Curto

In 02 & 03 we made the Grand Final with a list that shouldn't have. Great job Mick, made it with kids playing outta their skins, pats on the back. Future looked bright.

We have been an up and coming team for 6 years now.

It's hard to win a flag. Injuries, draw, other teams (ie. Brisbane huh in 02 & 03, Geelong 08) etc etc.....what i hate is that we are still a team on the up.

Kids kids kids....when do we and anyone say...the future is now or next year.

Our forward line is arguably the best, our midfield ain't, our defence (under Mick and co.) can be better than most. We will not win a flag next year, we are 1-2 "champions" short and throw us in the mix with 6 others in 2010. Probably Hawthorn will dominate.

I wanted Cousins so much, he coulda been the difference between a flag now and promise for the future.

Get Peverill, get another 2 x 22yo and win it.

Collingwood FC exists to win flags, not to be social examples or the financial envy, bite the bullet and give us a fair dinkum crack at it.

Iles instead of Camporeole is my perfect example. Campo flag? Probably not, but maybe. Iles..well we played for the future.

I don't think our overall list was all that young in 02 and 03 although I could be wrong. Certainly the core group driving the team were all pretty seasoned players.

That side wasn't good enough and the rebuild from that started in 05 IIRC

Iles instead of Camporeole is my perfect example. Campo flag? Probably not, but maybe. Iles..well we played for the future.

Ok Iles didn't work out, but they still made the right call that day. He may have gone onto play 150 games, but Campo was only ever going to do what he eventually did at Essendon. Did they prosper from taking Camporeale? I'd call that a worse drafting decision than taking Iles.

And who are these 2 x 22 year olds that along with Peverill are going to lead us to the flag?

Look, Cousins would have been fantastic and just may have given us a sniff next year, but Peverill is no Cousins. There are no delisted players worth recycling next year. We need to hold our nerve, and draft the best possible teenagers. Peverill would be a step backwards.

The future is all that 14 clubs have to look forward to....cos as of September, we clearly saw that only two teams are living in the present.

I guess it is somwhere between : "we are a good young club, a draft or two away from genuine contender" (translated: we gotta wait until Buddy blows out a knee, Hawthorn is on the wrong end of a drug scandal or Geelong simply get old ala Brisbane) and rebuilding.

Then we have to hope we get no injuries and that somehow we are better than the other 14 teams that are so-called building for the future. If someone else should pop up and be better, then we are still a draft away.

but where are we on our premiership clock??!?! :eek:
The bulk of the list and talent is 23 and under, that group will mature in 2010/11

So we are at a quarter to twelve.. if a year is 5 minutes and 11.30 was the beginning of the rebuild (2005)

I wonder just how long it will take sometimes.

We aren't the Collingwood that wins flags anymore, we havn't been that club since 1958.

1 Flag in 50 years? Surely thats not Collingwood......

We aren't the Collingwood that wins flags anymore, we havn't been that club since 1958.

Enough with the 50 years bullshit, the competition is 111 years old and we have 14 flags

The only supporters that really worried about the last 50 years were the ones that lived through it and they got their reward in 1990

The only thing that should concern current supporters is we haven't won a flag in 18 years.. all other numbers are arbitrary

Get Peverill, get another 2 x 22yo and win it.

Yeah that'll win it!

We're not taking the next step because we don't have an A grade midfield. It's as simple as that. All premiership sides have gun midfields.

Peverill would make us D grade.

"Are we there yet?"

"No"

"Are we there yet?"

"No"

"Are we there yet?"

"No"

"Are we there yet?"

"No"

"Are we there yet?"

"No"

"Are we there yet?"

"No"

"Are we there yet?"

"Actually.......... No"

It is already here.

Unless you set the right goals and performance measurement criteria and unless you set very high standards which are continually raised and unless you act when they are not met then the future is the present.

But this is precisely the problem. That IS Collingwood and it requires major internal change to alter it. That doesn’t have to be the board necessarily but if the criteria and processes can’t be changed by the personnel then it HAS to be the people that change.

Most of our supporters aren’t old enough to have seen the Collingwood they think we still are!

The bulk of the list and talent is 23 and under, that group will mature in 2010/11

So we are at a quarter to twelve.. if a year is 5 minutes and 11.30 was the beginning of the rebuild (2005)

You must remember Hawthorns list is very young, even Geelong has 15 men 22 or under.

I reckon this draft is the end of Hine's replacement cycle. Like it or not, we've had to replace a midfield, a spine and some horrific recruiting from 2001-2003.

A couple of decent hits in this draft plus some internal improvement and we won't be far off the mark.

Us playing consistently like the double massive wins against the Cats and the Eagles would be delightful!

