WHERE'S DAN ??

• Thread starter Thread starter Worm

W

Worm

He must be sitting under that tree in the glorious morning sunshine, the birds chirping, a slight breeze , reading the morning paper's......

I think DAN & EASTY are still hiding under the bed because there too scared to come out and face the music from opposition supporters.
They've been dishing it out for a while [especially Easty] and now they can't take it.

------------------
"FIGHTING WITH ALL OUR MIGHT"

Maybe Dan will start to realise that the Bombers are not that strong a side as he thinks they are!! BUT then again, knowing Dan, he will try to worm his way out of it somehow!

I'm right here.

F*ck, you guys are a bunch of flukes. Flukes. That was a bad loss for Essendon. Even though Carlton played well, we should not have let them win given their no-name side. I suppose you only play as well as your opponent lets you, but nevertheless we shouldn't have let them get close. Bad loss. One of the worst I've had to endure.

I'm not going to try and pretend that I'm not majorly pissed off.

Dan, here you are. I thought you'd have probably said something else. I feel for you Dan, really I do, but come on, Essendon only lose once in a blue moon so we have to make the most of it. I guess I'd be pretty pissed off too if I was you. But thank the lord I'm not and go Blues!

J.

Footy is a game of unbelievable highs and excruciating lows. There is no in between. Right now, I am at a low point. Very low. I still keep on thinking that I am going to wake up, and it will all have been a bad dream. Bloody Carlton
mad.gif

In my life, I've probably been to, say, 80-100 losses (at a guess) and that is right up there in the top 3 or 4 for dissappointments. How in the hell could we let that mob beat us with the players that pulled out of the side?

We'll get 'em next time.
AAARRGGHH !
mad.gif

Give it 3 days JUBJUB!

He will use the excuse he has a life and make out his been with his so called GF.

Mags

Originally posted by Dan25:

In my life, I've probably been to, say, 80-100 losses (at a guess) and that is right up there in the top 3 or 4 for dissappointments. How in the hell could we let that mob beat us with the players that pulled out of the side?

We'll get 'em next time.
AAARRGGHH !
mad.gif

Ah Dan, you were right on one thing and one thing alone.
The grass was greener, the morning bathing in sunshine and the birds were chirping.
In response to your observation about Carlton supporters chearing for Essendon's loss instead of Carlton's win, it reminded me of the subsequent round in 93 when Kernahan needed a behind to win the game, yet missed to keep the scores even. Essendon didn't win, yet most of them managed to rub it in walking to Jolimont Station of the fact that Carlton didn't win either. Perhaps it's the nature of the beast, however I believe that last night's emotion's were probably a culmination of Carlton winning and Essendon losing.
This one will go down in the archives of the AFL as one of the greatest win's in the history of the game - mark my words.

Worm

Probably a slight exaggeration. It will go down as one of "Carlton's" great wins in home and away history. It's amazing how the might of Essendon - the most successful club in history I might add - is required for Carlton to consider it a great win.

Can't believe we let you beat us. Next time....... next time......

Worm

Probably a slight exaggeration. It will go down as one of "Carlton's" great wins in home and away history. It's amazing how the might of Essendon - the most successful club in history I might add - is required for Carlton to consider it a great win.

Can't believe we let you beat us. Next time....... next time......

No Dan, you are WRONG. It will not go down as just one of CARLTON'S best home and away games, it will go down as one of the greatest victories of all time against the odds in the home and away games.

And to add to the humiliation it is the fact that Carlton defeated you and it is not the Carlton faithful who give a damn or even consider your comments worthy of replying to. They believe they are simply the best, they are smug enough, they have no need to even make you cringe in defeat.

It is all of us from every other team that enjoyed watching Carlton do to you, the one thing you cannot accept. And every supporter from every team other than Carlton, kicked every ball, made every shepherd, blew the whistle for the umpire to enjoy your defeat.

You see if Carlton don't win another game for the year, the pleasure in defeating your mob will override any other disappointments for them during the year.

You can bitch about how much Carlton are so concerned about defeating you rather than win a premiership till the cows come home, but the delightful thing is that a win like that means nothing unless it can piss you off and ruin your Easter break of which it has no doubt.

One day you will understand what it really means to support your tribe, through thick and thin. You at 25 have never really experienced the thin, but many of us never even get the chance to revel in victory yet are far prouder than you and your comments.

Ther are people like Stealth Bomber and Mantis etc who are decent Bombers and don't mouth off like you and that other jerk in Adelaide with such cockiness that you give your club the bad name it doesn't deserve.

