What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

Dogs_R_Us

Space Traveller
May 3, 2001
Sirius - the Dogstar
I had the misfortune of having SEN on the car radio this morning. Talking about Geelong chasing Bailey Smith, taking a swing at the club, someone by the name of Anthony rang up and gave him a good serve back, the next drongo rang up and gave Anthony and Bevo a serve.

The media is just sucking out the enjoyment of football.
Don’t listen to or watch footy media, you’ll be happier.

dogwatch

Premium Platinum
Jun 17, 2009
Canberra
Arsenal
I had the misfortune of having SEN on the car radio this morning. Talking about Geelong chasing Bailey Smith, taking a swing at the club, someone by the name of Anthony rang up and gave him a good serve back, the next drongo rang up and gave Anthony and Bevo a serve.

The media is just sucking out the enjoyment of football.
The fact remains that they are only powerful, unaccountable and successful in their dismal pursuits while people are prepared to listen watch or read.

The power is in our own hands.

Dogs_r_barking

Premiers 2016
Mar 2, 2007
Bellarine Peninsular
Melb Victory
Don’t listen to or watch footy media, you’ll be happier.
I once upon a time I listened to SEN all the time, I was doing a lot of driving so it killed the time. I haven’t listened to them for years, but must have had the footy on in the car, and didn’t change channels.

I simply don’t like any of them, unscrupulous, uneducated, mostly got the job through riding daddy’s shirt tails or the school tie. The fact they have the audacity to call themselves journalists is astonishing in its lack of awareness.

I was going to ring in myself, but I was afraid of what I would say, I had to console myself with a text message, pointing out that they are not helping Baileys mental health, and that sooner or later they are going to end up with blood on their hands, a bit dramatic, I know, but the pressure they put on players, it could easily send them over the edge if other things are not going well in their lives.

Mr. Walker

Apr 15, 2002
PO Box. 7 Powelltown
I once upon a time I listened to SEN all the time, I was doing a lot of driving so it killed the time.
I don’t regard myself as a fast or dangerous driver but I must be driving really fast nowadays. I recently drove from Deer Park to Bacchus Marsh in a single SEN ad break.
True. 😂😂😂

Freshwater

Oct 30, 2014
Picking up the boy from footy training last night. Sam McClure with Leigh Mathew’s on AW. Sam is one of the worst but Leigh is on point a lot, a clear thinker. Anyway some older fella rang in and said “I couldn’t give a fig who breaks these stories and who was first, I just want to hear about footy” (to do with Dew getting sacked) Sam couldn’t have it, he said we need to acknowledge who broke the story etc, the bloke said “no we don’t” Sam was not happy.

Tommycash

Sep 1, 2012
Perth, Western Australia
Swan Districts, Glory
Picking up the boy from footy training last night. Sam McClure with Leigh Mathew’s on AW. Sam is one of the worst but Leigh is on point a lot, a clear thinker. Anyway some older fella rang in and said “I couldn’t give a fig who breaks these stories and who was first, I just want to hear about footy” (to do with Dew getting sacked) Sam couldn’t have it, he said we need to acknowledge who broke the story etc, the bloke said “no we don’t” Sam was not happy.
Funny isn't it? I can get it when a journalist breaks a story that has been covered up by a club (say the ABC with the Hawthorn probe). In those cases that is an impressive use of sources to find something out that wouldn't otherwise be public but it is in the public interest to know.

I don't think we need to be giving out accolades to someone breaking a story about the sacking of a coach. Beating a club to an announcement they will be making imminently isn't particularly impressive and I don't see how you could argue it is important journalism. Sadly, it seems to be most of the "journalism" that the current media crop engage in.

stefoid

Mar 8, 2002
home
ha ha, young player has a bad patch of form and its headline worthy?

however... a fair question tho - why play sick? not good for the team or the individual. Could we not have rested him and given baker or garcia a run?

