Roast What went wrong?

People are arguing the wrong thing. It shouldn't have been a choice between White and Bradshaw.

White should have played instead of Jarred Moore.

This. I said it as soon as I found out. I even facebook'd my friend in Capslock saying "ROOS HAS DROPPED WHITE".

Lol.

White averages 1.1 a game. Bradshaw kicked 3 with ease last night. Its not White v Bradshaw. It's Moore. Moore was really good in 2008. He lead the competition in goal assists for the first 6 weeks. But he's had two dud weeks. Bring in White for 2011. White is young and needs experience, then he'll be like Travis Cloke, but better.

Its not like Halls a dud though, and Grundy did a few good things, looked good when he backed himself and ran off Hall or got in front. He would be shattered as much as you guys sticking the boots in. Pretty piss poor support calling for him to be shot etc, he is one of the reasons we played finals in the first place.

I agree entirely Bez

There is no pointing hiding from the fact he had a bad night and it went a long way to us losing last night andI hope he's shatterd and he uses that to come out next year and has a big season.

Dr HardenUp appears to be the only one celebrating the fact as it vindicates his position that Grundy had a bad year which is simply not true.

The worst thing about the loss is that we have 6 months to look at what went wrong.

I was at the game last night and in the 2nd qtr I was already thinking how we were going to go against the saints which was a mistake on my part.

Here is what I think went wrong:
- Grundy dropping two easy marks that cost us two goals. If he took the one in the 2nd qtr then i believe the game was over.
- Dropping jesse white and bevan. Ever since Jesse realized that he can use his body and crash the packs, he has done all the 1% things that we love in sydney. The same goes for bevan, attacks the ball just as hard as anyone at the swans. I think moore, ryano, or jetta (had a great game last night) would have been better candidates to drop.
- Wayward kicking at goal. Not the first time it has cost us a game.

We can't blame the umpires even though some of the decisions in the last quarter had me putting my head into my hands. How shaw being pulled off the ball wasn't a free kick, i'll never know.

As a side note, I have never been so gutted after a loss. I was at the 06' grand final and last night made me feel worse. The fact that we should have had them on toast at half time is what makes it so bad. Should have buried them and we didn't.. a problem that has been around for a while.

To end on a positive note.. the 2nd half of the season (apart from a few rubbish games) i have never been so proud to be a swans supporter.

Sorry for the ramble but I just needed to vent a little bit.

The worst thing about the loss is that we have 6 months to look at what went wrong.

I was at the game last night and in the 2nd qtr I was already thinking how we were going to go against the saints which was a mistake on my part.

Here is what I think went wrong:
- Grundy dropping two easy marks that cost us two goals. If he took the one in the 2nd qtr then i believe the game was over.
- Dropping jesse white and bevan. Ever since Jesse realized that he can use his body and crash the packs, he has done all the 1% things that we love in sydney. The same goes for bevan, attacks the ball just as hard as anyone at the swans. I think moore, ryano, or jetta (had a great game last night) would have been better candidates to drop.
- Wayward kicking at goal. Not the first time it has cost us a game.

We can't blame the umpires even though some of the decisions in the last quarter had me putting my head into my hands. How shaw being pulled off the ball wasn't a free kick, i'll never know.

As a side note, I have never been so gutted after a loss. I was at the 06' grand final and last night made me feel worse. The fact that we should have had them on toast at half time is what makes it so bad. Should have buried them and we didn't.. a problem that has been around for a while.

To end on a positive note.. the 2nd half of the season (apart from a few rubbish games) i have never been so proud to be a swans supporter.

Sorry for the ramble but I just needed to vent a little bit.

We all need to vent.

You're right, we cannot blame the umpires. We lost the game; we gave the Dogs their chance and top-4 teams don't need to be asked twice.

But yes, how there was no free kick when Hall reefed Shaw out by the collar is hard to fathom? Shaw was about to take possession amid Bulldogs players when Hall clearly ripped him off the ball, it was blatant to all but the umpires.

However much that decision hurt, it did not cost us the game.

Thanks D Bridge, it's not like Skip to do this and we can see your talking facts, sometimes after a finals loss we supporters feel pissed off and say things.

