White Tail Spider

• Thread starter Thread starter Schism

Oh and going to work today I saw someone pulled over in a bus stop on Thompsons Rd in Lower Templestowe (near the Bulleen Templestowe footy ground) and he had his passenger door open, and he had this massive branch trying to fish something out of his car....I'm tipping it was a spider. :p

Well we're heading into a pretty damn hot summer. And thats when spiders coming inside to escape the heat.

It's pretty awesome on like 40 degree days you see spiders hanging from their webs from trees and roofs, it's quite a sight.

Almost as awesome as watching a massive white tail climb out of a hole in your living room!

My old dog was bitten by a white tail spider back in 1999, the day before we were due to go away on holidays. Poor thing must have come across it, went in for a closer look, and got bitten on the nose! Had terrible scabs on his nose for well over a month! He always was one to check everything out, including brown snakes and lizards :rolleyes:

So how was your holiday? :D

I dont have any complaints apart from the fact that Kangaroos beat Carlton in the GF the first day we were up at Wallaroo!

We have fantastic neighbours who took great care of our dog, and took him to the vet 3 times. :thumbsu: Good when you know you can count on people. :)

That redback picture isnt real is it? please tell me it isnt!

Call me silly but I dont think Redbacks grow to 2 1/2 feet.

That trapdoor spider must be taken from the view of a person on acid surely.

I remember reading in the paper going back 7-8 years now, about a house in Sydney, where all these Mouse spiders congragated at the same time in the backyard, and the owners had to call emergency services because there were literally hundreds of fully grown mouse spiders going nuts outside their house. Tell you what, if I had 500 of these things congregating at my house id be ****ing out of there very quick

funnelweb1.JPG

Personally I would think that if a spider was around you long enough it would work out whether or not you were a threat to it?
I spose you have a point.

But, I dunno. Having never really seen one and how it acts, hard to judge.

Here are the articles here:

Colony of spiders in backyard Feb 2001
EXPERTS are investigating why a big colony of mouse spiders - more venomous than funnel webs - have moved into the backyard of a Newcastle family home.
The spiders started appearing soon after the Osborn family moved in a few weeks ago.
Leanne Osborn said yesterday experts from the Australian Reptile Park and University of Technology would try to find the spiders' nest.
``We've collected about 120 to date,'' she said. Mary Layner, from the Australian Reptile Park at Gosford, said mouse spiders were smaller, stockier and darker brown than funnel web spiders

Backyard dig-up to combat spiders
A FAMILY whose suburban backyard has been overrun with more than 200 deadly mouse spiders will have to dig up their entire yard to get rid of them.
Spider experts on Wednesday night visited the Osborn family home at Kotara, near Newcastle, to identify the source of the spiders, which are similar to funnel web spiders but with more powerful venom.
``First we looked around the borders and fences with our torches,'' said Mary Rayner from the Australian Reptile Park.
``As we crossed the lawn they (the spiders) would appear. They just kept appearing, coming up from the ground. In the end there were that many we didn't have to look any more.''
On top of the 120 spiders that had already been collected, the experts found another 65 and the family another 20, for a total of 205.

House of spiders still a mystery April 2001

A NEW South Wales backyard overrun by hundreds of deadly spiders will be dug up this week as experts continue their hunt for clues in a case that's been likened to something out of the X-Files.
There's still no clear answer as to why more than 400 hairy, venomous mouse spiders invaded the backyard of the Osborn family home in the state's Hunter region.
Mary Layner, of the Australian Reptile Park in Gosford, on the NSW Central Coast, admitted yesterday experts were stumped by the case which she described as ``X-File-ish''. ``Maybe we'll have a better picture once we dig up the yard,'' she said.
The Osborns moved into the Kotara house in September last year, closely followed by the spiders, whose venom is more poisonous than the funnel web.
Most of the hairy arachnids have been collected from the backyard and are either being kept at a reptile park or used for toxin tests at the University of Technology in Sydney.

-----------------------------------------

That would be the easiest way of becoming an insomniac for me. There is no way known id be able to sleep in that house after that.

**** that's wierd, so they never found the cause? That is a worst nightmare for me, I can deal with having to stomp one of the bastards after the initial shock of seeing it, but it's families of them I fear.

One time I was camping with mates, went into the bush to collect firewood, broke open this old dead stump about the size of a bucket with an axe and it was literally completely full of these freaky as white mother****ers. Must have been hundreds. I like to think I can handle the odd spider but I fair dinkum shat myself and piss bolted back to camp, wouldn't touch wood for the rest of the trip or some time after that.

