Who to draft?

• Thread starter Thread starter Sloth

I really do hope so hotpie. I hoped it last year though. If we go again with the same people we ask for the same result. Will Richards be got and if so will he actually be good enough. The reality is all we have seen so far is minor promise from a skinny bloke who can't seem to get bigger even though he has been intermittently but regularly immobilised.

1st pick - ellis
2nd pick - kennedy for hb now chf later (push taz to a wing, c3 to HFF with rocca fit, please please please be fit)
3rd pick - grant (will still be there, has gone cold on the scouts reports from what i hear) or bowers (still could be there)
4th pick- brennan mills (worth the risk given his smashing career pre fractured leg and is quick and hard)

tarrantcantkick said:
1st pick - ellis
2nd pick - kennedy for hb now chf later (push taz to a wing, c3 to HFF with rocca fit, please please please be fit)
3rd pick - grant (will still be there, has gone cold on the scouts reports from what i hear) or bowers (still could be there)
4th pick- brennan mills (worth the risk given his smashing career pre fractured leg and is quick and hard)

No no no
Mids with pace or the ability to go in and get the ball.

Mids, mids, mids and more mids

im with figgy on this one, HURN @ 2!!!!

Realistically we dont need that much pace.

Rhyce, Heater, Dids, BJ, OBrian, Rusling, Egan, Lonie, Davis are all quick outside players most of whom can play on the wings atleast. The problem is getting it too them lace out.

We need one in and under: Hurn.
One Silky Skills: Jones/Varcoe/Grant/Isles

I think we should put lockyer and obree on the block. Tarks will get some attention because he is held in high reguard at other clubs, and clubs would have liked obree's late season work ethic, we might be able to get either a low-mid 2nd rounder or a late 1st rounder either of them. Id look at freo with lockyer, try and bundle lockyer and woey to them for polak and a 2nd rounder. And then look at perhaps sydney for obree. They will be lacking the in and under midfielder in the next 2 years with maxfield and williams near the end, and kirk cant do it all himself, could possibly get a 1st rounder for him if we can throw in a late pick. The other trade idea is lonie to port in a straight swap for salopek, it might be the best offer they get, and they were interested in lonie 2 years ago.

If we can go into the draft with picks 2, 5, 17, 21, 26, 37

silverphoenix said:
If we can go into the draft with picks 2, 5, 17, 21, 26, 37

Yep, love the dot dot ..... you've left at the end of your sentence there. If we can do that.....then...this will probably be the test if we do really have a new broom in the footy dept or just a gloss over to make eveything seem hunky dory. Good on Greg Swann for going to that dept, but if it doesn't then result in have a tougher draft and trade edge than before is it only to bring marketing gloss and PR feel-good?

The proof will be in the figures you quote.........

Murray said:
In principle yes but it's not much good if they aren't that good which is what reports are suggesting. We might just have to take the best player available, midfielder or not.

silverphoenix said:
ARE YOU SERIOUS? We desperately need pace, skill and hardness. Desperately!

Murray said:
No no no
Mids with pace or the ability to go in and get the ball.

And so who are we going to play against tall forwards when our two tallest defenders, Presti and Wakes both retire/get past it in the next 2-3 years?

Ur Best bet is-
1st Pick- Ellis (class midfielder half back)
2nd Pick-Swallow (pace midfielder)
3rd Pick- Oakley Nicholls (athleticism utility/wingman)
4th Pick- Dont take Brennan Mills because i want him

Someone mentioned Mitch Clarke before. I'm a little unsure about him. I think we should aim for quick mids for our first 2 picks and then look at nabbing him at 21. However, I don't think he will be available.

I remember hearing about him just before the championships as he won a medal as a 16yo, but he really struggled when I saw him.

I think having T.Cloke as a CHB has merits. He's tall, very mobile and has a booming kick. He would help in that position in the future I reckon.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
And so who are we going to play against tall forwards when our two tallest defenders, Presti and Wakes both retire/get past it in the next 2-3 years?

