30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Sep 13, 2000
Melbourne cricket ground. Australia
Horks
or the Big Sav, Dennis, Mick and Eddie saga.

So Saverio is now a Kangaroo and Dennis & Co think they can restore him to being a great player. Well Dennis's track record with 'recycles' is very good. If he is successful, How stupid will collingwood look ?

I know that there are success stories all the time and change of scene etc is given as the reason.

But hasn't Eddie assembled 'the best coaching talent available' at great expense but they may be proved to not good in the case of Saverio. In fact recruiting Malthouse was supposed to produce 'a change of scene' for the players.

It's not as though the pies are swimming in talent.

If this does come off don't expect it to be discussed much on the Footy show. It'll be 'moving right along' from Eddie

But spare a thought for Wayne Carey, finishing off his career af FF seems a distant dream to him now

pess,

IMHO- the footy show is a dead duck. The amount of underhanded, secret agenda stuff going on is to much of an annoyance to make me keep watching.

If its not the Fat Ed & Fat Jack collaboration show, its the boring arse collingwood memorabilia parade or Carltons team of the century again or a place for Elliot to get up and grandstand about his latest pet annoyance with the AFL.

Youre right about the "moving right along" comment, and the amount of good topics they avoid because of their own self interests makes the show a joke.

A.

Just on that topic - I don't get to see the Footy Show up here in Sydney so didn't catch any of it last season.

Was it 'moving right along' whenever the delicate subject of Andrew Schauble came up ? - Or maybe it just never came up ?

I guess it will be the same this year when Williams / Rocca / Michael and how they are enjoying their new clubs ever gets a mention.

The Footy Show does get screened in Sydney but at its on at 12.15 Friday morning and I can't even be bothered taping it - Ed the Talking Prez is an idiot and Newman is just plain not funny.

I still like Marmalade though ...

I don't watch it much but I did watch it the week Sav first got dropped. Eddie never flinched or made any comment. If it had been any other club they would have had 5 minutes discussing the 'downfall' of a legend.

I also don't like the way they use certain players as 'idiots' or 'straight men' (Crawf wake up!!!) They had barnsey on last year and showed a repeat of a 'spoof' from when he was at geelong. It showed him driving off in his ute giving Sheedy the finger. Barnsey was visibly furious on the panel and I felt for him.

I hav long since given up watching that gibberish. It's format was very tired, it was too Collingwood centric and there was not enough serious discussion. In the end I was only watching to get the Richmond team selections which usually appeared 5 minutes before the end of the show (Right before the Freo team
biggrin.gif
) except when we were up against Collingwood! There are now better alternatives on a Thursday night (AFL on Fox; short and sweet, straight to the point, over by 8.30) or the Hawthorn Show with Dermie and Dunstall on Channel 7.

I would also suggest that the talents of Trevor Marmalade are being wasted on the Footy Show.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

I enjoyed the C7 Footy show ( 1 1/2 hrs ) with Walls, Alves etc this year. I recommend that before the info-tainment stuff.

BTW The Newmans lived 2 doors down from us and we've got all the sandpit photos.

Ahhhhhhh Pess - by name & by nature I see.

BTW Crawf isn't acting.

But looking past your problems with television shows I'll move on to poor old Sav.
How could Collingwood be so stupid?
And Mick! Why didn't Mick save his career?

Poor old Sav was very well looked after at Collingwood & the situation is/was quite the opposite to your schoolyard schtick.
As a Hawk supporter you'd most likely remember his last really good game for Collingwood. It came in our wooden spoon year in 1999 out at Waverly. After a string of defeats the Pies led by a rampaging & very well paid Sav finally won a game. The big lug was unstoppable that day.

From the Arctic chill of your former home it was off to hospital with 6 weeks left of 99 season to have what was left of his knee cleaned & rebuilt for the start of 2000.
The knee never came up, Sav was never more than 70% fit & his form is what it was.
For Collingwood circa 2000 that spelled death. Without Sav kicking goals Collingwood was virtually impotent.

Now here is the rub Pess, and think carefully, Collingwood has gone to an awful lot of trouble to rebuild its side & many heads have rolled such was our level of crapness. Whether or not it actually bares any fruit do you think it is wise to base it around a hope that Sav's bone on bone knee just may come good?
Will time conveniently stand still for Collingwood?

Williams will be good for Sydney. But his departure set in motion a series of trades that netted us 4 players, all likely to play senior footy this year at the additional expense of Mal Michael & covered a glaring hole in our forward line left not by Sav's departure but his continued poor form.
Your opinion of Michael obviously differs from mine &, by all accounts, Didak is Paul Williams but 10 years younger.

Out of curiosity, who else on our list could we have shopped around to get such a high pick to try & get Gehrig?
In the end the WCE stupidly {& thankfully}knocked back pick #3!

Schauble is no different to Mark Richardson. Both play CHF & neither will win you the game {although Tiger fans may differ} but only Schauble was fat & lazy & running around in the 2's in '99. The part you omitted was the draft pick we got for Schauble was used to get a talented rover/winger by the name of Leon Davis. I'll take LD over Schauble's mongrel punts thanks.