I mentioned Stealth because as a yank he can even see it how it is, before you, one who should know much more, and Mantis because she loves her club but still isn't stupid enough to degrade every other club.

Right now your "next time and when it counts" means stuff-all, because it's right now we are talking about and if you understood what a true supporter was you would eat humble pie and then reap the rewards later when it mattered most.

You wouldn't even understand what a Fitzroy supporter was would you, (no, they were not my team) but if they had no hope of getting anywhere they could live for another year if they won one game and defeated Collingwood by a point, that was as good as a premiership). Even Joffa would understand that and applaud their followers.

You know jack-shit about a real supporter Dan, but even so, you make Carlton supporters and their team look superior to you without even trying.

I hate Carlton, but thanks to you I loved them on Thursday night.

But hell what would I know, just another unregistered scumbag.

Sometimes it's hard to believe whether you believe any of the stuff that you post, but it was a great win for Carlton, not simply because it was Essendon, but the fact they did it without Silvagni, Bradley, Kouta, and Allen.

Imagine if Carlton had just come of a premiership season where they only had one loss and Essendon rolled them without Hird, Fletcher, Lloyd, and Mercuri.....and I reckon you wouldn't have even .0001% percent of the dignity, grace, and humility that Old Dark Navy's has shown in victory.

Unregistered moron,

Yes, you are a moron. How dare you come on here and insinuate that I know nothing about the hard times. I have been to virtually every match over the last 10 years, and our ladder position has been totally irrelevant. Totally. When were out of finals contention at the end of 1997, I was still just as enthusiastic about "wanting" to attend our next match. I just love the footy. It's not my fault that we have been a great team.

If you're speaking for all those other morons who are gloating in the wake of an Essendon defeat, then you are as pathetic as them. Why don't you go and worry about your own club?

Oh, by the way, you said this : "You see if Carlton don't win another game for the year, the pleasure in defeating your mob will override any other disappointments for them during the year."

This is a stupid and moronic statement. You are basically telling every other supporter on bigfooty, that their own disappointent won't matter for the rest of the year, because Essendon lost on Thursday. Yeah...um....that's a really smart comment.
rolleyes.gif

You have no idea what it's like to be a real supporter. No one supports their club more than me. No one. Some might support their club AS much, but no one loves their team more than me. My commitment to my team is 100%, and no one, certainly not you, can beat that. You can equal it, but you can't beat it.

Just because we have been successful recently, doesn't make me, or any other Bombers fans, less of a supporter. I've supported my club no matter what the circumstances since 1982, when I was a little tacker. If we were to get 10 wooden spoons in a row, my commitment wouldn't change. Would yours? I bet it would.

You're a bloody dickhead. Simply because I like to predict how we were going to whip Carlton's ass, that all of a sudden makes me a supporter that knows nothing about the bad times, does it? You idiot.
rolleyes.gif

My arrogant predictions of a win over Carlscum, are obviously a good-natured rant. I like the one-ups manship, and I like the back-and-forth tussle with Carlton supporters, irrespective of who wins. Most supporters on here can post intelligently, but whose to say that we can't act like "supporters" sometimes as well? Do I always have to be analytical ? Do I always have to post "intelligent" posts? No, of course not.

There is nothing wrong with making predictions, and forecasting a win, at the expense of a hated rival. It shows passion. Something you lack. You really should be able to tell the difference between a normal post and one aimed at stirring up the opposition team (in this case Carlton)

I don't mind Carlton supporters having a go at me. That's what being a supporter is al about. You have to put up with losses, and often, the opposition gloating that goes with it. That's footy. That kind of goating is usually good natured. Ifyou have ever worked in an office on onday mornin, you will know what I am talking about. We all know that deep down we have jobs and lives...I mean we're not stupid. I am aware that individuals can be great people, regardless of their club loyalties. But from a footy point of view, I have no problem with gloating and therefore, accepting the inevitable barrage if we lose.

Yours is a VERY disappointing post. One of the worst I've seen here as a mater of fact. You should know better.

Originally posted by Shinboners:
Sometimes it's hard to believe whether you believe any of the stuff that you post, but it was a great win for Carlton, not simply because it was Essendon, but the fact they did it without Silvagni, Bradley, Kouta, and Allen.

Imagine if Carlton had just come of a premiership season where they only had one loss and Essendon rolled them without Hird, Fletcher, Lloyd, and Mercuri.....and I reckon you wouldn't have even .0001% percent of the dignity, grace, and humility that Old Dark Navy's has shown in victory.

