Which would you prefer to see come to pass?

• Australian Rules Football becomes a strong, truly international sport

Votes: 10 15.2%
  • Your side wins a Premiership

Votes: 56 84.8%

Originally posted by dee_girl9
a premiership before ANYTHING else. i dont want people from other countries TRYING to play our game. it just isnt right. :)

My thoughts exactly. Who wants footy to become international? Certainly not me.

------------------------------
Play on says the umpire
------------------------------

What you guys jealous of a little competition??

I think that it would be great for it to expand internationally, except i would not like it to become too comercialised.

If you want a little fact, in Darwin, they have the Arafura games, and at these games, are held the AFL world championships. Papua New Guinea won it in 1999.

Of course these championships mean nothing because we all know that PNG would never be world champs with a full strength Aussie team.

Just another one of my useless posts.

By the way, talking about useless posts, this is my 100th. Here's to another 100 posts of absolute non-sense. :p

Definitely not International.
The first thing that would happen Is every one would want rule changes, it would end up being nothing like our great game.
It is & always should be AUSSIE RULES.:mad:
Clubs are complaining now about having to play interstate, what's going to happen when they have to play on the other side of the world.:rolleyes:

oh yeh lets make it world wide, wouldnt it be great to see more violence in the crowds like you see in soccer at them crazzzzy countries, the fans of clubs would see less games live here, the players would have to travel half a million ks a year, and play heaps more footy, yep i can see it right now, THE TEXAN BULLS V ESSENDON in the grand final to be in canada,, yep thats gunna go down real good, im all for it ..........

I would rather an Eagles premiership because i dont mind the game being our little secret but if the secret got out then im all for it.

To be honest it would just be another sport the aussies would dominate, wouldnt it be great to see the All Aussie team proudly wearing the green and gold and whooping the Americans.

Cousins Buckley and Ratten have 30 possies each, Hird 12 marks and 4 goals off half forward, Lloyd kicking 12, Tarrant taking speccies, Hay, Hart Wirrpunda running it out of defence.....
Glorious!

Originally posted by Pieman
oh yeh lets make it world wide, wouldnt it be great to see more violence in the crowds like you see in soccer at them crazzzzy countries, the fans of clubs would see less games live here, the players would have to travel half a million ks a year, and play heaps more footy, yep i can see it right now, THE TEXAN BULLS V ESSENDON in the grand final to be in canada,, yep thats gunna go down real good, im all for it ..........

umm if it were to happen, im sure the countries would have their own competition, and not travel around the orld every weeks. DUHHH

Originally posted by BomberBoy

umm if it were to happen, im sure the countries would have their own competition, and not travel around the orld every weeks. DUHHH

Um hello, couldnt you tell that maybe there was a touch of sarcasm in my comment, and maybe a touch of " i doubt this would ever happen", oh well you get that i spose...

I can't believe I am about to say this, but I would rather see Aussie Rules become a strong internationla sport, than see Essendon win the flag.

Why?

We have the greatest game in the word. The game is bigger than any one club. It would be absloutely fantastic (a pipedream in reality), if our sport became truly international, with regular matches against other countires.

I love my club, but this must be put in context. I love my club BECAUSE they play the sport of Aussie Rules. If Essendon played Table tennis, I couldn't give a f*ck.

For any of thise who said they'd rather see their team win a premiership, perhaps you have all forgotten the reasons why you barrack for your team. Apart from your upbringing, you barrack for them because they play Aussie Rules. You wouldn't show the same passion, if your club played badminton instead. You love them because of the emotion that our sport provides. The "sport" is bigger than the club, and I would rather see the great sport of Aussie Rules thrive, than my club win a premiership anyday.

There is absolutely no comparision. I would rather see the sport become truly international, than see Essendon win a flag, by a margin of 1000 to 1.

Originally posted by Dan25
I can't believe I am about to say this, but I would rather see Aussie Rules become a strong internationla sport, than see Essendon win the flag.

Why?

We have the greatest game in the word. The game is bigger than any one club. It would be absloutely fantastic (a pipedream in reality), if our sport became truly international, with regular matches against other countires.

I love my club, but this must be put in context. I love my club BECAUSE they play the sport of Aussie Rules. If Essendon played Table tennis, I couldn't give a f*ck.

