Autopsy What just happened? A draw???

Is Bucks stubborn loki? 100%

I thought he coached well today.........the only move I would have made was Howe forward when the Crows got on a roll. He was average at best today and we needed to try something.

WHE going back was his move but didn't have much influence on the result.

Moore's miss in the third hurt.

Moores, Degoeys and Treloars. 3 goals went begging in that 3rd term. Degoey ignored Treloar then a few minutes later Treloar returned the favour despite Degoey being open inside 50 on less of an angle.

Would made sure the runner went out to get us to protect the corridor as it was wide open with crows down the line a lot of the 2nd half. It's how they piled on so many uncontested and fast goals. Got cut open very easily should of forced them wide never give up the corridor like that..

Could of moved Reid back as a loose man to arrest some of the attacks. etc. Try Elliott on ball to mix it up very good in the contest reads it well.

We are Terribly Coached Team

a terribly coached team does not make the top team look second rate.
ADEL lose that game 99 times out of 100 - there is no way they will have an 80% conversion rate in a half of football for a very long time.

Sadly for you and others Bucks is not going down without a fight - what looked like a certain end to his time at the club a few weeks ago is now more uncertain with recent very good performances.

So he did. Missed it.

Where do you stand on the coach being reappointed for next year CFC?

It doesn't matter where I stand mate he will be coach in 2018 IMO.

What exactly does that mean loki?
Does if mean that of all the running that took place during the day his average was the highest, or does it mean that of all the top speeds that were run by different players his was the highest?

He had the quickest top speed recorded. Ie was the fastest player on the field at top speed.

Game done.
It's done and dusted.

We can mix it with all teams but at the end we are too medium levelled.

Wells? Wow he makes a difference, we lose otherwise.

But we learn, we build, restock with better talent.

Sorry folks this one is a learning game, we will be better for the experience.

We're a better team than last year, we just need a little more talent.

Looking forward to the pre season and continued improvement.

Hope your right mate. Was the most exciting brand of football we played all year. Yes we gave up a 51pt lead but Adelaide are the best team in the competition and for a reason. If you give them space they will score very quickly abs will thump u. Unfortunately we gave them space and our intensity dropped. A couple of good things to take out the game.

1st half we smashed them.

In the last qtr when the crows got within 3 pts with 10 minutes to go we kicked 3 goals to go ahead by 22pts but then they came back coz what crows have what we do not have at the moment is belief. The way we played today we would of beaten any team in the competition and yes we did not beat Adelaide but we did not lose either which would of been a lot worse. It felt like a lose after the match but after a couple of hours my calm head took over and if we can play that exciting brand of footy week in week out we will win more games they we lose. But what we need is 2 tall forwards and 1 Blackman then we will be fine. Oh and please bucks do not play Blair again.

Oh and those blaming Langdon for the draw blame the backman who could not punch the ball in the marking contest.

Oh well north next week if we play like we did in the first half we will smash them

He kicked it long inside edge of the flank far too central and not to a contest he picked out a crow.
He should of aimed it 1m inside the boundary line to a contest.

It was a poor decision. Not his fault we drew or erroded 50 points though.
Can't blame him. When the first instinct of our game plan is to kick backwards or sideways and it was impossible for him to do that from in between the point posts, kicking forward must be a fearful thing!

"Buckley did nothing to stop the momentum". Crows got to within 3 points very early in the last quarter. We then kicked the next 3 goals. Does this not count as stopping the momentum?

And people giving it to Langdon. Seriously? He lays a huge potentially match-winning tackle and wins a free for it and still he cops it. He the kicked it to a contest that the Pies had more players at. Not his fault no-one went up to contest the mark.

a terribly coached team does not make the top team look second rate.
ADEL lose that game 99 times out of 100 - there is no way they will have an 80% conversion rate in a half of football for a very long time.

Sadly for you and others Bucks is not going down without a fight - what looked like a certain end to his time at the club a few weeks ago is now more uncertain with recent very good performances.

I didn't think it looked uncertain a few weeks ago, in fact the rumour after our good run pre bye was that he would be offered 2 year extension.

The club pre bye was doing everything it could to distance itself to Bucks preseason comment re making the finals as the determiner. Ed Pert and even Bucks backed away from those comments giving the club leeway should we show any improvement on last year I think he will remain.

Not sure if it's good or bad fence sitting as I see both sides having valid argument and I myself both have issues with his coaching and at the same time see things that clearly are working leaving me thinking will it turn around next year?

For those bagging Blair I hope you got no enjoyment from his last quarter goal. There's heaps of little things that could have made a difference and for mine it's unfair to single one player out.

Exactly.

Well, there's this player called Grundy, right? And he plays in the ruck. Anyway, half way through the last quarter Grundy's sitting on the bench taking a breather, and while he's doing this, Darcy Moore is having the purplest of purple patches in the ruck, doing a mighty job in Grundy's absence. So impressed is the Collingwood coaching box, that when Grundy is ready to come back on, they don't send him back to the middle of the ground where he belongs, they send him to full forward to stand next to Reid. Needless to say, it backfired royally. Moore's purple patch quickly dissipated. The Crows kicked 2 quick goals, and boy did they rush Grundy right back to the middle after that. So, here's my tip for the coaches this week: If Grundy is ready to come back on the field, send him to the middle. Not full forward. Not full back. Not the wing. Not half back. Not half forward. Not a forward pocket. Not a back pocket. The ruck. Send him into the ruck. If not, you might as well send him under the great southern stand to buy me a coffee.