I'm assuming your just stirring the pot Pess & I wish Sav all the best of luck even if his carrying on cost us a trade with Adelaide.
But your cheap shotting seemed to imply a rudderless ship at Collingwood which is not the case. The only thing is our old ship was so rooted that we no longer know when we are docking!
Think of all the players from Collingwood who didn't kick on at other clubs or never even got a second chance.

Now, by all means, go back to your television host bashing.

Interesting

did you actually see Schauble play at all this year ?

He was absolutely sensational for us and was a most deserved club best and fairest in his debut season.

Whilst i can't comment in all fairness about Leon Davis - I know which one I would prefer.

cheers

BSA,

You are reading things into my post that I didn't write.
Don't give me the "did you see him play schtick". Show some style & give me some credit.

I said he is the same as Richardson & for that matter Prestigiacomo. We didn't need 3 & the fact of the matter is that of the 3 only Schauble was (a)fat & (b)playing in the 2's when we traded him.
It's actually an indictment on Schauble himself that he actually 'put in'.
That said Tarrant took him apart in our Sydney win & was injured & didn't play in the return fixture. And I'll happily admit we were diabollic that day.
Either way, good luck to him. His first year at Collingwood was pretty good. When given some leadership roles in his last season he came up short. He even admitted such this year. Another victim of Tony Shaw's coaching.
Bottom line BSA, & this is what I wrote, an impotent & unimaginative team like we were needs a Leon Davis more than an Andrew Schauble.
And winning a Swans B&F is meaningless. They had a disappointing year overall. Stephen Patterson finished second in the Copeland {3 years ago - ahead of Schauble too}
Great for the individuals but in the main it just highlights why both clubs aren't GF contenders.

You make a lot of good points Interesting, but I think you miss the mark on Shauble. Why was he fat and lazy and running around in the seconds? His fault or Collingwoods? The fact that he goes to Sydney and wins a B&F would suggest that it was Collingwoods.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Thanks CJH - you wrote my retort for me

Also - I certainly didn't see any 'mongrel punts' on Schaubles behalf last season - maybe I missed something there.

I take your point about Tarrant in Round 4 - it was Schaubles one single disappointing performance, also I rate Tarrant very highly and I think he would have destroyed any Halfback on that day ...

I accept you need players like Davis more than Schauble - fine, no problems - but what you seem to be saying is that Schauble was happily off-loaded onto us because he was fat, didn't put in, and couldn't kick.

I would suggest that based on his current form - nothing could be further from the truth.

and the fact that he was able to win the best and fairest in his debut season is not a 'meaningless' acheivement. Its actually a great honour and to win it over people like Wayne Schwass, Darryn Cresswell etc etc in your first season after spending all of 99 in the Collingwood reserves - well if you don't think it is much of an acheivement then I think you are a hard man to please.

And CJH is right - no matter how you look at it, Schaubles B&F at Sydney is embarrassing for Collingwood.

cheers

First of all I want to apologise for a typo - in my first post it is meant to read both Schauble & Richo play ****CHB!!!!****
Neither are a CHF's clacker.

CJH, I said Shaw killed him.
But only he, Schauble, himself allowed him to develop a fat arse!

Of course Collingwood are to blame for their mediocrity!
You can't blame Carlton for everything.

I'm not saying Schauble isn't a good player when he wants to be {within his limitations} but try & think of the big picture. Schauble at CHB for Collingwood does what? Releases Richo to play where? As a forward? Been done & failed several times cobber.
Both Schauble & Richo towelled Carey last time they met. What's the diff?

This all came from a dig further up the thread. I'm just highlighting that it was actually a win for both clubs.

Can I defend myself. I suppose it's 50-50 whether Sav comes good or not. I don't have an opinion myself - you guys would know better. I only know from what I have seen he would be good in the NFL or, if playing at colonial just position him 50m out -dead in front. if he gets a few marks he'll kick a few goals. (Goalkicking centre square ruckman - Who would you match up on him there ?

But again -It's 50-50. But North Melbourne have a great reputation with retrys and if so He's very high profile and the comparisons will start. I just think Eddy is a bit high profile and giving Collingwood trouble they don't need

BSA,
How is it embarassing?
Because he won a Swans B&F?
Is that IT!?

The embarassment is in your mind {& for that matter anybody elses} who thinks that Schauble is a better option for US than Richo at CHB.
It's like saying the Swans were embarassed by Paul Licuria. You remember he played all year for us, polled well in the Copeland & burst through your midfield to deliver a perfect pass to Anthony Rocca to win us Round 4.
Truth is neither are BSA.
Its only because YOU want it to be & you're just being selective.

The fact that he beat the Cresswells et al shows you why you were just a middle of the roader.

I'm happy to acknowlege he had a good year for you. All I'm doing is explaining why he was the one cut.

Overall, when it comes to recycling players your team is in the red on the embarrassment scale & I'm more than familiar with a few of them.

