Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

Regardless of whether the AFLW is a good investment or not it still isn't good tp watch, most games are dull low scoring affairs or one sided blowouts and it hasn't really improved in the 4 or 5 years that it has been around. You can't be critical of it though or you will be howled down for being sexist.

NRL isnt good to watch either.

If I go on to League Unlimited to point out this incontrovertible fact, I get howled down to. Its strange.

The game currently playing that is Dogs v demons renders your statement an absolute total lie.

I said most games, not all games and what was so great about the Dogs v Demons game? The Dogs won comfortably in the end and the Demons kicked just 2 goals, it hardly disproved my point.

Your opinion perfectly fits the post, unless it it is popular that a good game mostly has high scores and margins during the game that are at most 13 points are considered comfortable margins.

To disprove your opinion however, we just had a good game of Women's football to watch. That's pretty simple.

Kind of on this, and I'm not sure if it's unpopular, but AFL players are genuinely some of the very best all-round athletes in the world and I don't think enough gets made of this fact and it's underappreciated. Most sports require athletic specialisation in a single area -- there's not a single other team sport in the world that requires the mix of athletic qualities that Australian football does and we should celebrate that and acknowledge it more imo.

Couldn't agree more. It's quite frustrating how (in particular) the American sports are so well marketed that their athletes are held on a higher pedestal. Our athletes at home playing OUR game are running faster, running longer, hitting harder, jumping higher and completing the bulk of their conditioning during the Australian summer.

It's brutal.

And it should be celebrated more.

Couldn't agree more. It's quite frustrating how (in particular) the American sports are so well marketed that their athletes are held on a higher pedestal. Our athletes at home playing OUR game are running faster, running longer, hitting harder, jumping higher and completing the bulk of their conditioning during the Australian summer.

It's brutal.

And it should be celebrated more.
In a way though they probably arent the best at anyone thing. Too many other (especially US) sports specialise more

They arent the fastest - Im pretty sure there are faster runners in NFL and athletics
They dont jump the highest - basketball and again aths would go higher
They arent the strongest - NFL or weightlifting or rugby
Distance is close - but lot of runners or more minor endurance sports

But the fact is AFL players are all round good at all of those. As a sport it would probably come in top 5 or so for every thing. And that is incredible

In a way though they probably arent the best at anyone thing. Too many other (especially US) sports specialise more

They arent the fastest - Im pretty sure there are faster runners in NFL and athletics
They dont jump the highest - basketball and again aths would go higher
They arent the strongest - NFL or weightlifting or rugby
Distance is close - but lot of runners or more minor endurance sports

But the fact is AFL players are all round good at all of those. As a sport it would probably come in top 5 or so for every thing. And that is incredible

Only talking comparable ball sports.
In those other sports where they jump or run fast, they aren't expected to be so rounded in all athletic traits.

Also Charlie Cameron with the ball under the arm at full tilt is more exciting than any quick boy in the NFL on a break and I won't hear any different :moustache:

Only talking comparable ball sports.
In those other sports where they jump or run fast, they aren't expected to be so rounded in all athletic traits.

Also Charlie Cameron with the ball under the arm at full tilt is more exciting than any quick boy in the NFL on a break and I won't hear any different :moustache:
Oh absolutely I love the blend of all athletic abilities, its definitely what (one of at least) the reasons the sport is amazing to watch. Its just I dont think they would be the top of any actual athletic categories (except maybe endurance)

I'm not a massive fan either, but it's only 4-5 years old. How skilful and high-scoring was the men's VFL to watch in 1901?

I'm not sure where AFLW even fits in this thread. Saying that it's no good or the women don't deserve to be paid any more etc. isn't going to win you any friends but is also not exactly uncommon. So maybe it's unpalatable but not unpopular.:shrug:

The AFLW fits in this thread as the AFL is trying to treat it as though it is a proper, fully fledged professional sport with quality athletes producing quality matches.

Any semi serious U16's (i'd suggest most u14's) boys competition produces games of higher quality, with higher skills and significantly higher scoring.

The AFLW fits in this thread as the AFL is trying to treat it as though it is a proper, fully fledged professional sport with quality athletes producing quality matches.

Any semi serious U16's (i'd suggest most u14's) boys competition produces games of higher quality, with higher skills and significantly higher scoring.

No doubt. I am not a fan of AFLW and haven't watched a game all year. WC have a team now and it still doesn't interest me and that's OK.

If we agree that WAFL Colts is a higher standard than AFLW there is still no scope for WAFL Colts to be a marketable product. AFL is first on the pyramid, then you can argue over which state league is the strongest, then reserves and U/18s, then ammos etc. The reality is that AFLW might slot in at 10th or 20th or 50th strongest league in the country. But it's popular (ish?) because it's national, and it's the highest standard of women's football.

Other than the progressiveness PR the real reason the AFL underwrites an AFLW comp is to keep girls playing footy instead of soccer, basketball, whatever so that they aren't lost as AFL customers down the track. Girls who play soccer and idolise Sam Kerr and go to W-League/Matildas games are potential lost income to the AFL. Having an AFLW at least means there is a pathway to a national comp.

Wouldn't be having cracks at my cognition when you can barely string a sentence together, chief.
Hahaha you know when you have nothing relevant to say back when you need to resort to grammar taunts 😂😂 well done mate enjoy watching your team s**t the bed again this season, forever mediocre

Jealous of a three time premiership captain and Brownlow medallist? Fair call, tbh.

Still vanilla.

To the extent I can't even recall this incident from 2017 that you refer to.
Well I expect him to be considered vanilla but if you are on fb and see a post about Trent you'll see he get more hate than usual

Hahaha you know when you have nothing relevant to say back when you need to resort to grammar taunts 😂😂 well done mate enjoy watching your team sh*t the bed again this season, forever mediocre

Wow North are mediocre? REALLY? I hadn't noticed. You have truly opened my eyes, oh Fabled Oracle JC12. For once I was blind, and now I see! My team sucks! Goodness me however will I sleep at night!

Quick question, have you ever built anything?

Why does it matter if I have built something or not? I know people are saying that you need to give the AFLW time to develop but in the time it has been around I haven't seen a great deal of improvement in the standard or play or an increase in scoring and I'm yet to be convinced it will ever become good enough to be self sufficient and sustainable like the mens AFL where big crowds of people are paying to go and watch it.

I'm keen to see how the new man on the mark rules work out - I reckon it could be a good thing.
How is this a good thing? What does this rule bring to the game?

Hopefully more attacking play, particularly around the wings where the man on the mark would usually stand at 45 degrees to try force a long kick down the line. Boring.

It may very well be yet another rule change that causes more problems than it solves, but as I said I am keen to see how it plays out.

Hopefully more attacking play, particularly around the wings where the man on the mark would usually stand at 45 degrees to try force a long kick down the line. Boring.

It may very well be yet another rule change that causes more problems than it solves, but as I said I am keen to see how it plays out.

Someones been drinking the kool-aid. Apart from along the boundary where they may stand a bit to the side, when does anyone stand on the mark on a 45degree angle?