Believe it or not, I show quite a lot of dignity in victory. Especially to some of the Demon fans after last years Grand Final. Bit with the shit that a lot of us Bomber fans have had to put up with here on bigfooty after 1999, then it makes it all the sweeter to stick it up all those Essendon hates who were hoping we would fall at the last hurdle last year.

I enjoy winning, and I make no apologies for that. If I bag an oppositon team, you of all people should know that those tpyes of comments are aimed at stirring up opposition fans. Havn't you ever jokingly rubbed it into a mate if the Roos beat his team?

Well, you're jokingly stirring somebody up is decidedly unfunny IMHO and I am definitely not your mate.

The crap Essendon fans have had to put up with huh? Do we really need to go back and check insult for insult, the Essendon vs Carlton posts? I think you'll find that you have been disrespectful most often.

And yes Dan, you are as passionate about your team as anyone can be but although you have an interest in history and tradition, you do not respect the rest of the competition and their place in the game, so therefore I conclude, you do not respect football anywhere near as much.

Once again you make the statement that Essendon are the greatest team in history but you are once again ignoring the fact that the flag tally is 16 apiece at present. You can point to the fact that Essendon had two years out of the game so their flag ratio is marginally better. I am used to that.

However let's consider this:

Best win/loss ratio VFL/AFL alltime: Carlton
Most Minor Premierships: Carlton, Collingwood - 17
Head to Head: Carlton 111, Essendon 99, Draw 3
Carlton have never finished with the wooden spoon, Essendon have.

Where are you getting your information from?

------------------
mens sana in corpore sano - a sound mind in a sound body

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's:
, you do not respect the rest of the competition and their place in the game, so therefore I conclude, you do not respect football anywhere near as much.

Absolute crap. I love the "game" itself in addition to Essendon. I have a multitude of footy books at home, only a small portion of which are solely about Essendon. Last week on Optus vivion I taped a match from the past - it was West Coast vs Carlton round 21 1995 at Subiaco...... the best match i have ever seen. Yes, I am a Bombers fan but I taped that match and have watched it many times.

I have an enourmous respect for all clubs and all the great players that have represented those clubs. How many of my posts do you actaully read? I presume you only read the ones that denigrate Carlton, hence your wrong opinion of me.

As for the "success" factor, it comes down to how you want to measure success. If you choose to do it with premierships, Essendon gets the nod on strke rate. if you choose to measure it by finals appearances Collingwood get the nod.

If you choose to go by "overall percentage wins", the Carlton get the edge there.

If you want to go by minor premierships, then Carlton and Collingwood are level on 17 (the Bombers are on 16)

Persoanlly, I like to go by overall percentage wins (if that makes you happy), because I think it gives a better indication of overall success. Irrespective of what I think, premierships are counted as the standard sucess measure (not that I necessarily agree), which puts Essendon and Carlton equal, with the Bombers ahead on "percentage"

Do I get an apology?

Why don't we just rename the whole board Talking Dan?

What the hell do you want an apology for? I thought it was established earlier that Adelaide have a better 'Strike Rate' than Essendon. And as Carlton and/or Collingwood seem to have the edge in all the other categories, what makes Essendon the greatest team?

What's most disappointing is that you have such trouble saying a simple 'well done' to Carlton. It has to be prefaced with 'we should never have let you win', 'flukes', 'beaten by a bunch of no-names', etc. And then you have to slag off Carlton fans for not celebrating in a way you would approve of. And re-iterate how Essendon are going to get revenge and win the flag and anyway they are the best team etc etc ad infinitum.

And this after you spent nearly a week publicly salivating over the prospect of thrashing them (which looks really stupid and ill-conceived in retrospect).

And you equate owning a few books and buying a video with passion for the game. I'm sorry, but passion can't be measured by a glance at the bookshelf and a perfect attendance rate. It lives inside you, and it is laid bare in the things you say and how you say them. It's inherent in the way you approach the game, how you relate to other fans and other clubs, and it can be measured by the amount of respect you earn and the credence given to the things you say.

All I get when I read your posts (and yes I have read a hell of a lot of them) is your respect for Dan, Dan's Theories and Dan's Team. You can pretend it's all good natured, back and forth one-up-manship if you like, but most of what's coming from your end is arrogance, small-mindedness and petty point-scoring. Christ, you even have to make commitment to your club into a competition.

I don't expect you'll get the point of this. Nobody wants you to come out and defend yourself and put us all in our places. A little humility in both victory and defeat would be a very good start, but I think that may be beyond you.

