Where are you sitting?

MagpiePhil

Sep 10, 2008
Hiya guys, just went down and picked up some tickets for next friday nights game gainst Carlton...

Yeah, a bit late I know :rolleyes:
There were no premium seats left, which left me with nothing to get except sitting up the top on level 4, great southern stand, on about the 50m line.
We are on the front row at least though.

I dont think I have sat up that high before though!
Although I would of liked to be a bit lower down towards the ground level, it should be a great game, and I cant wait to go.

My wife is Carlton, so its always good when we go to this game to stir each other up which is a bit of fun! ;)

Im sure we will have fun though.
What are other peoples opinion sitting up high, do you still get a good feel for the game, or do you loose a little bit of the atmosphere and the players look like ants...

I changed the thread title. I hope you don't mind mate.

From now on all our seating questions can come in this thread we seem to get a few of them.

I've sat in the 4th level at the G and its not too bad.

As a comparison i've sat in the nose bleeds at Etihad and I thought it was shithouse.

M15 this week.:thumbsu: (Best bottom deck home seats the club has, not behind the goals which are terrible).

Q22 next week.:cool: (Would have liked bottom deck, got in too late).

I'm a bit worried about sitting top deck at a Carlton game, last time I did that and we lost the Carlton flogs were pushing Collingwood supporters down the stairs.:thumbsdown::mad:

I'll be sitting at the bar of The Magnolia Grove Hotel in Sydney where the Sydney Collingwood supporters Club host the games. Come along if you're in Sydney and want to watch the game with a little atmosphere.

AFL is two different games when you compare watching on the fence versus watching from up in the gods.

On the fence is a tactical game, you get the sense of effort and noise and get a better appreciation of the frenetic game from a player's point of view.

In the gods is a strategic game, it's like watching a game of chess.

I like both, but the strategic side appeals to me more. I wished Foxtel used Multi-channel technology to show a fixed, high-up view of the ground. That'd help a lot with the viewing.

N11 for home games and Q31 for away.
BTW, does anyone have any experience on being successful for the level-N waiting list that was setup before last season? My son and I are on the list but have not heard anything recently.

I actually like sitting at the front of level 4, it's the same height as the TV cameras and you can see the whole ground.
I have to admit, it isn't as bad as what some make out, it definitely gives you a different perspective on the game compared to sitting at ground level.

I remember sitting up top for the ANZAC day match we lost to the Bombers a few years ago and you could just see the Essendon runners cutting us to bits through the middle.

I don't think I'll complain too much about sitting up there next week either, as long as the Carlton fans behave.:cool:

Level 4 gets a bad rap, since the old ponsford and Olympic stand got the ass, it's actually not to bad up there.

I still prefer to be sitting level 1, hearing the sounds of the ground etc, but level 4 isn't all that bad unless your more then 10 rows back

I actually like sitting at the front of level 4, it's the same height as the TV cameras and you can see the whole ground.

sitting in Q22 next week - a few rows in front of matty :D

accompanying 'winter girl' from the travel ideas thread in her 1st game ever. hopefully she wont go too feral :p

drop by and say HI.

M31, with the other legends members
We are not all so priveledged....Legends in Q33.

But, without the kids...so awesome night!

We are not all so priveledged....Legends in Q33.

But, without the kids...so awesome night!

I had Q31 last year, was only upgraded to level 1 this year.

As I said earlier it's not all that bad up there really, prefer level 1 but Q isn't all that shithouse

I had Q31 last year, was only upgraded to level 1 this year.

As I said earlier it's not all that bad up there really, prefer level 1 but Q isn't all that shithouse
I don't hate it up there at all, it is just different. I actually think it is more like TV higher up, which is how I am used to watching footy. When I am down at ground level, I REALLY feel I need to watch my taped game when I get home, when I am up higher, not so much. Hope that makes sense.

I would love level 2 seats, but, that is never going to happen for me...maybe I can gift to my kids, lol! :D:thumbsu:

So you basically got the best seats?

Because that's where I've been sitting since becoming an afl member. Level 4 southern stand, smack bang on the wing. Usually q18 or q17.

You can see everything, and in most games, don't have to sit around too many people.

I changed the thread title. I hope you don't mind mate.

From now on all our seating questions can come in this thread we seem to get a few of them.

I've sat in the 4th level at the G and its not too bad.

As a comparison i've sat in the nose bleeds at Etihad and I thought it was shithouse.

Thats fine Quirky!

Awesome! Thanks for your responses guys. Sounds like we do have great seats for the game! :cool:
Cant wait to go, and I hope we play a much better game than we did against Richmond, otherwise we might be in a bit of trouble!
But, even if the blue baggers win, at least the wife will be happy ;)

Just a question that I thought wouldn't really need a new thread, but here goes. For Collingwood vs Port at Etihad, which end does our cheersquad usually sit at the, Lockett or Coventry end?

On ticketmaster I've searched for tickets and they've got some basically next to where a cheersquad would sit on the Lockett end, I won't take them though if that's going to be where heaps of Port fans will be.

Where are you sitting?