List Mgmt. Where are they now? (ex suns)

Get ready to be fired up by Newman, Casboult, Miles and GHS - this should tell you all you need to know - Suns are the last stop on the way to being out of the league

The key to our future is galvanising the 22 yo and under players to make it about having loyalty to each other and having a tight knit group that stays together
Disagree with you there.
We recruited fancy, skillful or highlights players with our initial concessions and these stereotypically are one way or selfish players ablett, brennan, krakauer, bock, brown, harbrow, fraser, Rischatelli. Whilst not all bad for the club harbrow has over time learnt to be a good leader, bock was cruelled by injury and fraser was already in retirement.
But ablett showed selfishness, krakour showed mental weakness and was our first dummy spitter, brennan couldn't commit to the hard yards and brown just wanted to belt people. Not the best traits to learn for our kids.

Bring in dull boring players like casboult, GHS, newman, miles etc and im happy with that because they will teach and show determination, hard work and team work. I dont expect them to be in our best 22 in 3 years time but will help teach good values at our club and cut out the snooty privileged attitudes so many of our players have had since 2011. Or at least guide our younger players to be better.

The club doesnt need star players at this stage it just needs decent honest blokes willing to help the club not themselves.

"In a professional environment you always have to be concerned about your position in the team or in the competition as a player, and I think at times you are sheltered a fair bit up there.

"You come away from some really horrible losses, and you would feel ordinary, but it'd pass pretty quickly because there isn't that external noise directly on the Gold Coast with people recognising you.

"You'd have a poor game at Freo and you might be nine wins and one loss, and you'd find it hard sometimes to get your morning coffee or walk down the street and get your groceries because you'd feel the eyes burning a hole in the back of your head."

I think this is a big issue for us.
The players always feel like their spot in the team is safe.

Now days coaches can't go off on the playing group like the good old days.

I think it was Paul Roos said it was the biggest difference he noticed from coaching in Sydney then in Melbourne.

He said at Melbourne he didn't have to punish the players after a bad game or go off at them on a Monday game review because they would cop it from the public on the street all weekend.

My guess is he's doing them for free. He's probably just trying to market himself to get on another list, hopefully at AFL level.
always seemed like he had a bit of a media interest as a career. had his podcast, a few interviews on that players voice website, never seemed afraid to speak his mind in the media. wouldn't be surprised to see him get some sort of gig back in melbourne (like appearing semi-regularly on game day, that sort of thing) if he can't get a footy gig in the afl.

My tip is a media job at a club. At this stage though he still wants to play footy & he can still get the ball, so would be in demand as a player at lower level clubs, even though he may not at AFL level.

Ryan Davis won the Andrew Ireland medal for best afield in NEAFL grand final. 28 possessions 19 marks roaming half back. Wearing number 7 he physically looked like brad Ebert, and played like brad shepherd- cut off many Sydney attacking forays.

Both seb tape and Andrew Boston also integral to southports win today. Seb as brave as they come running back with the flight many times. Took a few intercept marks.

Boston designated kicker and gets busy around the contest. Looks like he would weigh about 85kg now.

Josh hall also out there but with less of an impact.

Loved Seb. Of all the guys we have cut over the years he's been the one I've missed the most. Just such a courageous guy. Unfortunately just can't hit the side of a barn by foot.

Stoked he got a premiership medal!
Worst kick ever at the Suns I was told today

A left footer who looked more uncoordinated than me on my left (opposite)

Of note saw a few suns boys there supporting witts, Lyons.. forgot who else but there was about 4/5 of them showing interest.
Good to see

May Day Lemmens Holman Lonergan Leslie

Enjoyed seeing the Sharks run around and win the big one...and see so many supporters out there.
Couldn't help thinking what could have been if the AFL had a better idea of things up this way back when the Suns first emerged.....so here's some radical thinking!
Sharks and Suns merge which is a win / win for both. Rename Gold Coast Sharks - keep Suns colours (no other black and white team would ever get in). Suns get great home ground for training, a true club house and 20,000+ strong membership in the social club and the merged entity has arguably the best revenue stream of all AFL Clubs from the pokies and entertainment PLUS the Sharks finally make it into the big league. Saw Paul Roos there as well so get him on board as Dew's mentor. Players would be more inclined to come north and we'd also have a very strong NEAFL side as well! Too much to hope for I guess?

