Which Stadiums have you been to?

Which Stadiums?

No, I didn't.

And nothing personal, but despite being born and bred at the Bay I've not lived within a bull's roar of Adelaide for almost 30 years now, and the only members of my family still in SA are those buried there. South Australia rarely rates a mention on east coast news services for any reason, and the return to Adelaide Oval has always been discussed exclusively in the context of Port Adelaide here (citing it as the one faint flickering hope that might save them from disappearing completely up the fundament of the AFL).

And Eruptious: as I said before, if you haven't been there done that, any derogatory statements you continue to make may only serve to reinforce any perceptions of you as being overwhelmingly ignorant.

Which we all know what be totally wrong, right? ;)

I'm not being ignorant, just stating facts..

Don't need to take it out on me, just because your argument is as flawed as Carlton's 2009 membership tagline.

To watch footy premiership matches, kind of helped supporting a smaller team that played all over the place (Fitzroy).
MCG - best of the lot
VFL Park - I liked the place but could understand why many didn't
Victoria Park - facilities were bad enough, the supporters made it the worst
Arden Street - small but great viewing and good atmosphere
Jucntion Oval - have really found memories of the place as a little kid standing on the esky.
Princes Park - ok, just hated the co-tennants
Windy Hill - bit like PP, ok just didn't like the locals
Lakeside Oval - Can't remember to much of it except standing on the terraces which were virtually empty
Western Oval - good ground, terrible facilities
Moorabbin - was a dump
Kardinia Park - cold. Went there for a couple of lions games a few yaers back and had sleet!
SCG - one of my favourites good facilities, good viewing
Gabba - Preferred it when they still had the social club on the wing where you could stand with a beer and watch
Docklands - hate it, too santised crap surface, lousy viewing unless you want to pay $50
Subiaco Oval - Can understand why they want to replace it
Football Park - what can I say about a ground where you have to drink outside the fence. Can't wait for the move to Adelaide Oval
Carrara - went in the early days when it was an overgrown country footy ground, just need the cars parked around the boundry line.
York Park - great viewing, could easily turn it into a 35,000 seat stadium when a Tassie team comes in.
Manuka Oval - pokey
North Hobart Oval - terrible. Short lived experiement and easy to see why.
Olympic Park - has no soul or atmosphere.

To watch footy premiership matches, kind of helped supporting a smaller team that played all over the place (Fitzroy).

York Park - great viewing, could easily turn it into a 35,000 seat stadium when a Tassie team comes in.

North Hobart Oval - terrible. Short lived experiement and easy to see why.

York park- is a big ground with wide boundary line & stands built back from the fence. Consequently people walk infront of the stands. It should have been designed a lot better than it was. It would make no sense building a 35k stadum. it would not be filled.
North Hobat- Is a great club ground, It has a natural amphitheatre so is good for small or large crowds. It was built in 1920 so has great history. Granted It is not up to modern AFL football. But I guess it is still around & being used. Fitzroy however, are not:p

Football Park, MCG, SCG, ANZ Stadium, Ethiad Stadium & Subiaco of the current ovals. WACA, Victoria Park, Western Oval, VFL Park and Princess Park of the old grounds. Haven't attended a VFL/AFL game there but played on Glenferie Rd and Junction Oval and attended a test at Adelaide Oval.

York park- is a big ground with wide boundary line & stands built back from the fence. Consequently people walk infront of the stands. It should have been designed a lot better than it was. It would make no sense building a 35k stadum. it would not be filled.
North Hobat- Is a great club ground, It has a natural amphitheatre so is good for small or large crowds. It was built in 1920 so has great history. Granted It is not up to modern AFL football. But I guess it is still around & being used. Fitzroy however, are not:p
Maybe 35,000 is a bit much but could definitely handle an increase in capacity of what it is now.

My problem with North Hobart was that it just isn't suitable for an AFL match. Saw a game there last year when I was down.

