Eagle_Fan

Apr 17, 2000
Wooshaville
What was that?

I know our games usually have a bit of feeling in them, but he threatened an opposition player in front of everyone! Will the AFL 'discuss'the matter with him? Has it brought the game into disrepute?

I wasn't there (obviously), so I don't know how Johnson ended up like he did, but I would really, REALLY doubt if Mitchell White (one the most honest footballers I've ever seen, and that's said with only a minimum of bias
smile.gif
) would ever intentionally hurt an opponant. Maybe some of the younger hot headed ones, but not White.

If you could shed some light -real, not speculative- on what happened, it wuld be much appreciated
smile.gif

I think ours clubs need to let this cycle of revenge go now. It started when Jones jaw was broken preseason 99, then Long in round 4, then Cousins and the two that Alessio hit in round 19 1999. I hope tonights incident wasn't connected to all that
frown.gif

Anyway, you guys are still going well. Did we give you a bit a fright though? I'm actually pretty proud of my boys tonight. It might sound silly after a 5/6 goal loss, but it could have been so much worse!

i was very proud of our boys tonight considering we were well below our best outfit and they were close to full strength i actually feared the dons coming into the game but after that there not that scary at all Carlton should beat them. Hopefully we can get back cousins cummings rintoul mckenna and symmons and go into next week near full strength. Desperatly need a win
smile.gif

2000 the year of the eagles

According to The Age, Sheedy says that his reaction was to ensure his players were not intimidated by any club seeking to overcome them with physical pressure.

He said a seagull hit Johnson... First martians, now seagulls! lol

I say the whole thing is part of the game, and so would he if one of his players did the same thing to an opponent! Sheedy just over-reacted and he should get stuffed... Football is all about intimidation!

So can anyone tell us tv viewers what actually happened?

I am not an Eagles fan but my observations of Mitchell White over the years make me think that he would not attack unprovoked.

If anyone was there, (Dan24?), please shed some light on this for us.

I know sheeds may have gone over the top but, isn't it great to see the passion this guy has for his players. Fantastic Sheeds, good to see (get your wallett out, the PC police are coming!!)

Sheedy's little performance was directed at his own players more than White. Sheedy has a paranoia about his team being labelled 'soft' - note their underachieving one only flag in the last 15 years, despite the talent at the club. They seem to have addressed that this year, but Sheedy would have been disgusted that none of his players remonstrated with White after the 'incident' and took on himself to do so.

Yeah, I was there.

Didn't see the incident. it was off the ball. I just heard the Bomber crowd roar. Then all the Bomber fans booed White for the rest of the game.

I think Sheedy was trying, to "bond" the Essendon players. I don't think making "throat slashing" gestures is all that good for the game.

Sheeds actually mouthed : "YOU ARE F*CKED"

You could see his lips.

Actually, I think White is a very fair player, and if he did hit Johnson, I'm sure it wasn't a malicious king-hit. But then again, I don't think the camera's caught it. Maybe he did king-hit him. I don't know. How else can you explain Johnson lying on the ground 50 metres off the ball ? Perhaps it wasn't intentional. I don't know.

I must say one thing though. I thought the West Coast Eagles game plan tactics were disgraceful. All they did was kick towards the boundary line. There is a law that states you cannot deliberately put the ball out of bounds.

Now I know you can't pay free kicks when you kick the ball 40 metres into touch, but that still doesn't mean it was in the spirit of the game. The Eagles would clear from defence, and they wouldn't even attempt to score. They would just kick towards the line. You know, as long as Essendon doesn't score, it'll be all right. No wonder they lost.

The object of the game and the way it is designed to be played if the rules are adhered to, is that the ball is to be kept in motion (eg players aren't allowed to drag the ball back in , under a pack) and the ball fluently moves from one end to the other.

But West Coast ust created ball-up after ball-up, kicked to the boundary line. Football, shouldn't be played that way. OK, they were playing within the rules, but not with the spirit of the game.