Sentinel

Mar 15, 2012
1. Media outlet 1: discusses player's current form, speculates whether a move to a new club could be a positive thing. Discussion including headline posted to social media.
2. Media outlet 2: quotes social media commentary on media outlet 1's post
3. Media outlet 3: discusses increasing speculation about said player's move, originating out of media outlet 2's commentary
4. Media outlet 1: quotes other media sources discussing their own original discussion as evidence that noise is getting louder

The snowball is now rolling.

dogwatch

Premium Platinum
Jun 17, 2009
Canberra
Arsenal
That’s very illustrative of their priorities isn’t it?

dogwatch

Premium Platinum
Jun 17, 2009
Canberra
Arsenal
Funny isn't it? I can get it when a journalist breaks a story that has been covered up by a club (say the ABC with the Hawthorn probe). In those cases that is an impressive use of sources to find something out that wouldn't otherwise be public but it is in the public interest to know.

I don't think we need to be giving out accolades to someone breaking a story about the sacking of a coach. Beating a club to an announcement they will be making imminently isn't particularly impressive and I don't see how you could argue it is important journalism. Sadly, it seems to be most of the "journalism" that the current media crop engage in.
Who was it - Keith Murdoch perhaps? - who emphasised to his journos that their job was to report the story, not influence the story or, worse still, BE the story.

Times sure have changed.

King Harold

Apr 23, 2013
Cleveland Indians
Who was it - Keith Murdoch perhaps? - who emphasised to his journos that their job was to report the story, not influence the story or, worse still, BE the story.

Times sure have changed.

Nail on head dw
look how modern media work , Murdoch in particular has helped write the blueprint.
Sky News ,Fox News , Herald Sun , London and US papers.

Just keep pushing bs while people are falling for it and tuning in —- good for business.

Even happy to get in front of a judge and tell him they just peddle bs , its entertainment .
Truth , who needs truth !

NBates

Jun 4, 2007
West Footscray
Johnno said (regarding Smith to Geelong) that that is what happens when a player is a year out of contract, that clubs approach from all sides...words to that effect. I guess it was a way to normalise it so to speak, but he did say it's up to the Bulldogs now to give him a good offer. Why can I feel a McCartney/Griffen scenario coming up at the end of this year or next? :-(

Smiley Boy

Jun 20, 2012
Johnno said (regarding Smith to Geelong) that that is what happens when a player is a year out of contract, that clubs approach from all sides...words to that effect. I guess it was a way to normalise it so to speak, but he did say it's up to the Bulldogs now to give him a good offer. Why can I feel a McCartney/Griffen scenario coming up at the end of this year or next? :-(

Baz isn’t going anywhere

NBates

Jun 4, 2007
West Footscray
Amazing - I didn't know we were either that popular or that hated to be garnering headlines

1689153972907.png

Bulldogs85

Sep 25, 2016
NBA- Houston Rockets
SEN Article

Western Bulldogs great Brad Johnson has responded to Sam Edmund’s report suggesting Geelong are having meaningful trade discussions surrounding Dogs midfielder Bailey Smith.

Smith comes out of contract at the end of next season, but Edmund says the Cats are hoping to lure him to Geelong and have been workshopping a potential move behind the scenes “for some time”.
Much of the chatter around a potential move for Smith has come as he’s being played in various roles and has seen a downturn in form in 2023.

While Smith isn’t playing his best footy, Johnson believes it’s only natural for the former top 10 pick to be a target for clubs given his status as a “top-line” AFL player.

“That's going to happen for Bailey Smith,” Johnson told SEN Sportsday.

“This is when the talks start, a year and a bit out from you being out of contract.

“If you haven't secured an extension by now, then the conversations start.

“Clubs will start inquiring, because he's a top-line player in the competition.”
Given Geelong’s track record of securing players from rival clubs, Johnson isn’t surprised about the reports but says it’s now on the Bulldogs to secure the signature of a player that could be critical in their next premiership push.

“It’s on the Bulldogs now to obviously try and secure that signature of Bailey Smith,” Johnson said.

“It’s an important signature for them to secure with some of the young players they've got coming through and how Bailey certainly assists the next push for a premiership for the Western Bulldogs.

“It’s a big call for him over the next 12 months, no question.

