What is wrong with Beams?

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoky

Any ideas why he was withdrawn from todays side?

Will he be back next week?

I think it was proved who runs the centre of the ground for Collingwood today... he didn't play.

He's our best clearance player by a country mile with Swanny and Ball fading as inside mids and Pendles being r*ped by an opposition player at every stoppage.

"Rested" apparently :oops:

Need him badly next week, must must must win the midfield otherwise we'll be flogged.

He'd be leading the Copeland at this stage surely?

Let him rest in October. Surely he has a few niggles that kept him out???

You don't rest your most important player to your game structure... that is unless the 4 points don't matter.

Was rested officially trotted out? I'm like a dog with a bone with this one as its not just about costing us a game, it is also a mindset thing not just for the club but the players who play.

What does it say to them if you are resting a key player for a game?

Shouldn't have been an issue, fair call by the coaching staff, rest of the team just didn't bring the intensity or clean skills. Maxwell would have been a far more valuable inclusion I'd say.

Buckley said he got a knock last week and he didn't quite come up, but I'm not sure he would have missed if we were playing a top 4 team. We certainly need him.

Shouldn't have been an issue, fair call by the coaching staff, rest of the team just didn't bring the intensity or clean skills. Maxwell would have been a far more valuable inclusion I'd say.
Was an issue in the end, because things don't always go the way you plan or envision in life. That's generally why you give yourself the best chance to get the result you desire.

Stunned with the apathy over this decision, even if we did go out and play like fools.

In fairness bulldogs have been a really average bottom 4 side all year.
No one would have expected to see them play the way they did, for 4 qtrs too.
They moved the ball exceptionally well, they defeated our structures, they had quick hands and a strong defence, good structures and made the most of scoring shots. Very impressive I thought.
There were several really critical mistakes we made and that's what cost us in the end.
You have to manage players in this day and age, get your best players to the finals in as good shape as you can, resting a couple of guys in this match before hawthorn was a fairly safe gamble, but it did cost us unfortunately. Move on to next week, the boys should be fired up and I think we will beat hawthorn.

how badly do we need a ball replacement.. too bad adams sh*ts himself every time he steps onto a footy field

If he wasn't really injured today and they rested him because we were playing the Bulldogs, then all I can say to the coaches is karma is a bitch, hope I'm wrong.

Somebody called the Beams' out early in another thread either yesterday or the day before. I'll have a look to see if I can find the poster as he/she obviously has some inside info.

Edit: It was Seedsfan who called it so perhaps he knows the truth of the matter. I reckon the club probably rested him and we paid a heavy price for doing do.

He definitely wasn't right at the end of last week, but I have a sneaking suspicion if we were playing Geelong instead of the bulldogs Beams would of "recovered" faster

Got a Corkie in training on Thursday/Friday

Beams averages 1.5 goals per game in 2014.........Now that's an issue for me if he was 'Rested' yesterday.

So at this stage of the year I'll ask, is 4 points against the Hawks more important than 4 points and % against the dogs yesterday? Now we may very well have neither but at least Beams is well rested.

Can't answer the "what's wrong with Beams" but to anyone saying he was rested answer me this: why rest him and replace him with someone (Broomhead) who played VFL? Says to me it wasn't a resting and was expected to play even up until the VFL game started.

What's this 'rested' crap that people keep spruiking? Bucks said he got a kick to the calf last week and didn't come up. Surely it's good man-management to not risk a player, especially someone of Beams' importance, when 'we' as a board loathe risking playing injured players.

Hindsight's a bitch, ain't it?