Whitnall this weekend: back on Tredrea or up kicking goals?

NYMets

Jan 20, 2001
a windy hill by the sea
Mets & ManUtd Giggsyrulz
I was surprised to see Lance in defence...is that where he's suited? If so where will the goalpower come from?...will Fevola be there or be square. Also speaking of defense...watching the crows repeatedly getting it out of the centre and quickly up to goal, what can the Bombers set up around centre half back to stem this?

Whitnall will be an interesting one.

With Tredrea Cornes and Lade forward it may stretch Carlton without him. Maybe Cornes and Tredrea can kick enough points between them for a goal or two.

Although Carltons current style is the one Port struggles most against.

How quick is Tredrea? Just that when Whitnall plays in defence he rarely picks up a player but prefers to fill the gaps, because he is too slow but he knows where to go. It'd be an interesting duel....I guess Beaumont could go on Tredrea if necessary but last week it showed how valuable his run is when he doesn't have a big player to worry about. What we'd give for SOS, he usually made Tredrea look stupid.:(

Originally posted by NYMets
I was surprised to see Lance in defence...is that where he's suited? If so where will the goalpower come from?...will Fevola be there or be square. Also speaking of defense...watching the crows repeatedly getting it out of the centre and quickly up to goal, what can the Bombers set up around centre half back to stem this?

Lance defence, Lance forward, Lance on the moon it will make no difference IMO Carlton will get thumped.

Agree that without Wellman & Solomon Bombers perhaps look a little stretched in defence. Bombers must find matchups for Fitzgerald then Burton, Welsh, Stevens and probably Bienke. Each of these players is a proven multiple goalkicker ... it is only consistency that is a possible problem. In each of the three Crows matches so far this year at least one of these has not played. (Last week against a perceived top 4 contender in Sydney Stevens missed most of the match and Crows did not have their preferred setup at CHF.) Bombers will be the first team this year to have to contend with the whole group.

Burton in particular is a tough player to match up on. If Fletcher is on Fitzgerald, who is playing CHB on Stevens and who in the Bombers defence can stay with Burton?

Last week in the Bombers forwards Lloyd was the only real target. Bassett will probably get Lloyd after his good effort on Hall. If Lucas is not playing who will take CHF for Bombers?

Perhaps for the first time between these two teams Crows look stronger down the spine than Bombers do IMO.

You don't need someone fast against Tredrea unless Port's midfield decide to deliver low, fast passes to him, instead of the high floating crap that they often do. If its the high stuff, you just need someone that knows how to pull a jumper without giving away a free, and that can spoil.

Originally posted by The Spornstar
How quick is Tredrea? Just that when Whitnall plays in defence he rarely picks up a player but prefers to fill the gaps, because he is too slow but he knows where to go. It'd be an interesting duel....I guess Beaumont could go on Tredrea if necessary but last week it showed how valuable his run is when he doesn't have a big player to worry about. What we'd give for SOS, he usually made Tredrea look stupid.:(

If only you had your 1907 'centre half back as well!!

SOS is gone forever.

Carlton will get flogged this week.

I hope they win against the filth but I think they will be flogged

Carr will do the job on Ratten, which will leave only Campo and he can't do the job on his own.

Hopefully Gallagher plays - the crowd will love him.

Yeah, Tredders still struggles with scraggers ;)

He is pretty quick though for a big guy, was an AA under 18 on the wing, so he has some pace.

this could be why he still doesn't use his bulk enough.

Originally posted by Jars458
Hopefully Gallagher plays - the crowd will love him.
Probably be the first time the members stand will be booing Port's opposition.

Re: Re: Whitnall this weekend: back on Tredrea or up kicking goals?

Originally posted by ok.crows

Lance defence, Lance forward, Lance on the moon it will make no difference IMO Carlton will get thumped.

What a great analysis of the question. Thanks for giving your usual input in matters to do with Carlton.

Whitnall must play forward for Carlton to stand any chance of winning

Its ok to use him back against the hopeless Maggies in terrible conditions but at Footy Park against POrt you must go on the attack and get them on the back foot early or else you stand no chance

Whitnall should be able to flog Mead or Bishop or Wakelin as I think that's Port's big weakness which has yet to be tested.

ie Kangas had no decent forwards - Neitz ran rings around them and Saints were just woeful, again with no forwards.

Carlton must attack and not flood its their only hope in my view.

not much of one, but still a hope.

Re: Re: Re: Whitnall this weekend: back on Tredrea or up kicking goals?

What a great analysis of the question. Thanks for giving your usual input in matters to do with Carlton.

Deeper analysis for your edification:

If Lance plays forward he will be too slow even for Mead, and will get thumped. No more than a couple of touches if he is lucky.

If Lance plays on Tredrea then again he will be miles to slow, and Tredrea will run rampant. Probably kick 5.10 or more.

If Lance doesn't play at all - same result for carlton. No joy.

Unless Port decide to kick it to Carlton forwards like Pies did I can't see Blues getting anywhere close in this game.

Happy now?

Originally posted by Porthos
You don't need someone fast against Tredrea unless Port's midfield decide to deliver low, fast passes to him, instead of the high floating crap that they often do. If its the high stuff, you just need someone that knows how to pull a jumper without giving away a free, and that can spoil.
So you're saying that they don't need to waste a much-needed goalkicker like Lance on him?.......Plunket? or maybe you suggest a tall if he's got trouble with an overhead mark.

Yeah, a tall thats good at looking innocent. Luke Livingston should do the job.

So you're saying that they don't need to waste a much-needed goalkicker like Lance on him?.......Plunket? or maybe you suggest a tall if he's got trouble with an overhead mark.

The delivery of the first couple of games you just needed someone to hold him in a strength battle and have others (like Allan or someone playing a kick behind play) go over the top to mark or punch. Tredrea is much better having a run at the ball.

If the delivery is good that plan doesn't work so well.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Whitnall this weekend: back on Tredrea or up kicking goals?

Deeper analysis for your edification:

If Lance plays forward he will be too slow even for Mead, and will get thumped. No more than a couple of touches if he is lucky.

If Lance plays on Tredrea then again he will be miles to slow, and Tredrea will run rampant. Probably kick 5.10 or more.

If Lance doesn't play at all - same result for carlton. No joy.

Unless Port decide to kick it to Carlton forwards like Pies did I can't see Blues getting anywhere close in this game.

Happy now?

You have even less idea than I first thought. Stick to your Crows comfort zone.

P.S. I would be confident in saying that I would probably be quicker than Lance Whitnall. Therefore according to you, if I played on him I'd keep him to a few touches if he was lucky.

I'd go so far as to say that if the delivery is good, you can't stop Tredrea. I think the main concern Carlton would have is not our tall forwards, but our midfield's delivery to them. If the delivery is poor, they can't do much for us.

Originally posted by Port01
I dunno, I think Lance has a better record against Mead than most CHF's, even when Mead wasn't over the hill.

Mead's very recent form (like, last week) was acceptable. Whitnall's form is not good.

Whitnall has some ability at reading the play. He is only of any use though when the remainder of the Carlton side is functioning at least moderately well, IMO.

In the current team in its current form Lance is not good value. IMO he is over-rated to begin with anyway.

In any comparison of Whitnall with Tredrea the latter comes out miles in front in every attribute other than kicking accuracy. IMO.

Re: Re: Whitnall this weekend: back on Tredrea or up kicking goals?

(Last week against a perceived top 4 contender in Sydney Stevens missed most of the match and Crows did not have their preferred setup at CHF.) Bombers will be the first team this year to have to contend with the whole group.

Burton in particular is a tough player to match up on. If Fletcher is on Fitzgerald, who is playing CHB on Stevens and who in the Bombers defence can stay with Burton?
Jacobs? Rama needs a chance to play a ripper. MJ? JJ could move thru there. It will be interesting....we iwll have to keep it going forward ..SHeeds was saying I think that we have it the most inside 50 we just have to be deadly accurate.

:cool:

Re: Re: Re: Whitnall this weekend: back on Tredrea or up kicking goals?

Jacobs? Rama needs a chance to play a ripper. MJ? JJ could move thru there. It will be interesting....we iwll have to keep it going forward ..SHeeds was saying I think that we have it the most inside 50 we just have to be deadly accurate.

:cool:

I did see somewhere that Sheedy said he thought that Bombers had the best inside 50, but I wonder if that is actually the case? Crows have a decent midfield and usually are near the top somewhere in inside 50 stats.

If we are wondering about matchups in Bombers defence, how about the midfield? Who will pick up McLeod, Ricciuto, Johnson, Edwards, Bode et al? Who will do better out of Biglands & Hille? I would say Ayres would be keen to have Stenglein on Hird and the rest can sort themselves out.

What we'd give for SOS, he usually made Tredrea look stupid.:(

Not really.

Game 1: 22 touches, 17 marks, 8 goals 4 behinds
Game 2: 6 touches
Game 3: 23 touches, 12 marks, 3 goals
Game 4: 13 touches, 4 marks, 2 goals
Game 5: 10 touches, 5 marks, 2 goals
Game 6: 9 touches, 4 marks, 1 goal

Id say thats 2 wins to tredrea, 2 wins to silvagni and 2 stalemates.

As Porthos said....if Ports midfield kick like crap then all you need is someone with a fist.
The key to Carlton is Camporeale. He always destroys us.
I remember the game in 2000, when Burgoyne kicked the goal after the siren....Williams had Lyle *cough* "tagging" Camporeale, and he had about 30 kicks in the first half :(

The last two times Carr has played on Ratten he has done the job on him very well. I dunno who we'd put on Camporeale. Maybe we just let him do as he pleases and hope that one or two of our midfielders can have a bigger impact than him.

I think Ports defence will get on top and we will win by 5 goals

Mead's very recent form (like, last week) was acceptable. Whitnall's form is not good.

Didn't you watch last week's game? Obviously not. Stick to topics you are comforatble with (ie. the Camries). Whitnall was one of the best players on ground last week. He thrashed Mead last time the two teams met.

Originally posted by Macca19
The key to Carlton is Camporeale. He always destroys us.
I remember the game in 2000, when Burgoyne kicked the goal after the siren....Williams had Lyle *cough* "tagging" Camporeale, and he had about 30 kicks in the first half :(
The last two times Carr has played on Ratten he has done the job on him very well. I dunno who we'd put on Camporeale. Maybe we just let him do as he pleases and hope that one or two of our midfielders can have a bigger impact than him.
Yes yes yes....where has Campo been?...he's due. ALso I think Mckay can cause you trouble.

Originally posted by Port01
I dunno, I think Lance has a better record against Mead than most CHF's, even when Mead wasn't over the hill.

Whitnall generally doesnt do all that great against Port. The last two times he has played us the only thing hes done is break Kingsleys shoulder 50m off the ball :mad: :mad: (mind you if he does it this week i wont complain)

His stats are fairly average against us.
He kicked 4 goals against us in 2000 when Carlton won by 90 something points and we played rela bad.
He kicked 3 goals against us the last game in 98...but other than that he hasnt a whole lot

97: 7 touches, 4 marks, 1 goal
98: 15 touches, 10 marks, 2 goals (Mead went off in the first 3 minutes with concussion)
98: 22 touches, 14 marks, 3 goals
99: 12 touches, 4 marks, 1 goal
2000: 13 touches, 8 marks, 4 goals
2000: 11 touches, 4 marks
2001: 16 touches, 9 marks, 1 goal

Reasonable stats but not brilliant. I think Mead should be able to do a job on him.

He thrashed Mead last time the two teams met.

16 touches, 9 marks and 1 goal is hardly a thrashing!!!

The player who killed us last time was Kouta....he had 22 touches, 11 marks and 4 goals....and hes not playing.
Steinberner played for us last time we played you...and he aint playing anymore (thankgod) so thats a plus for us.
Plunkett and Camporeale (as usual) played well against us last time as well.