Whatta Win!!!!

I am surprised that no one has mentioned the umpires. It was an absolute disgrace today. The 3rd quarter performance by Maclaren and his 2 butthead mates nearly cost Collingwood the game. In the last quarter as well they manufactured a free kick for deluca which wasn't there as well.

haha guys, that was brilliant! I was at the game, and watta game! Collingwood were absolutely sensational in the 2nd half, good on 'em to. Stevens continues to be good, but Licuria is in Brownlow Medal winning form. 35, 28 & 35 disposals in 3 games. Brilliant. Tarrant, well his back. Rocca was good, Williams is a useful player and Prestigiacomo and Wakelin were outstanding today. Good win, Kangaroos next week, think you's are a good chance, Cya's ANZAC Day! Good Luck! Rhyce Shaw is criticised for clangers (out on the full), but there is not to much he can do when Tarrant leads to the boundary line, in the 2nd half, he kicked 5, more direct and straighter? I think so. Took some wonderful marks, his back.

Good to see rival team supporters congradulating our team.

Thanks to all of you guys for the positive contributions.

If Nick Stevens was good then Shane Woewodin will win the 100m sprint at the next Olympics. Fair dinkum.

He squibbed off every pack, 95% of his touches were pure seagull stuff off the front of packs. The Carlton in-and-under blokes made him look good.

He was very accountable too. HIs opponent only got, what, 35 touches?

Congratulations are due, c'mon, you beat Carlton! :)
Umpiring was an absolute disgrace, Lappin got 2 free kicks, luckily he missed his 2nd one, being a neutral supporter at the game, I felt like leaving during the non-stop Carlton free kicks of the 3rd Qtr. Great win!

Winderlich said:
Congratulations are due, c'mon, you beat Carlton! :)
Umpiring was an absolute disgrace, Lappin got 2 free kicks, luckily he missed his 2nd one, being a neutral supporter at the game, I felt like leaving during the non-stop Carlton free kicks of the 3rd Qtr. Great win!

In that 3rd quarter when wakes mark wasnt paid, im very glad now that i was sober, otherwise the 2 carlton supporters behind me would have been leaving the ground on a stretcher.
But i regained my composure a little later on and gave them a wave as they were leaving :D

Good on ya' mate, that Wakelin mark WAS A MARK, we were right on top of it. Lappin got soft free kicks, just good to see the pies get home, or we would hear a hell of a lot more about the umpiring!

Winderlich said:
Good on ya' mate, that Wakelin mark WAS A MARK, we were right on top of it. Lappin got soft free kicks, just good to see the pies get home, or we would hear a hell of a lot more about the umpiring!

Thanks mate.
Im still yet to see a replay of the mark.

same, but when I saw him fly and get hands on it, I thought it was automatically a mark and looked away, and from what I heard it was a mark. It will be good to see it on replay though.

Man you guys looked pathetic in the first half, then you came out in the second half and played brilliant football, im dissapointed with the Blues, but the Pies truly won it compared to Carlton losing it, which makes me feel a little better.

How bad was the umps?, both ways, probably favoured Carlton more, but what a joke they are, how long can you hold the ball now before its a free kick?

L-Nizzy said:
If Nick Stevens was good then Shane Woewodin will win the 100m sprint at the next Olympics. Fair dinkum.

He squibbed off every pack, 95% of his touches were pure seagull stuff off the front of packs. The Carlton in-and-under blokes made him look good.

He was very accountable too. HIs opponent only got, what, 35 touches?

Finally someone I agree with. Stevens is soft as butter yet everyone is saying he's a superstar. Needs to develop more defence, agression and some guts before he can be classed as a superstar.

Sideshow Fev said:
Finally someone I agree with. Stevens is soft as butter yet everyone is saying he's a superstar. Needs to develop more defence, agression and some guts before he can be classed as a superstar.

stupid comment.

Clearly our best on the ground and are only class player of the day.

Collingwood played a heluva lot better then us but if you want to compare the contributions of Steven's 29 touches to Licuria's 35, I'd take Steven's any day of the week. Set up goals, pin-pointed passes, kicked goals, one of the best matches hes played for us, whilst many of Licuria's disposals were extremely ordinary.

But this doesn't really matter as the Pies dealt with us in a convincing manner and deserved to win.

italian_styles said:
Man you guys looked pathetic in the first half, then you came out in the second half and played brilliant football, im dissapointed with the Blues, but the Pies truly won it compared to Carlton losing it, which makes me feel a little better.

How bad was the umps?, both ways, probably favoured Carlton more, but what a joke they are, how long can you hold the ball now before its a free kick?

Yeah, we did look so pathetic in the first half that I was about to leave, but luckily I stayed because it turned into a game that I would remember for a very long time.

we should of won by 8 goals if it wasnt for those yellow maggets kicking 4 goals for carlton alone. Unbelievable win. Carn Maggies

Well, Nick Stevens might be a stnad-out of packs midfielder but that is what he does, and he is effective and has classy skills. His job is obviously to stand out of those packs and be the reciever and what does he do....Have an impact.

Yesterday he found the ball 29 times, being the most effective player on the ground, with 18 of his 22 kicks effective, and had 13 contested possessions. More importantly, he sent the ball inside 50 on 12 occassions, what more could you ask for!

Lonie_from_50 said:
Well, Nick Stevens might be a stnad-out of packs midfielder but that is what he does, and he is effective and has classy skills. His job is obviously to stand out of those packs and be the reciever and what does he do....Have an impact.

Yesterday he found the ball 29 times, being the most effective player on the ground, with 18 of his 22 kicks effective, and had 13 contested possessions. More importantly, he sent the ball inside 50 on 12 occassions, what more could you ask for!
Licuria's game was much better

Rhyce Shaw hitting Tarrents chest this week. Tarrent got 2 goals fro him thsi wek. Looks like evrything was up this week.

Chris Tarrant kicked 5.0
Anthony Rocca kicked 2.0
Collingwood kicked 20.8
Collingwood kicked 15.1 in the second half.

:cool:

That is amazing.

Its always good to win, but after our recent form this one is being blown up a bit.

We beat Carlton, who have a worse and less experienced list than us. I know we're unbalanced by injuires in the ruck, but they were missing their number 1 and 2 defenders.

The skill level was medium, apart from the excellent goal kicking from both sides in difficult conditions.

I think Carlton have better teamwork than us and it was only our physical pressure and heart that won us this game. Remember they only lost it in the last quarter, when we squeezed out a drop more juice from the tank than they did.

That is the one huge positive in this game: we showed a heap of ticker, exemplified by Lica. I didn't mind the biff too. Cam Cloke is truly his father's son, and does way more than his pitiful stats suggest. He should be in the team week in week out for the ture footy knowledge and knuckle power he brings to the game.

North are a tough side with good form and a wiry relentless coach. We need to match their guts and bring our general skills up to a winning level by next week. Go Pies.

Whatta Win!!!!