spring6

I am a dedicated Dockers fan but also a West Australian as such I don't hate the eagles in fact they are my second team. I often feel like I am the only person around that feels like that. I have not worked out how to post a poll yet but I am interested to see how others feel on the matter. Would you rather see an all West Australian grand final(with us the winners of course)? Or do you hate the Eagles so much you would rather they got the wooden spoon?

Originally posted by spring6
I am a dedicated Dockers fan but also a West Australian as such I don't hate the eagles in fact they are my second team. I often feel like I am the only person around that feels like that. I have not worked out how to post a poll yet but I am interested to see how others feel on the matter. Would you rather see an all West Australian grand final(with us the winners of course)? Or do you hate the Eagles so much you would rather they got the wooden spoon?

A year ago, I would have said I would have preferred them to do well but now, it would probably be the spoon. I am sick of hearing how good the Eagles are and how they are top 4 material ;)

Generally West Coast victories do about as much for me as a Division 4 Albanian handball league match.

But there is something about a Dockers-Weevils grand final that would really see me enjoy watching Victorians rant and rave about how unfair the system is and how it favours Perth sides.

Micky will start calling for a lower salary cap for Perth sides and Eddie will just get on the Footy show and badmouth anything from WA. Hilarious stuff. :)

Originally posted by Rob
Generally West Coast victories do about as much for me as a Division 4 Albanian handball league match.

But there is something about a Dockers-Weevils grand final that would really see me enjoy watching Victorians rant and rave about how unfair the system is and how it favours Perth sides.

Micky will start calling for a lower salary cap for Perth sides and Eddie will just get on the Footy show and badmouth anything from WA. Hilarious stuff. :)

Same here, I never pick them in tipping because I just cant bring myself to barrack for them. Having said that beating them by 1 point in a grandfinal would be worth it.

There's 15 teams out there we've got to keep our on, sometimes I reckon we lose our focus.

A grand final with two non Vic sides would be great as they would still get a large crowd (Melbourne people love a grand final who evers in it) and it might just be a good stir for the Melbourne Mafia.

As for the Eagles, really they are just another team to beat, but we must start to get the upper hand on them in all aspects of the game (crowds, wins, ladder placement, respect etc).

Wouldn't mind meeting our Adelaide "comrades" in the Port grand final.

Bigger crowds and the media becoming more even handed will come as we prove ourselves on the field which i feel sure we will do this season. Can't wait. As for winning a Grand Final by a point against anyone I don't think my heart could stand up to it. It is ok after the siren goes but agony before.

:D

Originally posted by masai
..but we must start to get the upper hand on them in all aspects of the game (crowds, wins, ladder placement, respect etc

Nice list there - add financial security ;)

Re: Re: Re: Who would you rather win?

Originally posted by RogerMellie
No sir, I don't like 'em. But I dislike Port Adelaide equally.
Interesting. Why is that?

Originally posted by Balip
Same here, I never pick them in tipping because I just cant bring myself to barrack for them. Having said that beating them by 1 point in a grandfinal would be worth it.

Yes there is merit in that but personally I am in a real quandry when WCE play Collingwood. (don't understand why )

Re: Re: Re: Re: Who would you rather win?

Originally posted by PAfolwr
Interesting. Why is that?

Well as a fellow port side follower I suppose I envy your mob having had more success that Freo from a shorter existence in the AFL.

I don't like Mark Williams. He seems arrogant, sulks when Port loses and his comments questioning Pavlich for staying at Freo when he could play for a 'real team' like Port were an affront to Pavlich and the F.F.C.

Furthermore, Port's got some players I don't care for such as the Brothers Cornes (Chad in particular. A star in the making but his tantrums are getting a bit passe. I still don't know what that hand gesture directed at the Freo crowd meant. 'Cop me fist up ya bum' maybe?), Wanganeen, Tredrea and Nick Stevens.

I've also experienced numerous Port supporters at games over the years who've displayed the same supreme arrogance exhibited by the coach.

However, respect is due for staying on the field for Dale Kickett's admittedly long lap of honour after having drubbed us at Subi.

Originally posted by Jabber
Nice list there - add financial security ;)

Here's an equation to go with that list.

Indian Pacific + Eagles + Taxpayers money = financial security.

My money saved your club whether I liked it or not.... your money is not wanted or required to save mine, so cut the crap.

On the thread topic - There is no such thing as a second team, I would rather see the slime finish last than have them in a grand final with us or anyone else.

Originally posted by Rob

This is a post of the year so far mate.:D :D :D :D :D :D

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Who would you rather win?

Originally posted by RogerMellie
Well as a fellow port side follower I suppose I envy your mob having had more success that Freo from a shorter existence in the AFL.

I don't like Mark Williams. He seems arrogant, sulks when Port loses and his comments questioning Pavlich for staying at Freo when he could play for a 'real team' like Port were an affront to Pavlich and the F.F.C.

Furthermore, Port's got some players I don't care for such as the Brothers Cornes (Chad in particular. A star in the making but his tantrums are getting a bit passe. I still don't know what that hand gesture directed at the Freo crowd meant. 'Cop me fist up ya bum' maybe?), Wanganeen, Tredrea and Nick Stevens.

I've also experienced numerous Port supporters at games over the years who've displayed the same supreme arrogance exhibited by the coach.

However, respect is due for staying on the field for Dale Kickett's admittedly long lap of honour after having drubbed us at Subi.
Long list. Fair nuff.
I too was hoping for better when Freo came in, didn't happen, but neither would it have happened at Port Adelaide if Port people didn't run the joint.