“Clubs will circle, and it doesn't surprise me if Geelong and Andrew Mackie are having conversations in the background.”

Edmund also suggested that other clubs have reached out and inquired about Smith’s availability in trade talks.

The hard-running midfielder won’t play in Thursday night’s clash against Sydney at the SCG due to illness.

Smith is averaging 24.4 disposals, 3.3 marks, 3.1 tackles, 0.2 goals, 0.3 goal assists, 4.0 inside 50s and 1.7 rebound 50s in 2023. All of those statistics are down on his 2022 averages.

Graeme Cook

May 15, 2022

Back in the day 1960s 1970s
Alf Brown chief football writer for the Sun newspaper held sway, there were 2 high profile players in Jail allowed out Tuesday & Thursday to train and Saturday to play all journalists new.
Imagine that today I don't think so lol.

NBates

Jun 4, 2007
West Footscray
SEN Article

Western Bulldogs great Brad Johnson has responded to Sam Edmund’s report suggesting Geelong are having meaningful trade discussions surrounding Dogs midfielder Bailey Smith.

Smith comes out of contract at the end of next season, but Edmund says the Cats are hoping to lure him to Geelong and have been workshopping a potential move behind the scenes “for some time”.
Much of the chatter around a potential move for Smith has come as he’s being played in various roles and has seen a downturn in form in 2023.

While Smith isn’t playing his best footy, Johnson believes it’s only natural for the former top 10 pick to be a target for clubs given his status as a “top-line” AFL player.

“That's going to happen for Bailey Smith,” Johnson told SEN Sportsday.

“This is when the talks start, a year and a bit out from you being out of contract.

“If you haven't secured an extension by now, then the conversations start.

“Clubs will start inquiring, because he's a top-line player in the competition.”
Given Geelong’s track record of securing players from rival clubs, Johnson isn’t surprised about the reports but says it’s now on the Bulldogs to secure the signature of a player that could be critical in their next premiership push.

“It’s on the Bulldogs now to obviously try and secure that signature of Bailey Smith,” Johnson said.

“It’s an important signature for them to secure with some of the young players they've got coming through and how Bailey certainly assists the next push for a premiership for the Western Bulldogs.

“It’s a big call for him over the next 12 months, no question.

“Clubs will circle, and it doesn't surprise me if Geelong and Andrew Mackie are having conversations in the background.”

Edmund also suggested that other clubs have reached out and inquired about Smith’s availability in trade talks.

The hard-running midfielder won’t play in Thursday night’s clash against Sydney at the SCG due to illness.

Smith is averaging 24.4 disposals, 3.3 marks, 3.1 tackles, 0.2 goals, 0.3 goal assists, 4.0 inside 50s and 1.7 rebound 50s in 2023. All of those statistics are down on his 2022 averages.
Yeah, that's what I wrote in a sentence lol.

NBates

Jun 4, 2007
West Footscray

Young Bulldogs draftee Caleb Poulter “bawled” after Collingwood delisting​

Western Bulldogs junior Caleb Poulter says he ghosted his teammates and hit a rocky patch with his influencer girlfriend after he was dropped from Collingwood.

Brooke Grebert-Craig

July 12, 2023 - 11:21AM
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/entert.../7a793ca09de4e54ef15ee8ef9e06d6eb#share-tools
Caleb Poulter became a Bulldog with pick 10 in the 2023 AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft. Picture: Darrian Traynor

Western Bulldogs draftee Caleb Poulter says he ghosted his teammates and hit a rocky patch with his influencer girlfriend after he was dropped from Collingwood.
The young gun, who was pick no. 30 in the 2020 draft, played 12 games for the Pies across 2021 and 2022 before he was delisted.
Poulter spoke about his heartbreak on a recent episode of the Just For Girls podcast, hosted by his partner Sam Guggenheimer.
The couple had just begun their holiday in Bali when Poulter got the devastating call.
“I come out (of the villa) and you were bawling, you were crying,” Guggenheimer said.
“You just said ‘I’ve been delisted’, those are the words you said ‘I’ve been delisted, I’ve been dropped’.
“From there, we tried to enjoy our holiday but I think there were a lot of questions above our heads.”
Poulter and influencer girlfriend, Sam Guggenheimer.

