Society & Culture What would you do thread?

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

What would you do if you woke up in the middle of the night and Mike Myers had clogged your shitter.
"It's bit nutty"
What would you do if your son announced he was gay?

Have asked a number of parents about this - and they give me more than the cliche "as long as he is happy" answer.
Not going to lie, would be very disappointed but it's not something you can really do anything about so I would just hope he wasn't one of those flamboyant ones.
What would you do if you were pushing your shopping trolley between two cars and you hit the door of a car made in the past decade and dented it?
Probably walk away tbh if not no one noticed.
What would you do if someone came up in the street gimme all ya money c*** whatcha gun dooooooo
Depends how are big they are/what weapons they have

People are actually having to ask if their son was gay?
Seriously??

If my son was gay I'd say good on him, be free, go for it, he can bring back dudes the same way he could have brought home girls and be stoked he was getting some.
It's just a sexual preference, it doesn't matter if he walks around in flare pants or normal jeans.

I thought as a culture we were getting past this.

People are actually having to ask if their son was gay?
Seriously??

If my son was gay I'd say good on him, be free, go for it, he can bring back dudes the same way he could have brought home girls and be stoked he was getting some.
It's just a sexual preference, it doesn't matter if he walks around in flare pants or normal jeans.

I thought as a culture we were getting past this.

So true.

My parents/family were (and have always been) awesome about it but I have met guys over the years who's lives were destroyed by their intolerant/homophobic parents - two of whom unfortunately resorted to suicide.:(

I'd urge anyone that has doubts about their ability to love and accept their children unconditionally to seriously think again about having children to start with (if they haven't already).

What would you do if you discovered one of your parents was having an affair (this happened to me), speak up or say nothing?

So true.

My parents/family were (and have always been) awesome about it but I have met guys over the years who's lives were destroyed by their intolerant/homophobic parents - two of whom unfortunately resorted to suicide.:(

I'd urge anyone that has doubts about their ability to love and accept their children unconditionally to seriously think again about having children to start with (if they haven't already).
Maybe I am a lot more open to it than others.
I have some good friends who are gay, some more open than others but I've slept in a bed next to them when hammered or there is no other option and never felt any 'issue'.
Nor have they made a move as we all knew there wasn't enough bed space.

I don't get those who are creeped out by it.

To be honest, I think a lot has to do with as a young kid and still, my idol was Freddie Mercury so in my eyes he was the coolest guy ever and happened to be gay so I just took it as the norm.
Also my parents are open people and never made nasty comments.

What would you do if you discovered one of your parents was having an affair (this happened to me), speak up or say nothing?
Idk that's actually pretty tough. Would tell I reckon even if it did cause shit to hit the fan. Although it's probably one of those things where you don't know what you'll do until it happens

Your meal ordered in a restaurant does not meet your satisfaction...eat it, ask for a newbie, ask for a refund...other?

Was talking about this only yesterday, never return food

You may as well ask the waiter, "excuse me sir, I think my food could use some extra chefs spit if you don't mind"

So true.

My best friend is 32 and still hasn't come out, and most likely never will. His parents are conservative and religious, and I'm 99% sure they wouldn't accept it if they knew. It breaks my heart that he can't live his life openly the way he should be able to.

If a parent cannot accept their child's sexual orientation (it's not a preference) then what sort of parent are they.

lmao my sister has a gay friend and his Dad hasn't accepted it so whenever he brings girls back to his house his dad just thinks he's being a sly campaigner and is pretending to be gay so he can sneak girls into the house

My best friend is 32 and still hasn't come out, and most likely never will. His parents are conservative and religious, and I'm 99% sure they wouldn't accept it if they knew. It breaks my heart that he can't live his life openly the way he should be able to.

If a parent cannot accept their child's sexual orientation (it's not a preference) then what sort of parent are they.
That's really rough and when you hear things like that it's no wonder there's suicides.

There should come a time when you prioritise your happiness, and well being over that of your parents.
In my best friend's case his family is very tight knit and I don't think his happiness and well being would improve if they were cut out of his life. He's stuck between a rock and a hard place.

I know a woman who lives with her partner, and has done for probably 10 years...but her parents thinks that they're just housemates and they have two bedrooms set up for when they visit :(

Would you rather have sex with your mother and have no one know about it or not have sex with your mother and have everyone think you did?

Uhh definitely the not have sex part, cos at least I would know I'm innocent of it

In my best friend's case his family is very tight knit and I don't think his happiness and well being would improve if they were cut out of his life. He's stuck between a rock and a hard place.

I know a woman who lives with her partner, and has done for probably 10 years...but her parents thinks that they're just housemates and they have two bedrooms set up for when they visit :(
Poor buggers, I hated hiding part of my life from my kin.

What would you do if you found a USB that had all results of any sporting event ever? Past and present. Like a digital version of that Back to the Future book.

Would you go nuts and become a multi-billionaire? Or just make enough money on betting to keep you living comfortably?

What would you do if you found a USB that had all results of any sporting event ever? Past and present. Like a digital version of that Back to the Future book.

Would you go nuts and become a multi-billionaire? Or just make enough money on betting to keep you living comfortably?
Probably the latter.

Would defs be the best at footy tipping though :thumbsu:

Look at the events that I CGAF about like rugby, motorsport etc and bet huge on them. Wouldn't look at events I care about

What would you do if your son was at home, crying all alone on the bedroom floor cause he's hungry and the only way to feed him is to sleep with a man for a little bit of money?
Get up off my feet and let go of every excuse

My wallet got stolen once on an Australia Day at the foreshore in South Perth. One of the reasons I stay well clear of there now, but that's an aside.

I never saw it again (I was about 19 so I had no credit cards and maybe $20 cash so not worth the effort of nicking), but my license ended up being handed in to the local police station who called me.

If I found a wallet I'd definitely return it because losing credit cards, license etc. is a pain in the hole. In my book that's a carton of beer good deed, so if someone brought back my wallet with $200 in it I'd give them $50 to cover that. Most people are campaigners though, so probably worth nicking the cash and saying you found it how you found it.:D

I dropped my wallet at the supermarket with $150 in it after checkout. Had the little one with me so didn't even notice until I got home. Had my mobile number in it and got a call from the bloke who picked it up and said come on over and pick it up, was thrilled as I hate the hassle of just ordering all the licences, cards etc. I asked what's your poison? He said little creatures pale a sixer is fine......bought him three slabs then proceeded to have a bbq with him and his family.

Still mates.

Once I was walking past a cafe and looked down to see a 350 in 50 dollar notes just blowing around on the footpath. It wasn't actually in the cafe but on the public walkway. A guy willing down tables in the cafe saw it at the same time as me. He said there was some mothers doing a fundraising thing earlier that day and they have probably dropped it. It was one of those awkward moments where I wasn't really sure what to do but I handed it into the cafe to hold and the guy said to come back in a few days and if no one had collected it I could have it.

Later I felt stupid and thought as if that guy wiping tables Isn't just going to pocket it. I was working in the area at the time so decided going back even though I felt a bit stupid in doing so and asked them if anyone had collected it. No one had and I finished work that Friday arvo with an extra $350 and a clear conscience