Ken Judge is still yet to prove himself as a coach.

To Grave Danger,

You can bend stats any way you want. Carlton has one 1 Grand Final in the last 12 completed seasons. Does this mean they have underachieved ? I conveniently start that sequence in 1988, the year after they won in 1987.

Yes, Essendon has won 1 of the last 14 Grand Finals (not 1 out of 15, as you said)

Essendon has also won 3 of the last 16. You conveniently sart your sequence in 1986. I suppose 1984-85 don't count, or something.

If we win this year (and it's an IF), we will have won 4 of the last 17 Grand Finals, and finished on top of the ladder 6 times in that period. Arguably that would be more successful than any other club in that period, taking into account finals appearances, and generally being "up-there" every year.

Here is what happened.
White had run on and was heading for the goal square. Johnson was running beside him trying to keep close on him and they pretty much just collided but Mark Johnson was the unlucky one.

I watched little of the game, but the negativity Dan24 mentioned appears to be a Ken Judge trademark. He seems overly intent on defence.

I remember a game two seasons ago against the Crows when there was not a single Hawthorn player in their attacking half of the ground. Admittedly this game was played in the wet and they were against the breeze, but Judge persisted with this tactic. You must have at least *some* commitment to scoring in poor conditions.

This year, I have heard Hawthorn players comment on how they are enjoying the freedom to "back themselves" and run off their opponents to create play. Last year, Judge apparently stressed "accountability" and I would suggest Hawthorn suffered because of it. Too much concern for what the opponent is doing can be detrimental to a player's game, as we saw in the first quarter of Carlton-Adelaide yesterday.

I was surprised to see Kevin Sheedy so animated and aggressive at quarter time against West Coast, and of course it has become an "incident". At first I thought self-promoter Sheedy must have planned it as part of his agenda, but perhaps it truly was in the heat of the moment!

As a matter of interest, the NFL banned the throat-slashing gesture last year because it was deemed too violent.

Yeah, I certainly don't believe White is an unfair player.

I think Sheedy will cop a hefty fine actually. The throat-slashing gesture was incredibly animated, and couldn't be mistaken for anything else.

It apeared in close-up, and was replayed again and again.

This creates a bad image. The AFL stamps down on wrestling, because it creates a bad image for children, and for parents who have aspirations about their kids playing Aussie Rules.

A coach singling out a player and making an animated gesture to his throat, while mouthing loudly, "YOU ARE F*UCKED" is not good at all. Certainly not from an "image" point of view.

I would predict" a $10,000 fine for Sheeds.

Maybe I'll be wrong, but I'm sure he'll cop a fine. But, as he has done so many times in his great coaching career, Sheedy got the last laugh. His team won.

I still love the guy.

Grave Danger,

Who knows what it was aimed at ?

I've got no idea and neither do you. Obviously it was a spur of the moment decision.

Sheeds is the only one that knows.

Arch....F*ck you dont put down my team, White is amongst the fairest players in the game and you can bet it was provoked or just an unfortunate clash and Johnson came off worse cos hes a wuss. Eagles arent scum arch your the scum!!!!!!!!

Dan24 give us a break we were doing everything possible to try beat the best team in the competion without alot of our best players and id rather kick for the boundary line when its in the hands of such players as Antwoniczs, Haynes and O'Brien. Your wondering who? right well so am i. If we had such classy players as McKenna and Rintoul across the half back line and Wirripunda in the back pocket we probably would have been more direct out of defence so give us a break were doing everything we can.

2000 the year of the eagles<----its almost praying time hehe

True to form you're a true dickhead Jod. I'm quoting Robert Walls on 3AW here "that was the most negative coaching display I've ever seen." and as a premiership coach he went on to say "you should always go out there to win it and Judge just didn't do that."

Judge used an 8 man backline in perfect weather conditions, basically saying I've got no faith you guys can win this so we'll just try to bottle them up to prevent a landslide. Compare that with the risk taking that paid off for Terry Wallace, with his small but super quick forward line. Look and learn Judge you negative dick.

