What was the best ever grand final

• Thread starter Thread starter X_box_X

What was the Best ever Grand Final since 1960?

• Melbourne V Collingwood (1964)

Votes: 1 2.7%
  • Collingwood V St.Kilda (1966)

Votes: 2 5.4%
  • Richmond V Geelong (1967)

Votes: 3 8.1%
  • Carlton V Essendon (1968)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Carlton V Collingwood (1970)

• Richmond V Carlton (1972)

Votes: 1 2.7%
  • Collingwood V North.Melbourne (1977)

Votes: 5 13.5%
  • Carlton V Collingwood (1979)

• Hawthorn V Geelong (1989)

Votes: 16 43.2%
  • OTHER

Votes: 5 13.5%

1990!!!!!!!!!!!!!

u beauty!!!!!!!!

wasnt a bad standard either... pity it was a blow out, and only 1 team could go the distance!

wasnt really a pity, what am i talkin about!!

Great poll X_box_X. Great choice of matches, too! I've seen them all on the footy marathon

In order, I would say:

1.)Richmond vs Geelong (1967) Anyone who hasn't seen this match get a tape of it. The skill level was better than 1970. So much drama in the last quarter. The Cats were stiff.

2.)Carlton V Collingwood (1970) Just for pure drama. This is the most famous Grand Final, but in terms of quality, it falls "just" behind 1967 IMHO. Incredible match.

3.)Hawthorn vs Geelong (1989) 144-138. What a game.

4.)Collingwod vs St.Kilda (1966). Drama, pressure, drama.

5.)Richmond vs Carlton (1972). One sided, but what a game! 177-150. The second quarter was amazing. Incredible football.

6.)Melbourne vs Collingwood (1964). Apparently a great game. Imagine the drame. A lumbering ruckman takes four bounces (nearly losing the ball each time) whilst running into an open goal at the 25 minute mark, and puts his team in front. Then, a Melbourne player (Neil Crompton) who hadn't kicked a goal all year, puts his team in front 2 minutes later to seal the match.

7.)Collingwood vs North (1977) Drama, but not a great standard game.

8.)Carlton vs Colingwood (1979) Not a great game, Played in the mud, and memorable for one incident half way through the last quarter.

9.)Carlton vs Essendon (1968). Not a great game. It was close, but that's it. A cross-wind spoilt the spectacle. No big highlights or skillfull play to come from the match (score was 7.14.56 to 8.5.53)

Special mentions to 1984 and 1971 which were better games than 1968.

Of the 20 Grand Finals that I've been to, I'd have to say 1989.

Because of the pilots'strike I couldn't get to Melbourne from Perth where I was (unfortunately) living at the time. I had booked my Ansett ticket in April and got a GF ticket from the West Coast Eagles of which I was a member at the time (unfortunately). Four of us drove (well, I didn't since I do not drive) to Melbourne, leaving at 1pm Thurs and arriving at 3am Sat morning. After a few hours sleep I was off to the G at 9am to get my money's worth for the day. And, boy, did I get it! It was a fantastic GF, well worth the long car ride from Perth. Dermie, Dipper and Gazza made it one I'll never forget!

I also loved the 77 GF. It was only my second GF and like most others around me in Standing Room in the Southern Stand, no one knew what to do when the siren went. We didn't know if there would be overtime or something. I had my trans with me and heard that we'd have to come back the next week for the replay. Even I was exhausted after that match!

A couple of others I think rate a mention :

1981 Carlton V Collingwood - an excellent standard of football in this one, much, much better than 1979 which was a mud wrestle notable onl;y for a single incident. The 81 game was an absolutrely beauty though - Rod Ashman you are a star !

1997 Adelaide v St Kilda - Probably gets a mention because it was the most entertaining and closest GF we had seen for quite a long time. A fast and skillfull game that see-sawed all day until Jarman and McLeod turned in blinders during the last quarter.

1965 Essendon v St Kilda - Only seen it once and the tape isn't great but these two teams put on a wonderful display of great footy. St Kilda really did have a great side in those days didn't they ?

1958 Collingwood v Melbourne - The one the Poys pinched. Part of the Collingwood folklore and now very memorable in part because of the great full colour newsreel of it that still survives today. Some of the 'hits' still make your eyes water 43 years later.

1945 Carlton v South Melbourne - well I've only seen about 15 minutes of very grainy B&W footage of it but no list of a Swans fans' favourite GFs would be complete without the infamous 'bloodbath'

Of the ones in the poll - My favourite is 1970 of course but Dan is right the 1967 Gf is 'one for the purists' they might say.

Dan - in very much the same way i've often heard the 1937 Gf was THE Grand Final of all time. Not so much because it was close or especially dramatic but because it was played in a terrific spirit and featured spectacular high marking galore. Really wish there was newsreel footage of it available. Believed by many 'old timers' to be the greates GF ever.

cheers

1989...I might be a bit biased...but any game that has 42 goals kicked, an incredible comeback, 9 goals in a losing side, and the winning team having 11 fit players by the end of the match is pretty hard to beat. I think only after having so many dud GF's in a row (apart from maybe 97) people are only beginning to realise how good a match it was. For toughness it would be almost impossible to beat.

PS. The Home & Away match between Hawthorn-Geelong in 1989 (171-163) is the best standard match I've ever seen.

'89 for mine was too one sided for too long even though it was close at the end. For most of the game Hawthorn were winning easily and that made it boring (too me at least!). That the finish was exciting is the reason so many people rate it as a great game when, IMVHO, it wasn't. A game is more than the last 10 minutes! Honourable mention to Derm.