Fitzroy still do exist, currently playing VAFA C grade. Have more fun at Brunswick St Oval than any AFL game, also costs nothing to go :p

Of the current grounds....

MCG - The heart of Melbourne. Cant attend a game, drive past or even look at it from a distance without been filled with awe and pride. Unmatchable atmosphere when its draws 70K plus. Been many of times. And besides the nose bleeds if you get stuck up at the top of the stand, the view from any seat in the house is amazing.

ETIHAD STADIUM - Has its faults no doubt and will never compare to the MCG, but I love it. Always a loud and energetic atmosphere within the ground with the roof closed. Hardly a bad seat, even Level 3 is a fantastic view.

GABBA - I really loved the Gabba. Went there last year and thought it was really well designed and I like the Lions coloured seats. Looks like a mini MCG, serves full strength beer at night and lets you have a kick on the ground after the game.

AAMI STADIUM - Seemed to be getting run down and has an older feel in the way that I remember Waverley Park in its later years. Don't like the drive out of town to get there and whilst its history is grand, Adelaide Oval will be a much better venue when ready. Went to the last ASHES test there and loved the feel and location of the place.

PATERSONS STADIUM - Went there earlier this year for the Saints/Eagles game and really wasn't a big fan of the Stadium. Very old fashioned and too confined. God knows how they get 40K in there and the wooden seats on the members side are a real throwback. Was a bit concerned when me and my local ruckman sized mate had to squeeze into the smallest gap imaginable on those wooden benches.

ANZ STADIUM - A massive stadium that has giant high stands that I don't reckon ever are open besides NRL SOO. Felt a long way back from the action there and didnt have a real atmosphere although in fairness there was only 31K there and 50K spare seats! Is a fair way outta town but is definatly a place Im glad I went to. Look forward to checking out the SCG later this year.

Only been to AAMI so far living in SA (and Adelaide Oval). Probably seeing the Sydney vs GWS game at ANZ as we happen to be in Sydney that weekend. Will do whatever it takes to see a game at the MCG soon. :)

AAMI Stadium/footy park - Honestly the ground is ok really. The northern grandstand was a failure though, the seats are way too close together and there's no legroom. I don't like that it's a 20 min drive to get there either, and there is only one pub nearby to drink at after the game.

Adelaide Oval - I went to the first AFL game there for port vs Melbourne. It was a very good atmosphere and I sat in the new grand stand on the members side. The oval looks brilliant so far, I was worried the upgrades would ruin the look of it but it hasn't. I also felt 'closer' to the ground too, when you're at footy park you feel really far away from the action. I go there for the cricket every summer too and nothing beats sitting on the grass and walking a few metres in bare feet to the bar to get more beer. Also it's only a 10-15 min walk to North Terrace where the casino/more bars are.
Adelaide Crows fans will hate the move to Adelaide oval as most of them are pensioners (lol) and they LOVE the drive and car park lunch that you can do at West Lakes, which you can't really do in the city.

Etihad stadium - I have only been here once but to me it didn't seem that amazing, as everyone had said it was. The seats are the same as every other stadium, theres big concrete walls like other stadiums. Though there's lots of walkway room which is very good.

MCG - Does the job well. It has gotten better in the last few years too. The thing I love about the G is the walk to the ground, and seeing other people in footy jumpers on public transport. Something you don't get in Adelaide while everyone drives to the games.

SCG - went there when I was a kid and don't remember it.

ANZ Stadium - went there for the 2000 olympics and that was it.

Blundstone - Was good for cricket. Similar to Adelaide oval but a longer walk to the bar lol

I've also been to: Victoria Park, Waverly and Princes park.

CURRENT VENUES: MCG, Docklands, Football Park, Subiaco, Marrara, Gabba, Carrara, SCG

DEFUNCT VENUES: Whitten Oval, Princes Park, Windy Hill (local footy only)

Went to Adelaide Oval test this year, last test before redevelopment. Going to WACA for this year's Day 1 Perth test.

