What would it take for you to stop watching AFL?

Leeda

Talents B Sharp
Suspended
Sep 26, 2012
Well its not like I watch every game or every weekend anyway..
so trafficking my study and working this realm of every game and every week, and every stuff...
is just pathetic.. and there we personify the world of wrack and ruin..

Aug 17, 2010
Gold Coast
The demise of my club, fighting the good fight in enemy territory, through the continued petty selfishness and sooking of other clubs from established football states. That would just about do it for me after almost 50 years following this wonderful game. Not sure I could follow another club with all my heart again.

Sep 24, 2008
MuMuLand
Celtic, West Perth, Glory, S'Roos
A lot of (not all) of the posters on here saying that nothing will stop them watching as it's the best sport in the world etc seem a little insecure. Well, not a little.

My love of my team and the connections I've made keep me giving a s**t but like a majority of others on here I struggle to with games where I don't have a dog in the fight. Convenient background thing to have on at the pub on a Friday night I guess. Winning a flag has certainly changed my perspective too.

More new teams and some conference bullshit would probably stop me watching or a scandal involving the cats that involved organised crime or some s**t.

mouncey2franklin

Jun 16, 2018
'Equal pay' for womens footballers would probably just about do it for me.

It is bad enough following a social engineering platform as it is, but there's a certain point where it becomes too much.

That would probably be the final straw.

I would probably still tune in for finals, at the very least the Grand Final, don't think I'll ever stop watching that one.

Nov 11, 2010
Punt Rd End
A lot of (not all) of the posters on here saying that nothing will stop them watching as it's the best sport in the world etc seem a little insecure. Well, not a little.

Perspective is a funny thing sometimes. How many see or read the same thing can be seen in so many different ways.

The level of passion most rusted on AFL supporters have for not only there team but the game as a whole, can't be underestimated. For most, nothing could really stop them following the game. This is not a defensive statement or a comment made through a sense of insecurity, its a genuine level of passion and love that every few other sports can elicit - particularly at such a universal level in the southern states of this amazing country.

I've taken international visitors from many diverse countries to see an AFL game and they have been unanimously impressed by it. What has most amazed them though is the crowd - the diverity of gender, cultures and beliefs that all intermingle and passionately barrack is unheard of in any other sport, around the world. The AFL has its problems, it has its weaknesses but its the game that I couldn't live without.

May 30, 2006
Canberra
pay TV. If I can't see my team on free to air I will probably stop watching.

And that's not a rant at the AFL, dummy spit, etc. and I understand many following around the country do pay so they can see their team play each week - good on you. But I can't see myself doing it. That's just the reality for me. I never played AFL and came from other sports but got into AFL because of it's very good coverage on free to air TV. If that coverage goes, I might go to the odd game at a pub, watch at a friend's house, but it won't be a regular thing.
This is why I'm so close to giving the game away. I see my team 5-6 times a year. We get maybe 10 games on FTA into Melbourne, but quite often they clash with Swans or Giants games and aren't shown here. It makes it hard to even get a feel for our own players.

Without that, I find I have less interest in neutral games as well. Most of the time now, I turn games on out of habit but am not paying attention to what's going on.

May 3, 2007
Parts Unknown
Man City, Valencia, Lazio, Panthers
The 666 rule designed to stop Richmond setting up behind the ball
The ruck rule (the Grigg rule)
And the kicking out after a behind rule making it harder to lock the ball in the forward line.
The quote came from one of the AFL executives.
I disagree with your thoughts about the 666 rule trying to stop Richmond. If anything, it was to counter Ross Lyons tactics of having everyone around the ball and counter flooding

Yoey

Oct 7, 2019
I disagree with your thoughts about the 666 rule trying to stop Richmond. If anything, it was to counter Ross Lyons tactics of having everyone around the ball and counter flooding
I said a few years ago the way to stop flooding is very easy, remove the "No Prior Opportunity" rule, if you have the ball and get tackled without releasing its holding the ball. Imagine this..ball goes up Ruck taps to a contest, no one is willing to take possession because they know its going to be a holding free so it gets punched or soccered clear...players sit back out further and the congestion and flooding is finished.

rangatangtang

Jul 20, 2019
Brisbane Lions
A second season of players going weak at the knees in order to draw in the back free kicks and/or players acting like they are trying to get a sibling in trouble with mum/dad by getting in position then deliberately not taking possession fishing for tackles without the ball free kicks. The irritation this gives me is only matched by the replacement of goal replays with Bunnings ads and the inescapable barrage of gambling with the joke moniker gamble responsibly before during and between fixtures in place of celebrating individual brilliance and the established theatre of club rivalries respectively.

