Who will be better in 2026? Carlton or North Melbourne.

• Thread starter Thread starter LeBronco

At least North have a number of quality youngsters to take them into the short and long term future. Bad time to be starting another rebuild for Carlton with Tassie coming in. Wouldn’t surprise if Voss is sacked by the bye …… they won’t make finals for another decade as their list is below average!

Blues are rebuilding according to who?

Maybe you can explain what you personally call it when your club realises it has peaked at a 13 win home and away season, and takes its list backwards for two consecutive seasons, including losing 2 of your top 6 players at the prime age for AFL players?

Tell us mr know it all, what was the better option, going to the draft for the past few years and next year until Tassie come in or should we of done what your team done, offer 1st rd draft picks for old b-c grade player's until we inevitably are forced to go full rebuild?

How many 'rebuilding clubs' bring in more players via trade than they do the draft?

Pick 3
Pick 45
Pick 47

Hardly a sign that a team is heavily investing in a rebuild lmao.

Whether we do better than the Blues or not I don’t know.

7-1 to finish is the top 10 with our draw is value though. I’m in.

Attachments

• IMG_3800.jpeg
    IMG_3800.jpeg
    293 KB · Views: 22
McDonald is very accountable, he just can’t be trusted doing anything ambitious ball in hand.

Would be disappointed if Fisher and Corr are anything more than emergencies for the senior team at this point.

FOS is a very balanced and accountable defender, albeit young, and probably destined for the midfield within a couple seasons.

Agree there’s a challenge in the backline chemistry atm, insofar as none of our three first-choice key defenders (Logue, Comben, and Pink) are great distributors, so we need at least two defenders with great offensive weapons. FOS, Kerch and Daniel are all great users. Archer is a good small lockdown type. Hoping that some configuration of those 7 plus Goater and McDonald can do the job until Dawson and Thredgold are ready.
severe lack of Hardeman in any discussion about our backline. Can defend, rebound, and kick like a mule with accuracy.

I have Carlton finishing in the 9th - 12th bracket whilst i have North finishing a bracket below in the 12th-15th bracket.

I think we will be entering a new era in about 2 years time, I'm expecting to see some teams who have been up there for a while (Brisbane, Geelong, Collingwood etc) to come crashing down the ladder once their run is done, and clubs like north beginning their era of dominance, competing for finals.

So no i don't think North will be above us next year, but i fully expect them to be transitioning into a team competing for finals around 2027/28. My team will probably be lingering around the bottom during this time.

Tell us mr know it all, what was the better option, going to the draft for the past few years and next year until Tassie come in or should we of done what your team done, offer 1st rd draft picks for old b-c grade player's until we inevitably are forced to go full rebuild?
The best option was making the most of the handful of elite players Carlton had on their list and building a list around them that was capable of contending for premierships over a 5 year period, as everyone expected when they saw the likes of Cripps, Weitering, Curnow, Walsh and McKay emerging.

But that was clearly too difficult for Carlton to navigate, and instead they didn't have the list management team to build the list around them, or the coaching team to motivate the squad or develop a game plan capable of contending for flags over multiple years.

So now they find themselves in their 5th rebuild in the 21st century, without contending for a single premiership.

How many 'rebuilding clubs' bring in more players via trade than they do the draft?

Pick 3
Pick 45
Pick 47

Hardly a sign that a team is heavily investing in a rebuild lmao.
Yep.

Those two picks on the 40's are sending shockwaves through the rest of the competition.

I think we will be entering a new era in about 2 years time, I'm expecting to see some teams who have been up there for a while (Brisbane, Geelong, Collingwood etc) to come crashing down the ladder once their run is done, and clubs like north beginning their era of dominance, competing for finals.
'Competing for finals' is 'an era of dominance'?

I guess it's all relative...

3 premierships in 68 years and you think Collingwood have dominated footy during this tine span , so yeah, its all relative
Don't deflect, stick to the thread topic.

On the thread topic - 0 top 4 finishes in 25 years has Carlton as THE SINGLE WORST PERFORMED TEAM in that time, with Carlton long odds to break that streak in 2026, and far more likely to finish bottom 4 than top 4.

Which means the discussion around whether North or Carlton will finish higher in 2026 is both interesting and valid.

Don't deflect, stick to the thread topic.

On the thread topic - 0 top 4 finishes in 25 years has Carlton as THE SINGLE WORST PERFORMED TEAM in that time, with Carlton long odds to break that streak in 2026, and far more likely to finish bottom 4 than top 4.

Which means the discussion around whether North or Carlton will finish higher in 2026 is both interesting and valid.
No top 4 finishes in 25 years while skipping a prelim final just 2 seasons ago is interesting as well, you use the same troll in all the Carlton threads mate.

Screenshot_20251210-063911_Samsung Internet.jpg

This year, where Carlton were 2.5 games behind 4th placed Melbourne? (And Collingwood finished 1st, and won the premiership)

But you do raise an interesting point, and a big reason for Carlton finding themselves where they are today.

Carlton got on a roll in late 2023, winning o games in a row (3 of them with asterisks against them) to secure 5th place with a 13 win home and away season.

They then had two finals wins, both with fewer scoring shots than the opposition - one against 8th placed Sydney, and the second against a 4th placed Melbourne, who had thrown everything at top placed eventual premiers, Collingwood).

This run gave Carlton a false sense of how good they were, when neither their list nor game plan was set up for regular high finishes and premiership contention, and since that run in 2023, they now find themselves embarking on their 5th rebuild in 25 years.

View attachment 2493934

This year, where Carlton were 2.5 games behind 4th placed Melbourne? (And Collingwood finished 1st, and won the premiership)
We beat Melbourne along the way to the prelim, if you're trying to make any point here except troll Carlton you haven't.

Yep, I never said that Carlton weren't Preliminary Finalists.

The facts are:
1. Melbourne finished 4th, but were eliminated from the finals in straight sets.
2. Carlton finished 5th, and qualified for a Preliminary Final.

Yep, I never said that Carlton weren't Preliminary Finalists.

The facts are:
1. Melbourne finished 4th, but were eliminated from the finals in straight sets.
2. Carlton finished 5th, and qualified for a Preliminary Final.
That's what i said mate, nice of you to acknowledge that we played in a prelim which you left out, i don't care where we finished in the home and away season.

Why would I need to mention a Preliminary Final appearance when referencing the fact it's been 25 years since Carlton have had a top 4 finish?

It would be like me saying Collingwood have had 11 top 4 finishes over the same timeframe, but feeling the need to add that we also made a Preliminary Final in 2007, despite finishing outside the top 4....

Why would I need to mention a Preliminary Final appearance when referencing the fact it's been 25 years since Carlton have had a top 4 finish?

It would be like me saying Collingwood have had 11 top 4 finishes over the same timeframe, but feeling the need to add that we also made a Preliminary Final in 2007, despite finishing outside the top 4....
It's like telling half a story and telling it your way mate.