Who agrres with me, theres not much atmosphere in the AFL

• Thread starter Thread starter crowz4eva

crowz4eva

Ok, there is atmosphere, but compared to sports such as Soccer in Europe, footy doesnt compare. The sound of cheering on a grand final with say 100 000 people, can compare to say 25-30 thousand soccer fans.

Yeah i suppose your right C4E

There really needs to be more rioting and I think essendon and collingwood supporters need to to have all in brawls.

And if we are lucky after all this has happened they might put up huge barbed wire fences around the actual ground.

C4E, I suspect you haven't been to a Central Districts grand final then.
wink.gif
wink.gif
wink.gif

C4E
Yeah soccer has more atmosphere, soccer hooligans running riot, people setting fire to stands, fighting opposition supporters.
When have you been to an AFL match that had 100,000 supporters,or at a soccer match that had 30,000 people to judge, you can't decide that from TV.
Aussie Rules wins hands down.

------------------
Mantis

Originally posted by crowz4eva:
The sound of cheering on a grand final with say 100 000 people, can compare to say 25-30 thousand soccer fans.

A trifle unfair to compare with GF day; when two thirds of the crowd probably aren't even interested in the result.

I have never been to the soccer in Europe so I can't really compare.

I do know however that when Richmond are up against Carlton/Essendon/Collingwood and it is a close game the atmosphere is brilliant. I don't know if the noise would want to get any louder as it may be bad for your health!!
biggrin.gif

Well I suppose you could say there was 'atmosphere' the night the lights went out and they burnt the behind posts (wasn't it something like that?)

What has rioting got to do with atmosphere anyway. If "fans" are rioting they wouldn't be singing or creating an would they?

People should come up with arguments then "we don't riot like soccer fans"

Sorry I should write this again.

What has rioting got to do with atmosphere anyway. If "fans" are rioting they wouldn't be singing or creating an atmosphere would they?

People should come up with better arguments then "we don't riot like soccer fans", which is a generalisation as well.

Servo,

I've heard Central Districts barrackers in action, and yes, they're pretty awesome. I always used to grudgingly admire them for their full-on passion. All this from a club that hadn't won a premiership until this year.

I suppose the closest thing to a soccer-type atmosphere you would get in the A.F.L. would be the Sydney supporters at home. But it usually only happens when they're on a roll. Richmond barrackers also get into the singing and chanting when the Tigers are going well too.

I think Mr.Ripper makes a very valid point about A.F.L. Grand Final crowds. There is usually only about a fifth of the crowd that has really sweated blood to get a ticket. The rest are just suits and assorted socialites doing the Melbourne-in-September social circuit.

I think the more corporate the A.F.L. becomes the less crowd atmosphere you're going to get. Colonial Stadium, for example, is as dead as a dodo most of the time. Modern footy crowds are too soft, laid back and complacent to get really excited about anything. There was something about those old suburban grounds with their archaic facilities and their gross overcrowding that just made the crowds go ballistic. Those days will never return.

Personally, I would love to see segregated crowds. I love the thought of rival supporters hurling obscenities at each other over barbed wire fences. A bit like this Bulletin Board, really. It appeals to my sense of drama.

There is no doubt that when it comes to atmosphere and supporter culture, English football leaves the A.F.L. for dead.

**You'll Never Walk Alone**

[This message has been edited by AlfAndrews (edited 24 October 2000).]

Soccer atmosphere does have it's drawbacks. I have stood at St James' park following Newcastle United in Northern England. When the wind blows the sleet directly into your face, you can't feel your fingers and toes, and the game your watching is dour at best, the only thing that keeps you entertained is chanting with the crowd.

Genuine atmosphere is created when there is a close contest, when both sides are a chance of winning and losing. Our footy is as exciting as anywhere in the world when it's close.

I will never forget the day at Moorabbin against Carlton when in the dying minutes of the game Winmar received the ball then passed it to PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPluggerrrr, who then kicked his tenth on Silvagni and won the game for the saints. If you had been standing in the animal enclosure on that day you would have truly understood the meaning of atmosphere.

