Strategy What should the AFL do with gather round?

• Thread starter Thread starter Cleric

What should the AFL do with gather round?

• Leave it in SA for the time being.

Votes: 81 76.4%
  • Move it around to a different state every year

Votes: 8 7.5%
  • Give every state a three year run with it.

Votes: 10 9.4%
  • Move it to markets where the AFL wants to grow the game, like NSW, Qld and Tassie

Votes: 7 6.6%

So no decision has been made yet to extend SA's Gather Round. Can't wait for the AFL to botch this up completely and send it somewhere else that doesn't care. Add to that, no one from SA is travelling interstate to attend one either.

There are 3 joints walking distance from Adelaide Oval. But I am guessing some patrons prefer some horizontal refreshment instead but unfortunately for them, prostitution is still banned in SA.
Horizontal refreshment is a mid arvo nap for me these days

You cant move it from here in SA. It is just done so perfectly well. just needs a ground/game down south in McLaren vale.

It has to move from SA or it will wither on the vine. There is only a select % of footy fans who are willing to travel interstate for games and once you've experienced a GR in Adelaide, would you really go back again for the same thing? I went in 25 and had a great time (Adelaide is beautiful) but I wouldn't book a second trip, I've seen what I wanted to see.

Should rotate between WA and SA on a 3-yr basis with NSW and QLD hosting a league-wide round 1 every year. I won't hear any beating about WA being 'too far' - if you're willing to get on a plane for 2-3hrs, you can survive 4, ditto if you're willing to drive the distance from the east to SA, you're crazy enough about footy to justify the trip to WA.
I know representatives of Victorian and Western Australian clubs (including mine) are just doing their job to point out that SA shouldn't have a monopoly on the round, but honestly, I'm pretty comfortable with them hanging on to it for the foreseeable future.

It's the most central for people to travel interstate to (shares a border with each mainland state) and it's the perfect host in terms of Adelaide's reputation as being a somewhat underrated and unfairly maligned holiday destination. I think you have to have the historical/grassroots element as well that only SA/WA/Vic could provide. I wouldn't even consider NSW/Qld as possible hosts, I think that would be a disaster. Then again, I thought Gather Round would be a huge flop too, so what do I know?

I know representatives of Victorian and Western Australian clubs (including mine) are just doing their job to point out that SA shouldn't have a monopoly on the round, but honestly, I'm pretty comfortable with them hanging on to it for the foreseeable future.

It's the most central for people to travel interstate to (shares a border with each mainland state) and it's the perfect host in terms of Adelaide's reputation as being a somewhat underrated and unfairly maligned holiday destination. I think you have to have the historical/grassroots element as well that only SA/WA/Vic could provide. I wouldn't even consider NSW/Qld as possible hosts, I think that would be a disaster. Then again, I thought Gather Round would be a huge flop too, so what do I know?
Make it logistically fair - Alice Springs

The Vic teams get a shit tonne extra especially clubs like Hawthorn which have 'make up games' for their members ontop of those they sell, and get pro hawks crowds there as well.
I love your one-team example of Hawthorn can be extrapolated to all Victorian teams.

Yeah, St Kilda really got the benefit of one of their 11 home games when they hosted Collingwood at the MCG.

It has to move from SA or it will wither on the vine. There is only a select % of footy fans who are willing to travel interstate for games and once you've experienced a GR in Adelaide, would you really go back again for the same thing? I went in 25 and had a great time (Adelaide is beautiful) but I wouldn't book a second trip, I've seen what I wanted to see.

Should rotate between WA and SA on a 3-yr basis with NSW and QLD hosting a league-wide round 1 every year. I won't hear any beating about WA being 'too far' - if you're willing to get on a plane for 2-3hrs, you can survive 4, ditto if you're willing to drive the distance from the east to SA, you're crazy enough about footy to justify the trip to WA.
Disagree, Adelaide works because its close enough to drive from Vic which means it becomes a family friendly weekend away in the middle of school holidays. Adelaide still has a country town feel about it which is why it works so well and because there is nothing else happening in the city that weekend that would take away the spotlight, it would get lost in Sydney.

Would you attend a GR in Adelaide more than once?

Maybe have both S.A Teams play each other?
I dont see the logic in that.
Dumb idea. Get rid of it.

Gifting extra home games to only 2 teams is terrible.

