Redd

Rooboys
Since most of us have attended the auctions recently held by the Roos, I was wondering (well it is wednesday :( ) what everyones favourite piece of Roo memorabilia is.
Some might have a signed jumper, for others maybe it is a signed breast (!). :eek:

For me it is John Blakes signed 300th gameday football, framed with photos. :D

How the hell do you frame a footy? :confused:

Anyway, back in 1992 or 1993 I wrote a couple of articles for the North News as it was then known, and interviewed a few players.
One was Brett Allison, and I got him to sign a newspaper clipping from when he took that big speccy in 1991.

I also have a Micky Martyn footy card (1992 series) which my then-g/f got signed for me in 1996 while Mick was chowing down on some pasta at the downstairs food court at Highpoint. She goes "Look there's Micky, have you got something he can sign so I can go up and meet him?". Just as well a mate had given me that footy card a few years earlier and it had been sitting in my wallet in mint condition for about three years.

I've got a very new signed footy from Troy Makepeace.
That's pretty special to me.

Or my jumper signed by Makey & Horse. Memories of talking to both of them when I had it signed are also cool.

Here are a few...

1 x 1975 First VFL Premiership team poster with the famous Absent (S.Kekovich)notation. Framed complete with numerous beer stains.(Used to feature prominently in a home bar.)

1x 1977Premiership team poster (as seen on page 160 - 161 of the North Story) In the North Story it is shown in B/W but in the flesh it is a colour print. It got a bit shabby and creased over the years so we had it made into a blockmount.Looks preety good now if I do say so myself.

1 x North Melbourne S.S.B Little League sew on patch(Remember those, before the days of iron ons and colour TV)

1 x 45 rpm vinyl record of North Melborne Football Club Song (on the Fable label ) There is a date on the record (April 1972) B side The Football Song.

The little bloke has

Frank Gumbleton's autograpgh.
Sam Kekovich's autograph. (Got that one at the Colonial Family day V Collingwood Ansett Cup)

A North footy with the following autographs (Shannon Grant, Adam Simpson , David King and Jason McCartney) He gets a couple more each year at the Adelaide members drive.

An autographed picture of Mighty Mick (His hero).

My 4 framed wegs with the 96 signed to me by the Doc himself and the 99 signed to me by Fruity the 77 and 75 also make a nice pair.

A big V jumper signed bu Boomer in a frame is not Roobillia but ya gotta love the bigV.

all my 25 + sherrins and footys.

and the other cricket stuff.

got i live in a hall of fame!!!

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

Framed Grand Final Team photos 75,77, 96 & 99

Framed Player Sponsorship photos
- Darren Steele ( 1992)
- Mark Roberts ( 1993 - 1999)
- Corey McKernan ( 1996 - 2000)

Original pages of the Herald Grand Final souvenir - Monday September 29th 1975. ( Not copies) 8 pages, 2 in full colour.

And just for laughs, a signed photo from the Herald Sun of Corey after the 1999 flag. The one where he looks pretty drunk with the Premiership cup in both hands and a can of VB in is mouth

Last Friday my Cousin came visiting... she has just purchased a new home and was cleaning up when she came across her mother's 1975 Grand Final scrapbook... guess who own's it now??? and she didn't know what to do with it...

Most Treasured.... almost complete North Swap Card Set (1964 to now)

Oldest... Micky Aylett cloth Picture with North Shield

Always on display... 75... 77... 96... and 99... framed Weg Posters... as you walk through the front door of my home... kneel and then proceed...

Weirdest... when I was about 12 years old had RDB's cigerette buts bluetac'ed to my bedroom wall... the things you do...

Originally posted by Fruity
Now that I have my new PC and can finally post again, I can tell you that my favourires would be the 3 jumpers of Fruity's that I have.

Fruity,
Have you heard back from the club regarding the Tender Auction from the Blue & White night yet?

I want to know if I got those awful Hush Puppies god damnit!

35Eye,
I haven't heard anything yet, so I don't know if we missed out or they are just taking their time. Has anyone else heard anything?

Originally posted by Fruity
Has anyone else heard anything?

Incidentally I heard today by mail. Missed out on the Hush Puppies but scored better, Redd's sneezy boutique voucher.

Redmond, I'm going to want personal attention, top notch champers & to be waited on hand & foot as I peruse your quality garments. Isn't that how the elite set do it on Rodeo Drive?

Set a whole Saturday morning aside as I am looking forward to it.

;)

Re: Re: What's your favourite piece of Roobilia

Originally posted by 35eye

Redmond, I'm going to want personal attention, top notch champers & to be waited on hand & foot as I peruse your quality garments. Isn't that how the elite set do it on Rodeo Drive?

Melton has no Rodeo Drive. All it has is High Street and Mac's Hotel. :D

Re: Re: Re: What's your favourite piece of Roobilia

Originally posted by Darky

Melton has no Rodeo Drive. All it has is High Street and Mac's Hotel. :D
:D

Ah yes, Mac's is a delightful establishment.If you like getting your head kicked in.

However , The Golden Fleece is North friendly.

When I worked there , the landlord's son and hier was a North Supporter. Dont know if he was a member.

But he let me watch the 95 Prelim (V Carlton) while I was serving in the Bottle Shoppe (Rodeo Dr style you know....)

I reckon they even had Matty Armstrong and Simmo? out there for a quiz night at one stage.

Re: Re: What's your favourite piece of Roobilia

Originally posted by 35eye

Incidentally I heard today by mail. Missed out on the Hush Puppies but scored better, Redd's sneezy boutique voucher.

Set a whole Saturday morning aside as I am looking forward to it.

;)

Hey 35eye, that's great.
Typically the club hasn't notified me of what happened to the voucher.
Good to hear it went to a well deserving home. :D
Send me a PM and I'll give ya some more details.
We have just gone into sale, so you should be able to get some extra value.

Cheers big ears :eek:

I know someone who has an original "Arden St" street sign, with a blue background and white writing.

Rumour has it he got drunk one night, got out on the roof and tore it off the side of the property he was renting in Arden St.