Oh and Chad (what kind of ****ing name is Chad) Rintoul "classy" mmm yeah about as classy as Kings Cross hooker.

Just heard on the radio "West Coast Laggers" are back at it again, lodged a complaint with the AFL for Sheedy's actions. They reckon Brisbane are cry babies, at least their beef was a physical act. Diddums poor little Mitchell "he called me names" boo ****ing hoo.

Yeah the bombers aint so scarey at the minute we're going through our trough at the moment. So from two shit performances we've got mmmm 8 points, well what do ya know. Jod's happy with a 32 point loss from a side that "aint that scarey", there's logic for ya.

------------------
BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!

mmmmmmmm

I am agreeing with you again Dan. (what is wrong with me)

As bad as the Sheedy gesture was why did it have to be shown over & over agin by channel 7? Then on the Ch 9 news that night they showed it no less than 7 times in 1 minute. If Sheedy gets fined for this, and I believe he should, then Ch 7 & 9 should be spoken too as well, Channel 7 as the official AFL carrier should have more sense than to show such a provocative act so many times.

They are also 'bringing the game into disrepute'.

Jod dont be so protective, Ken Judge was already known as an overly defensive coach before he got ther and their stylr of play this game was ugly.

I too remember the Adelaide game 2 years ago.Hawthorn were 8 goals to 1 at half time on a terribly wet and windy day. He went ultra defensive and they lost by 3 goals. A perfect example of his tactics.

Servo

Gotta agree

Another example was the Shane Warne smoking hoo ha!!!

Nobody would be the wiser if the media didn't get on it's high horse and show footage of Warnie having a *** and then hoofing into him about how he should be setting an example for kids yada yada yada!!!

Who is at fault Warnie for smoking or the media for showing it to these gullible kiddies!!!

my 2 cents

Gonzo

(PS couldn't find bigcricket.com!!!)

Gees

f.a.g got rubbed out!!!!

very PC!!!!

{{Ha ha! Didn't know the filter was that touchy. There was another relatively innocent word that was being filtered out, but I can't remember what it was. The channel 7 site filters out things like "Sa****ay" - i.e. the seventh day of the week. Hahaha! - Bluey }}

[This message has been edited by Bluey (edited 22 June 2000).]

Warne had a *** so what??? if he was paid to give up and still took the money. Sorry, but the fat prick is a bad example.

Rice, Rice, Rice, your starting to remind me of arch
biggrin.gif
Your obviously so blinded in Victoria its pethetic, your pethetic. We went out on the weekend to win and i thought judges tactics were actually quite smart.

Now heres a lesson in football just for you Rice, without three of our best midfielders in Cousins, Braun and Rintoul we would struggle to beat essendon through the middle and even if we did we wouldnt be kicking to Cummings cos hes injured so its unlikely that we would kick a winning score against such a potent scoring team like Essendon. So we bottle up on defence and create a 10 to 15 goal game and hope to get enough from White Gehrig and Matera to win.

So Rice you obviously dont know anything about football so please be quiet in the future
biggrin.gif
Oh and it wont do you any good to be jealous of Chad Rintoul.

2000 the year of the Eagles.

The main point is, it wasn't in the spirit of the game (the tactics)

Ken Judge is perfectly entitled to do it, but he MUST have known, that such a negative approach is not going to win him the game.

It was an awful spectacle

yes jod- you are a total tool- do I have to bag you out for every post you make ????

hmmmmm......well yes i do.

If you care to check my profile-I LIVE IN PERTH !!!!!

if you watched talking footy tonite with one of footy's greatest minds (my opinion ok) Blighty basically read out all of our posts on the air.

we rest our collective case. I spose you can argue footy tactics with Malcolm Blight and come out on top huh ????

youre just like a bug, begging to be squashed, time after time.

A.

------------------
BOMBERS REIGN SUPREME.

