Review What We Learnt: Round 7 Edition

Loved Tom Hickey's last 5 mins of the game. Got a hand in a few times to intercept Carlton handballs & laid a ripper tackle on someone just as they were about to bomb inside 50 again.

As a Hickey doubter, I was not wrong with his fumbling & bumbling in the first half, but his 2nd half was much better. He needs time, but I would be more than happy now to have him ply his trade in the seniors for strings of games & reserves for a break & learn to play other positions every so often as the year goes by

The change here was that he was given the responsibility of being the #1 ruckman in the centre and forward half. I really liked that move from Watters. He basically had Hickey contest the centre square and take everything in the forward half, while Macca parked himself 35m out from the Blues goal and took all the ballups in the back half.

It probably wasn't as effective against Carlton due to them having 3 ruckmen but against the likes of North, Port, Brisbane, Footscray, Freo, Adelaide, Richmond and GWS, who all rely on a single ruck doing the bulk of the work, it could be a huge asset.

With the umps throwing the ball up around the ground ruckmen have less time to get to the contest. There were a couple of times in the first half where 2 midfielders went up because the rucks were so far away. Scotty caught this and adjusted.

For all the praise Malthouse is getting for putting Henderson (a forward) ya know... forward, I really thought that Scotty outcoached him all night.

Geary to Murphy was inspired.
Roberton stopped Betts and got on the other way.
Newnes and Ross rotating on Judd was a perfect lesson to give them.
The move of Riewoldt deep in the first qtr when it became obvious that no-one could stop him.
He got Milne and Saad up the ground and into the action so that they didn't starve.

Just a really great team performance from the head coach down last night.

Milne and Saad playing up the ground confirms to me that we're one small forward too many. One of them has to make way for another mid.

EXACTLY. When you're trying to get Milne, Saad or Milera to be inside mids, you have yourself a serious problem. Especially when we have an effective hybrid inside-mid/small-forward just SITTING THERE on our rookie list in Curren. That's why I want Milne or Milera dropped (preferably Milne) for Curren, or at least Ledger, for this week's game.

The change here was that he was given the responsibility of being the #1 ruckman in the centre and forward half. I really liked that move from Watters. He basically had Hickey contest the centre square and take everything in the forward half, while Macca parked himself 35m out from the Blues goal and took all the ballups in the back half.

It probably wasn't as effective against Carlton due to them having 3 ruckmen but against the likes of North, Port, Brisbane, Footscray, Freo, Adelaide, Richmond and GWS, who all rely on a single ruck doing the bulk of the work, it could be a huge asset.

With the umps throwing the ball up around the ground ruckmen have less time to get to the contest. There were a couple of times in the first half where 2 midfielders went up because the rucks were so far away. Scotty caught this and adjusted.

For all the praise Malthouse is getting for putting Henderson (a forward) ya know... forward, I really thought that Scotty outcoached him all night.

Geary to Murphy was inspired.
Roberton stopped Betts and got on the other way.
Newnes and Ross rotating on Judd was a perfect lesson to give them.
The move of Riewoldt deep in the first qtr when it became obvious that no-one could stop him.
He got Milne and Saad up the ground and into the action so that they didn't starve.

Just a really great team performance from the head coach down last night.

I thought our matchups all over the ground were 1st class

Huge praise should be given to Watters for having the balls to play the kids in Wright, Newnes & Webster on the likes of Betts, Garlett, McLean etc

- Dal running with Judd was a masterstroke. I would take Dal clean'ness of disposal over Judd's junk kicks/handballs out of a scrimmage every time!
- Geary to Murphy, as you mentioned, was sensational. Perfect matchup for Gears as he has a great tank & can run all day with blokes like Murphy that don't have that really blistering first 5 steps out of a pack/scrimmage
- Stoked with Roo giving the handball to Milne for his goal. Milne is & always will be the player that is the 'jack-in-the-box'... Opposition teams really suffer once he's 'let out' & gets into the game
- Seb looked really composed too. He & Newnes still seem to have to double-grab at the loose ball a lot, but I have confidence that will disappear the more they play & the more Watters keeps backing them in

Simpkin - Stanley - Wright
Roberton - ??? - Newnes
Dunell - Armo - Webster
Siposs - Lee - Ross
Saad - McEvoy - Saunders
Hickey - Steven - Geary

Murdoch - TDL - Ledger

That's a team of players, under 25 years old and who have played at least one game. We have the following who are yet to debut -

Markworth - Did his knee. Could be anything.
Curren - Tearing up the VFL. Expect him to debut this year.
Ferg - Probably needs to work on his body strength and make CHB his own. A chance to debut this year with Gilbert's injury.
Lever - Needs a couple more years. Chance to be rookie listed.
Staley - Not sure where he is at.
Minchington - Highly rated by Watters. Might debut this year.
White - Could be anything. Expect him to debut this year.
Pierce - Very long term. Wont get a game until 2015.