Guggenheimer said the cut “came out of nowhere”, causing her boyfriend to “ghost” everyone, including teammate Jack Crisp who he was living with at the time.
“You were very bad at communicating with people, you ghosted everyone, you ghosted your teammates, you ghosted Jack, you ghosted your coaches, you were like ‘f--- them’ in a way,” she said.

“I think you were a bit angry, you didn’t really have any answers, no-one really answered your questions so you were kind of like ‘f--- this’ and you threw it all up.”
Poulter said he “fell out of favour” with Collingwood coaches.
“I was obviously pretty upset at the time,” he said.
“Instead of dealing with it in the right way, I just stopped replying to everyone.
“I think I was just one of the ones that fell out of favour and that’s just how it is sometimes in a professional environment.
“I obviously got drafted there under completely different people and then new people come in and have different feelings and ways about you but I don’t hold any grudges.
“Luckily now it’s worked out, it’s probably a blessing in disguise, I’m forever grateful for them and what they did.”
Guggenheimer at Poulter’s debut Bulldogs game.

Poulter with former housemate [PLAYERCARD]Jack Crisp[/PLAYERCARD].

Poulter with former housemate Jack Crisp.

Guggenheimer said Poulter spent the next six months hunting for an AFL contract.
“You were trying to get an AFL contract but I don’t think you were necessarily working hard for it, you lost a bit of confidence and faith,” she said.
“Going from you being drafted, you having a full-time career in AFL, earning lots of money, having all these friends … everything had changed.
“Looking at you with no confidence and no drive in your soul because you were so hurt, it was hard for our relationship.”
The pair said “false narratives” circulated on social media about their relationship.
“Everyone was making these absurd rumours and comments and I was like ‘none of this is f---ing true’ like ‘f--- off’ everyone,” Guggenheimer said.
Poulter said he worked as a landscaper two days a week while figuring out his future.
“It just wasn’t for me and I put all my eggs into one basket and luckily it paid off,” he said.
“There was a lot of limbo at the time … there were a lot of conversations back and forth with certain people about and what was going to happen.
“It was scary at the time.”
Poulter made his Bulldogs debut two weeks ago when he played against Fremantle at Marvel Stadium.

NBates

Jun 4, 2007
West Footscray

Bailey Smith linked with trade from Western Bulldogs amid form slump​

Noise around Bailey Smith’s position, form and future is growing by the week. What’s it all about?

Jay Clark

July 12, 2023 - 3:46PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/.../7cad97689c25cddae659cc3a8a253675#share-tools

Bailey Smith may be flat with his new role.
Only two years ago when he blazed eight goals in the 2021 finals series we were all weighing up the jet onballer’s claims as one of the most exciting players in the competition.
Was he or Sam Walsh the best talent from the 2018 draft?
Smith, with the chiselled frame plastered across Melbourne billboards, was the next big thing. The exhilarating run, the scoreboard impact. That flowing mullet.
[PLAYERCARD]Bailey Smith[/PLAYERCARD] celebrates a goal during the 2021 preliminary final. Picture: Michael Klein.

Bailey Smith celebrates a goal during the 2021 preliminary final. Picture: Michael Klein.

But as Western Bulldogs attempt to hang on to their place in the eight on Thursday night against Sydney Swans at the SCG, Smith’s form is on the slide.
More than that, his name has emerged as shock trade bait. Mark Robinson posed the question on Sunday, that maybe Smith needed a new club and environment.
SEN said on Wednesday Geelong was chasing him.
Coach Luke Beveridge would have had a fit, after trying desperately to shut the whole thing down on Tuesday, clearly annoyed his match winner was a discussion point.
But on Wednesday the noise went in to overdrive as the Bulldogs boarded the plane to Sydney to take on the Swans at the SCG without Smith, who is sick.

Would you trade Bailey Smith for a top-six draft pick?​

Yes
No
Cast your vote

[PLAYERCARD]Bailey Smith[/PLAYERCARD] and [PLAYERCARD]Easton Wood[/PLAYERCARD] after the Bulldogs’ secured their place in the 2021 Grand Final.

