White Tail Spider

• Thread starter Thread starter Schism

Yeah, havent had one in a shoe, but have found 2 spiders in a pair of gardening gloves on seperate occasions, one alive one dead.

This thread has motivated me to clean my room and lay down a perimeter of surface spray. My skin is crawling :thumbsd:
But then you eliminate all possibility of a radioactive spider biting you, genetically modifying your genes, giving you awesome abilities that allow you to swing across the city, engaging in a hot upside down kissing scene with a chick equal to or hotter than Kirsten Dunst, and killing your best friends father.

Is that really a life you want to give up?

Ah, Australia. The country where not even suburban beds are safe.

We've got redbacks in our place, apparently. I'm just waiting for the day I reach behind a cupboard to find a shoe or a book or something, and get a nasty bite instead.

My mate lives in a place that backs onto a bush corridor. He's found funnel-webs in his room/hall on a number of occasions. I don't know how he sleeps at night. Apparently, he once unleashed half a can of Mortein on one, and watched it slowly walk away, not bothered at all. It was bone white from the spray.

BBC: What big black house spiders aren't funnel-webs? How do you tell 'em apart? And why would you touch one ;)?

Seen a few Redbacks at my last house including a "nest" of around 10 in the water metre hole. Never seen one live before that. Pretty sure there have been no deaths since the introduction of the anti-venom, which is somewhat comforting.

But then you eliminate all possibility of a radioactive spider biting you, genetically modifying your genes, giving you awesome abilities that allow you to swing across the city, engaging in a hot upside down kissing scene with a chick equal to or hotter than Kirsten Dunst, and killing your best friends father.

Is that really a life you want to give up?

What, and interrupt my current lifestyle as a millionaire playboy by day, and ass-kicking, cape-wearing vigilante by night? I don't THINK so!

The wolfy also took half a can of spray and basically laughed it off. The stuff simply doesn't work on big spiders in my experience,it just makes them angry.

Forget insect spray. I live in a bush setting and we get a steady procession of crawley things through the house. My advice is to buy some extreme hold hairspray. I tried it once when it was all I could get my hands on. Works a treat every time!

We have redbacks at our place. Found a small one in the loo the other day - making a web between the wall and the toilet brush. Rarely see the creepy buggers inside though and luckily they don't tend to leave their webs. We have to check around the house every few weeks and kill off the ones we find. I'm not sure where they come from, but there's always one or two, or five around the place when we go looking for them, and their numbers build up in spring and summer. Luckily we recognise the webs easily now, so you know where they are. (They build a messy web with threads that runs to the ground and that usually has a bit of debris in it like a small leaf or two).

Here's a bit of an extreme example (because one never gets to hang around long enough to build something this elaborate... although I saw a similar one in an old airconditioner at my previous house)

2425504650_3be1bf0923.jpg

Also, when we first moved in to our current house, it appeared the previous owners didn't care too much about spiders because the pergola had heaps of webs with those ugly black house spiders in them. They were in every nook and cranny of the thing. It was 'fun' spraying them, then keeping an eye on where they fell to the ground. We had to get rid of them in stages or it would have been raining ****ing spiders.

All this talk of spiders has made me want to watch Arachnophobia.

That spider mating scene was hot.

It's the only time a man can watch spider pr0n without being shunned upon.

I went to the rugby league World Cup match last night, got back into my car in spot 001 that I always get behind Festival Hall ( :cool: I talk that spot up Costanza style btw) and on my windscreen was a medium sized huntsman.

I looked closer and it was on the INSIDE!!!!!!!!

I contemplating just driving home with it on the windscreen but decided to try to get rid of it, used a piece of paper to wake it up and slowly get it across the car (poor thing was very scared, it cowered under the hand rail at one point)....tried to get it out the door which I had opened but it went on the roof, eventually went on the back window and I got it out there.

Not good...I don't rate insects with stripey furry legs.

I remember my first trip to Sydney and saw a funnel web spider half a meter from me in the wild! Scared the absolute shit out of me! Hate the bastards!

Just makes you cringe!
Picture%20197.jpg

Oh that's f'n horrible. I'm not scared of much but friggin spiders....gah. Grew up on the farm so Huntsmen were always around and I still hate the bastards.

Had car spiders before and they suck, but I've been bitten by something that I still don't know what it was. Had the two puncture holes in my right bicep, the little area around it went white but the rest went pitch black. The whole bicep. Very sick for 24 hours.

Also woke up to a spider in my mouth once. Kind of woke up and brushed something away and then freaked out, turned the light on and found the medium sized mongrel at the end of my bed. Tried to squash him and he disappeared, forcing me to go to sleep again. Found him in the morning on my curtains and sprayed the shit out of him.

Freaky thing though, swept him outside the front door, week later find the same dead spider in the kitchen at the back of the house.

I flipping hate spiders.

A few weeks back, getting into the car at uni, thought I saw something crawl into the side mirror. Tapped the back of it a few times, but didn't do anything.

Drove for a bit and the next time I looked out, I see this huge spider stretched out on the sidemirror face (I'd have no idea what kind it is, but it looked threatening :o). I'm expecting it to fly off as I'm driving but it amazingly didn't. Had to wait until I got home to brush it off and crush it.