Quality post, especially the bolded. :D:thumbsu:

I know it doesn't "matter". Just asking for your opinion there... On a discussion forum.

I know more changes are coming.

I know I am ecstatic that Pert is gone.

I know we are in good hands with Eddie and he knows and is putting things in place so he isn't at the Club when he is 80.

I also know Bucks has done exactly what the Club has asked him to do from 2012.

The players love him (so do I) but I still don't think he is a good coach.

Just my irrelevant opinion on a discussion forum.

I think Buckley's plan A for Crows worked very well, the issue came after half time when the crows changed their structures slightly and system of attack. Buckley did nothing to try arrest the momentum.

We were up by 50 points that is a lead that should be able to be defended.

Obviously helps if the players keep "working" hard and for each other which they went away from in the 3rd and part of the 4th.

Imo his biggest issue is backing in his players and his game style far too rigidly, he makes changes once the game is shot, rather then as the momentum clearly shifts waiting for his players to arrest it or backing his systems to win out and they largely haven't.

He has had no answer for teams plus 1 in our forward half (or stubbornly backs in his plus 1 at the contest) and it has hurt us in many games this season.

I think the decision on him will come down to the wire as there are also a lot of positives and up trends in our season to make a case.

More composure and accuracy at goal and across the field, would of seen us with at a minimum 5 more wins and well entrenched in the finals. WB, Rich, Melb, GWS and now Crows all games we should of won that his game style gave us a good chance of winning.

Last half fade outs has to be on the adgenda, is it the game plan requiring too much of our players and unsustainable? or is it poor fitness? Also our strength program is well behind other sides.

Unless you offer a convincing set of stats to that demonstrates we dropped off considerably in the second half in key areas, I can't agree.

And this is simple a case of a freakish 80% conversion v around 50% for us after half time.

What is going on with WHE.
He came to Collingwood as an injury prone player, now we are fantastic at making even the most durable player injury prone yet he has played every game.
Is he ignoring Daveron. Surely something is wrong here.

If I was a superstitious person I'd say you probably just jinxed his injury free run, but I'm not, so I won't.

Putting aside the whether or not bucks should be moved or not, are you suggesting bucks is the #2 coach in the comp?

In regards to list, we suffer from the same hopes all mid table sides have, some good performances lull you into thinking we're not far off. But this year is likely to be the 5th year finishing in the middle third of the ladder. We are a mid table side, more of the same will see the same results and one kpp isn't going to change that, we need to reevaluate our list, we have a team of solid citizens and need more top end talent across the board to become contenders.

No lm not saying Bucks is the #2 coach in the comp, what l am saying is you dont make changes for the sake of changing. You got to see if a successful current day coach would want to come to the club, and that isnt going to happen because there isnt going to be anyone available of note. The only ones that may be available are Brad Scott, Adam Simpson and possibly Alan Richardson. To me these guys are a like for like with Buckley, but l think Bucks has a better footy brain then all 3.
If we then go for a untried coach, then are they going to be better than Bucks, and are they going to be able to have success straight away, l think not.
Its a tough call for the club, get a new coach, more than likely an untried coach, new gameplan, game style, different coaching techniques, more than likely a new coaching staff, thats alot for the playing list to adapt to and possibly missing finals next year OR stick with a guy who has already coached for 6 years, has the playing group invested, a coach the players want to play for and has the players believing in the vision for success. Along with some smart trading and good drafting, Bucks can take this team to finals next year.
Also, for all the praise on Melbourne this year, and the demise and struggles of our club, we beat North and Melb lose to GWS next weekend, we are only 6 pts difference to them on the ladder.
I dont think its all doom and gloom for us as ppl think on here it is....

Blame him? I don't attribute the draw purely to that poor decision or on Langdon, as I said I thought he was excellent in the first half went quiet in the 2nd half mostly barring the final minutes.
Team stopped working hard and also started playing selfish footy in the 3rd Treloar and Degoey on 2 occasions come to mind had free pies in better positions but tried to do it all and missed had they goals or team mates we would of killed the momentum in the 3rd.

It makes a difference if he spots up a pie close to boundary rather then more central to a Crow. It was a poor choice of target/area.
Plenty were blaming Langdon in opening few pages hence my post.

You still think he made a poor choice, it is silly especially if you have watched the replay.

Nobody presented in short. Goldsack just points to where he ended up kicking it.

Almost as if the boys thought the tackle won us the game, they stopped.

Can freeze vision when Langdon kicks, He went long to a 6 on 5 contest favouring Collingwood, it was us who had the numbers.

The problem was that DeGoey and Wells assumed Moore would fly for it, when he couldn't get a run at it it resulted in Kelly being the only one going up with DeGoey, Wells and Sidey all standing their looking for a front n square crumb as Kelly takes an easy 'uncontested' mark.

It was the right choice from Langdon.

He could have put it a bit closer to the boundary, but he kicked to a group of Pies, it was the fact that none of them actually went to the ball that was the problem...not whether the ball was 5m closer to the boundary.

Autopsy What just happened? A draw???