What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

And that is where we disagree. You can't seriously believe that no one in the corridors of the Western Oval would have said "s**t, did you see that article in the Western Times".

I don't know how old you are, but I sure can....

And we will agree to disagree.

Is it that hard to understand? The presumption is that, at the time of the court case, people within the football club who were representing the club and acting on behalf of the club, knew about the case's existence. The club being the Footscray Football Club, obviously. Those representing the club now may not have had the details of that passed onto them so they can rightly claim individual ignorance of the matter but I don't believe should be insinuating that the club never knew of it.

It's the same "club" which now needs to defend itself against the case being brought to the Supreme Court, rather than any specific individuals. Bains and co aren't on trial, nor are their equivalents from the 80s and 90s, but the club is.

Who said the court case involved the club in any way (i.e. any people from the club going to court)? As I said previously, the victim (via police I assume) took the grub to court and the grub confessed. Not necessarily any involvement with club people.

Mar 15, 2012
Who said the court case involved the club in any way (i.e. any people from the club going to court)? As I said previously, the victim (via police I assume) took the grub to court and the grub confessed. Not necessarily any involvement with club people.
I'm not saying they were involved in the case directly, but I would presume that when extensive offending occured on the premises there would have been some level of contact from the police at least at some point in the initial investigations. I could be wrong.

Between that and the newspaper article (which was edited by a FFC board member at the time), I find it hard to believe that no one was aware of it.

weltschmerz

May 23, 2019
1652238374183.png

excuse me

Anyone happen to have a link past the paywall to the Rocket Eade article in Saturday's (?) Hun? Someone told me it was worth a read.

https://misc.pagesuite.com/pdfdownload/94e68ba6-30ef-47d1-ab94-29b988b82e7c.pdf#page=1
https://misc.pagesuite.com/pdfdownload/94e68ba6-30ef-47d1-ab94-29b988b82e7c.pdf#page=2

106 SPORT SATURDAY, MAY 7, 2022 heraldsun.com.au
MHSE02Z01MA - V1
Glenn McFarlane and Jon Ralph talk
to Rodney Eade about his time in
charge of the Dogs including
coaching Jason Akermanis
MY FAVOURITE
TIME AS COACH
FORMER Western Bulldogs coach
Rodney Eade says the club made an
error in banning Jason Akermanis
from his famous handstand
celebration in the prelude to his 2010
sacking.
And Eade says the crucial free kick
paid against Brian Lake for pushing
Nick Riewoldt in the 2009
preliminary final was a “crock of
garbage” and “bulldust”.
Eade enjoyed a brilliant seven-
season stint at the Bulldogs as he
transformed an immature team and
guided it to three preliminary finals.
He told the Herald Sun’s Sacked
podcast his time at the Bulldogs was
the most enjoyable of his time in
football, despite winning four flags as
a Hawthorn wingman and taking
Sydney to the 1996 grand final.
One of Eade’s famous rants at
ruckman Will Minson in 2009 went
viral a decade later on an audio clip
and Eade admitted to Sacked that
while it was his voice, it was a heavily
edited minute-long package of a full
150-minute game.
But Eade’s legacy at the Dogs was