Bailey Smith and Easton Wood after the Bulldogs’ secured their place in the 2021 Grand Final.

Smith would have to be a bit frustrated he is being parked on a forward flank, out of the action, on starvation corner.
According to Champion Data he has played 79 per cent forward over the past month and on Friday night he had 11 disposals after a late burst in the middle.
He was genuinely sick, and still is, the club says, which is fair enough. A concession perhaps he should not have played.
But how does one of the club’s best young players go from superstar in the making to trade bait?
His disposals (down by an average five a game), and score involvements (two a game) have spiralled this year, but he remains a match winner.
Smith’s form has fallen away in a new role this year.

THE SMITH CONUNDRUM​

When does his contract expire?
What would he command in a trade?
A top-six draft pick
How do Cats get it?
Secure it from Gold Coast in a trade involving the Cats first and second-round picks
What could Bulldogs get with pick six?
Contracted defender Tom Barrass from West Coast

While his impact has waned,and it might come as a blow to his ego, coaches say that is exactly what has to be parked in the selfless and relentless chase for a premiership.
It’s exactly what Taylor Adams has done at Collingwood. Christian Petracca was lauded for making the move at Melbourne against St Kilda last weekend.
Smith can do that. He can also run, and that’s why Beveridge would be putting him in arguably the hardest position on the field. To get on his bike.
The forward flankers need to be huge runners, like Geelong’s Gryan Miers, who can make the sprint up and down the field all day long.
Perhaps it is not easy to do that heavy lifting if you are a big possession-winner and aren’t used to watching others get the big lick of the ice cream, but would Smith really want to break his contract this year?
Perhaps he could reconsider when his deal expires next season.
The Dogs wouldn’t entertain it this year without a blockbuster return, such as a top-six draft pick.
Maybe a prime key defender, such as West Coast’s Tom Barrass, would suit to help replace an Alex Keath or Ryan Gardner.
Geelong has been linked with a play for Smith.

Gold Coast is looking to off-load pick six, which theoretically provides an opportunity for the Cats to land an early selection as part of a hypothetical deal, but there are more ifs here than a discussion about what the Reserve Bank will do.
If Geelong is keen on Smith, it’s not what the club said on Wednesday. But trade moves by nature are a secret business at the best of times. Denials happen. Heaps of them.
The Dogs do have a jet backman coming through the ranks anyway, as Sam Darcy looks like a special talent.
He will be back in the team intercepting in the back half as soon as he is physically ready after a serious lung problem.
Smith will miss Thursday night’s clash against the Swans due to illness, and is expected back against Essendon in a blockbuster Friday night clash next week.
Smith needs to lift for the Dogs to secure a finals berth. Picture: Michael Klein.

Finals spots will be on the line. The spotlight will be on Smith. And the position he plays.
Former Western Bulldogs and Richmond star Nathan Brown said the Bulldogs must return Smith to the engine room, where he produces his best footy.
“They have got it wrong where they are playing him,” Brown said on Triple M.
“He is a running machine and you have just got to let him loose, whether it is off half back or on the wing, he is a midfielder.
“He will play that role (forward) OK because he has been asked to play it.
“He didn’t play it well the other night because he had just had a poor game.
“But they are playing him in the wrong position.”

In Repair

Aug 15, 2009
Hoppers Crossing

Bailey Smith linked with trade from Western Bulldogs amid form slump​

Noise around Bailey Smith’s position, form and future is growing by the week. What’s it all about?

Jay Clark

July 12, 2023 - 3:46PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/.../7cad97689c25cddae659cc3a8a253675#share-tools

Bailey Smith may be flat with his new role.
Only two years ago when he blazed eight goals in the 2021 finals series we were all weighing up the jet onballer’s claims as one of the most exciting players in the competition.
Was he or Sam Walsh the best talent from the 2018 draft?
Smith, with the chiselled frame plastered across Melbourne billboards, was the next big thing. The exhilarating run, the scoreboard impact. That flowing mullet.
Bailey Smith celebrates a goal during the 2021 preliminary final. Picture: Michael Klein.