Don't speak for me thanks Cas.

The bloke trolled, got called on it and then made some "I'm not trolling post".
There best chance is to get Grundy into the Saints team.

If you want other teams trolls coming onto the Sydney board and naming players then good on you. Here's a hint. You do it next week to both the losing teams and see how far you get.

Don't speak for me thanks Cas.

The bloke trolled, got called on it and then made some "I'm not trolling post".
There best chance is to get Grundy into the Saints team.

If you want other teams trolls coming onto the Sydney board and naming players then good on you. Here's a hint. You do it next week to both the losing teams and see how far you get.

OK Skip I wont, but I have no problem with people talking Swans stuff on our board if there talking the truth or what they consider to be.

I don't give a **** what other boards do because I consider ourselves above and beyond anyone else.

And I do consider you the same and he wasn't trolling it was pretty obvious.

So if you want to be a Carlton sad sack and stop visitors from this board saying what they think, even if it's a negative but not a troll go right ahead....

OK Skip I wont, but I have no problem with people talking Swans stuff on our board if there talking the truth or what they consider to be.

I don't give a **** what other boards do because I consider ourselves above and beyond anyone else.

And I do consider you the same and he wasn't trolling it was pretty obvious.

So if you want to be a Carlton sad sack and stop visitors from this board saying what they think, even if it's a negative but not a troll go right ahead....

CAS.

For years on this site I stayed away from this board and mainly posted in defence of Sydney on the main board. Often was a lone hand, with a few exceptions, defending Goodes, Hall, Roos, AFL Love Child, tunneling, flooding, salary cap etc etc etc etc. You name it. As the numbers of great Swans posters grew and started coming on board I backed off and started reading and occasionally posting on this board. Now that the main board is a complete mess I only really post one liners or join in with the crap.

This board should be for Sydney Swans people and others who genuinely want to discuss our games, players and club. Obviously I'm in the minority because I dont want to read people from other clubs posting negatively about Sydney on the Sydney board.

If Sydney posters want to get on this board and whinge about the umpires after a game, then why shouldnt they be allowed. Is it some image thing where we dont want to be seen as whingers? Its all bullshit.

If Sydney people want to discuss what went wrong in a game then they should be allowed to say it. Do you really want people from other clubs coming on here and just naming names without and reason why. When a person does that then follows up with "there best chance is to get Grundy into the Saints team" when asked how the bulldogs can beat St Kilda, they are a troll. Nothing more, nothing less.

There was a post calling Goodes a squib. As far as I know there was one reply to it before it was removed. Why do we accept that? Is it an image thing where we want to be seen and fair and reasonable?

Obviously I am in the minority on this so I will leave it at that and let everyone have their say.:thumbsu:

CAS.

For years on this site I stayed away from this board and mainly posted in defence of Sydney on the main board. Often was a lone hand, with a few exceptions, defending Goodes, Hall, Roos, AFL Love Child, tunneling, flooding, salary cap etc etc etc etc. You name it. As the numbers of great Swans posters grew and started coming on board I backed off and started reading and occasionally posting on this board. Now that the main board is a complete mess I only really post one liners or join in with the crap.

This board should be for Sydney Swans people and others who genuinely want to discuss our games, players and club. Obviously I'm in the minority because I dont want to read people from other clubs posting negatively about Sydney on the Sydney board.

If Sydney posters want to get on this board and whinge about the umpires after a game, then why shouldnt they be allowed. Is it some image thing where we dont want to be seen as whingers? Its all bullshit.

If Sydney people want to discuss what went wrong in a game then they should be allowed to say it. Do you really want people from other clubs coming on here and just naming names without and reason why. When a person does that then follows up with "there best chance is to get Grundy into the Saints team" when asked how the bulldogs can beat St Kilda, they are a troll. Nothing more, nothing less.

There was a post calling Goodes a squib. As far as I know there was one reply to it before it was removed. Why do we accept that? Is it an image thing where we want to be seen and fair and reasonable?

Obviously I am in the minority on this so I will leave it at that and let everyone have their say.:thumbsu:

Skip I dont want you to leave it at that. You are a legend of BF and we want you here, the Goodes squib line can be told to piss off im fine.