his tactical nous and capacity to build
up a young side desperate for self-
belief rather than his strong emotions
which occasionally spilled over.
Eade realised early the lightning-
quick Bulldogs kids were beautiful
ball users and he tailored his game
style around their particular skills.
Renowned as a master tactician,
Eade said at times he made moves
only to see how his opposition coach
reacted: “I think as a historian of the
game I always asked questions. Why
do you do this, what are they trying
to achieve? Sometimes we made
moves not knowing what the effect
would be.
“One game something was thrown
around in the box and someone said,
‘What is going on here?’ I said, ‘I’ve
got no effing idea’. But the bloke next
door has got no chance”.
Eade never won a premiership in
his 377 games as coach of Sydney, the
Western Bulldogs and Gold Coast
but said after four playing flags, he
can still sleep well at night.
“That’s what happens in footy, it
doesn’t stick in your craw,” he said.
“I was asked the question at the
Bulldogs and I said I would love to
win one more for the players and the
supporters rather than myself.
“It might have been different if I
hadn’t won one as a player, it wasn’t a
personal thing driving me. My
coaching was more about the team
and the club and trying to
get each bloke getting the
best out of themselves.
“Don’t get me wrong, I
would have loved to have
won one. But probably at
the Bulldogs, I enjoyed
coaching the most and
maybe even my footy the
most other than the
premierships.
“It was a terrific club
to be a part of.”
AKER
CONTROVERSY
AKERMANIS has long
felt the Leading Teams
model in which players
get strong 360-degree
feedback only allows for
players to be bullied and
the triple Brisbane Lions
premiership player was
told he “looked content”
in one Dogs session.
Akermanis told Sacked in 2020
that the club’s “A-Team” of players
was “more powerful than I ever
thought” as they banned his
trademark handstand which had
been instrumental in bringing young
fans to the Lions.
“They were like, ‘it’s too
individual, we don’t want
individuality here’ ... d---heads. It was
a huge collective of very, very weak
individuals allowed to get away with
it,” he said.
Eade told Sacked this week that
Akermanis’ 77 games at the Dogs had
been full of positives but it was not a
surprise his stint ended in acrimony.
“He is his own person, as we know.
I thought our group handled him
really well, they gave him a lot of
rope which people don’t realise,”
Eade said.
“2007 was the first year – he didn’t
have a great year – but after that he
played some good football. At times
he was getting tagged by (Jared)
Crouch and we would get him to play
a different role. He would accept that.
“I think the issue was when he
retired at the end of 2009, he was
going to finish and he had a job at
Channel 7 and radio and they all fell
through so he came back and said,
‘can I keep going?’ but we had no
more (salary cap room) left so he got
some sponsors to get extra money.
“He was fading and (injured)he
got frustrated so it was as much my
fault to agree with him to go on that
extra year.”
Rodney Eade and
Jason Akermanis
celebrate a
Bulldogs victory
in 2009 (above)
and Akermanis
performs his
trademark
handstand
(right).
Rodney Eade as coach of the
Wins Pos
2005 11 9th
2006 14 6th
2007 9.5 13th
2008 16.5 3rd
2009 16 3rd
2010 15 4th
2011 7 12th
Eade coached the Bulldogs to
88 wins and two draws from
162 games (winning percentage
of 54.9 per cent)
DOG YEARS