But as Western Bulldogs attempt to hang on to their place in the eight on Thursday night against Sydney Swans at the SCG, Smith’s form is on the slide.
More than that, his name has emerged as shock trade bait. Mark Robinson posed the question on Sunday, that maybe Smith needed a new club and environment.
SEN said on Wednesday Geelong was chasing him.
Coach Luke Beveridge would have had a fit, after trying desperately to shut the whole thing down on Tuesday, clearly annoyed his match winner was a discussion point.
But on Wednesday the noise went in to overdrive as the Bulldogs boarded the plane to Sydney to take on the Swans at the SCG without Smith, who is sick.

Would you trade Bailey Smith for a top-six draft pick?​

Yes
No
Cast your vote

Bailey Smith and Easton Wood after the Bulldogs’ secured their place in the 2021 Grand Final.

Smith would have to be a bit frustrated he is being parked on a forward flank, out of the action, on starvation corner.
According to Champion Data he has played 79 per cent forward over the past month and on Friday night he had 11 disposals after a late burst in the middle.
He was genuinely sick, and still is, the club says, which is fair enough. A concession perhaps he should not have played.
But how does one of the club’s best young players go from superstar in the making to trade bait?
His disposals (down by an average five a game), and score involvements (two a game) have spiralled this year, but he remains a match winner.

THE SMITH CONUNDRUM​

When does his contract expire?
What would he command in a trade?
A top-six draft pick
How do Cats get it?
Secure it from Gold Coast in a trade involving the Cats first and second-round picks
What could Bulldogs get with pick six?
Contracted defender Tom Barrass from West Coast

While his impact has waned,and it might come as a blow to his ego, coaches say that is exactly what has to be parked in the selfless and relentless chase for a premiership.
It’s exactly what Taylor Adams has done at Collingwood. Christian Petracca was lauded for making the move at Melbourne against St Kilda last weekend.
Smith can do that. He can also run, and that’s why Beveridge would be putting him in arguably the hardest position on the field. To get on his bike.
The forward flankers need to be huge runners, like Geelong’s Gryan Miers, who can make the sprint up and down the field all day long.
Perhaps it is not easy to do that heavy lifting if you are a big possession-winner and aren’t used to watching others get the big lick of the ice cream, but would Smith really want to break his contract this year?
Perhaps he could reconsider when his deal expires next season.
The Dogs wouldn’t entertain it this year without a blockbuster return, such as a top-six draft pick.
Maybe a prime key defender, such as West Coast’s Tom Barrass, would suit to help replace an Alex Keath or Ryan Gardner.

Gold Coast is looking to off-load pick six, which theoretically provides an opportunity for the Cats to land an early selection as part of a hypothetical deal, but there are more ifs here than a discussion about what the Reserve Bank will do.
If Geelong is keen on Smith, it’s not what the club said on Wednesday. But trade moves by nature are a secret business at the best of times. Denials happen. Heaps of them.
The Dogs do have a jet backman coming through the ranks anyway, as Sam Darcy looks like a special talent.
He will be back in the team intercepting in the back half as soon as he is physically ready after a serious lung problem.
Smith will miss Thursday night’s clash against the Swans due to illness, and is expected back against Essendon in a blockbuster Friday night clash next week.

Finals spots will be on the line. The spotlight will be on Smith. And the position he plays.
Former Western Bulldogs and Richmond star Nathan Brown said the Bulldogs must return Smith to the engine room, where he produces his best footy.
“They have got it wrong where they are playing him,” Brown said on Triple M.
“He is a running machine and you have just got to let him loose, whether it is off half back or on the wing, he is a midfielder.
“He will play that role (forward) OK because he has been asked to play it.
“He didn’t play it well the other night because he had just had a poor game.
“But they are playing him in the wrong position.”

Why do I keep reading Sam Darcy is a defender? Jet backman….

Who from the club has thrown up Smith’s name as trade bait?

What a rubbish article!! My IQ has dropped some points having read it