But I don't mind people having a say on the Swans and even if they want to tell us a genuine opinion as to what went wrong Im fine with it even if it's hurtful. If it's a North troll than I'll be the first to tell them to **** off or turn up to smash their car windscreen with a cricket bat but the Geelong guy ( id ont recall the saint line) was just stating a fact with Grundy, and it didn't seem to be a troll to me.

There I leave it to as I am aware that there were 3 guys here in the early days, you, Syd an a bloke called mocha something who copped a lot of shit for the Swans so I don't want to fight with a legend of the swans board ok.

Skip I dont want you to leave it at that. You are a legend of BF and we want you here, the Goodes squib line can be told to piss off im fine.

But I don't mind people having a say on the Swans and even if they want to tell us a genuine opinion as to what went wrong Im fine with it even if it's hurtful. If it's a North troll than I'll be the first to tell them to **** off or turn up to smash their car windscreen with a cricket bat but the Geelong guy ( id ont recall the saint line) was just stating a fact with Grundy, and it didn't seem to be a troll to me.

There I leave it to as I am aware that there were 3 guys here in the early days, you, Syd an a bloke called mocha something who copped a lot of shit for the Swans so I don't want to fight with a legend of the swans board ok.

Mate, I am no legend, just and old fool who takes footy probably too serious. Ive just been here longer than some and talk more shit. I have no more rights than any other Swans supporter, whether they have been on here a day or 10 years, whether they are 15 or 50. The main reason I never posted on this board earlier is that trolls were allowed. The mods today, including the great man Robbie have far less tolerance, which in my opinion is a good thing.

I do think I can sniff out a troll though. (takes one to know one). If I suspect a troll on this board I usually ignore, but if I dont I just check their posting history. Said troll on this occasion had just posted the same crap on the main board. I linked to it. 2 strikes in my book rather than 3.

As I said, I am most likely in the minority and I'm certainly not going to try and change the way most people seem to want this board to be. Just put it down to an old feral who cant stand ****wit trolls. :thumbsu:

I did call him a ******** for grabbing Shaw to set up that Gia goal...

Permit me.

This non-decision was one of the most blatant "ignores" by umpires that you will ever see. Similar to the 3 or 4 blows to the head and neck that the umpires chose to ignore PLUS the contless push outs by Dogs defenders that continually went unpunished. When you add the SOFT frees to the Dogs - and, by soft, I mean the frees that (even after 2 replays) you have no idea what they are for - then you have the following result:

A team (Bulldogs) being smashed across the park are suddenly given massive momentum and opportunities they simply did not deserve. Suddenly, the Swans, despite all the effort, are furiously defending their own line against possession being handed to the opposition.

Now, we can all sit around and say "never blame the umpires" - but, let me tell you - Roos, Kirky, the players all know that we have been treated appallingly by these prancing prima donnas for the last 10 years - and Saturday was a prime example. It is fraud.

Saturday to me was a great victory by the umpires on behalf of the VFL.

In saying this, they showed this year what a great club they are.
2011 for the mighty Swans -top 8 without question. We will be a top 4 side - but the VFL umpires will ensure top 8.

Thanks for your honesty.

He seems to be a sacred cow for many Swans supporters who turn a blind eye to the plodder's major inadequacies.

I predicted he would be the one player that would cost us the game last week, and the board was squeling with Grundy defenders.

On a big ground, he was able to be isolated and exploited by the Dogs and he cost us the game.

The truth hurts.

Bit harsh, I think. Typical 'blame the fullback' nonsense. Grundy caught napping once or twice, but it's not his fault the ball is kicked in cleanly. The Dogs made good space for Hall, and he exploited it.

I can't believe people are suggesting the problem was Bradshaw or McGlynn. Bradshaw took a ton of contested marks (something I don't think White could have done on Lake) and no one could have predicted his poor kicking. McGlynn had a very good game playing finals type footy, throwing himself into contests head first.

Main 2 problems for me were.....

Jared Moore - I posted 2 weeks ago that it was a danger playing such a slow player on a big ground in finals. Harbrow carved him up in the 2nd half and turned the game.

