Play Nice Which club has the biggest supporter base? Collingwood, Richmond or West Coast?

Which club has the biggest supporter base?

Mate, I'm struggling to find on any measure where Carlton has Richmond covered, membership?, attendances?, Revenue?, Social Media numbers?, TV ratings?, Merchandise sales? No on ALL counts.

Sorry, but the pies have had success, between 2010-2018 played in 4 GF's, 1 flag, 1 draw and 2 losses), too many excuses given to Pies.
Bombers and Blues, who knows, you may or you may not because at the moment it's all hearsay whether you can match or surpass Richmond once success comes.

We have done it already almost 95K V GWS, so we do not have to prove ourselves. I can understand that weather can play a part even in finals give or take 5-10K, but it didn't just happen once for them it was twice V GWS. I'm more than confident to say that we would top at least 85K in any weather.

It's one thing bringing half your fans, another altogether when looking to fill the majority of the stadium with your own fans, we did it.
I recall saying to a few pies fans if you got 85K that would be the pass mark, but they couldn't top 80K on both occasions (72K & 77k).

It's been good engaging with you, as it is with Dave10, we are all passionate about our teams and there will always be a leaning of sorts in our posting towards our own!
We should all stick up for our clubs 👍the Blues overall have a bigger attendance record than the Tiges bigger average crowd.

Your Tv average is still below our records of 7 8 years ago. We out rate you in streaming, Youtube views, website hits over 20 years, Twitter, AFL members, MCC members, Google searches unique and overall. Carlton are number 1 in Digital consumption they generate more interest, revenue I think we are number 1 now. There is a general consensus that Carlton have a 25% bigger supporter base than Richmond.

Richmond only are 12 13,000 ahead on Facebook and well ahead on instagram after they won their 3 premierships. We have wooden spoons and we are still second in Merch have 81,000 members and top 5 in crowds the last 5 years.

I give Richmond credit they have the most real supporters (Tangible) you see them at the G pay memberships, but evangalists attend church and are more involved than Catholics but there more Catholics out there ditto Bluebaggers and Tigers.

Sorry, but the pies have had success, between 2010-2018 played in 4 GF's

Actually it's a 3 as a draw meant an automatic gf by default the next week, as for the context of this I agree though. Maybe us pie fans are sick and tired of stumbling at the last hurdle.

We should all stick up for our clubs 👍the Blues overall have a bigger attendance record than the Tiges bigger average crowd.

Your Tv average is still below our records of 7 8 years ago. We out rate you in streaming, Youtube views, website hits over 20 years, Twitter, AFL members, MCC members, Google searches unique and overall. Carlton are number 1 in Digital consumption they generate more interest, revenue I think we are number 1 now. There is a general consensus that Carlton have a 25% bigger supporter base than Richmond.

Richmond only are 12 13,000 ahead on Facebook and well ahead on instagram after they won their 3 premierships. We have wooden spoons and we are still second in Merch have 81,000 members and top 5 in crowds the last 5 years.

I give Richmond credit they have the most real supporters (Tangible) you see them at the G pay memberships, but evangalists attend church and are more involved than Catholics but there more Catholics out there ditto Bluebaggers and Tigers.

There comes a point in the discussion when it starts bordering on grasping at straws and you've reached that point. So with that in mind, I'm going to leave it there with this post in reply.

You can't possibly think that google searches, website hits, streaming, youtube views are of higher relevance than the key metrics directly below.

I think I was pretty concise in answering where on earth Carlton had Richmond covered, membership?, attendances?, Revenue?, Social Media numbers?, TV ratings?, Merchandise sales? No on ALL counts.

Just on membership, you come back with you have more AFL and MCC members. Melbourne FC have the most MCC members does that mean they have more supporters than Carlton? No.
I said we have higher TV ratings which we do, your come back was that you had higher records 7-8 years ago.
General consensus, let me guess amongst the Carlton faithful? So no real facts to back your argument. Look, no one in their right mind can possibly think Carlton is bigger than Richmond.