Enjoyed seeing the Sharks run around and win the big one...and see so many supporters out there.
Couldn't help thinking what could have been if the AFL had a better idea of things up this way back when the Suns first emerged.....so here's some radical thinking!
Sharks and Suns merge which is a win / win for both. Rename Gold Coast Sharks - keep Suns colours (no other black and white team would ever get in). Suns get great home ground for training, a true club house and 20,000+ strong membership in the social club and the merged entity has arguably the best revenue stream of all AFL Clubs from the pokies and entertainment PLUS the Sharks finally make it into the big league. Saw Paul Roos there as well so get him on board as Dew's mentor. Players would be more inclined to come north and we'd also have a very strong NEAFL side as well! Too much to hope for I guess?
This has been talked about before and it makes a great deal of sense for all the reasons you mentioned.

I suppose one concern would be the potential waste of the new facilities at Metricon but I suppose the boys could travel between the 2 sites until eventually building a full training facility at Frankhauser reserve .

The colours and jumper would need to be a mixture of the 2 clubs, perhaps red with a white and Gold V

I agree the name change to Sharks would be obvious but I’m not sure the AFL owns that name so it may be a sticking point.

A rebranding and inclusion of such a strong club could make the new entity the envy of the league

They definitely need a closer relationship However 95% of the members are $5 pokies members who do not follow the Sharks. I went to a few home games and there was lucky to be 200 people.
It's a bit like the last 40 years after a World Cup and our European friends telling us Soccer is the sleeping giant Well it's well and truly still in a coma and will stay in one in Australia.
The GF excitement will wear off soon and the status quo will remain.

This has been talked about before and it makes a great deal of sense for all the reasons you mentioned.

I suppose one concern would be the potential waste of the new facilities at Metricon but I suppose the boys could travel between the 2 sites until eventually building a full training facility at Frankhauser reserve .

The colours and jumper would need to be a mixture of the 2 clubs, perhaps red with a white and Gold V

I agree the name change to Sharks would be obvious but I’m not sure the AFL owns that name so it may be a sticking point.

A rebranding and inclusion of such a strong club could make the new entity the envy of the league

Let me preface my thoughts by saying that although it should happen - it won't. Your comment re new facilities at Metricon is valid but (and I could be wrong) - the main thing there is the gym isn't it? Let's look at a similar arrangement that Port Power use to great success. They and the SANFL Magpies have and always will call Alberton Oval their home base. It's where they train, socialise with members and generally build their brand from BUT use the facilities at Adelaide Oval on game day. I guess Richmond do something similar. It makes a huge difference to have a genuine club atmosphere where players, officials, members and even faithful supporters can mingle and enjoy a true culture. The Sharks operation would be envied by most clubs and by merging with them, the Suns (or GC Sharks) become a true AFL team operation. Even Brisbane recognises the need to enhance on building of the overall club environment by wanting to establish an HQ away from the Gabba so will be interesting to see what eventuates there. At least here on the GC we have an already existing club structure to build on. Not sure whether Sharks fans are as keen as they were to be an AFL side and other clubs here would be envious no doubt, but that shouldn't sway any decision. For those with long memories, the situation with the Sharks back in the formative stages of a GC team wasn't much different from the Power / Crows scenario way back when. For those who aren't aware, it was the Port Adelaide Magpies who initiated the whole SA team into the AFL scenario but the powers to be would not allow Port in (as it would have alienated the other clubs). Port Power did however get in after some years and have won a premiership in that time and it was done by using the Alberton/Port Magpies culture and history to do it. I reckon the story could be the same with a similar Sharks/Suns strategy. Won't hold my breath though while Gil is in charge and we have such an imbalance in the competition.

They definitely need a closer relationship However 95% of the members are $5 pokies members who do not follow the Sharks. I went to a few home games and there was lucky to be 200 people.
It's a bit like the last 40 years after a World Cup and our European friends telling us Soccer is the sleeping giant Well it's well and truly still in a coma and will stay in one in Australia.
The GF excitement will wear off soon and the status quo will remain.

You're right. A large majority are currently 'cheapie' members but add our 10,000 odd Suns members and then 30,000 starts to sound a bit more attractive to people not as aware us us. They look at Vic and SA club membership numbers and we really are little minnows in the stream. Whether only 5% of that 95% ultimately lift up to a full membership it's still a benefit BUT it's the club environment and all the entertainment facilities that make the culture and success over time. I guess I can only dream and hope for a big lift in 2019 from supporter and club....and still the AFL remains silent on all the rape and pillaging going on. GWS, Adelaide, Sydney, Eagles, Power and Freo all have targeted players so we're not alone. Not much happening in and around Melbourne though - something stinks down there! Oh and now Geelong are exploring Stefan Martin so add Lions on to the list.

Agree they need a better relationship for sure