heraldsun.com.au SATURDAY, MAY 7, 2022
SPORT 107
V1 - MHSE02Z01MA
he
SACKED
LISTEN TO THE PODCAST AT
HERALDSUN.COM.AU
LISTEN NOW
2022 podcasts
1 ANDREW DEMETRIOU
2 BRENTON
SANDERSON 3 NEIL
BALME 4 PETER
SCHWAB 5 JOHN
BARNES 6 GREG
MILLER 7 ROBERT
SHAW 8 COREY
McKERNAN
heraldsun.com.au
SERIES 4, EPISODE 9
RODNEY EADE
Of the handstands Eade was
adamant: “I didn’t mind it.
“We had (leadership facilitators)
Leading Teams at that stage. And
Leading Teams was quite raw and
open. And obviously he didn’t like
the feedback he got as a group at one
stage.
“That was the second (instance).
But the first one was brought up by
one player about the handstand.
“If they’d asked me, I had no issue
with it, and some of the players didn’t
either, but the players spoke about it.
“And then I took a vote on this
and the facilitator from Leading
Teams extrapolated it out and they
got blokes to have their opinion and
they as a group said we would rather
you not do it.”
Asked if that was like a red rag to a
bull, Eade said: “I agree.”
THE ARRIVAL
Eade said despite the accepted
narrative, he was not beaten to the
Hawthorn coaching job by Alastair
Clarkson.
Instead, on the day before his
Hawks interview, the Dogs refused to
allow him to leave their own meeting
until he signed on as coach.
“With the Hawthorn job, Dermott
(Brereton) called me and flew to
Sydney and said, ‘I’m really good
mates with Ayresy (Gary Ayres) but
I’d like you to get the job’.
“I said, ‘I am going to interview
with the Bulldogs’, so he said they
would get me an interview on the
Monday.
“So on the Sunday I went for an
interview with the Bulldogs with Rob
Walls and Jose Romero and a couple
of others in the interview and I think
they had made their mind up on me
beforehand, it’s what I pieced
together later. They said get your
manager in, we don’t want you to
leave the building. Ricky Nixon came
in and worked a deal out. So I never
got to be interviewed by Hawthorn.”
LET’S RUN
The Dogs had five 200-gamers at the
club, Chris Grant, Luke Darcy,
Rohan Smith, Brad Johnson and
Scott West (all went on to play 300
games), but then a big gap to the next
generation including Lindsay Gilbee,
Daniel Giansiracusa, Bob Murphy
and Daniel Cross.
They desperately lacked self-belief.
“I remember one Saturday
morning I said, ‘can the senior
players go to my left. And the rest go
to my right’. Eight players went to my
left,” Eade said.
“And it included the five who had
played 200 games. I remember even
‘Murph’ going to my right.
“I said even if you haven’t played a
senior game you should think you’re
a senior player. So that told me.”
In his early sessions the club’s skill
level stood out, as did the 21 players
who could peel off sub-three second
20m sprint times.
“So they have some pace. They
can kick it. Let’s change the game
plan,” he said. “Let’s run and bounce
the ball. So the average bounces the
year before per game was five.
“We took it to 40. Run and carry
the ball.”
The Dogs were 6-10 in 2005 and
then surged to win five of their last
six games to miss the finals by half a
game.
FREE KICK
AT one stage in the 2009 preliminary
final against St Kilda, the Dogs led
2.6 (18) to 0.2 (2) as Brian Lake and
Nick Riewoldt went at it in a clash in
which a battered and sore Saints
skipper kicked four match-winning
goals.
At the bounce to start the third
quarter, and after plenty of first-half
skirmishes, Riewoldt went down with
what the Dogs believed was little
contact.
He kicked a goal from a
momentum-turning free kick.
“Brian Lake had been into him a
bit in the second quarter and got
warned and it was a typical
overreaction. Obviously Riewoldt
had heard (the umpire),” Eade said.
“They get a goal before the bounce
and then a goal out of the bounce.
Two goals and it’s game on. So yeah,
it’s one that got away.”
Did he think his Dogs could have
beaten Geelong in the grand final?
“Yeah, we did. They were a
fantastic team but we thought with
our run and carry and speed, we
might have been a chance,” Eadesaid.
TIK TOK KING
EADE famously labelled the
cerebral, deep-thinking ruckman
Will Minson as the “dumbest smart
bloke” going around – but they
shared a strong relationship.
In 2019 someone posted what was
essentially a supercut of Eade sprays
from a single game into a one-minute
audio package.
It was utterly hilarious as then-
assistant Leon Cameron attempted to
calm Eade, who kept responding with
“OK mate”, before seemingly
launching again seconds later.
As Eade recalled, veteran Robert
Murphy said his sprays at players were
often overplayed, but this was a doozy.
“When they played it, I thought it
doesn’t sound like me. It went rapid
fire. It was done over two-and-a-half
hours of play,” Eade said.
“They have edited it and put that
in and Will wasn’t the only player I
said those things to in the box and I
am not the only coach who has done
that, too.
“I felt for Will and I felt it was not
totally applicable. The best indicator
was Leon says, ‘Rocket, will you shut
up’ and I go, ‘OK mate, no worries’.
“It was what it was like in the box.
Yeah, no worries. That’s not the way it
really happened. Because when
someone said ‘pull up’, yeah OK, I did.”
glenn.mcfarlane@news.com.au
Don’t get me
wrong, I would
have loved to
have won (a flag
as coach). But
probably at the
Bulldogs, I
enjoyed coaching
the most ... It was
a terrific club to
be a part of.Rodney Eade
(Clockwise from above),
St Kilda skipper Nick
Riewoldt ina ding-dong
battle with Western
Bulldogs defender Brian
Lake in the 2009
preliminary final; Rodney
Eade with Will Minson; and
Eade picks this weekend’s
Balwyn Tigers team, where
he is coach, with his
assistants Paris Harvis (from
left), Adam Lenarcic and
Hamish McIntosh. Pictures:
Michael Klein
TOMORROW: EADE ON
LOCKETT, HAWKS,
SWANS & SUNS