On revenue, no you're not number 1, Richmond 2021 (74 mill) and 29 mill in the bank.
The Club reported a profit of $2,486,626 for the financial year ended 31 October 2021. The profit was generated from a revenue base of $73.8 million.

Carlton revenue 2021 (57 mill). The Carlton Football Club is now debt-free for the first time since 1996.
THE CARLTON Football Club is pleased to today announce a net operating profit of $1,282,346 for 2021, up on the operating break-even result achieved in 2020 of $34,639.

Im loathe to bring up social media numbers but in answer to your points, the main 5 social media platforms are Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter and Youtube. Richmond have 120K more followers overall across these platforms than Carlton.

Richmond Twitter 105K but we only follow 427

Carlton Twitter 117k
but follow 33K LOL (perhaps Richmond should start following every tom dick and harry out there just to get likes back and artificially inflate their followers). I have no doubt when you get followed by a big sporting club you will follow them back. It's like a badge of honour.

No offence mate, but this argument is ridiculous. Some clubs follow back people the people who follow them. Yours doesnt. Maybe it speaks to your clubs engagement on twitter.

Our engagement is fine 46K tweets to Carlton's 50K tweets.
Agree some clubs do follow back but I find that unusually high for a sporting club to follow others to the tune of 33K.

example;

MAN U 28.8M Followers 164 Following
LA LAKERS 10.3M Followers 75 Following
GREEN BAY PACKERS 2.4M Followers 157 Following

*I will edit my post and remove that twitter part.

Reckon the lines get blurred between profile / fan base membership base.

Actual membership numbers would obviously be wc/rich at the minute, even then there are nuances as to the why - for example wc in a 2 club state, rich after decades of starvation.

Arguably the highest profile is the pies - not just footy but maybe even in the country. There are no nuances there, success has been very very rare for this club and no one has an answer as to why - still, this club has such a profile and a healthy member base.

Same with blues / bombers, still a high profile and member base and have been starved for a long long time.

I have previously put in a thread questioning the phenomenon as to why the pies still hold this profile, there were no discernible answers imo.

Relevance! 44 GF's in 125 years. On average your mob is playing in the big dance every 3 years and winning a flag on average about every 8 years.
Keeps the club always in the news. Fans still stay engaged (albeit the heartache) of losing more GF's than winning them.

There comes a point in the discussion when it starts bordering on grasping at straws and you've reached that point. So with that in mind, I'm going to leave it there with this post in reply.

You can't possibly think that google searches, website hits, streaming, youtube views are of higher relevance than the key metrics directly below.

I think I was pretty concise in answering where on earth Carlton had Richmond covered, membership?, attendances?, Revenue?, Social Media numbers?, TV ratings?, Merchandise sales? No on ALL counts.

Just on membership, you come back with you have more AFL and MCC members. Melbourne FC have the most MCC members does that mean they have more supporters than Carlton? No.
I said we have higher TV ratings which we do, your come back was that you had higher records 7-8 years ago.
General consensus, let me guess amongst the Carlton faithful? So no real facts to back your argument. Look, no one in their right mind can possibly think Carlton is bigger than Richmond.

On revenue, no you're not number 1, Richmond 2021 (74 mill) and 29 mill in the bank.
The Club reported a profit of $2,486,626 for the financial year ended 31 October 2021. The profit was generated from a revenue base of $73.8 million.

Carlton revenue 2021 (57 mill). The Carlton Football Club is now debt-free for the first time since 1996.
THE CARLTON Football Club is pleased to today announce a net operating profit of $1,282,346 for 2021, up on the operating break-even result achieved in 2020 of $34,639.

Im loathe to bring up social media numbers but in answer to your points, the main 5 social media platforms are Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter and Youtube. Richmond have 120K more followers overall across these platforms than Carlton.
That's ok not clutching at straws I will cut to the chase TV ratings not bigger than ours 08 to 12 had more on average than your premireship years. We average more every other year Carlton have not gone below 600,000.