Could it be that the Ansett Cup grand final is the closest thing to what we really crave - a grand final with true footy fans there and very few 'suits' The 1999 on with 'almost' 50,000 Hawk fans was something to savour.

I think we, as fans should 'claim' the ansett cup GF before it gains more 'cred' and the 'suits' move in.

Doubt that this will happen at the ansett cup ? I have a few arguments to consider

1. With the new format the earlier rounds might be more boring but the semi finalists were the same four teams as this years prelim finalists ie it got the same result as the 'main' premiership with a lot less games.

2. The ansett cup is arguably more lucrative than the Premiership. 1999 and 2000 night premiers increased their membership by some 7,000 more than the normal number (they have stated this themselves) which translates to appx 700,000 more dollars. Add the 125,000 dollar prize and it really looks good. How many day premierships have translated to another 7,000 members the following season ?

3. As less and less grass-roots fans get to see 'day' grand finals, the ansett cup will have more meaning.

I was going to suggest that Crowz4eva come up to Sydney and check out the atomsphere at the SCG with a big crowd in and the Swans on a roll - but Alf has already talked about that (thanks Alf)

I don't care what you say Crowz4Eva - Soccer stinks.

No amount of 'atomsphere' is going to take away from the fact that Soccer is a boring, predictable game that is further degraded by the ridiculous antics iof the players.

I have been to big Soccer games at Manchester City, Selhurst Park in South London and San Siro Stadium in Northern Italy and I can tell you right now that any 'atomsphere' at these games is created by the fans who are usually so desperately bored with proceedings they will amuse themselves by inventing funny songs and chants.

Australian Football absolutely shits all over Soccer - from any point of view - there is far more atomsphere at an AFL game than their ever would be at a Soccer game.

I pity the poor wretches in the Rest of the World who have to watch these dreadful spectacles because they have no better types of football to watch.

We are just sooooo lucky to have Australian Rules, I think.

BSA you hit the nail right on the head, well put. AFL fans are too busy watching the game to sing songs or chant as one, let off flares etc. Crows you should've been at the North v Essendon game last year and the Essendon v Collingwood game in '95. Also the Ess V WC Eagles final in '96 when everybody in the MCG was waving their jackets, never seen anything like it. I have a sneaking suspicion the atmosphere would have been a tad exciting at the '96 Prelim. in Sydney BSA
biggrin.gif
, am I right?

The Grand final however is a different kettle of corporate fish. I've been to the last two Grand finals and the atmosphere was pretty ordinary.

In '99 it was the worst because you had the Roos who don't have the biggest supporter base together with the idiot Blue fans who were happy just to have beaten us the week before, so they weren't exactly pumped. Put that together with the corporate multitudes, the opposition supporters and you get a pretty dull atmosphere.

This year was a bit better with the Bombers big support and the Members charged with the Dees in it. I on both occasions have sat in the AFL members section with all the AFL legends and I'm one of the few who acctually yells out.

This year there were about 50 of these dicks with "Catterpillar" hats on who come out from there lunch and just sit there like lemmings, not even bloody interested. I felt like spitting on them thinking of all the fans who couldn't get in.

Cheers.

The atmosphere was pretty good during the last 10 minutes of the 97 prelim as well. Not to mention showdown games in Adelaide.

I agree with BSA & Ricey. We are too busy watching the game to sing. Soccer is boring as.

Alf. As for segregating the crowd. You are the 1st person I have ever heard say that would be a good idea. I will give you credit for being consistant.

Alf,

I'm not exactly sure that the Docklands lacks atmosphere. My first game there was when Richmond played Geelong there in front on 35,000 people. It was a rainy Saturday afternoon, and was the first day game to be played under the closed roof.

The Tiger Army is extremely vocal at the best of times but with the roof shut it becomes deafening.

Another electric game played there was our Round 21 clash against the Swans. Another healthy crowd of 35,000 and with so much riding on the result for both teams the last quarter was one of the most thrilling games I have been to.

If only Rogers had a shot when he marked 50 out on the boudary. Even if he missed and kicked a point it would have been a draw and we sould have probably made the finals! I digress...