That means we have had 5 debuts this season and potentially have another 4 to come. Not bad for the 'worst youth in the comp' :rolleyes:

Ah, so now Stanley is suffering from the plague of all good backmen: "Max Hudghton syndrome". It's a tragic ailment, where whenever a good forward has a good game, it's the backman's fault, but whenever the backman has a good game, it's because the forward had a bad day. :oops:

Terrible analogy. Hudghton and Hamill along with Lenny were my favorite players back then and i'm sure a lot of other people had much respect for Hudghton as a defender. He was nothing short of brilliant.

do you think he will look for a trade?

What's the go with Tez?

There was talk last year that he was homesick and wanted to head back to SA. I think Port might have been sniffing around late in the trade window? Is this still the case?

Tom Clurey is a Saints fan yeah? Wonder if we could grab him.....

I learnt what you all learny pretty much... except one thing you all missed.

1. I will never EVER watch a game of football again that Brian Taylor is commentating. At least not with the sound on. I mean EVER.

Big boy McEvoy every 5 minutes?? Berating his fellow commentators. He's an obnoxious, pigheaded fool and I can't take it any more. What will it take for Channel 7 to dump this fool?? Or foxtell to offer a BT'less coverage!

If I hear another Big Boy McEvoy I'll spew up.

1. I will never EVER watch a game of football again that Brian Taylor is commentating. At least not with the sound on. I mean EVER.

Big boy McEvoy every 5 minutes?? Berating his fellow commentators. He's an obnoxious, pigheaded fool and I can't take it any more. What will it take for Channel 7 to dump this fool?? Or foxtell to offer a BT'less coverage!

Had a good laugh at Finey on SEN after the game. He cracked it after 2-3 callers used "Big Boy McEvoy" and basically said that just because one knobhead is using it as a catchphrase to try and spice up a pathetic television coverage, doesn't mean we should all be dragged down to that level.

He's basically put a ban on the nickname on his show because of how annoying it's become haha

Here are a few things

Loved Hickey's last quarter efforts, including his tackling. Laid at least 3 ripper tackles for the game. Some of his ruckwork is just exceptionally good. Did a couple of over the head numbers (hitouts) last night (as he was doing in the NAB Cup) that were just fantastic. Was a much improved game by him last night and I'm seriously looking forward to seeing how good he is in a couple more years, when he learns the game more and is more used to playing forward.

Jimmy Webster, as someone else said last night, has a really good tackling technique and ability, to go with his great kicking and a serious bullet of a handball, not to mention the speed, running and evasive ability that he was known to have prior to his draft. When I saw him in person for the first time at the open training session in January I was shocked at how skinny he was and didn't think he'd be able to make an impact yet, if ever, being that thin, but I'm pleased to say it isn't stopping him and he is only likely to get better with more games and with another preseason or two in the gym. Has some serious talent and attributes and as Watters suggested during the week, looks to have a real competitive attitude as well, which is great. Looks to me like a taller, thinner, quicker (both running and movement-wise) and more aggressive outside version of Dal Santo. So much to like there. :)

Steven has the ability to get a lot of the footy. Didn't get over 25 possies once last year, after getting over 25 at least 5 times in about half a season in 2011, but has now shown that he can get it a heap and what was all the more remarkable about last night was that he got his 39 possies, including an amazing 19 contested, in just 76% of game time! :eek:

Super effort for Seb Ross to also get it 21 times in just 75% of game time, despite spending most of the match forward, from what I noticed.

What a difference it makes to our team to have all of Fisher, Gwilt and Dempster there, fit and in form, now ably helped by the likes of Roberton, Stanley and Wright. We have a very good backline in the making, but just need someone big and strong and good to take the "gorillas". Then we ought to have a very good backline again.

If Milne wants to keep earning his place he needs to do the % team thing more often and not try to do it all himself. Please cut out the fancy, low % shit Milney.

- Dylan Roberton would be leading our BnF if he wasn't competing against perhaps the best Saint of all time in Nick Riewoldt. Most of us had feelings ranging from apprehension to outright anger when we picked him up but he is probably the recruit of the year in terms of recycled players having an impact on their new club.

