Where was your team on the ladder when you first started supporting them?

i've been an eagles fan since i was 8, but i never really watched games intill i was 13. a mate took me to see the WCE V Hawks in 01, i really enjoyed the atmosphere and i love watching AFL ever since

I started following Essendon halfway through 1983, a year we made the Grand Final. The reason I chose the Bombers was that they wore the same colours as my Rugby League team, the North Sydney Bears. I didnt have any real idea of our history or how good we were. It was a decision that paid off with flags in 84 and 85.:thumbsu:

we were 10th ithink
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

2nd.

I started following hawthorn in 86 only because John Platten who played for my local sanfl team Central Districts moved to hawthorn. Whichever club he went to i would have supported.

I didn't know beforehand but hawthorn had just lost consecutive grand finals to essendon in 84 & 85.

Non-existent...

As for my first great love - South Freo in the WAFL... I wouldn't have a clue TBH. I was born into a Souths supporting family, so I there was never a time when I didn't barrack for them...

Actually after a bit of brief research... if I've never not barracked for them, and I was born in Dec '68... then the first season I "supported" Souths was in fact 1969, when they finished last.

In 1970, however, when I was but 21 months old, Souths were WAFL premiers... from last to first 1969-1970.

1975 was probably the first year I remember clearly getting into the footy - it was the year Maurice Rioli, Stephen Michael and Big Bad Basil Campbell came to the club, Souths were runners-up and my great love affair with our game began. :)

By 1978, when Mal Brown took over the reins, I was hooked well and truly.

We played in three consecutive GFs after that:

1979 - losing to arch-rivals East Fremantle in what is still the largest crowd ever to witness a game in WA; over 52,000 crammed into Subi Oval;

we beat Swan Districts in 1980 and it is still one of my greatest childhood memories... streaming out onto Subi Oval when the siren rang to pat the premiership heroes on the back and get the "Budget" signed;

and more heartbreak in 1981 as we lost to Graham Moss' Claremont side...

I was pretty heart-broken what the advent of WCE did to the WAFL... but it was hard not to get caught up in the hype of a national competition. I still love and follow the WAFL, but I have to admit that Freo is my greatest love these days...

Aaah - but those '70s and '80s in the WAFL.... those were the days.... ;)

First went to a Swans game at the SCG vs St Kilda (which we won, by 2 points if i remember right) when i was 8 in 1998 when they finished 3rd that year. Was when i first witnessed live the ROOOOOOOS call when Roosy touched it. Being 8, i made sure to remember his number so i could see when the next ROOS call would be coming. Loved the SCG/Swans ever since. Became a member in 1999, still am and will be for a long time to come.

Was born in 1992. Obviously can't remember the 1993 grand final (Although that great video has been watched many times :D). Was born into an Essendon family, and started following it a bit in 1995. However, come the start of the 1996 season, i felt sorry for Fremantle because i thought they didn't have any supporters, so i decided to follow them. My first game i went to just happened to be Essendon vs Fremantle in 1996, Essendon won by 1 point. I remember Wills kicking 2 goals for the dockers, and Scott Cummings taking a pack mark in the square and goaling to tie it up. Dad refused to buy me a Fremantle jumper or hat or anything, so all i had was this little fridge magnet that i waved after every Freo goal. Fortunately, at the end of the season i realised the error of my ways and turned back to the mighty Dons and have never looked elsewhere. When i really started to get into footy, around the 6-8 age, was 1999-2000 for us dons, a good time for footy.

Born and bred. Taken before I can remember to Alberton by my Grandpa. Always been a Port supporter. Lived in Vic as a kid and lived in/barracked for Carlton in the VFL. My Grandpa first mentioned to me the chance of Port coming into the Big League in the late '80's or early '90's, from that moment on I've been Port all the way. Being my age and a Port supporter it has always been about winning. Reckon we've done alright in the AFL so far, with a few disappointments. Carn Port.