Another good point about Docklands is that even when there is a crappy crowd, the bottom deck is always full. When watching the game, you see no empty seats which lends to greater atmosphere.

Conversely, seeing vast amounts of empty seats is like a wet blanket on the atmosphere.

[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 24 October 2000).]

I was at an English soccer game at Stamford Bridge a few years ago Chelsea v Derby County.

Two Chelsea fans somehow snagged tickets in the away fans section. When Chelsea scored they revealed their true colours and got the absolute shit beaten out of them.

The coppers eventually pulled them out onto the field and they were carried off (to hospital) and all the Chelsea fans that I was with started singing " We love you, yes we do" or some shit like that.

I couldn't wait to leave.

That's European soccer atmosphere for you.

Give me somewhere where the fans are totally into the game, not thinking about what other spectators are doing, totally biased for their own team but don't want to actually maim someone who happens to support the other team any day.

As has been discussed, the problem with soccer can be the lack of scoring and general action and on going controversy. This seems to make the fans look to their own resources - witness the Chile fans at the MCG during the Olympics. This energy can be used for good - hearty singing and banging - or for evil ( the endless Barmy Army chanting during the cricket - what was that all about ? ).

By tradition and inclination, we tend to be individual supporters, keen to deliver a smart one liner at the appropriate time rather than mass together. My experience of Euro crowds was that, in the epicentre, there were NO women and NO racial minorities - basically an adolescent thrill for 'the lads'. Some of the worst racial taunts delivered in sing-along style come from this group and it seems not to have abated. I was at one Liverpool / Everton game where, when a black player took a corner , fans lined up to spit on him ( again no women or blacks ) and the guy was covered in it ! And this guy ( John Barnes - the other one ) played for England !! I was just amazed that even the Liverpool fans has a laugh.

The soccer fans really get off in being cramped up and sort of 'assimilated' ( to use a Star Trek analogy ) into the collective.

The GREAT thing about the MCG ( as I have waxed on about before ) is that you can indulge in the spontaneous sporting experience ( no booking etc ) and 70,000 come and go without any dramas. I have no hesitation in taking my kids along - even if the language can get somewhat monosyllabic - whereas I would feel more apprehensive in England ( I would go but it wouldn't be as good humoured ). Fans should be able to show passion without attracting violent reactions and fortunately, there is enough going on in AFL to move it all along.

It's only in this forum that you can really get stuck in and deliver insults without personal injury.

While some of you say ssoccer is "boring" some of the things that are "boring" for Aussie Rules is that most games arn't really that close so it usually just leaves the winning team really getting into the game.

Secondly, some of you are saying that people sing at soccer matches because there isn't much scoring then how can you explain that 40 or 50 years ago soccer fans did not sing at games. It was only really started in the 1960's.

Lastly, supporters in Europeans also sing and chant in basketball matches where there are points scored at every 30 seconds.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews:
Mr. Ripper,

I've heard Central Districts barrackers in action, and yes, they're pretty awesome. I always used to grudgingly admire them for their full-on passion. All this from a club that hadn't won a premiership until this year.

I think Servo makes a very valid point about A.F.L. Grand Final crowds. There is usually only about a fifth of the crowd that has really sweated blood to get a ticket. The rest are just suits and assorted socialites doing the Melbourne-in-September social circuit.

Alf, I do believe you have mixed the comments of myself and Servo up.

Servo,
Having experienced 95.000 Victorians in full voice at the MCG in 1989,
and various other VFL games throughout the 70's and 80's and AFL gamesin the90's, I must admit,
Nothing I have ever heard in Australia compares with the Central District supporters in the 1995/96 Grand Final Losses against Port Adelaide.
It is a pity that Centrals never won a Grand Final when Football in SA was the Equivalent standard to pre AFL, VFL days prior to 1990.
Not that it matters everything is relevant now. Centrals fans Know how to make an atmosphere UNEQUALLED in Australia.

PA1870

Ok, from an Eagles supporters view, in the past year or so we've become a much more louder bunch. However, the only time when there is a big buzz around the ground is against Fremantle (always lots of supporters for both sides at the game) and against a popular victorian side (Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood).