Who should coach Freo in 2020

i disagree & put Neesham in a different boat from those other fellas.
Connolly was IMO a great assistant, but should never have gotten the main job. His use of the bench was ground breaking & is still in play, but other than that, I reckon he was one of the "clones".
Allan was a caretaker, so I don't know why he was named.
Drum was again, one of the run of the mill types.

As for my original post, I suppose I'm feeling deflated about our predicament & can't see light at the end of the tunnel. I'm not expecting a flag in the next 20 years, but a lot of that comes from constant disappointment with our beloved team.
My post was meant to incite some left field suggestions as we haven't cracked it with the safe options for coaches.
Neesham was way before his time with us.
He played attacking footie in the same way they do today at many clubs.
Remember always that his players were a quickly thrown together bunch.

Apologies for the intrusion ,guys but from what I've heard in earlier days Sumich did not want to leave the West for family reasons as did not want to interrupt his kids schooling. Also have heard about the Sumich/Lyon stoush - from what I heard Sumich told Lyon "if he spoke like that to him again he would throw him out the window". Would loved to have been a fly on the wall if true🙄!
Don't let the way Sumich talks fool you as he has a very good football brain from all accounts. You could do worse as underneath he is Freo through and through having played for & coached South Fremantle in the past and didn't he take South to a premiership? Also the only thing I've heard is he is a hard task master but many who have been coached by him give him rave reviews that he managed to get the best out of them as players. Make of this what you will as looking from outside in it appears that Ross could be the problem? Also sometimes coaches get stale - like Woosha did with us at the end.
Anyway let's hope you get it all sorted one way or the other as very frustrating for your members and supporters which includes one of my closest friends.
We've got heaps of players who would have been coached by Sumich and he would be incredibly well known at the club, yet there seems to be no indication that anyone would even consider him. He really is not an option.

so if your kid burns down his school locker or hits his sister in the head, you can't criticise him?

what if your best mate, who you love, rooted your girlfriend? don't criticise him?

you're the biggest namby-pamby on here. you defend Fremantle regardless of anything. completely refute any criticism. but you do it in a way that burns and attacks the man at the other end. you preach love and bong smoking but you're completely vicious towards those with differing opinions. no one here wants Ross Lyon to get AIDS or for the grandstand to fall on Steve Rosich: people just want them out of their job so the club can improve and jump to its potential. but you get personal, undermine people's support, and raise this card of 'well I love the club... you don't...!'

So you being Silent Alarm and Tyler being Pokers Piv have finally been suspended I can now move back to my state of Zen.

Thank you for the kind words sweat heart

Neesham was way before his time with us.
He played attacking footie in the same way they do today at many clubs.
Remember always that his players were a quickly thrown together bunch.
The problem was we were so desperate to get in the AFL we rushed a team in with a small budget, crappy facilities and thought we would be clever and get a local coach who although he had an attacking flair and revolutionised interchange ala his water polo background did not have the experience of leading and coaching an AFL team. The most important appointment we should have ever made from Day 1 was the senior coach, if we had done and got someone like Blight, Matthews, or Pagan we may have got a good handful of talented, experienced AFL players that could have laid the foundations for much greater success instead of relying on triers like Ridley, Hutton, Delaney, Watters, etc,

We tripped over on the start line whilst starting late with a tight quad that turned into a hamstring 🙄

View attachment 719013

Clean house and Clive to take on all positions - Coach, Captain, CEO, Chief of Recruitment, Head of Media Relations, Doctor, Runner, Waterboy, Bus Driver, Mascot and so on.

Maybe squeeze Pav in somewhere as an intern or something.
Add Kepler, Scotty Chisholm & Willsy to the mix

Neesham got too many of his ex players from claremont, rather than building from ground up. I used to love claremont then so i liked freo, but it was a great wafl team , s**t afl te

Hypothetical:
Bell walks into Ross’s office and says, Mate, if things don’t change your dead in the water. Here’s what we are going to do. Where going to empty out the Footy Dept, All area’s and your the last man standing (except players). Now who do we need to go and get.

Anyone want to fill in the names with the best available:

Senior Assistant
Forwards
Mids
Backs
Sports Science
Strength and Conditioning
Recruiting
Development

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hypothetical:
Bell walks into Ross’s office and says, Mate, if things don’t change your dead in the water. Here’s what we are going to do. Where going to empty out the Footy Dept, All area’s and your the last man standing (except players). Now who do we need to go and get.

Anyone want to fill in the names with the best available:

Senior Assistant
Forwards
Mids
Backs
Sports Science
Strength and Conditioning
Recruiting
Development

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Add in Specialist Skills coaches x 2 - maybe 1 for kicking and 1 for tackling

Any coincidence two of the most criticised teams at the moment, us and the Crows share the inability to lay forward half pressure.

If we kicked to our player on a lead instead of the opposition, we wouldn't need the forwards to be full time defenders.

Best pressure is scoreboard pressure, so goal kicking accuracy wouldn't hurt!

I think Neesham was an excellent choice. The problem was the lack of support around him; An experienced assistant, decent recruiting staff, admin etc.

Add in Specialist Skills coaches x 2 - maybe 1 for kicking and 1 for tackling
Another article in the Worst today on the Subi V Perth WAFL game last night.
"Guru tips pay off as Sokol boots seven" How Austin Roberston has been working with him the last month and kicked 10.3 from set shots in the last two games.

Who knew that a specialist goal kicking coach could be effective?

Only 2 coaches applied for the job, Ken Judge and Neesham no one else would touch it with a barge pole. No experienced AFL players would go near a start up club with no club rooms to speak of. We were handed a poison chalice.

so if your kid burns down his school locker or hits his sister in the head, you can't criticise him?

what if your best mate, who you love, rooted your girlfriend? don't criticise him?

you're the biggest namby-pamby on here. you defend Fremantle regardless of anything. completely refute any criticism. but you do it in a way that burns and attacks the man at the other end. you preach love and bong smoking but you're completely vicious towards those with differing opinions. no one here wants Ross Lyon to get AIDS or for the grandstand to fall on Steve Rosich: people just want them out of their job so the club can improve and jump to its potential. but you get personal, undermine people's support, and raise this card of 'well I love the club... you don't...!'
you're *ing weird dude.
Your kid burns s**t and hits women then yeah be critical, cause thats your problem
your mate roots your gf then yeah be critical, cause that directly affects you and is your problem

hammering the s**t out a footy team in which you have no direct involvement in or affect on is just sad. You are just a fan, you can't control anything no matter how much you bitch about it so you're just wasting your time

(yes i am aware fans affect the club as a collective but this dudes non stop whinging on big footy is doing nothing)

On 6PR this morning it was suggested that a few inside the Freo hierarchy are keen on getting Brad Scott in as coach if Lyon departs.

If this were to happen I would microwave my imaginary membership.

On 6PR this morning it was suggested that a few inside the Freo hierarchy are keen on getting Brad Scott in as coach if Lyon departs.

If this were to happen I would microwave my imaginary membership.

Yeah gotta say he'd be a long way down the list of my potential candidates.

If Ross accepted a senior position supporting a first year coach at North Melbourne and Freo took Scott could both clubs avoid their payouts?

Malthouse and ABC radio really talking up Longmuire this morning, and then Sumich, adding that Scott has to be considered.