Aalready, after the finals ticketing experience of last year I will only watch afl finals on tv unless I can casually jag a general admission seat after all of the member priority sales phases are concluded. Absolutely felt like a cow shuffling to the stun box as a loyal member that had attended all home and away games for years

Feb 1, 2004
Sweden
Helsingborg Australian FC
This post deserves a response. It is classic doe-eyed nonsense that just assumes something is superior because it happens in europe

It is not a "wildcard system" it is finals system that has pretty much been in place since the VFL split from the VFA

Also soccer in Europe does have “wildcard system” or Finals in Champions League which is far more important than winning their own League.

It could have been the same in Australia when VFL, SANFL and WAFL were nearly on equal footing and prize money and prestige outweighed the local competition.

The Premier League resolves around 4-5 clubs winning each year. Sometimes there is a surprise Leicester. This is why the salary cap is good.

Promotion/Regulation - when a small club manages to get in to the EPL and then falls out again it’s often disastrous for the club finances and a free fall and sometimes results folding or merging. I know in Sweden this is often the case.

But the end argument is one is Soccer the other Australian Football.
For example if table tennis was the best run competition and had most followers (Asia) in the world. Would you watch it over the sport you enjoy the most just because the system is fairer?

kirbonavich

Does Internet Porn Know You're Cheating On It?
Feb 15, 2012
So I'd say on BigFooty we are some of the most rusted on fans there are.

So what would it honestly take for you to completely stop watching your team or any games?

Winning the spoon ten times in a row? Your club folding? A rule change that was so perverse it no longer looked like footy? Could it ever feasibly become too expensive to attend or even watch footy in the future?

I'd say some people may have walked away from the AFL but still watched local footy, so could anything happen that would stop you attending that as well?

Give some ceeative answers :thumbsu:

If the AFL continues to change the rules.

Kingfish73

Mar 24, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
Port Adelaide
I watch far less football these days. Being a busy father of 2 is a contributing factor. But the game has become so over governed with rules / penalties that are inconsistent even from round to round. A red card system and a player been sent off for swearing would come close to breaking this camel's back.

But never stop loving watching my kids play our great game

Kingfish73

Mar 24, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
Port Adelaide
I watch far less football these days. Being a busy father of 2 is a contributing factor. But the game has become so over governed with rules / penalties that are inconsistent even from round to round. A red card system and a player been sent off for swearing would come close to breaking this camel's back.

But never stop loving watching my kids play our great game
.....oh.....Ken Hinkley outrageous coaching extension few years back nearly resulted in me not renewing family membership and reducing going to live games, but again my kids helped me see the bigger picture even though Ken is a Benny Hill "best of" series. No coach, CEO or administrator is bigger than the game or club you support.

mouncey2franklin

Jun 16, 2018
If Dana White can buy an island and make it UFC-Land, why can't Gil do similar?

How much would it cost to rent Tasmania for a few months?

I don't mean all of it, just the necessary parts.

carloss

Sep 4, 2007
around
Sheffield Wednesday
Interesting comment by veteran recruiter Matthew Rendell

Clubs and coaches should "stop being selfish" and encourage a more entertaining and attacking style of game, or risk losing millennials. "Stop being so bloody selfish, everyone in the business, and playing for their survival, and start worrying about the people who care [the members]," Rendell said. "We had the lowest scoring year since 1966 last year. That is a fair dinkum joke with the talent they've got on display. The millennials don't want to go and watch it and when us baby boomers all pass away, the game is going to be in real trouble unless they do something about it."

Aussie in exile

Nov 21, 2013
Interesting comment by veteran recruiter Matthew Rendell

Clubs and coaches should "stop being selfish" and encourage a more entertaining and attacking style of game, or risk losing millennials. "Stop being so bloody selfish, everyone in the business, and playing for their survival, and start worrying about the people who care [the members]," Rendell said. "We had the lowest scoring year since 1966 last year. That is a fair dinkum joke with the talent they've got on display. The millennials don't want to go and watch it and when us baby boomers all pass away, the game is going to be in real trouble unless they do something about it."
All the while the fans keep turning up in the numbers they do nothing will alter.
If your bored with your teams style of football don't go to watch them is the answer.