MCG, SCG, ANZ, Ethihad and the Gabba.
Was going to go to Skoda, but couldn't. Will go next year.

AAMI Stadium, almost every Crows home game since 2004, plus the odd Port game/SANFL Final.
Adelaide Oval - for the inaugural Port V Melbourne game in 2011.
MCG
Etihad
ANZ and the SCG- for tours
Was in Canberra once and walked down to Manuka, gates were open, so went in and had a look
Drove past the Gabba once when in Brisbane
Optus Oval - for a Blues V Crows game when I was 11

Oh and I went to the Carrara markets when I was a teenager and I remember going by the old "Carrara Stadium"

Subi- Go every 2 weeks as a Dockers member and it sucks. It is way too cramped with little leg room. The sooner we get a new stadium the better. I'm not even going to start on the away end of the ground.

SCG- I was in a corporate box so I don't know what it's like from the rest of the ground but it was quite good. Definitely have to head back there at some stage for a match.

MCG- The home of football. Brilliant. Was there for Collingwood v Geelong and Carlton v Essendon on the same weekend a couple of years ago and the atmosphere is brilliant. Sat in the nose bleeds for Carlton/Essendon and it wasn't too bad. Good value for $20. Sat on the wing for Collingwood/Geelong and the atmosphere, view etc. was phenomenal.

Etihad- This is the design that should be looked at for the new stadium in Perth. Very spacious although they need to have the roof closed if the sun is out all game. Could see barely anything. Saying that, it's a good stadium.

You Victorians don't know how lucky you are getting to go to 1 of 2 great stadiums every week while we get stuck at an old dump.

For VFL/AFL
Arden Street, Carrara, Docklands, Football Park (West Lakes), Junction Oval, Kardinia Park, Lake Oval, MCG, Moorabbin, Princes Park, Subiaco Oval, Victoria Park, VFL Park, Western Oval, Windy Hill.

AFL/VFL Venues For Other Levels of Football
Adelaide Oval, Albury, Brunswick Street, Coburg, Euroa, Football Park (Marrara), North Hobart Oval, Toorak Park, Yarraville, York Park.

For Cricket
Gabba, Punt Road, WACA

Personally have attended 4 games in three states this year.
Hawthorn V Swans (Aurora), Carlton V Adelaide (Etihad), Richmond V North Melbourne (MCG), Gold Coast V GWS (Metricon).

In my lone trip to Australia back in '99 I was able to catch the Grand Final at the MCG. That was a pretty cool experience for me.

M.C.G. - Went there for the South Africa vs Australia test match way back when. Saw a few footy games there two (mainly Eagles away games)

Etihad - Again, the Eagles were over playing the Saints and the Coasters got drubbed by 96 points, I still got tipsy, told to stop using offensive language and stand at the back and watch the game. Still wore my wce shirt proudly.

Pattersons (Subi) - Been here quite a few times, the most memorable being when West Coast played carlton in whatever year it was. The Blues were hammering until the last 10 minutes of the 3rd quarter eagles came back from a 40-50 point deficit to win by 11 points (just a week after coming back against Geelong)

TIO - having been a Darwin resident for 15 years of my life I know this ground back to front and in terms of having a good time and watching footy, this is one of the best. You can get right up close to the fence no matter how many people are there, you can sit on the hill and still see all the game, the lines for the beer are never too long (surprisingly) and there's a place to buy your beer every 15 feet. Different but great atmosphere.

Does the WACA count?

In order of attendance

MCG*
SCG
Gabba
Manuka
ANZ
Skoda (For Sydney Royal Easter Show)
AAMI
MCG**

*Don't remember the game
** Do remember it, right in front of me :(
Also, could place Adelaide Oval between AAMI and the MCG. Saw the '08 ANZAC Day game, as well as a SANFL vs VFl game, could have been 2008? Clint Alleway got the medal for best afield.