Was cleaning out the yard once, picked up a brick and there were THREE redbacks sitting on the underside of it. I just hurled that thing over the fence in a split second.

eat-story.jpg

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2008/10/23/34261_todays-news.html

Dunno if you guys have seen this or not? Some big crazy spider eating a bird. Doesn't look like any bird eating spider i've seen. I'd freak at this thing.
It's an Orb Web, and yeh, they don't really get that big...

Just reading about all these people in here affraid of spiders (not having a dig), imagine spiders were still the same size as they were back in the prehistoric days.

Coming into your bedroom and seeing a spider the size of a wombat on your bed.

Something tells me Mortein definitely won't work.

This thread has motivated me to clean my room and lay down a perimeter of surface spray. My skin is crawling :thumbsd:

Haha! Same mate. I'm looking around now and I've got clothes scattered everywhere. Just put the ugg boots on before that have just been left laying on their side.

I don't mind spiders in general, but white tails can **** right off. I know spiders look kinda scary anyway, but white tails look like pure evil.

I'm an electrician, so I spend a fair bit of time under floors and in the roof. In the roof is fine as it's just old webs and dead huntsmans (which means there's probably live ones but huntsmans are fine by me. I always catch them and let them go outside). Under the floor is a different story. I reckon it would have been one of my first weeks of work and I had to go under the floor. Here I am, squished under the floorboards crawling along on my guts. Luckily I put the torch down where I did, because it shone right on the biggest white tail I've ever seen running straight for me. I didn't really have anything to hit it away with (if I used the torch I would have taken the light off it) so thankfully I was wearing a jumper and just kinda went nuts slapping the ground with my forearm all over the place haha. I probably didn't stop until after 15 or so shots. Thankfully I got the prick but when I looked it was still squirming! Finished it off, but straight after that I got the electrical tape and taped up the bottom of my pants and also my sleeves so nothing could get up there. I was so paranoid after that.

But yeah, you get to see some massive spiders under the floors of houses. I try not to think about it too much. Just the other day though under a new house there were so many redback webs. As someone said, if you know what one of their webs looks like, they're unmistakable. All of them were empty from what I could see, and it being a new house there must be some around. I crawled as quick as I could anyway but started to get nervous. Get to the end of the house and for some reason I looked up. The torch battery was going flat so all I could make out was a huuuuge silhouette of a redback. Fair to say the biggest I've ever seen and the thing was no less than 30cm away from my face :eek:. Done what I had to do and got out of there quick smart.

I'm happy to admit though that I'd rather be bitten by a redback or something similar than a white tail.

Used to get hunstmen in my old house all the time. They had a habit of sitting on the window of the back door, so when I'd go to play outside I'd have to sit there watching it for ages hoping it moved, to shit scared to open the door. One time dad got sick of them, brushed it to the ground, stomped it and fed it to our dogs. Mum went beserk thinking it'd poison them, but huntsmen don't bite I don't think?

I remember my first trip to Sydney and saw a funnel web spider half a meter from me in the wild! Scared the absolute shit out of me! Hate the bastards!

Just makes you cringe!
Picture%20197.jpg

You should be banned for posting that.

**** thats ugly. In all honesty if I saw a funnell web, Id be crying in the corner

I guess you must think I'm a freak for being fascinated by spiders. :D

But I can completely understand why people are affraid of them.

Some friends of mine live on Sydney's upper north shore (Funnel-Web central). The family room of their house looks out over a bushy back yard and has a floor made of polished brick pavers. They reckon after a heavy rain Funnel-Web's have entered the house through the back door & that, in the dead quiet of night, you can hear their feet walking across the hard brick floor.

Seeing them close up like that just proves that monsters really do exist, they just aren't big enough to take over the world.....yet.

crap thaats biggg!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh that's f'n horrible. I'm not scared of much but friggin spiders....gah. Grew up on the farm so Huntsmen were always around and I still hate the bastards.

Had car spiders before and they suck, but I've been bitten by something that I still don't know what it was. Had the two puncture holes in my right bicep, the little area around it went white but the rest went pitch black. The whole bicep. Very sick for 24 hours.

Also woke up to a spider in my mouth once. Kind of woke up and brushed something away and then freaked out, turned the light on and found the medium sized mongrel at the end of my bed. Tried to squash him and he disappeared, forcing me to go to sleep again. Found him in the morning on my curtains and sprayed the shit out of him.

Freaky thing though, swept him outside the front door, week later find the same dead spider in the kitchen at the back of the house.

I flipping hate spiders.
IN YOUR MOUTH :eek:
FARRRRRK.

don't normally get many spiders round my house, but since we got a pool/spa in the backyard been gettin an increasing amount of redbacks. Most times i go for a swim i see a bloody spider hanging just above water level. creaps the f*** outa me!

when i was about 6, i was in the backseat of the car and my dad was drivng. suddently, out pops a huge huntsman and crawls across the back of my dads head (probably took up about 2/3 of it). im like dad..:eek:theres a huge huntsman on ur head!!!! and hes like no there isnt.......
and he just sat there for about a minute till it crawled down and he saw it. had a big case of "i told you so" :D

freaked the f*** out of my 7yo sister at the time as the spider was still in the car cause we couldnt find it.

all this spider talk is reminding me of the bit in harry potter and the chamber of secrets where hagrid tells harry and ron to follow the spiders and the end up in the middle of the forrest getting chased by thousands of spiders about a metre long- webbing down from trees, running just behind them...and ron gets one that raps its leg around his neck...