Which Mobile Fone to get?

• Thread starter Thread starter Henry Jr

Wonder why you would even bother with Office Products in the first place Grizz.

Oh, thats right, EVERYONE uses it.

Hmmm, wonder why Apple needed to release an update to the bullet-proof OS :cool:

Atleast Apple have finnally seen the light and are now using PC hardware but charging double the price.

Oh well....

Maybe. But I've never had any downtime on my Mac. 5 years of Macs, no problems, no viruses, just hassle-free, efficient and a joy to use.

You're right, Apple constantly release updates to all their software. Keeps it current and ahead of the game. Mine downloads and installs quietly in the background etc. Used to remember all those blue screens of death, watched as a friend almost went insane trying to get Vista to work....

I'm sorry Henry, you can argue until you are blue in the face, but after using Windows-based computers for 15 years, and Macs for the last 5, the difference (for me) is massive.

Hank, I like the pie charts, they're really good.

May I remind you that just because something is popular, doesn't mean it's good.

Billy Ray Cyrus.
Eifel 65.
Lou Bega.
Herald Sun.
Collingwood.

Get my drift?

Nice to know G

Maybe. But I've never had any downtime on my Mac. 5 years of Macs, no problems, no viruses, just hassle-free, efficient and a joy to use.

You're right, Apple constantly release updates to all their software. Keeps it current and ahead of the game. Mine downloads and installs quietly in the background etc. Used to remember all those blue screens of death, watched as a friend almost went insane trying to get Vista to work....

I'm sorry Henry, you can argue until you are blue in the face, but after using Windows-based computers for 15 years, and Macs for the last 5, the difference (for me) is massive.

I hear ya Grizz. Just shit stirring as usual. Just waiting for G-man to jump in (he must be on a smoko break).

Working in Primary School Education, I am seriously looking at the pros and cons of getting iPads in rather than laptops for the kids to use.

The iTunes thing shits me to tears (from a maintenance point of view).

If I could have an iPad running W7 on my networks, then I would be sold.

You guys heard if you can boot camp W7 successfully on the iPads?

Nice to know G

I hear ya Grizz. Just shit stirring as usual. Just waiting for G-man to jump in (he must be on a smoko break).

Working in Primary School Education, I am seriously looking at the pros and cons of getting iPads in rather than laptops for the kids to use.

I know.

Kids love iPads. There's something so intuitive about them. I've been using one on and off, but for what I need and my usage patterns, it doesn't really fit. Nice though. if I was traveling by plane alot, hell yeah.

Don't think you can dual boot like on a Macbook.

What's your beef with iTunes?

I know.

Kids love iPads. There's something so intuitive about them. I've been using one on and off, but for what I need and my usage patterns, it doesn't really fit. Nice though. if I was traveling by plane alot, hell yeah.

Don't think you can dual boot like on a Macbook.

What's your beef with iTunes?

Ah, just from a maintance point of view (50 x iPads), iTunes makes life bloody difficult when syncing ect.

They (iPads) wern't really designed for mass usage in schools I believe, more for the home market.

Hopefully when the new one comes out in June, here's hoping it might change things...

Let's not kid ourselves, Hank.
You and I both know that you spend your days strolling the streets doing nothing much at all, and just generally being a nuisance.

p.s. I had a toastie for smoko.

I like your first chart Hank. To me that reads as 7% of users being satisfied. Which suits me just fine, as long as I continue to be amongst it. :p ;)

Oh, and I'mm like you Grizz... I only ever seem to have issues (albeit not huge ones) with Microsoft programs on my Mac.

I just signed up for the Vodafone Infinite deal..$45 + $5 for the phone, with infinite calls and texts, infinite access to social networking.

Comes with a Nokia N8, which is an awesome phone.

I just signed up for the Vodafone Infinite deal..$45 + $5 for the phone, with infinite calls and texts, infinite access to social networking.

Comes with a Nokia N8, which is an awesome phone.

Just be careful with data roaming mate. Its not included in your data cap.

I had a shit fight with 3 over the issue.....

