when was the last time your team made you proud?

• Thread starter Thread starter dees*gal

dees*gal

MELBOURNE DEMONS!!!
there a a few team in the afl like essendon and sometimes carlton that start to take won matches for granted. there are others ie. freo, west coast, st.kilda, melbourne and the rest of the bottum 10 or so team that love a good win.

when was the last time that your team made you REALLY proud to support them?

mine was 3 weeks ago- when melbourne pulled their socks up and beat carlton.

GO DEES!!!

The last time i felt proud at a doggies match was last week VS the tigers and it wasnt because of the team losing in a gallant defeat, it was because our supporters were so farken loud and that made me "proud as punch" not bad for a team with a small suppoter (but loud) base.

When i last felt proud was Rd.21 last year doing the "impossible" knocking off the dons at doglands and stirring up all those bombers who couldnt hack it.........ahhhh memories.

everytime i pull on my collingwood jumper im proud...

because of the club we are.. and the history behind the jumper!!

Originally posted by PiesPremiers
everytime i pull on my collingwood jumper im proud...

because of the club we are.. and the history behind the jumper!!

That was very well said brotha!

;)

Originally posted by Top Dog
The last time i felt proud at a doggies match was last week VS the tigers ...

That was a very loud game to be at wasn't it Top Dog. The noise whenever a goal (from either team) was kicked in that last quarter was very intense!

I was quite proud of my club on this night - moreso by the way we played. Winning was just gravy on the top.

And despite all the hype leading up to the game, the spirit that it was played in by both teams was excellent.

I was also quite proud of the umpires...

:D

That was a very loud game to be at wasn't it Top Dog. The noise whenever a goal (from either team) was kicked in that last quarter was very intense!

One of the loudest games ive been too and it was very intense but shesh wiz.

I was also quite proud of the umpires...

Rub it in...........:(

I'd probably say earlier in the year when we beat the Lions at the Gabba by 5 points, quite a special win that. Also when we knocked off the Blues at Optus, was very proud of them that day.

Well worn cliche perhaps but .... I am always proud of the Blues. I can disappointed on occasion but I am proud to be a fan, proud of their history, proud of who they are and where they came from. Disappointments dwell only in the background of my mind where as the triumphs are always on my mind.

Excuse the cliche ... but I too am always proud of The Club ... no matter what.

But the topic says "When was the last time your TEAM made you proud."

TEAM as distinct from Club. And there is a BIG difference.

So I'd have to say ... er, when we kicked our 6th goal against Richmond on Friday night.

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's
Well worn cliche perhaps but .... I am always proud of the Blues. I can disappointed on occasion but I am proud to be a fan, proud of their history, proud of who they are and where they came from. Disappointments dwell only in the background of my mind where as the triumphs are always on my mind.

ODN well said. I reckon what you have written there applys to all true supporters, regardless of the team.

Today naturally enough, im hurting. Yet i still have pride in what the Hawks have done this year, in years gone by and im sure that i will have greater pride in the years that are to come.

Btw, was especially prideful last week though! ;)

When Fitzroy beat the Crows at Footy Park in 1995. Glorious day defeating them in front of their own crowd. Wore my scarf with pride that night, and got marvelously slaughtered in the Oxford Hotel in North Adelaide afterwards with several Royboys I'd never met before in my life and have never seen since. Also the year after, also at Footy Park, seeing thousands of Fitzroy Fans wearing the colours at the game against the Crows even though the merger had been announced and we were getting thumped week after week. (yeah, the Crows thumped us too!!)

Since 1996, the way the FFC has continued to exist and trade even after everything that has been thrown at it. Don't think many other clubs would have the character to continue with no team, clubrooms or money. And whenever Brisbane play in Melbourne, seeing the old Royboys and Roygirls still living the dream with the new Lions brings a smile to my face :)

Thats an easy queston. It was last week when we beat Essendon. The Port players showed what the true Port Adelaide fighting spirit and tradition is all about. It was great the way Essendon challenged us in the last quarter but the players held their cool to eventually win by 7 points. Led by our inspirational captian Matthew Primus, they is no player in the AFL with a bigger heart than Matty. Hopefully they will also make me proud today when we beat the Crows to remain the best team in SA.

When Daniel Chick ran down Doering and kicked the ball to Dixon last weekend.

I know Dicko is seen as the hero, but Chick's determination and effort to get to the man, and then his footy smarts to play on and bang it long, won us the game...

The Hitman

I have a few that stick out this season.
On ANZAC day, we lost to the Dons, but we showed heart that day.

Beating Carlton on Federation day, that was a fantastic day for all Collingwood supporters. Always is when we beat the old enemy.

Defeating Port and the Crows at Football Park this year. Particularly when we beat Port, as they were in top form coming into the game, and we were courageous to get up in their own back yard.

I would have to say last week when we beat that dirty western scum named the Bulldogs and ended their season..

Dirty Western Scum eh......so are u another one of those softies from tigerland.

last time Port Adelaide did me proud was last week defeating Essendon when not one media person amazingly picked us to win...was great to roll the bombers who are seen as 'unbeatable' and stick it up those that thought we were gonna get thrashed.

I love the change in peoples reactions to the game

Before:
"Your gonna get thumped mate....your not within 7 or 8 goals of the bombers and your gonna go down easily"

After:
"Yeah so what, you were playing at your home ground, you should of won...if you didnt you would of been soft, Essendon arent that good you know"

oh i love it

i would have to say its a borderline between the 95 final against essendon when all looked lost until knighter showed the way and scotty turner put o,donnell into whoopyland.
and last week against the doggys with our character being tested after the rnd 2 clash and the challenge by wallce to "bring it on"and guess what we did:D.
cheers!

Softies? Next time you are the MCG or Colonial Top Dog aka western scum make sure you come and say hello to the folk behind the goals wearing the Black and yellow and parade your colours and we will see how far u get...