footscray1973

May 17, 2004
Pepperland
Footscray
https://misc.pagesuite.com/pdfdownload/94e68ba6-30ef-47d1-ab94-29b988b82e7c.pdf#page=1
https://misc.pagesuite.com/pdfdownload/94e68ba6-30ef-47d1-ab94-29b988b82e7c.pdf#page=2

106 SPORT SATURDAY, MAY 7, 2022 heraldsun.com.au
MHSE02Z01MA - V1
Glenn McFarlane and Jon Ralph talk
to Rodney Eade about his time in
charge of the Dogs including
coaching Jason Akermanis
MY FAVOURITE
TIME AS COACH
FORMER Western Bulldogs coach
Rodney Eade says the club made an
error in banning Jason Akermanis
from his famous handstand
celebration in the prelude to his 2010
sacking.
And Eade says the crucial free kick
paid against Brian Lake for pushing
Nick Riewoldt in the 2009
preliminary final was a “crock of
garbage” and “bulldust”.
Eade enjoyed a brilliant seven-
season stint at the Bulldogs as he
transformed an immature team and
guided it to three preliminary finals.
He told the Herald Sun’s Sacked
podcast his time at the Bulldogs was
the most enjoyable of his time in
football, despite winning four flags as
a Hawthorn wingman and taking
Sydney to the 1996 grand final.
One of Eade’s famous rants at
ruckman Will Minson in 2009 went
viral a decade later on an audio clip
and Eade admitted to Sacked that
while it was his voice, it was a heavily
edited minute-long package of a full
150-minute game.
But Eade’s legacy at the Dogs was
his tactical nous and capacity to build
up a young side desperate for self-
belief rather than his strong emotions
which occasionally spilled over.
Eade realised early the lightning-
quick Bulldogs kids were beautiful
ball users and he tailored his game
style around their particular skills.
Renowned as a master tactician,
Eade said at times he made moves
only to see how his opposition coach
reacted: “I think as a historian of the
game I always asked questions. Why
do you do this, what are they trying
to achieve? Sometimes we made
moves not knowing what the effect
would be.
“One game something was thrown
around in the box and someone said,
‘What is going on here?’ I said, ‘I’ve
got no effing idea’. But the bloke next
door has got no chance”.
Eade never won a premiership in
his 377 games as coach of Sydney, the
Western Bulldogs and Gold Coast
but said after four playing flags, he
can still sleep well at night.
“That’s what happens in footy, it
doesn’t stick in your craw,” he said.
“I was asked the question at the
Bulldogs and I said I would love to
win one more for the players and the
supporters rather than myself.
“It might have been different if I
hadn’t won one as a player, it wasn’t a
personal thing driving me. My
coaching was more about the team
and the club and trying to
get each bloke getting the
best out of themselves.
“Don’t get me wrong, I
would have loved to have
won one. But probably at
the Bulldogs, I enjoyed
coaching the most and
maybe even my footy the
most other than the
premierships.
“It was a terrific club
to be a part of.”
AKER
CONTROVERSY
AKERMANIS has long
felt the Leading Teams
model in which players
get strong 360-degree
feedback only allows for
players to be bullied and
the triple Brisbane Lions
premiership player was
told he “looked content”
in one Dogs session.
Akermanis told Sacked in 2020
that the club’s “A-Team” of players
was “more powerful than I ever
thought” as they banned his
trademark handstand which had
been instrumental in bringing young
fans to the Lions.
“They were like, ‘it’s too
individual, we don’t want
individuality here’ ... d---heads. It was
a huge collective of very, very weak
individuals allowed to get away with
it,” he said.
Eade told Sacked this week that
Akermanis’ 77 games at the Dogs had
been full of positives but it was not a
surprise his stint ended in acrimony.
“He is his own person, as we know.
I thought our group handled him
really well, they gave him a lot of
rope which people don’t realise,”
Eade said.
“2007 was the first year – he didn’t
have a great year – but after that he
played some good football. At times
he was getting tagged by (Jared)
Crouch and we would get him to play
a different role. He would accept that.
“I think the issue was when he
retired at the end of 2009, he was
going to finish and he had a job at
Channel 7 and radio and they all fell
through so he came back and said,
‘can I keep going?’ but we had no
more (salary cap room) left so he got
some sponsors to get extra money.
“He was fading and (injured)he
got frustrated so it was as much my
fault to agree with him to go on that
extra year.”
Rodney Eade and
Jason Akermanis
celebrate a
Bulldogs victory
in 2009 (above)
and Akermanis
performs his
trademark
handstand
(right).
Rodney Eade as coach of the
Wins Pos
2005 11 9th
2006 14 6th
2007 9.5 13th
2008 16.5 3rd
2009 16 3rd
2010 15 4th
2011 7 12th
Eade coached the Bulldogs to
88 wins and two draws from
162 games (winning percentage
of 54.9 per cent)
DOG YEARS