For any of thise who said they'd rather see their team win a premiership, perhaps you have all forgotten the reasons why you barrack for your team. Apart from your upbringing, you barrack for them because they play Aussie Rules. You wouldn't show the same passion, if your club played badminton instead. You love them because of the emotion that our sport provides. The "sport" is bigger than the club, and I would rather see the great sport of Aussie Rules thrive, than my club win a premiership anyday.

There is absolutely no comparision. I would rather see the sport become truly international, than see Essendon win a flag, by a margin of 1000 to 1.

Dan,

Couldn't of said it any better.

We barrack for our teams because they are good at playing Aussie rules. Obviously we like Aussie rules too. Going international will open up the game and let more competition happen between other countries.

Imagine playing a Aussie Rules Ashes series with England! :D

BTW Dan, love that table tennis analogy :p

Why?

Well i dont agree with you there, the way i see it is" If the pies aint there im not there". I couldnt see myself having the same passion as i have now if the team ive supported for so many years was not involved, now dont get me wrong here, i would still watch the game with great intrest and support an aussie team against the poms but i couldnt have the same passion. Its like if the comp stayed as it is and the pies folded, theres no way known i would follow some other club, it takes many years to get such a passion for a club and when you do get it, it gets placed right next to the dearest thing in your heart, so sorry mate but lets keep it just as it is and id rather premierships as ive only seen 1 in my life so far and id like to see more, not a aussie team playing the poms.

But don't you get it?

You support the mighty Pies, because they play Ausie Rules. If the AFL became a lawn bowls competiton would you still have the same passion for Collingwood? Of course not!!

You love Collingwood ONLY because they play Aussie Rules. You passion for Collingwood would disappear if the Magpies suddenly became a softball team.

The "sport' of Aussie Rules (which is the reason YOU support your club) is a thousand times bigger than any one club. There is no comparison. It is far more important to spread the game beyond Australia, than it is for a club (any club) to win a premiership.

After all, you wouldn't even be supporting your club, if it wasn't for the sport they play, right?

But don't you get it?

You support the mighty Pies, because they play Ausie Rules. If the AFL became a lawn bowls competiton would you still have the same passion for Collingwood? Of course not!!

You love Collingwood ONLY because they play Aussie Rules. You passion for Collingwood would disappear if the Magpies suddenly became a softball team.

The "sport' of Aussie Rules (which is the reason YOU support your club) is a thousand times bigger than any one club. There is no comparison. It is far more important to spread the game beyond Australia, than it is for a club (any club) to win a premiership.

After all, you wouldn't even be supporting your club, if it wasn't for the sport they play, right?

Yes dan you are right that i support the pies because they play aussie rules and yes i wouldnt support them if they suddenly went to soft ball, BUT dont you get it, i would care no where near as much for the game if the pies were not involved, like i said if the pies folded i would NOT follow any other team because my heart is with the pies, i would still watch the game but id care alot less for it. Dont get me wrong i do love the game but i would loose intrest if my team wasnt there.................

Originally posted by Pieman

Yes dan you are right that i support the pies because they play aussie rules and yes i wouldnt support them if they suddenly went to soft ball, BUT dont you get it, i would care no where near as much for the game if the pies were not involved, like i said if the pies folded i would NOT follow any other team because my heart is with the pies, i would still watch the game but id care alot less for it. Dont get me wrong i do love the game but i would loose intrest if my team wasnt there.................

But if the game went international Collingwood wouldnt disappear. Soccer is international and there are hundreds of different teams in different leagues in different countries.

I think it would be awesome if it was international, there would be a world cup and it would be decades before Australia actually lost the cup. A champions league, the only time i would actually barrack for another AFL team that wasnt the Eagles.

I would love it to go International but im beginning to think it just wont. Aussie Rules Footy has been played for over a century and the furthest it has got has been Papa New Guinea, a little in Sth Africa and a tiny lil league in the states. Maybe it will just have to stay our little secret.

Dan,

Why do you keep saying if the AFL turned into a lawn bowls competition people wouldn't support it?

Why in the world would the AFL turn into a compitition that's completly differen't to Football.

It's not a good anology, IMO.

Australian Football "expansion"

It's not gonna happen. Well it could, theoretically, but I don't think so.

Not enough money in the coffers to expand the sport.

Gee the big soccer fans must pissing themselves with laughter hearing that footy might become a international sport.