At least have Ade and Port play eachother.
How is Gather round a Dumb idea? All games were sold out or most of them.

Also.... Gifting an extra Home game to 2 sides is terrible? How so?

Richmond in 2018 finished top with 18 wins and 4 losses. Those 4 losses were outside of Victoria. The other 18? in either MCG or Docklands. I mean your post should be in the Vic Bias thread.
The AFL rejected North's request to do that for 15+ years, laughably citing fixture integrity concerns. But once Gather Round was allowed, the WA clubs arced up, and the league admitted they didn't have a leg to stand on.

Given the permanence of the Grand Final venue, anybody being serious would admit the issue isn't the SA and WA clubs getting an extra home game. Rather, the QLD and NSW clubs should also be getting an extra home game.
I respect Most North Melbourne fans. But lets be honest here.... You really cant complain. I dont want any threads on your club saving the AFL from being broke for averaging 15-20,000 people at docklands.

Look lets make a deal.... If you hate Gather round so much then do a trade. Lets the AFL Abandon gather round, on the condition North Melbourne abandons Victoria and relocates to Another state and Becomes North Perth or North Sydney or North Queensland. Deal?
Build a 100,000 seat stadium.
Nah.... Demolish the MCG. LOL

in 2020 and 2021 the MCG wasnt used as a Grand final venue. Care to Explain why?

I respect Most North Melbourne fans. But lets be honest here.... You really cant complain. I dont want any threads on your club saving the AFL from being broke for averaging 15-20,000 people at docklands.

Look lets make a deal.... If you hate Gather round so much then do a trade. Lets the AFL Abandon gather round, on the condition North Melbourne abandons Victoria and relocates to Another state and Becomes North Perth or North Sydney or North Queensland. Deal?
Truly asinine.

My post was clearly in favour of the non-Vic clubs getting an extra home game each year, whether it be via GR or some other initiative.

Here's the deal I'll give you: If you want to reply to my posts, read them properly first, then I won't call you a moron. Deal?

Truly asinine.

My post was clearly in favour of the non-Vic clubs getting an extra home game each year, whether it be via GR or some other initiative.

Here's the deal I'll give you: If you want to reply to my posts, read them properly first, then I won't call you a moron. Deal?
What do you mean your post was in favour of non Vic clubs getting a home game each year?

Most Victorian posters on here want gather round abolished LoL

What do you mean your post was in favour of non Vic clubs getting a home game each year?

Most Victorian posters on here want gather round abolished LoL
Not true. Its the WA, QLD & NSW fans wanting their piece of the pie which will eventually bastardise the concept. Most Vic fans accept the privilege advantages we already get, especially guarantee to the GF each year and happy to share the love.. However Carlton having to play Adelaide 2 out of the 4 years is not okay, it should be shared amongst all clubs..

Sorry, suggesting the event had a "vibe" makes me zone out.
Why? Vibe is exactly what makes it so great.

There is just a joyous feeling around the city of people enjoying footy and footy related activities. To walk around the city and see all the various team colours is a wonderful sight.

As someone pointed out to me, there is not one hint of aggro - possibly some good natured banter, but compared to most of the world we are very lucky that we can have supporters of all 18 teams in one place and everyone gets along well.

(yes I am sure there was probably a fight or two somewhere over the weekend - but probably over the same issues that result in fights every weekend everywhere)

Why? Vibe is exactly what makes it so great.

There is just a joyous feeling around the city of people enjoying footy and footy related activities. To walk around the city and see all the various team colours is a wonderful sight.

As someone pointed out to me, there is not one hint of aggro - possibly some good natured banter, but compared to most of the world we are very lucky that we can have supporters of all 18 teams in one place and everyone gets along well.

(yes I am sure there was probably a fight or two somewhere over the weekend - but probably over the same issues that result in fights every weekend everywhere)

Don't panic, I get what you were saying.

I'm just over the use of the word "vibe", it's done to death these days.

I saw a young woman on TV saying she was "vibing with that guy". 🤢

I hear SA Government wants 5, AFL offered 3, SA Government holding out for 5.

Media reports announcement next week.
I'm hearing next month

I hear SA Government wants 5, AFL offered 3, SA Government holding out for 5.

Media reports announcement next week.
I'm hearing next month

You have to say the 3 year term will cause the Mclaren Vale project to get shelved. Not sure how folks down south of Adelaide would feel about that?