You are quite possibly the worst loser on the entire board, and that is really saying something.

Originally posted by RogerC:
Why don't we just rename the whole board Talking Dan?

What the hell do you want an apology for? I thought it was established earlier that Adelaide have a better 'Strike Rate' than Essendon. And as Carlton and/or Collingwood seem to have the edge in all the other categories, what makes Essendon the greatest team?

What's most disappointing is that you have such trouble saying a simple 'well done' to Carlton. It has to be prefaced with 'we should never have let you win', 'flukes', 'beaten by a bunch of no-names', etc. And then you have to slag off Carlton fans for not celebrating in a way you would approve of. And re-iterate how Essendon are going to get revenge and win the flag and anyway they are the best team etc etc ad infinitum.

And this after you spent nearly a week publicly salivating over the prospect of thrashing them (which looks really stupid and ill-conceived in retrospect).

And you equate owning a few books and buying a video with passion for the game. I'm sorry, but passion can't be measured by a glance at the bookshelf and a perfect attendance rate. It lives inside you, and it is laid bare in the things you say and how you say them. It's inherent in the way you approach the game, how you relate to other fans and other clubs, and it can be measured by the amount of respect you earn and the credence given to the things you say.

All I get when I read your posts (and yes I have read a hell of a lot of them) is your respect for Dan, Dan's Theories and Dan's Team. You can pretend it's all good natured, back and forth one-up-manship if you like, but most of what's coming from your end is arrogance, small-mindedness and petty point-scoring. Christ, you even have to make commitment to your club into a competition.

I don't expect you'll get the point of this. Nobody wants you to come out and defend yourself and put us all in our places. A little humility in both victory and defeat would be a very good start, but I think that may be beyond you.

You are quite possibly the worst loser on the entire board, and that is really saying something.

Dan25, I'd like you to meet my new best friend, Roger C. I can't and I won't even try to improve on what he has so eloquently stated here. It is both articulate and diplomatic with a lot of restraint shown. You can just add another person to your list of people who have outclassed you.

------------------
mens sana in corpore sano - a sound mind in a sound body

You have no idea what it's like to be a real supporter. No one supports their club more than me. No one. Some might support their club AS much, but no one loves their team more than me. My commitment to my team is 100%, and no one, certainly not you, can beat that. You can equal it, but you can't beat it.

Where are your stats to prove these statements?????

I have an enourmous respect for all clubs and all the great players that have represented those clubs. How many of my posts do you actaully read? I presume you only read the ones that denigrate Carlton, hence your wrong opinion of me.

So, all the North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Collingwood, Port Adelaide, St. Kilda and old Fitzroy fans on this board have also managed to get the wrong opinion of you as well?

It's an interesting way to show respect for other clubs when you rubbish their histories, traditions, and fan bases by constantly belittling them and their successes and stating why they will never be as good as Essendon.

Originally posted by Shinboners:
So, all the North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Collingwood, Port Adelaide, St. Kilda and old Fitzroy fans on this board have also managed to get the wrong opinion of you as well?

It's an interesting way to show respect for other clubs when you rubbish their histories, traditions, and fan bases by constantly belittling them and their successes and stating why they will never be as good as Essendon.

Oh well...... if it's the truth, then its the truth.

Originally posted by RogerC:

So, i suppose, for arguments sake, Joffa, isn't passionate given your rationale.
rolleyes.gif

I certainly don't need to prove to you how passionate I am. I am probably more passionate about the "game" overall than you could ever hope to be. If I don't take losing well, than that is just me. Live with it.

It's not as if a supporter who accepts their teams loss is all of a sudden a better supporter than someone who doesn't. Or are you going to change your tune on that too? I have written about 25 posts saying that Carlton played well and you have conveniently ignored every single one of them. You just read want you want to read. No mater how many I write, there ae still idiots like you who will tell me that I can't give credit to the opposition.

I've given the Blues credit. I've also said, quite correctly, that to win without 4 of their best payers agaisnt a strong opponent, is pretty fortunate, even taking into account their great form. I'd say the same thing if I barracked for Carlton. I remember, Essendon had an upset win over Geelong (who were 2nd at the time) in late 1997. We played well, and deserved to win, but I always felt it was Geelongs relatively poor game that led to the result. They were the more talented team, and if they had played well, they would have won, regardless of how well we played.

You are one of those people that simply have no idea. You seem to be questioning my passion. Stupidy so. Go away please.