The thing I want to know is, would there have been an investigation into the White-Johnson incident if sheeds hadn't of gone ahead with that extrordinary outburst? Maybe he's just trying to make sure that these off the ball incidents don't continue to occur in this day and age of football.
Maybe he's sick and tired of Ess players being cleaned up illegaly by WC players.

OK, thanks for all the real responses. Certainly helps fill in the gaps.

Arch- why did you even bother replying? I specifically asked what DID happen, not what MIGHT HAVE happened. You've just lost a lot of credibility. Go back to Melbourne, and get rid of that chip on your shoulders.

Now I didn't see the whole game (due to exam study
frown.gif
), so I can't really comment on the 'ugly' gameplan. But it wouldn't surprise me if that was the case. It's no secret I don't approve of a lot of what KJ does, but in the case of Saturday night, it's important to consider the other factors. 1) We were playing the best team in the league, and were never going to win. Were we supposed to play down the centre and get killed by 100+ points? 2) There is safety in the boundary line, especially for younger players. When rookies for other clubs do it, their youth is their excuse. I don't see why it was any different for our young players? Was it just that there were more of them? 3) We've always played defensive. As much as I'd love to pin it all on Judge, playing negative was how we won our flags.
Anyway, I'm sure it wasn't pretty footy, but you know what they say about desperate times and desperate measures
smile.gif

Also I though Donnelly did his job -however much it went against the spirit of Football- really well. How come Sheeds didn't react to him?

bomber0018- thanks. Obviously I'm glad to hear that Mitch didn't do anything malicious. He really is an honest player, but won't back down from a contest. It's good to see another bomber fan who can tell the truth
wink.gif

It sounds as though Sheedy is the one who might be in trouble. It's a pity since he is a character of the AFL, and does so much for the game, but at the same time, openly threatening an opposition player is not really in the spirit of that game, is it? I don't think he's stupid enough to make such strong accusations if he hadn't seen the actual incident, so I think it may have been directed more at his own team. You know, giving them a reason to fire up.

To those Bomber fans who call us "f*cking scum", or insist their players are continually being "cleaned up illegally" by Eagle players -get over it! As much as it dissapoints me, we are one of the least physical sides out there. The Rintoul-Long incident (don't bring Banners into it) was unfortunate, but it was investigated, and found to accidental. The fact is he was 'squashed' between two opponants when all three were going for the ball. Rintoul plays hard, and suffers the consequences for it. The fact is that that particular incident was not malicious, and possibly wouldn't have injured many other less-fragile players. (Don't get me wrong, Long's a champion, but he is more than a little injury prone)
But on the spirit of malicious incidents between our clubs, you failed to recall Misiti's kick to Cousins' kidneys last year. Poor kid was our for a bit -urinating blood I might add- and never really regained his best form that year. That was also investigated, and found to be not part of the game. An unnatural act causing serious damage to the opposition player. In the same game I recall Alessio was reported for striking two of our players? And yet we're the thugs who unfairly target your players?

Sheedy does seem to have a 'thing' about being called soft, doesn't he? He has nothing to worry about when it comes to us, and I just wish the two clubs would let it go
frown.gif

Why not just call a truce and get on with real footy?

The Long/Rintool incident not malicious???

Did you actually see the incident???

Absolute thuggery!!! Should've missed a month at least. If you believe Rintool's attack on Long was legal and/or fair, then the logical conclusion would be to say that all players should be able to dig their knees in indescriminately when tackling. This is not the case however, and it shouldn't have been the case with Rintool.

EF, you are more then willing to moralise about the thuggery of Essendon players towards West Coast players (which I don't disagree with), but use the usual excuse of "it was investigated and found to be fair" when it's the other way around.

Your protection of the virginal Rintool is utterly hypocritical..but wait a minute!! Aren't Sheedy and Essendon the only hypocrites in regard to this issue?

Give me a break!!!

J2!!!

Whoa! Sheeds lets off steam?