebel Squad. Then the members of the disbanded official squad joined up with the rebel squad (which was now the official Squad, if you get my drift) and the result was a pretty impressive outfit called the Hawthorn Forever Cheer Squad. Maybe, after 4 or 5 years, the regime has become a bit too "comfortable". Maybe it's nearly time for a shake-up.

That's only a guess, by the way. I interviewed a few members of the Hawthorn Forever Cheer Squad in 1998, but I haven't had any contact with them since ... so, my comments are mere speculation.

I think the Collingwood restructuring came about as a result of the regular bun-fights between the old unofficial squad and the official squad on Nick's Collingwood Page. Members of the two organisations used to regularly hang shit on each other, at matches and on the internet. Eddie McGuire, a regular visiter and poster on Nick's Bulletin Board, decided that this had to stop and The Club intervened to bring the two squads together. There are still a lot of people who have steadfastly refused to join the new squad, so I guess there will always be factions. We ARE Collingwood, after all.

Joffa knows more about the restructuring than me, because he was directly involved in the process. I'd sort of given up on the Cheer Squad, but decided to rejoin when I'd heard that Joffa had joined the official Cheer Squad and had been appointed chant-leader. It was a case of "this I've gotta see." I didn't expect it to work, but so far it has. I've sort of become Joffa's deputy. And anytime I feel that Joffa is slacking off a bit ... or if I feel as if the Cheer Squad is getting a bit down-hearted because the team's not going well ... I just start up a chant. Simple as that. And there's usually enough people who join in to keep the excitement there.

It's really an on-going education process. You've just gotta lead by example and teach people that it's OK to chant and carry on even if your team is losing. Never give up. And remember that The Club is on-going. But a match is here today and gone tomorrow. Win, lose or draw, your club is something to be proud of.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Originally posted by joy:
No the Melboourne based Brisbane Cheersquad.
Your ex president is at North.

Thanks for that, Joy. I'd heard all sorts of rumours about her. Someone told me she'd joined the St.Kilda Cheer Squad.

------------------
**floreat pica**

thats rivetting stuff alf and joffa - the days and times in the collingwood chersquad. you should write a book. "its fun its wild its passionate" hahagh it will be pretty wild next time I see collingwood play and you are getting eggs pegged at you from close range!

is that wild enough, maybe ill pack an air rifle and take pot shots from the stands!!!

thats all the collingwood squad needs to get them back and united!!! Ill be doing the squad a favor.

hhahahahaahhaahah you idiots will cop it. what chant will be used as your getting pelted with eggs! sri lanka copped it at the mcg one-dayers and you will be next,

#19 diego bata suker

Are you still around, Dungheap?

Yeah, that'd be your style. Pot-shots from the stand. You're all class, Dungheap.

But we won't have to worry about you, because by the time we play you again the Hawthorn bubble will have well and truly burst, and front-runners like you will probably be at the lawn bowls.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Dungheap is just jealous
who is bata sucker anyway?? LOL

anyway, u gotta be loud in a cheersquad u gotta have the 'arseh*le' gene in your blood, in that u will stand up and scream and yell even if u look stupid.
Cos once the ball is bounced, normal social rules no longer apply. It doesnt worry me ONE BIT standing up in front of a packed southern stand screaming ym guts out with Joffa. but no way would i do it before the game starts.

Originally posted by SS11:
Dungheap is just jealous

YEAH... ALRIGHT!!!HHAHHAHAHAHHAAH

I WOULDNT GO NEAR SUCH A RABBLE OF UNCONTROLABLE LOSERS UNLESS THERE WAS A POINT TO IT. IE. A FEW EGGS

On Brisbane in Melbourne.
I am glad I ain't with that club.
We are a family of 6, who has sat near them on a few occasions in the last few years.We sit with friends from Brisbane when they play us.
Its embarassing to watch and listen to them.One year that lady in charge, gave my friend a spray because she was wearing a Bears scarf, mind you my friend had on a Lions cap.This women went ballistic at her.My friend said well I am proud of my club.This women just kept yelling at her, about how Bears are scum.My friend said but you have Bears and Lions in your cheersquad, she said " no Bears allowed ". Its my cheersquad.
My friend was gobsmacked.
We have looked at the cheersquad last week, she is right on the no Bears. Also she ain't changed.Going off her tree.
Unsavoury to watch, gives her club a bad name.Maybe she is on a power trip.Who knows.
Next year, I won't be sitting near them.My kids don't need to hear such colourful language, let alone from a lady.Or be abused by her and her friends for supporting our team.

Well... ain't it obvious?
The main problem for the Hawthorn Cheersquad would be that they follow Hawthorn..

must be hard to get excited about the most boring team in the league i suppose...

Maybe they feel silly wearing those ridiculous colors.

Originally posted by dunstall,19:
Originally posted by SS11:
Dungheap is just jealous

YEAH... ALRIGHT!!!HHAHHAHAHAHHAAH

I WOULDNT GO NEAR SUCH A RABBLE OF UNCONTROLABLE LOSERS UNLESS THERE WAS A POINT TO IT. IE. A FEW EGGS

You my friend are a thucking idiot you talk shit and come across as a loser,This topic on cheer squads is top reading and i have really enjoyed it.

You have forgotten one thing my friend cheer squads of all teams are a united lot,if on match day a cheer squad needs help with something the opposing cheer squad will be there in an instant to help out and vice versa....

Your comments just show us all that you really do have a head full of shit and would probably go as far to say that even your own cheer squad (hawthorn) would cringe to read the crap you have posted grow up my friend life is going to be pretty lonely for you.

------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.

Originally posted by Janey:
We are a family of 6, who has sat near them on a few occasions in the last few years.We sit with friends from Brisbane when they play us.
Its embarassing to watch and listen to them.One year that lady in charge, gave my friend a spray because she was wearing a Bears scarf, mind you my friend had on a Lions cap.This women went ballistic at her.My friend said well I am proud of my club.This women just kept yelling at her, about how Bears are scum.My friend said but you have Bears and Lions in your cheersquad, she said " no Bears allowed ". Its my cheersquad.
We have looked at the cheersquad last week, she is right on the no Bears. Also she ain't changed.Going off her tree.
Unsavoury to watch, gives her club a bad name.Maybe she is on a power trip.Who knows.
Next year, I won't be sitting near them.My kids don't need to hear such colourful language, let alone from a lady.Or be abused by her and her friends for supporting our team.

SIMPLE....RING THE BRISBANE FOOTY CLUB !!!

------------------

Originally posted by Janey:

There's this one huge guy, who is totally decked out in Bears gear, that I have seen hanging around with some members of the Lynchmob (I think), at games. Some guy was laying it on him at Geelong last year, but quickly retreated when this huge bloke looked around. I think he's pretty friendly though.

It doesn't really matter what people wear to the games. I certainly don't care if people wear Fitzroy or Bears gear. People relate to a club in many different ways.

As long as people respect the indentities and roles in which each club played to form the Brisbane Lions, and who the club is now.

I think it's important that we remember Fitzroy and the Bears!