Grundy - Not strong enough to go with Hall body on body and couldn't make up for this deficiency by beating him for pace on the lead. We could have used LRT.

why wasn't Hall double teamed when it was apparent Grundy was going to be under the pump on this occasion???????????
When he played for the Swans he was double teamed very effectively numerous times. I thought of all clubs, Swans would have been onto this.

Hall wasn't totally destructive, but he certainly led from the front and wounded us, kicked 4 and set up at least 3 others.

Not enough depth in the backline for a double team, when he played for us he was playing in a different team structure as well as that it was only a few teams that would do it.

Teams with depth in the backline to be exact.
You need a couple tall, quick and strong defenders there.

Collingwood - O'Brien, Presti (Spud), Maxwell (Though not tall, but effective) and with Leigh Brown being a handy Utility.

We have a lot of quick more wirey defenders, ecspecialy with LRT and Bolton out.

Permit me.

This non-decision was one of the most blatant "ignores" by umpires that you will ever see. Similar to the 3 or 4 blows to the head and neck that the umpires chose to ignore PLUS the contless push outs by Dogs defenders that continually went unpunished. When you add the SOFT frees to the Dogs - and, by soft, I mean the frees that (even after 2 replays) you have no idea what they are for - then you have the following result:

A team (Bulldogs) being smashed across the park are suddenly given massive momentum and opportunities they simply did not deserve. Suddenly, the Swans, despite all the effort, are furiously defending their own line against possession being handed to the opposition.

Now, we can all sit around and say "never blame the umpires" - but, let me tell you - Roos, Kirky, the players all know that we have been treated appallingly by these prancing prima donnas for the last 10 years - and Saturday was a prime example. It is fraud.

Saturday to me was a great victory by the umpires on behalf of the VFL.

In saying this, they showed this year what a great club they are.
2011 for the mighty Swans -top 8 without question. We will be a top 4 side - but the VFL umpires will ensure top 8.

Tad harsh on the umps i reckon. from a neutral pespective watching the game i didn't think the umps were that bad, certainly not the reason the dogs got back into it after being dominated in the 2nd quarter. The absolutely key moment was grundy's dropped mark with a min or so to play in the 2nd quarter. He takes that mark, the swans ice the clock and take their cosy 5 goal lead into half time with the dogs left to trudge off almost defeated. But instead he drops it, hall goals quickly followed by hoooper and the margin is 16 and the dogs are running off the field pumped. That was the turning point of the game. Harsh on grundy because i reckon he is a star and should be in the AA side based on his year as a whole

from a pie perspective i am spewing because i reckon the swannies would at least have given the saints a physical contest. now they are just going to steam roll the dogs

I can't believe people are suggesting the problem was Bradshaw or McGlynn. Bradshaw took a ton of contested marks (something I don't think White could have done on Lake) and no one could have predicted his poor kicking. McGlynn had a very good game playing finals type footy, throwing himself into contests head first.

Jared Moore - I posted 2 weeks ago that it was a danger playing such a slow player on a big ground in finals. Harbrow carved him up in the 2nd half and turned the game.

Grundy - Not strong enough to go with Hall body on body and couldn't make up for this deficiency by beating him for pace on the lead. We could have used LRT.

Apparently Moore is suffering from wind burn after this match up.

Reg looked intimidated. In the game at the SCG, Goodes dropped back and laid some heavy tackles on BBBBULLDOGBARRY that night. That extra physical presence was amiss on Saturday sadly.

Goodesy worked hard to drop back after quarter time and affected the decisions of Bulldogs midfielders often. Forced them to go out wider and be a lot slower through the wing and HF. Our lack of pressure in the midfield and off HB (most notably on Jarrod Harbrow) partly due to Mummy being injured and our midfielders looking tired were the main factors to us blowing our lead IMO.

Yes Goodes did his bit and more, the lack of physical presence down back to help Reg out was the problem. Which Goodes was able to assist with in Sydney.
This is Reg's first full season at CHB and up against the leads most menacing forward, who is not only in form, but with a point to prove. Also it must be added Reg was without our two most senior key backs to lend a hand in a major final. This seems to have been discounted by some in dishing out their serves.