I look at overall attendances Carlton is a bigger drawing club not the last 5 years overall.

Google interest and data foot print is in real time at any period a part from Richmond on Grand Final week Carlton is more popular always. The club looks at this data that's how they try and target and engage.

Over 20 years 1 Essendon and 2 Carlton consitantly have the most popular websites Richmond had a bump with Melbourne recently but you won the premiership.

The general public know Carlton is bigger than Richmond even Essendon supporters lol.
Social media the biggest platform being
Facebook hate to bring it up too but 290,000 is all Richmond have to show after winning 3 premierships.

I just hope the cycle turns and we win 3 of the next 4 then Carlton will be ahead in every metric. Enjoyed the chat cheers 👍

Relevance! 44 GF's in 125 years. On average your mob is playing in the big dance every 3 years and winning a flag on average about every 8 years.
Keeps the club always in the news. Fans still stay engaged (albeit the heartache) of losing more GF's than winning them.

Maybe revisit those numbers over the last 63 years, then re ask yourself the question. How is it that a club that has been mediocre at best over that period still have such a huge profile not to mention a healthy membership base? Can only cry wolf (the tease) so many times before that wolf cry is ignored - when will that be?

In that last 63 years we've been largely irrelevant, apart from the glimpses of hope. Still any chance of news coz Collingwood and the media is all over it. Go figure.

The general public know Carlton is bigger than Richmond even Essendon supporters lol.

Maybe in profile coz Carlton, but right now, rich / wc are the biggest clubs if you purely look at member bases.

Fan bases really are not possible to define accurately, over the course of the competition since its inception, you're probably right in a profile sense. But not right now.

Maybe in profile coz Carlton, but right now, rich / wc are the biggest clubs if you purely look at member bases.

Fan bases really are not possible to define accurately, over the course of the competition since its inception, you're probably right in a profile sense. But not right now.
I agree right now only in member base but it helps if your winning.

West Coast. Every non serious football fan here is a West Coast supporter but doesn't know what day the team plays, who they played or how the boys went until reading the back pages on Monday in the office and copying the tipping of someone in the paper for the office competition.

Oh well, it’s all pointless anyway. According to Essendon, in 5 years we will have won our premiership, have over 125,000 members, be the highest rated club on key commercial metrics, strengthen our national support further and wider and have commercialisation locked in at The Hangar and Windy Hill.

It’s good to have a plan, as long as it’s socialised and built into everyone’s job descriptions anything’s possible.

Oh well, it’s all pointless anyway. According to Essendon, in 5 years we will have won our premiership, have over 125,000 members, be the highest rated club on key commercial metrics, strengthen our national support further and wider and have commercialisation locked in at The Hangar and Windy Hill.

It’s good to have a plan, as long as it’s socialised and built into everyone’s job descriptions anything’s possible.
Good luck! Now here come the posters that say "oh have not read this thread for 6 months" but pop in and post anyway jerk me off please 🤣

But how many people will they follow on Twitter?

If Collingwood had the same success as Richmond over the past 5 years, they would have come close to smashing the 200 K membership mark by now (and possibly be forced to have a waiting list for membership application)

The Pies still way out in front of being the most popular football club in Australia (from all domestic football leagues and codes too btw)

I know, like, we never had a +20% more members than say Essendon before winning those premierships like we do now.

Oh, hang on a second....

2016 Membership totals

Richmond 72,278
Essendon 57,494

2016, the year Essendon entered the season having lost 12 players to suspension (in Jsnuary) and after a 4 year supplements scandal that rendered the club unable to play finals and lost draft picks? Righto… You’re going to have to do better than that.

In 2016 Richmond had 72,000 members before the first premiership. Essendon (81,662), Carlton (81,300) and Collingwood (82,500) last year. Thats a reasonable comparison.

