White to Leave

• Thread starter Thread starter bee dee

Just on White's football nous, Warren Tredrea commented a few years back on how quickly and how well he grasped Choco's forward set ups and the roles required.
Most of us probably grasp them pretty well too, but we couldn't play for shit either ;)

Just on White's football nous, Warren Tredrea commented a few years back on how quickly and how well he grasped Choco's forward set ups and the roles required.

grasp - one thing, the ability to execute, another.

anyway, we'll see what happens. this rumour, the trade potential & eventual worth.

when it comes to damon white, ive never held my breath, & i dont take back my opinion of the man's footballing ability, sorry ford.

(white = my lonie?)

Most of us probably grasp them pretty well too, but we couldn't play for shit either ;)

Nah even Warren reckoned it took most new players around 12 months to grasp them. I still can't work it out ... ;)

grasp - one thing, the ability to execute, another.

anyway, we'll see what happens. this rumour, the trade potential & eventual worth.

when it comes to damon white, ive never held my breath, & i dont take back my opinion of the man's footballing ability, sorry ford.

(white = my lonie?)

Grasp = nous. Ability to execute = skill. You did say he could do neither.

Of course you're entitled to think what you want, and I'll continue to believe that a 50 game AFL player (in spite of some terrible injury setbacks) that has been persisted with for 6 years by a 10 year AFL premiership coach is better than 'shit'.

There seemed to be this intent to turn him into a giant ruck rover at CHF - Port were keen on the Brad Miller-type lead up role for him. So in pre-seasons you'd hear about how he would be finishing in the top 10 of the 3.5km run etc. A real focus on aerobic development.

My underastand - going back 2 years was the this role was one our captain was keen on having him play because of his running capacity.

When he has been used close to goal, he has been ok. Unfortunately he ends up having to run up the wings, where he will not be kicking goals from.

I like the guy, and think he has talent, and wish him all the best. I believe he can make it at AFL level, but like Rodan, perhaps needs a new start.

Too me Damon is too top heavy.
If we cannot make the finals come rd 19, I think we should play him no matter what at CHF. He will be trying his guts out to get a big contract and Port may increase his trade value to an early second rounder.
Even if he stars now I wouldn't want him at the club, anyone who sooks and lets it become public is a bad for the club. He should be sticking it up the club by putting his head down and playing great footy in the SANFL. Instead he has taking the wimp option and had a sook instead of proving his doubters wrong.

Too me Damon is too top heavy.
If we cannot make the finals come rd 19, I think we should play him no matter what at CHF. He will be trying his guts out to get a big contract and Port may increase his trade value to an early second rounder.
Even if he stars now I wouldn't want him at the club, anyone who sooks and lets it become public is a bad for the club. He should be sticking it up the club by putting his head down and playing great footy in the SANFL. Instead he has taking the wimp option and had a sook instead of proving his doubters wrong.

Has he actually done this - I mean asked to leave?

Straight swap guys?

J.Graham - D.White.

Graham could fill the role that Wakelin has done for years and Damon could help my ever awful forward line.

Could be a win-win, could be a loss-loss.

Thoughts? :thumbsu:

That's a dumb trade for the Eagles, why would they do that?

White is just an average tall forward, we have plenty of those, he brings little to the table.

Graham is an average tall defender, they hold much more currency and are generally a lot more important to have on the list.

I'd rather WCE didn't bother putting time into a guy like White up forward, when they could be getting AFL footy into players like Mitch Brown - he'd be even less appealing if it meant parting with some of our only tall defensive depth to get him.

I think some people are going a bit overboard on something that is simply a rumour at this stage from a person with a rumour success rate of about 2%. So calls that hes having a sook etc. are uncalled for at the moment.

I do somewhat agree that he may have been misused to an extent. Damons main problem is his consistency. 10 marks and 2 goals one week, 2 marks and 2 out on the fulls the next.

He was tried in the closer to goal role in 2005 and he struggled. He had his chances that year to cement himself as a close to goal marking forward but he couldnt kick goals. He had moderate success last year as a lead up forward in a former Chad Cornes role. Some games he was excellent, others he was terrible.

He definately has talent but he seems one of those players that has a role at SANFL level which he performs excellently, but for whatever reason he cant do that at AFL level.

Theres definately a lot worse forwards going around than Damon.

White is just an average tall forward, we have plenty of those, he brings little to the table.

Graham is an average tall defender, they hold much more currency and are generally a lot more important to have on the list.
Um, what? I think you'd be the first person to say that when comparing a tall forward and tall defender, that the defender is worth more.

Of course the defender in this case is worth more, especially with the current league wide lack of tall defensive depth. That's obvious. A forward who doesn't kick goals like Damon White does not hold the same value as a competent but far from outstanding defender like Graham.

I'm not saying White is crap and hell, I don't really even rate Graham but we could get more for than Damon White if we were to put him on the market.

Of course the defender in this case is worth more, especially with the current league wide lack of tall defensive depth.
Yeah, um, what? Are you watching a different league? Which team in the league doesn't have `competent' defenders when they're behind a winning midfield?

I'm not saying White is crap and hell, I don't really even rate Graham but we could get more for than Damon White if we were to put him on the market.
Kinda doubt it.

I am saying that a competent tall defender is not worth more than a competent tall forward of the same age, experience, injury-proneness and so on.

Unsuccessful key forwards frequently retrain to go into defence. The number of times the reverse happens is called Alastair `roidrage' Lynch.

If we had to give up White + anything to get Graham, I would rather we drop White back to defence and give him a go there.

Ooooh, BeeDee. This rumour just grew legs. "Whispers" on Sports Tonight reports that Damon White is not happy that he got sent back to the twos and got injured there. Dwayne Russell says it's not far off the real deal, and suggests it's partly because DW reckons he was playing better than Tredrea, who kept his place in the side. Dwayne says DW had his chances this year, and we know (all too well) that that's a fact.

Well I would suggest in this that Damon has a legitimate point. He was playing better than Tredrea and if Tredrea was anyone else there is no way he would have been carried.
Probably best for Damon if he does move on. It's been made painfully obvious that Williams does not see him as part of the long term future and has no interest in developing his talents.
I'm just waiting for the day we see Westhoff line up on the wing and patrol the flank.

I've said it before, but he's the Mark Tylor to Warren's Scott Hodges.

Well I would suggest in this that Damon has a legitimate point. He was playing better than Tredrea and if Tredrea was anyone else there is no way he would have been carried.
Probably best for Damon if he does move on. It's been made painfully obvious that Williams does not see him as part of the long term future and has no interest in developing his talents.
I'm just waiting for the day we see Westhoff line up on the wing and patrol the flank.
The decision to keep Tredrea in the side became an easy one a few weeks ago. Right now Tredrea is back to being a better forward than White.

For you to say that Choco had no interest in developing White's talent is very odd. Choco as coach would want to get the best out of all his players.

Damon White has had enough chances in our side to show his wares. I've got nothing against him but he has not been able to do what Westhoff with limited experience has shown he can do. That is, take marks with limited space to work in and bang through some goals.

In addition his recovery is far superior to Damon's and the number of opportunistic goals he has kicked would already exceed those kicked by Whitey. Not only that but he has set up opportunities for his fellow forwards in a way that White has not shown he can do.

Do you seriously think that if White could play in the way that Westhoff has, that Choco wouldn't have welcomed that with glee?

I reckon the majority of people would disagree with that in this case Porthos but either way.
A midfield that's dominating makes life easier for both forwards and backs.

All else being equal it's easier to be a defender than a forward. To be successful a defender has to destroy. To be successful a forward has to create. That's the harder task.