I remember reading in the paper going back 7-8 years now, about a house in Sydney, where all these Mouse spiders congragated at the same time in the backyard, and the owners had to call emergency services because there were literally hundreds of fully grown mouse spiders going nuts outside their house. Tell you what, if I had 500 of these things congregating at my house id be ****ing out of there very quick

funnelweb1.JPG

Weren't you having a go at people who were posting photos of those ***** before?

Here are the articles here:

Colony of spiders in backyard Feb 2001
EXPERTS are investigating why a big colony of mouse spiders - more venomous than funnel webs - have moved into the backyard of a Newcastle family home.
The spiders started appearing soon after the Osborn family moved in a few weeks ago.
Leanne Osborn said yesterday experts from the Australian Reptile Park and University of Technology would try to find the spiders' nest.
``We've collected about 120 to date,'' she said. Mary Layner, from the Australian Reptile Park at Gosford, said mouse spiders were smaller, stockier and darker brown than funnel web spiders

Backyard dig-up to combat spiders
A FAMILY whose suburban backyard has been overrun with more than 200 deadly mouse spiders will have to dig up their entire yard to get rid of them.
Spider experts on Wednesday night visited the Osborn family home at Kotara, near Newcastle, to identify the source of the spiders, which are similar to funnel web spiders but with more powerful venom.
``First we looked around the borders and fences with our torches,'' said Mary Rayner from the Australian Reptile Park.
``As we crossed the lawn they (the spiders) would appear. They just kept appearing, coming up from the ground. In the end there were that many we didn't have to look any more.''
On top of the 120 spiders that had already been collected, the experts found another 65 and the family another 20, for a total of 205.

House of spiders still a mystery April 2001

A NEW South Wales backyard overrun by hundreds of deadly spiders will be dug up this week as experts continue their hunt for clues in a case that's been likened to something out of the X-Files.
There's still no clear answer as to why more than 400 hairy, venomous mouse spiders invaded the backyard of the Osborn family home in the state's Hunter region.
Mary Layner, of the Australian Reptile Park in Gosford, on the NSW Central Coast, admitted yesterday experts were stumped by the case which she described as ``X-File-ish''. ``Maybe we'll have a better picture once we dig up the yard,'' she said.
The Osborns moved into the Kotara house in September last year, closely followed by the spiders, whose venom is more poisonous than the funnel web.
Most of the hairy arachnids have been collected from the backyard and are either being kept at a reptile park or used for toxin tests at the University of Technology in Sydney.

-----------------------------------------

That would be the easiest way of becoming an insomniac for me. There is no way known id be able to sleep in that house after that.
im tippin an apple core ;)

i went to kiama and first night in the cabin after buying some spray for ants found one of these , he was not alive long careful they do drop on you too from the roof my dad had not even sprayed one , when we first found out about thses horrid things stood on a stool and had not touched it and it dropped right down his front just missing him luckily , he did not live long either

I nearly got bitten by one on Sunday Night. I was just about to drift off to sleep, and then I touched something on the wall and though that it was a fly. Next thing you know, I'm up in shock; and it took me another 30 minutes to get to sleep! :mad::thumbsd:
It stayed on my Pillow for that time before I got it with a Thong.
Also, a couple of years ago, I was having a Nana-Nap in Bed. I then found a massive, I mean massive Whitetail under my sheets. I freaked out completely, and stayed that way for about 15 minutes before I swat it with a Broom.
However, I have never actually been bitten by one before, but boy, have I had many close encouters with these things!

Weren't you having a go at people who were posting photos of those ***** before?

True. Sorry :(

Ugly as **** spider though hey. Looks like its metal plated or something.

The article I wanted I couldnt find, but they interviewed the owners of the house and they said that the husband first found one in a web on the porch and told the wife to come and have a look, as it was pretty sizeable. Then he said he looked down and saw a couple more, and when his wife went outside, she said to him 'Why is the lawn moving?'. That would freak me out! She said that half the spiders were fighting each other and you could hear the fangs piercing the shell bit, and they had to get a broom and keep brushing them away from getting inside.