Of course it’s not apples with apples but forgive me for lowering myself to the standard of your post😄😄

2016, the year Essendon entered the season having lost 12 players to suspension (in Jsnuary) and after a 4 year supplements scandal that rendered the club unable to play finals and lost draft picks? Righto… You’re going to have to do better than that.

In 2016 Richmond had 72,000 members before the first premiership. Essendon (81,662), Carlton (81,300) and Collingwood (82,500) last year. Thats a reasonable comparison.

Of course it’s not apples with apples but forgive me for lowering myself to the standard of your post😄😄
Those aren't good enough excuses, or even excuses at all. They are possibly cheap reasons at best.

Essendon only lost 3,400 members in 2016 from 2015 so its hardly something you can hang your hat on.

Richmond had 10,000 more members than Essendon prior to that in 2015, 35 years since a flag. Maybe Essendon supporters are just too fickle? Doesn't seem like Richmond supporters jump off after a bad year (see our current total).

And they havent jumped on as part of the premierships either. Our membership growth from 2016 to 2021 was 72,000 to 105,000 or 45%. Essendons was 57,000 to 82,000 or 44%. Carltons and West Coasts were similar at around 45%. Its a naturally occuring increase.

We always just have been and will be bigger.

Those aren't good enough excuses, or even excuses at all. They are possibly cheap reasons at best.

Essendon only lost 3,400 members in 2016 from 2015 so its hardly something you can hang your hat on.

Richmond had 10,000 more members than Essendon prior to that in 2015, 35 years since a flag. Maybe Essendon supporters are just too fickle? Doesn't seem like Richmond supporters jump off after a bad year (see our current total).

And they havent jumped on as part of the premierships either. Our membership growth from 2016 to 2021 was 72,000 to 105,000 or 45%. Essendons was 57,000 to 82,000 or 44%. Carltons and West Coasts were similar at around 45%. Its a naturally occuring increase.

We always just have been and will be bigger.
It’s a very reasonable comparison.

2016 illustrated the size of the Essendon supporter base, that 57,400 would sign up to a season where it couldn’t field a competitive team, a year after finishing in the bottom 4 in 2015 in the midst of the 5 year saga.

Richmond supporters have never experienced a 4 year pummelling from every angle in the football world to the level Essendon experienced between 2012-2016 where it was stripped of comp points and lost successive years of draft picks etc.. No club has. Not even close. To draw conclusions using Essendon membership figures and crowds during that period is an outlier and misleading. In the three years after the conclusion of that period Essendon grew membership to 84,000 (2019). We will never know what Essendon’s memberships today could’ve been if it didn’t effectively lose 5 years of league wide incremental membership growth.

On fickle. Richmond grew Membership 45% in 2017 after its premiership, that's evidence of a fickle following, at least 30,000 fickle ones anyway. Being reasonable, Richmobd supporters aren’t fickle. Nor are Essendon’s. Essendon hasn't won a final for 17 years(!) yet it will go close to having 90,000 members in 2022. Certainly it will if it notches any further improvement in 2022 compared to 2021.

On crowds. Before 2017, Richmond season H&A crowds rarely exceeded Essendon (and Carlton / Collingwood). And if Essendon wasn’t playing games at Marvel Stadium, Essendon would’ve been the top attended club for the 2017 year, a year Richmond won the premiership. So let’s quit comparing aggregate crowds as they’re completely misleading

And lastly, I attended an Essendon function during the week. And I reiterate previous comments I’ve made on here, reconfirmed again in talking to execs that when (if) Essendon win a premiership in the near future, you will see Essendon regain #1 ranking in membership. It says only Collingwood has comparable breadth of national support as Essendon and converting this component, illustrated at its games in WA / TAS where it, with respect dwarfed it’s opponents in the stands, is at the heart of its unique growth opportunity and focus the next 5 years.

Ben Gale is highly respected in the industry. He knows the Tigers are big in Victoria, but not as big as others outside Victoria. I will let his informed perspective stand as the most credible and pragmatic of all, at least compared to us mere mortals on here..