I love Nick Riewoldt and hate Tony Lockett, but as good as Nick is Plugger was on another level in my opinion. Freaking plugger....nothing wrong with being in the top 5 saints of all time though. How is this for a forward line:

Who Cares Plugger Milney
Who Cares Doc Roo

How is this for a forward line:

Who Cares Plugger Milney
Who Cares Doc Roo
How about I fill in a couple of the gaps for you?

Doc Loewe Riewoldt
Milne Plugger Winmar

or

Winmar Loewe Riewoldt
Doc Plugger Milne

:thumbsu:

Edit: Wouldn't mind squeezing big Frase in there somewhere, too. Maybe swap him for Cuz in that first one.

There was somthing like 15 times BT said it. Throw in Darcy with at least 8, Richo with 5 or so and Ling with one you get nearly 30 times they said it. On an average quarter of 30 minutes it was said once every 4 minutes.

How about I fill in a couple of the gaps for you?

Doc Loewe Riewoldt
Milne Plugger Winmar

or

Winmar Loewe Riewoldt
Doc Plugger Milne

:thumbsu:

Edit: Wouldn't mind squeezing big Frase in there somewhere, too. Maybe swap him for Cuz in that first one.

I was thinking 4 tall forwards was a bit much but you decided to go 5 in the end :D
Forgot about Nicky for the half forward spot. Buckets can start on the bench and rotate on. Who is another small/half forward we can squeeze in there?

I was thinking 4 tall forwards was a bit much but you decided to go 5 in the end :D
Forgot about Nicky for the half forward spot. Buckets can start on the bench and rotate on. Who is another small/half forward we can squeeze in there?
Mate, Doc was only 177cm you realise? Just one cm taller than Milne! :eek: In today's game he would be playing FP and doing a hell of a job of it, or roving in the middle. Rooey can play as a "tall flanker".

I love Nick Riewoldt and hate Tony Lockett, but as good as Nick is Plugger was on another level in my opinion. Freaking plugger....nothing wrong with being in the top 5 saints of all time though.

This might get heated, but I would take Roo over Plugger.

*ducks*

Simpkin - Stanley - Wright
Roberton - ??? - Newnes
Dunell - Armo - Webster
Siposs - Lee - Ross
Saad - McEvoy - Saunders
Hickey - Steven - Geary

Murdoch - TDL - Ledger

That's a team of players, under 25 years old and who have played at least one game. We have the following who are yet to debut -

Markworth - Did his knee. Could be anything.
Curren - Tearing up the VFL. Expect him to debut this year.
Ferg - Probably needs to work on his body strength and make CHB his own. A chance to debut this year with Gilbert's injury.
Lever - Needs a couple more years. Chance to be rookie listed.
Staley - Not sure where he is at.
Minchington - Highly rated by Watters. Might debut this year.
White - Could be anything. Expect him to debut this year.
Pierce - Very long term. Wont get a game until 2015.

That means we have had 5 debuts this season and potentially have another 4 to come. Not bad for the 'worst youth in the comp' :rolleyes:

Jord Staley has had a pretty god year for sandy so far from what ive heard, he bulked up a lot over the summer and theyve moved him down back and is getting a bit of the ball and has kicked a couple of goals. hasnt had too many kicked on him either. coaches are happy with his progress

Inside mail? Have you spoken to him or others at the club? Not doubting it, just wondering how confident you are and if you know the reasons?

If he wanted to go back to SA what do people think would he be worth? 3rd rounder maybe?

Inside mail? Have you spoken to him or others at the club? Not doubting it, just wondering how confident you are and if you know the reasons?

If he wanted to go back to SA what do people think would he be worth? 3rd rounder maybe?

Mail outside the club (from SA ironically). He is really torn because he loves the players and the club but remember that he has a young family and it is not as simple as him being selfish or not rewarding the club. The excitement of being drafted has settled into the grind of AFL and the realisation of being in another state has really kicked in for his whole family. That said - there is a long season ahead of us and remember guys like Harley Bennell were all but gone and then taken under the wing of a senior player and is now settled into the GC. He may well stay but I put him in the more likely to go category. I hope he works through it all and stays.

We went down this path with Cripps and got pick 44 so I imagine he is worth less.

Milera be worth late 4th rounder I would have thought. Not sure there would be ton clubs after him.

Review What We Learnt: Round 7 Edition