Absolute worst nightmare material...in fact...wouldnt be surprised if I dream about that tonight *shudder*.

saw a huge huntsman 2days ago when i went to grab my boxing gloves the huge momma literally landed on my hand. i put it in a bucket and walked in the house and then the phone rang so i went to grab. bloody telemarketers came back and the bugger was gone so some where in my house there is a huge huntsman:(

Haha those mouse spiders, I reckon I'd be too scared to step on it cos it would just laugh and force my foot back up. Or the hard back would just protect it lol. I wonder what it feels like.

Theres a lil orb spider outside, just sitting in the middle of this epic web, it's connected from the ground to the roof, the round part of the web is probably a foot wide, and it's just sitting in the middle aroud half a metre from the roof. But the spiders a lot smaller than I ever thought, never seen many orbs, just assumed they were massive due to the size of their webs, but they're not much bigger than a thumb nail.

True. Sorry :(

Ugly as **** spider though hey. Looks like its metal plated or something.

The article I wanted I couldnt find, but they interviewed the owners of the house and they said that the husband first found one in a web on the porch and told the wife to come and have a look, as it was pretty sizeable. Then he said he looked down and saw a couple more, and when his wife went outside, she said to him 'Why is the lawn moving?'. That would freak me out! She said that half the spiders were fighting each other and you could hear the fangs piercing the shell bit, and they had to get a broom and keep brushing them away from getting inside.

Absolute worst nightmare material...in fact...wouldnt be surprised if I dream about that tonight *shudder*.

I wish they had youtube back then.

Ha ha! Crap, I forgot about those mouse spiders. They'd make the biggest crunch if you stepped on one. Freaky about that story. I'd definitely move out!

Yeah, orbs are cool little things. In summer at my old house we'd sometimes sit out the back having a few stubbies at night time and you'd watch them come out and start making their web. If we weren't getting eaten by mozzies, you could sometimes stay out there from start to finish of the web. Pretty amazing process! Sometimes once the web was finished we'd be cruel bastards and catch moths to feed them. Weird thing is though that you go out in the morning and the web is gone (I think they might even eat it? I could be wrong) and then later that night they repeat the whole thing again.

When I was younger I went to visit my old man up in Darwin. At his house, he had huge coconut trees around the whole border of his backyard (was a big yard too). I shit you not, there was a web going from the first tree on one side, all the way around to the last one on the other side. Wouldn't be the same web of course, but a fair few huge ones joined up together. There were some massive orb spiders up there, and it wouldn't surprise me that they could catch birds. Seen a few green tree frog carcases up there!

Ha ha! Crap, I forgot about those mouse spiders. They'd make the biggest crunch if you stepped on one. Freaky about that story. I'd definitely move out!

Yeah, orbs are cool little things. In summer at my old house we'd sometimes sit out the back having a few stubbies at night time and you'd watch them come out and start making their web. If we weren't getting eaten by mozzies, you could sometimes stay out there from start to finish of the web. Pretty amazing process! Sometimes once the web was finished we'd be cruel bastards and catch moths to feed them. Weird thing is though that you go out in the morning and the web is gone (I think they might even eat it? I could be wrong) and then later that night they repeat the whole thing again.

When I was younger I went to visit my old man up in Darwin. At his house, he had huge coconut trees around the whole border of his backyard (was a big yard too). I shit you not, there was a web going from the first tree on one side, all the way around to the last one on the other side. Wouldn't be the same web of course, but a fair few huge ones joined up together. There were some massive orb spiders up there, and it wouldn't surprise me that they could catch birds. Seen a few green tree frog carcases up there!
Reminds me of the RSL in Yarrawonga. At the front of it they have a massive beautiful garden (was awesome for playing tiggy or hide and seek back in the day). I remember about 8 or so years ago, there was this massive web just over the water fountain, twas an amazing web, the kind they normally show in movies. Fairly decent orb web in the middle of it, never seemed to move.

If you ever wanna see pretty big spiders (which judging by the people in this thread, seems to be a no :p) you only have to walk across the bridge in Yarrawonga. Always some big ones there.

Seriously, **** you all. I won't be able to sleep tonight after reading this thread.

As for spiders, I see my fair share up here in Sydney.

Worst one was when I was swimming in a mates pool, only to see a freakinn huge huntsman swimming towards me (I didn't even know the little freaks could swim).

I think I could have given Phelps a run for his money with my dash to get out of the pool. It was like Arachnophobia meets Jaws.

Yeah apparently Funnel Webs cannot only swim, but survive at least a short time underwater. I remember seeing a dangerous creatures show on pay tv a few years back and they talked about a girl getting bitten by a funnel web when she put her foot on the base of the pool, right ontop of the spider.