Which umpire gets to you the most?

• Thread starter Thread starter Fat Red

John Harvey will always pick up an obscure, technical free kick at a crucial stage in the game which will alter the outcome of the game! This is probably something he learnt off Peter Carey!

Bryan Sheehan is a sucker for a player throwing his arms back, staging for a holding the man free kick. Therefore, Ronnie Burns is probably his favourite player!

Andrew Coates "missed" the free to Nathan Brown a few weeks back, so he can't be too bad!:D

McClaren and John Harvey. The two most useless umpires in the competition. IMO they are exact replicas of each other.

McClaren was terrible again on Saturday, trying to find out if he could break his own record for the highest amount tiggy touchwood frees in a game.

Goldspink by a mile. How often does he pull (non)decisions out of his arse. There were times in yesterday's Adelaide/Hawthorn match where he'd pull a holding the ball decision from out of nowhere! John Harvey used to baffle me...but Goldspink has taken over the mantle.

When i come to think of it...i don't think John Harvey has umpired a game involving Essendon all year. With some of the treatment we copped from him last year...no wonder why! I actually thought that Harvey gave umpiring away. haven't heard a peep outta him all year.

Originally posted by topdon
Goldspink by a mile.

Agreed.
He's a deadset *******, and I've seen him do far too many stupid things (even by umpire standards) to deserve to keep living...:mad:

See kids, that's what the poll option is there for! Great topic Fat Red!

I voted for Johnny Harvey, who remains to this very day the only umpire I have heard singled out by name for a chant by the crowd (Hawthorn vs Fremantle 2000 Colonial Stadium - apparently Mr Harvey is up for a bit of auto-eroticism, judging by the chant I heard - and participated in).

Goldspink nearly got the nod for yesterday's performance - feeble.

Sheahan is a joke, and has been for years.

I know plenty of Hawk fans have a special place in the hearts (or at least bowels) for David "Blue Till I Die" Howlett - and good afternoon to you Grendel.

Finally, Peter Cameron, just because he so obviously and demonstrably hated us, and killed us every time. Still, he gets bonus point for going nose-to-nose with Dermott after the Duckworth incident. Can you imagine that today? Dermott would get a 250 metre penalty.

Originally posted by topdon
Goldspink by a mile. How often does he pull (non)decisions out of his arse. There were times in yesterday's Adelaide/Hawthorn match where he'd pull a holding the ball decision from out of nowhere! John Harvey used to baffle me...but Goldspink has taken over the mantle.

After yesterday's efforts, Goldspink may have overtaken Harvey as the most annoying white maggot. Glad to see it wasn't just me who was getting sick of the ridiculous holding the ball decisions getting paid.

You know you are getting a bad run from the umpires when Neil Kerley says "the umpires are keeping the Crows in this game"
:mad: :mad:

The conditions were terrible, yet they kept on pinging players (from both sides) for supposedly jumping on the ball, when in reality it was more like a rugby scrum and they had absolutely no chance to get it out. Then players would ask what the decision was for, and Goldspink would get upset and give a soft 50m! :rolleyes: :mad: :mad:

Meanwhile, Barker gets tackled twice, spins around 3 times, eventually throws the ball away - and no free kick!

Ray Kelsey, or 'the bald entertainer' as i refered to him at the Adelaide-Carlton game, has easily been the most baffling decision maker I've seen this year.

His performances at the Port-Richmond and Adelaide-Carlton games were nothing short of ridiculous, without favouring either team, he could be guaranteed to pay the opposite of what any neutral observer would consider the correct decision.

My worst umpire of all time however is one by the name of Anton McKernan.

He was one of the umpires in charge of the Adelaide v Fitzroy match at Football Park a few years ago where the Crows were absolutely gifted a match after receiving about 7 free kicks in the last 5 minutes, including the winning goal after the siren been kicked by the incorrect player.

Was a complete disgrace, he should have been kneecapped for that performance - was pure robbery. I also remembering him umpiring Hawthorn v Collingwood in 95 and been terrible - to top it off Jarman didn't get a vote despite 31 possessions!

But that Adelaide v Fitzroy game was the worst display of umpiring of all time.

Originally posted by SydneyBomber

Agreed.
He's a deadset *******, and I've seen him do far too many stupid things (even by umpire standards) to deserve to keep living...:mad:

I voted Goldstink, fair dinkum I hate him almost as much as I hated Peter Cameron in the 80's & believe me I hated that guy.:mad:

DCFC

You are joking, bloody hell compared to the Bombers, Cameron loved the Hawks.:eek:

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Nah, Cameron was a much bigger Hawk hater! How do you get a free kick for kissing Billy?! Should be given a bloody medal, it's the only smooch he ever got I reckon!

LOL, Poor Billy, I hear he had a tetanus shot straight after the match & didn't stop gargling Listerine for a month. For what Dermie did he should have been banned for life. If aids was a big thing in those days, he probably would have.:D

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Then players would ask what the decision was for, and Goldspink would get upset and give a soft 50m! :rolleyes: :mad: :mad:

Thats another thing with Goldspink...it is very easy to hurt his feelings!! :rolleyes:

A real powder puff that one.

I didn't see the Adelaide_Hawthorn game, but you're saying they paid lots of stupid holding the balls?

I ask because in the Carlton-Collingwood game, there was only one paid for the day, which was against Mick Mansfield and pretty blatant. But players must have dragged the ball in 10 times and none were paid.

I was frustrated by this but thought "At least they're consistent, obviously the direction from Giesch is to lay off on those ones a bit". But no, the next day it's a different story.

Originally posted by Fat Red
I didn't see the Adelaide_Hawthorn game, but you're saying they paid lots of stupid holding the balls?

Well I can recall at least 4, there may have been more though. 39 free kicks paid for the match, far too many considering the difficult conditions. The game was scrappy and terrible to watch, the umpires must have thought the best way to break it up was pay anything.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
The game was scrappy and terrible to watch, the umpires must have thought the best way to break it up was pay anything.

I didn't see that game either, but taking that comment in isolation, I'd say the umps were on the right track!

Pay the frees and break up the packs is THE way to go in poor conditions!