Enough with the 50 years bullshit, the competition is 111 years old and we have 14 flags

The only supporters that really worried about the last 50 years were the ones that lived through it and they got their reward in 1990

The only thing that should concern current supporters is we haven't won a flag in 18 years.. all other numbers are arbitrary
Its not bullshit. Supporters of this club go on about how great we are because of our 14 flags. In our first 60 years we had 13 flags, the most in the competition, we were the best club on field, we were the club everyone wanted to be, since then we have won more spoons than we have premierships (2-1). As MarkT said, supporters of Collingwood still think that we are the same Collingwood that wins 1, 2 or 3 flags a decade, thats not the Collingwood Football Club anymore. It should be though. Back to the future time??

Hate to perpetuate this infernal yapping, but I'm interested in how less-satisfied supporters would answer the following question (genuine question, not rhetorical):

Given that we have a pretty large group of players aged around 19-21 who have shown (in many supporter's opinions) the potential to be really good players (e.g. Nathan Brown, Travis Cloke, Scott Pendlebury, Dale Thomas, Marty Clarke, Heath Shaw, JA, etc.)... how can you NOT see us as a genuine premiership threat in a few years time? Surely if we have that many young players with genuine talent/potential, we'll be a much improved side in 2-3 years. And we've played finals in the last few years, so significant improvement on where we stand now should have us near the top.

Do you think that Geelong/Hawthorn's scope for further improvement will see them still ahead of us? Or that other teams (e.g. carlton) have as many young players with as much potential? Or that retirees and the possible dropping of form of other players will offset any gains? Or that the guys I named might not turn out that good?

As MarkT said, supporters of Collingwood still think that we are the same Collingwood that wins 1, 2 or 3 flags a decade, thats not the Collingwood Football Club anymore. It should be though. Back to the future time??

Well MarkT must be on drugs because I don't think there is a single Collingwood supporter that thinks we win 2 or 3 flags a decade.

It's been 18 years since a flag.. don't care what happened in a suburban competition before that.. but if you must wallow in history then we have 14 flags and the last time I checked the competitiion was not 50 years old

Well MarkT must be on drugs because I don't think there is a single Collingwood supporter that thinks we win 2 or 3 flags a decade.

It's been 18 years since a flag.. don't care what happened in a suburban competition before that.. but if you must wallow in history then we have 14 flags and the last time I checked the competitiion was not 50 years old
Fine, forget for a moment that the club has history spanning longer than 18 years, an 18 year drought is pathetic. It is made more pathetic by the fact that for the last 9 years the club has had every possible resource at its disposal. Yes we ran into an amazing Brisbane team in 2002 ,03, but consider the fact that in 2005 Hawthorn finished on the same amount of wins/losses as we did, both clubs have been rebuilding since then, they have a premiership, do we?

Fine, forget for a moment that the club has history spanning longer than 18 years, an 18 year drought is pathetic. It is made more pathetic by the fact that for the last 9 years the club has had every possible resource at its disposal. Yes we ran into an amazing Brisbane team in 2002 ,03, but consider that fact that in 2005 Hawthorn finished on the same amount of wins/losses as we did, both clubs have been rebuilding since then, they have a premiership, do we?
Come on thatday hawthorn also got two fantastic players one a freak as priorty picks as much as i love thomas and pendlebuy neither are franklin.

hawthorn also had at their disposable better senior players: Croad, crawford, Mitchell, Hodge, were all there in 05 alot better then ours. They also had decent drafting up to that stage then we did alot better drafting as in they had Hodge we have fraser they got Croad back we got mckee and roach etc.

They also went through a massive bottom out and then rebuild, we did it on the run (maybe not the best idea) but we had two years down and then finals 3 straight finals whilst playing kids and moving on seniors.

There is many varied reasons as to why they won a premiership before us.

i agree with you often but this 1 flag in 50 years is a cop out we won our last 18 years ago that was bad but that broke a drought and now e are in an 18 year low not a 32 break 18 year low. Even my old man who lived through all the drought hates the one in fifty years claim its 1 in 18 or 1 in 100 and a bit. He also dislikes youngsters sooking about it seeing as he was at every one of our heart breaking Gfs and then missed the 1990 GF as he couldnt get tickets

I apologise for sooking and upsetting you because I didn't sit through anything terrible the club had to face...... We all have parents too Opti, most of us have parents who support the same club and have gone through the same thing.

Even though I have brought up the 1 in 50 in this thread, I agree with you mostly about its relevence. It has been 18 years since our last flag, a stat while not great is better than a large portion of the competition.

Hawthorn did a great job with there drafting, i'm envious of their great list, it just annoys me that the club couldn't do what they did with the drafting, yes I am aware that they had better picks than us while we were up the top, but some of our trading decisions that you brought up should be looked at as odd from the club. The club has every resource it could need, is it really that terrible of me to expect a premiership?

I see Collingwood winning one soon thanks to our great young tallent, hopefully for all of our sakes, and all of our parents sakes, as we are all equal supporters (hence no number 1 ticket holder) of the Collingwood Football Club, it is sooner rather than later.