How did it finish up???

Story goes that Voda / 3 doesn't let your phone know when you are roaming to Telstra and when you are not.

Therefore, setting your phone to "NOT use data when roaming" doesn't really work since the phone never knows when its roaming and when its not.

According to the indians I spoke to at 3, before using data you should first check to see if your phone is roaming. Therefore, if you sync your email to your phone like I do every 5 mins, if you are in the middle of a meeting, every 5 mins you need to rush out, check to see if you are roaming or not, and if you arn't, turn off your data.

Stupid F&*^%&***@*#^$#

However, I found an app (for android) called 'Stop 3 Data Roaming' which works a treat. Somehow checks every second to see if you are roaming and if you are, it shuts down all data until you are back under 3 / Voda.

Since using this app, I have never had to pay any extra data usage charges.

Story goes that Voda / 3 doesn't let your phone know when you are roaming to Telstra and when you are not.

Therefore, setting your phone to "NOT use data when roaming" doesn't really work since the phone never knows when its roaming and when its not.

According to the indians I spoke to at 3, before using data you should first check to see if your phone is roaming. Therefore, if you sync your email to your phone like I do every 5 mins, if you are in the middle of a meeting, every 5 mins you need to rush out, check to see if you are roaming or not, and if you arn't, turn off your data.

Stupid F&*^%&***@*#^$#

However, I found an app (for android) called 'Stop 3 Data Roaming' which works a treat. Somehow checks every second to see if you are roaming and if you are, it shuts down all data until you are back under 3 / Voda.

Since using this app, I have never had to pay any extra data usage charges.
Wow.. that seriously bites Hank. How do these companies get away with such disgusting acts? Poor form.

Gets better mate.

You CANNOT check your data cap usage on your phone, only you phone cap usage.

You have to go online to check your data usage.

And even then, it doesn't show what the EXTRA cost on top of your cap is. Only that there is an extra cost. Call them up and they can't (or won't) tell you where the cost has come from.

Its a bloody rort. Read the other day that 80% of all complaints to Mobile Carriers is due to data charging.

Problem occurs when you roam and make a phone call, it comes off your cap (albeit at a higher rate but thats fine). When you data roam, it doesn't come off your data cap.

This is why you see on Today Tonight and Co. that people are having $500 bills.

Good stuff - thanks for that HJ.

Again ask how did you get on when you went over the limit??

I was lucky X that my wife checked the account and I was only $10 bucks extra when I applied that App.

Otherwise, it would have hit the hundreds no doubt...

That's outrageous. So they charge you to roam on a network they piggy-back on for coverage?

Gets better mate.

And even then, it doesn't show what the EXTRA cost on top of your cap is. Only that there is an extra cost. Call them up and they can't (or won't) tell you where the cost has come from.

Its a bloody rort. Read the other day that 80% of all complaints to Mobile Carriers is due to data charging.

Problem occurs when you roam and make a phone call, it comes off your cap (albeit at a higher rate but thats fine). When you data roam, it doesn't come off your data cap.

Geeeez. Sucks to be on 3, it seems.

I'm on Telstra, but I'm one a low end contract as I'm not a big caller. They are pretty bad too, but more so on the Customer Service side of things. I once had some random Indian chick not connect me up to my MMS properly when I got my iPhone. I even went into my local Telstra store. They weren't happy to hear I had purchased my iPhone outright from Apple, and basically refused to help me. Fancy that! So I called the hotline and the (very lovely) Australian-based lass on the other end helped me out on the spot. Needless to say, I voiced my complaint to her and she was very understanding.

It does depend on who you get on the phone most of the time. But as most of them basically suck at their job, it really is a lottery. Threatening a call to the Ombudsman usually works with the telco's though.

Just be careful with data roaming mate. Its not included in your data cap.

I had a shit fight with 3 over the issue.....

Whoa, thanks for the heads up! I don't do a lot of roaming, just to the designated sites which Vodafone say are free!

Gets better mate.

There are apps for the iPhone that can check your data use as you use it. They log onto your online account.