I get the impression that the regulars on this board, no matter how much they want to, can't get above party politics.

Is Eddie McDweeb in love with 'PIGS ARSE' Elliott ??????

When ever Jack wants to say something,McDweeb invites him on to 'The Collingwood Show'.
How many other club presidents appear on Ed's show as much as Jack does.

If smoking kills,then why isn't Elliott dead yet.You rarely see him without a *** [not that theres anything wrong with that !!!]

------------------
"The good humour man can only be pushed so far ". -Bart Simpson

yes well Licuria is ACUTELY embarrassing for us Interesting and I am well aware of some of the other 'red faced incidents' that have been associated with my club over the years - you don't need to remind me.

But we could go on and on about this ad nauseum - for every Licuria, I will show you a Mark Kinnear and so on. I understand what you are trying to say - the club had its own (very good I'm sure) reasons for trading away Schauble, I'm not trying to say anything otherwise

But I am NOT being selective or partisan over this, Schaubles performance for us this year is a source of embarrassment for the Pies - plain and simple mate and I'm not the only one who says so - this topic has been discussed at length in the past and people all say the same thing

Collingwood have egg on their faces over Schauble - just like we do over Licuria, Orchard, A Rocca, etc etc.

Its not a game of 'one upmanship' Interesting - all I am doing is taking issue with your contention that Schauble was fat, didn't put in and can't kick.

I happen to disagree with that assessment - does that make me such a partisan political beast ?

Richardson has hardly made a big impact and played in a pretty ordinary defence, facts show that Schauble took Sydney's defence fron statistically 9th to 4th and played in a team that was competitive all year.

Collingwood were uncompetitive for two thirds of the year.

Scauble put most of his improvement down to improved coaching especially from Paul Roos, that would make it an indictment on Collingwood's all round professionalism, in not providing proper coaching.

Licuria's skills and decision making aren't good enough for him to play in a top side, end of story.

Leon Davis has shown nothing to suggest that he will be a good player at AFL level. This is just the Collingwood tradition of overestimating the quality of their playing list. He is soft and will never be a decent player. If Collingwood supporters had seen more decent players in the past 5 years they would know that too.

BSA,

The original slant taken was that I was telling porkies (pun intended).
The simple truth is that Schauble was fat & lazy.
I'm not denigrating his 'new look'.
I was explaining his exit from Collingwood.

How is Licuria an embarassment to Sydney?
You've got a better midfield than us. He couldn't get a game. Pure & simple.

If anything Orchard is an embarassment to us for taking him back.

It is not a matter of one-upmanship but more a matter of both sides of the story.
Your terminology makes it sound like you spend most winter weekends embarassed about a bunch of second rate players.

Barry Round won a Brownlow!
Now I was embarassed then!!!!!

And Schaubs inherited his jumper.

BSA, Orchard delisting by Collingwood put an end to any speculation.

Rocca (Anthony) and AFL player.

He he he, that is funny.

The only people that can really comment on Collingwood is the staff working inside the inner sanctum at Vic Park, however i do think that Collingwood's list is no where near as bad as some people suggest, and in fact with some fine tuning and positive coaching, they could be a decent contender in a year or two's time. However, I don't think Mick Bitterhouse (my pet name for Malthouse) is the man that should coach collingwood. the Pies really needed a guy that can emphatize with the young kids like a Mark Thompson at Geelong or a Peter Schwab at Hawthorn. The Schuable deal may have been a mistake, however the Swans have made a couple of blunders in the last few years (drafting Brett Allison or Ryan O'Connor for instance) With any luck, I would suggest Collingwood could win anywhere between 8 to 12 games next year, if everything falls right for them. Certainly i think the Pies will finish head of other clubs such as Richmond (my early tip for the wooden spoon), Fremantle, Port Adelaide and probably West Coast.

My! My!

BSA, the cavalry have arrived & it seems in traditional Sydney the city fashion they have opted to ride asses instead of horses!

What actually is funny Donny is a Sydney supporter talking about tradition.

BSA, if I can just ask one more question.
By your reckoning should Geelong be embarassed by John Barnes, given that they have Steven King who not only is a gun but had, by all accounts, a stellar season?
It's just that I would rather have the latter in my side & by my reckoning it is Collingwood who should be embarassed for not selecting Barnes before pick 65 (I think) & contesting the entire 2000 season without an AFL standard ruckman.

I don't mean you any disrespect cobber but it is the difference between thinking laterally & on face value.

Party politics? Nooooooo, not here on Big Footy! Fart oo many 'thinkers' here for that.

Originally posted by Interesting!:

Fart oo many 'thinkers' here for that.

You make 1 (one!!) typo and it had to be there
biggrin.gif
.... sorry guys... just showing my immaturity... or an example of another one the "far too
wink.gif
many thinkers here" ??

Interesting,
It was a typo yeah???... or a subliminal message maybe.... are you saying we smell aswell??? hmmmmm
rolleyes.gif

What you won't hear on 'The footy show'