heraldsun.com.au SATURDAY, MAY 7, 2022
SPORT 107
V1 - MHSE02Z01MA
he
SACKED
LISTEN TO THE PODCAST AT
HERALDSUN.COM.AU
LISTEN NOW
2022 podcasts
1 ANDREW DEMETRIOU
2 BRENTON
SANDERSON 3 NEIL
BALME 4 PETER
SCHWAB 5 JOHN
BARNES 6 GREG
MILLER 7 ROBERT
SHAW 8 COREY
McKERNAN
heraldsun.com.au
SERIES 4, EPISODE 9
RODNEY EADE
Of the handstands Eade was
adamant: “I didn’t mind it.
“We had (leadership facilitators)
Leading Teams at that stage. And
Leading Teams was quite raw and
open. And obviously he didn’t like
the feedback he got as a group at one
stage.
“That was the second (instance).
But the first one was brought up by
one player about the handstand.
“If they’d asked me, I had no issue
with it, and some of the players didn’t
either, but the players spoke about it.
“And then I took a vote on this
and the facilitator from Leading
Teams extrapolated it out and they
got blokes to have their opinion and
they as a group said we would rather
you not do it.”
Asked if that was like a red rag to a
bull, Eade said: “I agree.”
THE ARRIVAL
Eade said despite the accepted
narrative, he was not beaten to the
Hawthorn coaching job by Alastair
Clarkson.
Instead, on the day before his
Hawks interview, the Dogs refused to
allow him to leave their own meeting
until he signed on as coach.
“With the Hawthorn job, Dermott
(Brereton) called me and flew to
Sydney and said, ‘I’m really good
mates with Ayresy (Gary Ayres) but
I’d like you to get the job’.
“I said, ‘I am going to interview
with the Bulldogs’, so he said they
would get me an interview on the
Monday.
“So on the Sunday I went for an
interview with the Bulldogs with Rob
Walls and Jose Romero and a couple
of others in the interview and I think
they had made their mind up on me
beforehand, it’s what I pieced
together later. They said get your
manager in, we don’t want you to
leave the building. Ricky Nixon came
in and worked a deal out. So I never
got to be interviewed by Hawthorn.”
LET’S RUN
The Dogs had five 200-gamers at the
club, Chris Grant, Luke Darcy,
Rohan Smith, Brad Johnson and
Scott West (all went on to play 300
games), but then a big gap to the next
generation including Lindsay Gilbee,
Daniel Giansiracusa, Bob Murphy
and Daniel Cross.
They desperately lacked self-belief.
“I remember one Saturday
morning I said, ‘can the senior
players go to my left. And the rest go
to my right’. Eight players went to my
left,” Eade said.
“And it included the five who had
played 200 games. I remember even
‘Murph’ going to my right.
“I said even if you haven’t played a
senior game you should think you’re
a senior player. So that told me.”
In his early sessions the club’s skill
level stood out, as did the 21 players
who could peel off sub-three second
20m sprint times.
“So they have some pace. They
can kick it. Let’s change the game
plan,” he said. “Let’s run and bounce
the ball. So the average bounces the
year before per game was five.
“We took it to 40. Run and carry
the ball.”
The Dogs were 6-10 in 2005 and
then surged to win five of their last
six games to miss the finals by half a
game.
FREE KICK
AT one stage in the 2009 preliminary
final against St Kilda, the Dogs led
2.6 (18) to 0.2 (2) as Brian Lake and
Nick Riewoldt went at it in a clash in
which a battered and sore Saints
skipper kicked four match-winning
goals.
At the bounce to start the third
quarter, and after plenty of first-half
skirmishes, Riewoldt went down with
what the Dogs believed was little
contact.
He kicked a goal from a
momentum-turning free kick.
“Brian Lake had been into him a
bit in the second quarter and got
warned and it was a typical
overreaction. Obviously Riewoldt
had heard (the umpire),” Eade said.
“They get a goal before the bounce
and then a goal out of the bounce.
Two goals and it’s game on. So yeah,
it’s one that got away.”
Did he think his Dogs could have
beaten Geelong in the grand final?
“Yeah, we did. They were a
fantastic team but we thought with
our run and carry and speed, we
might have been a chance,” Eadesaid.
TIK TOK KING
EADE famously labelled the
cerebral, deep-thinking ruckman
Will Minson as the “dumbest smart
bloke” going around – but they
shared a strong relationship.
In 2019 someone posted what was
essentially a supercut of Eade sprays
from a single game into a one-minute
audio package.
It was utterly hilarious as then-
assistant Leon Cameron attempted to
calm Eade, who kept responding with
“OK mate”, before seemingly
launching again seconds later.
As Eade recalled, veteran Robert
Murphy said his sprays at players were
often overplayed, but this was a doozy.
“When they played it, I thought it
doesn’t sound like me. It went rapid
fire. It was done over two-and-a-half
hours of play,” Eade said.
“They have edited it and put that
in and Will wasn’t the only player I
said those things to in the box and I
am not the only coach who has done
that, too.
“I felt for Will and I felt it was not
totally applicable. The best indicator
was Leon says, ‘Rocket, will you shut
up’ and I go, ‘OK mate, no worries’.
“It was what it was like in the box.
Yeah, no worries. That’s not the way it
really happened. Because when
someone said ‘pull up’, yeah OK, I did.”
glenn.mcfarlane@news.com.au
Don’t get me
wrong, I would
have loved to
have won (a flag
as coach). But
probably at the
Bulldogs, I
enjoyed coaching
the most ... It was
a terrific club to
be a part of.Rodney Eade
(Clockwise from above),
St Kilda skipper Nick
Riewoldt ina ding-dong
battle with Western
Bulldogs defender Brian
Lake in the 2009
preliminary final; Rodney
Eade with Will Minson; and
Eade picks this weekend’s
Balwyn Tigers team, where
he is coach, with his
assistants Paris Harvis (from
left), Adam Lenarcic and
Hamish McIntosh. Pictures:
Michael Klein
TOMORROW: EADE ON
LOCKETT, HAWKS,
SWANS & SUNS
Brilliant, thanks Fossie.