Cloke Cloke and Cloke

Next question

Todd Grima is a very mobile KP that could be available at #21.

Matthew Spangher is a CHB prospect that could be available in the #21 range too.

However, I just feel that, seeing as we do need to look towards the future with KP defenders, we would maximise our talent by going:

#2: Midfielder
#5: KP defender
#21: Midfielder

Rather than:

#5: Midfielder
#21: KP defender

vinnie_vegas69 said:
we would maximise our talent by going:

Rather than:

agreed

vinnie_vegas69 said:
Todd Grima is a very mobile KP that could be available at #21.

Matthew Spangher is a CHB prospect that could be available in the #21 range too.

However, I just feel that, seeing as we do need to look towards the future with KP defenders, we would maximise our talent by going:

Rather than:

2. Ellis
5. Kennedy
21. Douglas

silverphoenix said:
im with figgy on this one, HURN @ 2!!!!

Rhyce, Heater, Dids, BJ, OBrian, Rusling, Egan, Lonie, Davis are all quick outside players most of whom can play on the wings atleast. The problem is getting it too them lace out.

We need one in and under: Hurn.
One Silky Skills: Jones/Varcoe/Grant/Isles
Get on the bandwagon while there's still room!

I'm with Vinnie also. Mid, KP, then Mid. Half arsed KP defensive options at pick 70 ala Tex, is just asking for the selection to backfire. You have to pay a bit for the important positions.

Wiz likened Kennedy's style to that of a slightly shorter version of Koschitzke and you could tell he was a wrap for him. Can play both ends. He's my preferred pick 5 (assuming that other gun midfielders are taken).

Pick 2: Shannon Hurn
Pick 5: Josh Kennedy
Pick 21: Quick inside midfielder who can kick at an AFL standard.

if we cant get what we want from the draft why not trade our picks to get good quality young silky smooth in an unders?! eg kerr, bartel someone from teh bulldogs?! i dont see the point keeping our picks if we wont get what we actually need! by the theory of taking the best available we may end up just loading up our forward line again! we def need to ivest in some kpp backmen sometime soon no point in wasting pick on mids that wont be guns because we have enough of the 3rd and forth strings mids we after the buckley dominant type!

magpies42 said:
If we can't get what we want from the draft, then why not trade our picks to get good quality young silky smooth in an unders? eg Kerr or Bartel or someone from the Bulldogs?

I don't see the point in keeping our picks if we won't get what we actually need.

Using the theory of 'taking the best available' we may end up just loading up our forward line.

We definately need to invest in some KPP backmen sometime soon, there is no point in wasting pick on mids that won't be guns, because we have enough of the 3rd and fourth string mids.

We are after a Buckley dominanting type.

Ah that's better, now I can understand it

What about trading pick 5 to carlton for fevola.

It might be better than getting an untried kpp who may or may not make it.

Why are we so excited about fevola.

I am interested in mid fielders with size and pace. Yes they might have to play half back half forward or as outside players for a couple of years but that is part of it.

In the mean time Davies, Didak, Johnson and Cole (if the last two are still with us) will need to ease the burden on Bucks, Burns, Licuria.

I struggle to see Swan, H Shaw, Yakka, making it

I also need to see more of Rusling before I get too excited.

We seem to have a good supply of KPP Medium Size players especially if we want Bucks to play for three more but only in the 50 metre arc.

We will have room for 5 new players and replace 5 players who gave us nothing. Especially my mate Andrew Williams

Lets just pick up 5 kids and move Fanning on to the list from the rookies. Leave Davies and Harry on the rookies list. We always have a long term injury.

"I struggle to see Swan, H Shaw, Yakka, making it"

I thought Heath was fantastic, showed heaps, ball magnet that can take a mark overhead and hit a target, no slouch in the speed department either

Heath had a rough start, the AFL pace got to him. But the signs are all good. He is an intense player with strength and pace and will add an attacking dimention to the backline next year when he really settles in.