Where will Fremantle and West Coast play most of their home games this year?

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin
What you mean a fairer draw? Those lost games? And as for bankrolling the competition pfttt

Never even mentioned a fairer draw? You seem a bit obsessed about that, wonder why?

The point I was making was that if the comp had two less teams playing then the AFL would lose potentially 11% of the TV rights deal $$. Unless the remaining 16 teams played a longer season and made up the shortfall in games having two less teams. Season would need to be longer with less teams.

Nothing to do with fair. In fact it would be very unfair as the 16 remaining teams would need to 'work longer and harder'.

And again, if you don't think WA is a cash cow for the AFL you don't know your history.

Sep 15, 2011
People think West Aussies are parochial. The whole league bent over backwards to accommodate Victorian clubs when they were locked down, but at the first hint of trouble, posters calling for West Aussie clubs to be kicked out of the league. Probably won't be an issue as reckon we will be largely open by April any way, but if not, a solution will be worked out.

Herne Hill Hammer

10k Posts
Jun 22, 2008
TV Rights contract.

Pretty simple. Would at a min need the remaining sides to cover lost games.

And if you don't think the WA sides don't bank roll the competition to a certain degree you don't understand the competition.

Freo doesn't bankroll the comp. The WCE bankroll the WCE, very well I might add.

You explain slowly and simply to us idiots how they bankroll the competition, to a degree?

37 years ago the Eagles did, how do they now?

WCE beating off sponsors with a stick, having queues for memberships and gouging said members does not equate to the competition. It's great for the organisation though.

Combined they are one extra broadcast game per round into a smaller market than others .

What is broadcasting Freo v North Melbourne in the twilight Sunday slot into Western Sydney doing for the competition?
People think West Aussies are parochial. The whole league bent over backwards to accommodate Victorian clubs when they were locked down, but at the first hint of trouble, posters calling for West Aussie clubs to be kicked out of the league. Probably won't be an issue as reckon we will be largely open by April any way, but if not, a solution will be worked out.

The previous 2 seasons all the other states bar NSW have locked borders to each other at one stage or another. Now, with the exception of WA and at this point in time, all of the other states with footy sides in them are open to each other.

It's a big difference.

Any way, it looks like COVID is about starting to running through WA like a dodgy vindaloo so Mccampaignerface may as well get it open.

Sep 15, 2011
The previous 2 seasons all the other states bar NSW have locked borders to each other at one stage or another. Now, with the exception of WA and at this point in time, all of the other states with footy sides in them are open to each other.

It's a big difference.

Any way, it looks like COVID is about starting to running through WA like a dodgy vindaloo so Mccampaignerface may as well get it open.
The examples aren't identical, but the AFL went out of its way to accommodate all other clubs, WC and Freo had to hub, give up home games they were able to host, because of problems in other states. They will accommodate WC and Freo, if necessary. It's not the VFL anymore, it's the AFL.

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin
Freo doesn't bankroll the comp. The WCE bankroll the WCE, very well I might add.

You explain slowly and simply to us idiots how they bankroll the competition, to a degree?

WCE beating off sponsors with a stick, having queues for memberships and gouging said members does not equate to the competition. It's great for the organisation though.

Combined they are one extra broadcast game per round into a smaller market than others .

What is broadcasting Freo v North Melbourne in the twilight Sunday slot into Western Sydney doing for the competition?

It's a big difference.

TV Rights and unequal AFL distributions.

Eagles get the lowest AFL distributions as they don't need the help like others.

No Eagles or Freo means no WA revenue. Those club's then will need more distributions to stay afloat and that means less for the rest.

You reduce the comp by 2 teams then that TV Rights revenue falls......likely by 10% min.

Eagles and Freo go from cash cows to 2022 deficits and club's that now need AFL assistance.

swingdog

Aug 3, 2007
TV Rights and unequal AFL distributions.

Eagles get the lowest AFL distributions as they don't need the help like others.

No Eagles or Freo means no WA revenue. Those club's then will need more distributions to stay afloat and that means less for the rest.

You reduce the comp by 2 teams then that TV Rights revenue falls......likely by 10% min.

Eagles and Freo go from cash cows to 2022 deficits and club's that now need AFL assistance.

And this follows two seasons where the AFL would have incurred massive costs just to keep running.

Herne Hill Hammer

10k Posts
Jun 22, 2008
The examples aren't identical, but the AFL went out of its way to accommodate all other clubs, WC and Freo had to hub, give up home games they were able to host, because of problems in other states. They will accommodate WC and Freo, if necessary. It's not the VFL anymore, it's the AFL.

It might just come down to how long the WA teams are prepared to hub away from home and with our without families.

Aug 13, 2006
WA have already made the admission that they won't stop omicron community transmission.

They're also giving a lot more exemptions soon and those people are self monitoring which means they won't have to

The cynical view is to say it's all politics. The non cynical says it's actually good for a whole range of reason to have a slower ramp up than going from zero covid to 10,000 cases a day.

Either way there's every chance that by the start of the AFL season they'll have thousands of cases a day just like the rest of the country.

May 11, 2015
Ipswich Town FC, Leeds Rhinos
during the lockdown influenza and pneumonia was responsible for ten times more deaths than covid

In 2020:
  • The leading cause of death was ischaemic heart diseases (IHD).
  • Dementia, including Alzheimer's disease was the second leading cause of death. People who died from dementia had a high median age at death of 89.1.
  • Cerebrovascular diseases, lung cancer and chronic lower respiratory diseases rounded out the top five leading causes.
  • Deaths from the five leading causes all decreased from 2019.
  • There were 55 deaths due to influenza. Influenza and pneumonia dropped to the 17th leading cause of death (down from the 9th leading cause in 2019). The ranking of influenza and pneumonia is influenced by the severity of the flu season.
  • Suicide was the 15th leading cause of death. People who died from suicide had median age at death of 43.5.
  • COVID-19 was the 38th leading cause of death, with 898 deaths recorded through the civil registration system.

Respiratory diseases​

Respiratory diseases include causes of death such as pneumonia, influenza, and chronic lower respiratory diseases (including emphysema and chronic bronchitis). Deaths due to COVID-19 are not included in this category. COVID-19 deaths are captured using WHO issued emergency codes U07.1 and U07.2 and are not currently grouped with any other diseases, though they are included in the total number of deaths and are presented in the data downloads.

• There were 11,023 deaths from respiratory diseases between January and October 2021.
  • This is 1,259 deaths (10.3%) below the 2015-19 average, but remains 8.1% higher than the 10,199 deaths at the same point in 2020.
  • During September 2021 there were 1,104 deaths due to respiratory diseases, which is 4.8% more than in September 2020, but remains 30.3% below the baseline average.
  • During October 2021 there were 1,068 deaths due to respiratory diseases, which is 15.7% more than in October 2020, but remains 18.2% below the baseline average.
In 2020
There were 55 deaths due to influenza. Influenza and pneumonia dropped to the 17th leading cause of death (down from the 9th leading cause in 2019). The ranking of influenza and pneumonia is influenced by the severity of the flu season.

Then looking at the stats opening up covid at peak in a double vax Australia will still be lower than influenza and pneumonia based on the same source.
Oh boy - I actually like you Power Raid - you're very friendly to the Dockers normally and often speak a lot of sense. But in this whole COVID vs influenza thing you are miles of the mark

Just quoting Australian statistics is myopic to the point where you clearly have an agenda. Of course COVID deaths are low in Australia - we pursued a COVID avoidance/elimination strategy that means Australian COVID statistics are amongst the biggest outliers going.

And why have we done this - well because;

1: The WHO estimates there are between 290,000 to 650,000 deaths from flu a year globally (https://www.who.int/teams/global-influenza-programme/surveillance-and-monitoring/burden-of-disease)

2: Since the start of COVID, there have been over 5.6m deaths in the last two years (https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/)

So that means globally, COVID has killed between 4 to 10 times more people than COVID would have been expected to do so in the last two years.

COVID is a far more deadly virus than influenza - full stop, no debate, end of story.

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin
Oh boy - I actually like you Power Raid - you're very friendly to the Dockers normally and often speak a lot of sense. But in this whole COVID vs influenza thing you are miles of the mark

Just quoting Australian statistics is myopic to the point where you clearly have an agenda. Of course COVID deaths are low in Australia - we pursued a COVID avoidance/elimination strategy that means Australian COVID statistics are amongst the biggest outliers going.

1: The WHO estimates there are between 290,000 to 650,000 deaths from flu a year globally (https://www.who.int/teams/global-influenza-programme/surveillance-and-monitoring/burden-of-disease)

2: Since the start of COVID, there have been over 5.6m deaths in the last two years (https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/)

So that means globally, COVID has killed between 4 to 10 times more people than COVID would have been expected to do so in the last two years.

COVID is a far more deadly virus than influenza - full stop, no debate, end of story.
Thank you for taking the time to correct the previous statement.

I couldn't be bothered.

I respect your response but I have acknowledged
1) the deaths from influenza and pneumonia in Australia is 10 times higher than covid during the 2 year covid lock down
2) the death rate from influenza and pneumonia in Australia will still be higher than covid during the opening up of the eastern states thanks to double vax

what happened overseas with the stats you quoted, is not relevant as it occurred pre vax which is no longer a reality in WA or over east.

May 11, 2015
Ipswich Town FC, Leeds Rhinos
I respect your response but I have acknowledged
1) the deaths from influenza and pneumonia in Australia is 10 times higher than covid during the 2 year covid lock down
2) the death rate from influenza and pneumonia in Australia will still be higher than covid during the opening up of the eastern states thanks to double vax

what happened overseas with the stats you quoted, is not relevant as it occurred pre vax which is no longer a reality in WA or over east.
It is a reality if all the evidence is that the efficacy of the vax diminishes rapidly. What’s the point of committing to an elimination strategy for 2 years and then going f*** it let’s open up and undo all the hard work when you can see what’s happening in other states.

Regardless of that, using influenza as a comparison is always going to get you in strife because there are still plenty out there (including members of my family) who are still disputing COVID as being an illness worse than influenza.

Feb 11, 2011
pakenham

It's a big difference.

Do the Eagles or Fremantle bankroll the draft?

Yes and no.

Both get the least of funding from the AFL and therefore, the teams support them financially. While, half the clubs are massively drain on the AFL.

West Coast rate highly in WA and Fremantle gets all the graveyard time slots.

Both pay royalties to the WAFC which pays for development in the WA. AFL provide less findimg per capita to WA because mostly the Eagles pick up the tab.

Do the Eagles or Fremantle bankroll the draft?

Yes and no.

Both get the least of funding from the AFL and therefore, the teams support them financially. While, half the clubs are massively drain on the AFL.

West Coast rate highly in WA and Fremantle gets all the graveyard time slots.

Both pay royalties to the WAFC which pays for development in the WA. AFL provide less findimg per capita to WA because mostly the Eagles pick up the tab.

Rating highly in the fourth biggest TV market in the country is an odd thing to celebrate.

What?

WA rates better numbers than NSW or QLD for AFL.

WA is the second biggest AFL market.

Eagles are the dominant team in WA.

In terms of viewership, West Coast is comparable to a Collingwood, and Richmond.

What's with the qualifiers of "AFL market" and "dominant team in WA". Advertisers don't care about those qualifiers. The Perth TV ratings (remembering that TV ratings are 5-metro, regional numbers are viewed separately) are the fourth largest Television ratings market in the country.

Feb 11, 2011
pakenham
What's with the qualifiers of "AFL market" and "dominant team in WA". Advertisers don't care about those qualifiers. The Perth TV ratings (remembering that TV ratings are 5-metro, regional numbers are viewed separately) are the fourth largest Television ratings market in the country.
Rugby league is the one number sport in Queensland and NSW. NSW tend to watch less sport than the rest of Australia.

WA has the second highest viewers of AFL.

The fact that the AFL bankroll the northern teams says a lot. Good investment because as you say it’s the first and third highest TV markets.

If the viewership in the Northern states was better than WA, why is the WA teams has more private sponsorship?

By your logic, the Swans and Giants are in the highest TV market and therefore, get more viewership than Collingwood or Richmond.

Rugby league is the one number sport in Queensland and NSW. NSW tend to watch less sport than the rest of Australia.

WA has the second highest viewers of AFL.

The fact that the AFL bankroll the northern teams says a lot. Good investment because as you say it’s the first and third highest TV markets.

If the viewership in the Northern states was better than WA, why is the WA teams has more private sponsorship?

By your logic, the Swans and Giants are in the highest TV market and therefore, get more viewership than Collingwood or Richmond.

What I'm saying is that Perth is the fourth largest TV market in Australia (out of the 5 metro's). The advertisers don't care what ball sport you're watching on a Friday night or a Sunday afternoon, as long as you're watching so you can see their advertising.

You're getting all worked up trying to make Perth relevant with off-topic information that doesn't change the fact that advertising money doesn't really care about the interests of the people of Perth (especially when WA is locked away from the rest of the world)

Feb 11, 2011
pakenham
What I'm saying is that Perth is the fourth largest TV market in Australia (out of the 5 metro's). The advertisers don't care what ball sport you're watching on a Friday night or a Sunday afternoon, as long as you're watching so you can see their advertising.

You're getting all worked up trying to make Perth relevant with off-topic information that doesn't change the fact that advertising money doesn't really care about the interests of the people of Perth (especially when WA is locked away from the rest of the world)
AFL don’t rate in NSW or QLD.

WA is the second highest AFL viewship and SA is third.

Long distance behind comes NSW and Qld.

AFL don’t rate in NSW or QLD.

WA is the second highest AFL viewship and SA is third.

Long distance behind comes NSW and Qld.

You do realise there's other sport on television than AFL ;)

I'll say it once and I'll say it again--- Perth is the 4th largest TV market in Australia and is insignificant in terms of advertising dollars. IF the Perth TV advertising market was valuable, there would be a shift in the time slots to make the games more accessible to the Perth audience, but they don't.

Feb 11, 2011
pakenham
You do realise there's other sport on television than AFL ;)

I'll say it once and I'll say it again--- Perth is the 4th largest TV market in Australia and is insignificant in terms of advertising dollars. IF the Perth TV advertising market was valuable, there would be a shift in the time slots to make the games more accessible to the Perth audience, but they don't.
You’re a tigers fan who thinks that Richmond is bigger than West Coast. They have $80m in the bank.

We were talking about teams bringing money into the competition and then you bring up Rugby league or Netball or Rugby Union.

Guess what mate, none of the NRL TV money goes to the AFL.

You’re a tigers fan who thinks that Richmond is bigger than West Coast.

I don't know what my club of support has to do with this discussion mate.

West Coast. They have $80m in the bank.

Cool story. They can use some of it to hub someone in the country that's open for part of the season.

We were talking about teams bringing money into the competition and then you bring up Rugby league or Netball or Rugby Union.

Who's "we" because I haven't discussed how much money the two WA clubs bring to the AFL in this thread.

I'm just saying that trying to champion "West Coast as big raters in Perth" is like suggesting I'm the best goal kicker in AFL 9's. The Perth TV market is insignificant in regards to the advertising dollar in Australia. The advertising dollar is on the eastern seaboard-- how many people watch the Eagles in Perth doesn't have a big impact on the bottom line of the AFL.