Eade saved our club. I'd hate to think of where we'd be without him and Gordon.

It’s funny, our team under Eade was probably the most enjoyable time to watch us but just unlucky it was around the same time as some other excellent teams

Sep 27, 2005
Footscray
It’s funny, our team under Eade was probably the most enjoyable time to watch us but just unlucky it was around the same time as some other excellent teams

Agree 100 per cent. Loved going to footy and watching us when Eade was in charge.

We played damn exciting footy, Eade took no bull**** and was prepared to give a kick up the backside when required.

Great read.

I barracked hard against the Saints in each grand final they played in. It was mean spirited of me, but I was glad that Riewoldt never got to play in a flag winning team.
Ironic that Murphy and him became mates later on, and Johno on Fox Footy with him.

D Mitchell

Jul 28, 2006
Footscray Football Club
Ironic that Murphy and him became mates later on, and Johno on Fox Footy with him.
The incident occurred at the beginning of the 3rd quarter, before the ball was even bounced, it didn't lose us the game. Reiwoldt was a magnificent player, his work rate was extraordinary for a tall forward and who could ever forget his mark against Sydney. Have a look at it and see where he was when Harvey (?) kicked the ball. A Champion. If he's good enough for Bob Murphy and Brad Johnson, he's good enough for me.

flipper83

Jul 18, 2012
The incident occurred at the beginning of the 3rd quarter, before the ball was even bounced, it didn't lose us the game. Reiwoldt was a magnificent player, his work rate was extraordinary for a tall forward and who could ever forget his mark against Sydney. Have a look at it and see where he was when Harvey (?) kicked the ball. A Champion. If he's good enough for Bob Murphy and Brad Johnson, he's good enough for me.

I think that was the issue with the decision. A free kick can't be paid if the match hadn't recommenced after the break. Anyway I agree it's in the past Reiwoldt was a great player who occasionally milked a free but so did Johnno. We can't make fun of salty swans supporters then harp on about how we were wronged.

I don't think anyone can say for sure what would have happened if that free wasn't given. Sure didn't help

stevieg1969

Aug 26, 2013
I don't think anyone can say for sure what would have happened if that free wasn't given. Sure didn't help
It’s a strange one because unlike most decisions, it didn’t really change other outcomes as it happened before the commencement of the 2nd half. It would have put more pressure on the Saints as they would have been a goal and a half down midway through the last quarter instead of 3-4 points down. Gilbee missing from 30m out on the run when he was such a beautiful kick was a sliding doors moment. 2016 does soften that blow though.