In terms of matches that were good contests for most of the day (and that's my criteria for a good game), 97 & 92 were both games that were close most of the day, '96 fits in there too. Even '91 was only 10 points at 3/4 time.

My all time favourite was '84. "My" team, a close game, result not known till close to the end, first flag that I'd seen. But then that's more than a litlle sunjective ;)

Well...i havent lived through most of those u named...any involving Collingwood losign i dont like

so i would say 1989...altho 1990 was a MUCH more enjoyable experience for me.

1984 without a doubt.
After the horrific result of the '83 GF, I doubt whether there was a dry eye amongst the Bomber fans.
Also the first GF I saw the Bombers win.:cool:

I disagree with you to an extent Dave. I watched the whole thing (for the far-too-many-times-to-recall-exactlyth time) recently, and the whole game is quite enthralling.

As Hawthorn is easing away in the first quarter, there are still some intriguing sub-dramas: How is Dermott holding up? Is there anyone on the Hawthorn team that Hocking hasn't "tackled" late and high yet? Can Paul Couch actually get a touch?

The second quarter was the start of the Ablett show, which was fascinating in itself, but even at that early stage you can see Hawthorn starting to wilt. Dipper is being left behind at contests, Geelong are starting to win more one-on-ones.

The third quarter is excellent theatre. The Cats charge out from half time and really start to make inroads again, and then Hawthorn score some absolute freak goals to keep them at arms length.

The last quarter is pure drama. I especially love when Dunstall beats Darcy one-out midway through to put us back up by four goals. I've never seen some swear so violently on a footy field than Darcy when Bung out-bodied him. He was a bit dirty.

And Dipper's last lunge, dive and bump to stop Bruns clearing the ball forward. Absolutely inspirational! I still roar when the siren goes.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
I disagree with you to an extent Dave. I watched the whole thing (for the far-too-many-times-to-recall-exactlyth time) recently, and the whole game is quite enthralling.

Fair 'nuf Danny, I must admit to not having watched it all that often! I suppose when your (general your not you in particular) team is playing you can find more to keep you interested when the game isn't tight, I know I have.

I wasn't saying either that it wasn't a good game, as there was some great footy played, just that IMO it's not as good as others think it was.

1998 without a doubt

Seeing the look on Carey's and Archer's face in that last quarter and after the match was...dare i say it....PURE THUCKEN GOLD (breach)

1997 wasn't too bad either with the most skillful footy player ever, kicking 5 in the last quarter.

That''ll do That will do. Unbelievable Darren"

I know this is boring for you all, predictable and I am not looking for a fight but I have to mention....

The 1984 SANFL Grand Final (Port v Norwood).

It had it all.....fights in the goal square during the national anthem, it was close, traditional rivals, a sell out, and Norwood came from behind, kicking against the wind in the last quarter to steal a win.

For quite some time I think the SANFL GF's had more entertainment value than the VFL, standard of the game, closeness, full on brawls etc etc Just MHO of course !!

I had a copy on video but in an obsence drunken gesture I gave it to my mate (Norwood supporter) late one night after watching it and downing way too much Boags. If any of you Collingwood or Western Bulldogs fans want to earn a slab, could you break into his house and nick it for me ? He lives in those flash new apartments in East Melbourne next to the MCG on Wellington Parade South.

I take it you standard is VB ? It would be most appreciated.

ptw

77 GF

The first game of football i ever watched was the first GF of 77. What a game!! I was fairly young at the time and arrived in Melb 3 weeks before from Argentina and was amazed at all this hype about football. A game they play with hands. Anyway i watched the game and loved football ever since! I went for North Melbourne that day as i remember becasue the strip and colors were similiar to the argentinian soccer strip at the time (with sleeves of course). I
couldnt believe it when my Uncle (Also a roo's supporter till this day) told me it had to be played again.

I feel in duty bound to nominate the 89 GF, but I will add, and it hurts me to say it, that the 84 is right up there. I haven't seen a last quarter burst like that before or since. I don't know how many times they've put it on the marathon, but every time I sit there transfixed, reliving the nightmare. So I agree with you, Sandie - for the Essendon fans as well as the impartial, it's an amazing last quarter to watch.

1989 for me. Even though Hawthorn got out to a great start you always got the feeling Geelong were going to hit back hard. The last quarter is as good as you can get grand finals. One team with no more than 12 fit players holding on by the skin of there teeth and the exciting 'Ablett led' Cats charging home. I remember going nuts at Dean Anderson' goal in the last qtr :D

1971 was also a sensational game. I have seen it on video many times, it's possibly the most hard-fought game i've seen. Players just threw themselves at the ball and at each other! The last qtr had everything, Bob Keddie inspiring the Hawks with 4 last qtr goals and of course there were the Huddo incidents....Super game.

Originally posted by RogerC
I feel in duty bound to nominate the 89 GF, but I will add, and it hurts me to say it, that the 84 is right up there. I haven't seen a last quarter burst like that before or since. I don't know how many times they've put it on the marathon, but every time I sit there transfixed, reliving the nightmare. So I agree with you, Sandie - for the Essendon fans as well as the impartial, it's an amazing last quarter to watch.

Geez thats a gutsy effort to watch it again! I wasn't there (too young) but i have seen it on video, once..... I will never watch it again. My uncle is a Hawthorn supporter and he actually called home at half time that day and told his parents that Hawthorn would lose, he could just feel it. They'd wasted so many chances to go further ahead and he knew it would come back to haunt them. Oh well......:(