who's going to be the Goalie ?

Bloodstained Angel

Mar 21, 2000
Sydney, Nsw, Australia
Ok

Trying to steer the forum away from the Black & White irrelevance for a moment and get back to more important matters :

With Silvagni out of the Australian squad, I was wondering who is going to 'draw the short straw' and play goalkeeper for Australia on Sunday ?

This is a most difficult position, probably the hardest position to play in any football code I reckon. Silvagni has done a great job in previous years but who is going to it now ?

Stephen King maybe ? or a specialist fullback perhaps ?

This is what I reckon - lets ring in Mark Bosnich to do the job. He's a great soccer goalie who would jump at the chance to represent his country in this most unique of football tournaments. Having Bosnich in goals would also relieve a fair dinkum AFL player of a job that few are equipped to do.

Also Bosnich ain't doing a helluva lot at the moment - Coolling his heels in the ManU reserves isn't he ?

The perfect opportunity to get himself out of a rut and brighten up his career a little.

Would be buzzz.

I maintained all along that Brad Sholl should have been in the all-aussie team, and he would have been perfect for the role of goal keeper, very evasive and quick player, he would have been perfect for the role, but due to unwarrranted essendon bias on the team, poo boy fletcher will probably get the gig, and if that happens, the irish will probably cream the aussies, just mark my words. Nothing against fletcher,he's just tall and lanky (and unco)

G4E
You obviously haven't watched Fletcher play to often, he is very agile & co-ordinated for a big man & also he's quick. I think he will be a great goalie.
Don't forget he's got Inspector Gadget arms as well.

------------------
Mantis

yeah Fletcher seems the logical choice I guess, he's got the height and the agility - I just hope he is practising his positional play because keeping goal in IR or Gaelic footy is the same as Soccer - its all about working the angles and where you position yourself relevant to the posts and the ball.

Next year the AFL should think seriously about 'ringing in' a specialist Goalie either from Soccer or Australian Gaelic Football (which is booming by the way - especially in Adelaide and Sydney)

The Goalie does not need to be particularly tall, unlike a full back in Aussie Rules. A medium-size player would be adequate.

From a Richmond supporter's perspective I would love to see Andrew Kellaway get the gig but there are at least three players in the squad who have claims.

Of the contenders I believe Justin Leppitsch is the most credentialled if he doesn't replace Lloyd at full forward

Croady for me - he could probably stop a few going over the bar as well !

But putting the bias aside Leppitch would do

- Whats so special about SOS anyway, you can't hang onto the full forward in International rules

Can someone please tell me why Waterhouse isn't in the team

He had a great year,one of the best forwards going around

He kicked a tonne of goals

Ex soccer Player

he was a standout player in the last inernational game

Arguably the quickest reflexes in the league
Great as goalie

Comon selectors lift your game

Yes probably Leppitch for mine, very agile and quick, also alot better at kicking out than Silvagni.

That's a great idea BSA, it wouldn't have to be a Bosnich it could be a leading goalie from the NSL. After all the Irish guys would get their goalies from soccer I'd bet.

G4E you should always put smilies in with text when you say things like; "due to unwarrranted essendon bias on the team, poo boy fletcher will probably get the gig" to show that you're joking. You were joking right?

Are you talking about the All Aus. side, or the inclusion of Blumfield, Carracella and Heffernan? Either way the Dons had a fair year and those guys would be very well suited to the IR code. "Poo boy" as you so eloquently put it, has stayed back with the Family anyway so you can rest at ease. But why am I telling you this because you are joking right?

Cheers.

------------------
RED & BLACK BACK to BACK 2001!

sabre- because he plays for a West Aussie team!
wink.gif
Gerard Healy and co. didn't disguise the fact they were 'reluctant to select players from the Eagles or Dockers'. He (apparently) had difficulty getting Cuz over there at his beck and call last year, so are taking it out on the others. Clive should've been an automatic selection.

Shocking aint it

take phillip matera for example

Lets face it cummings hasn't really been their all year

Phill has been the main forward and he wouldn't be 6 foot,still managed to kick a hell of allot of goals

In my opion with no power forwards to crum off he is a better player than farmer

At least more consistent.

Yet he isn't in the team

I would love to see the figures on just how many essendon players there are in the team.
Sure they are the premier team but comon,waterhouse,matera's and even haselby not in the team

Their is something missing here

(by the way did Ramanaskis make the team)
Sorry bout the spelling

Fletcher was in the team as fullback but he pulled out injured, like 3 other bombers. Is this turning ito State of Origin all over again.All the star players coming down with mystery injuries before the game.

Well I'm not sorry they pulled out, we already have Hirdy injured because of this game, the last thing we need are anymore getting hurt, we want our players fit the real competition. I can't understand how some Dockers & Eagles supporters are upset they don't have more players in the team. I wish none of our players were, it's not worth the risk.

------------------
Mantis

Chris Hefferwhathisname's inclusion on the team is the biggest joke of all time. I am almost tempted to barrack for the irish now as how on earth was Hefferhan's jumper justified, i know Jeff Farmer was dropped from the team, however his logical replacement was Rockin' Ronnie Burns. Or dare i say it, Gerard Healy and Dermie are racist and won't dare to send an aboriginal player over to I/land ? I repeat, anyone, even myself should have been in the team ahead of a dud like Hefferhen. i remember watching him play for the Geelong falcons once and i remarked 'who is this dud' ? no joke.

G4E
I have never attacked your team & never will, but really what has Burnsy done this year, OK Heffers hasn't done a lot neither, but they must have chosen him for some reason & I don't think race came into it. I can't believe everyone is upset their players aren't in the side, I wish none of our players were, who needs injuries from a nothing game that could effect your chances when the real game starts.

------------------
Mantis

g4e you really dont know much about football do you
firstly fletcher pulled out about two weeks ago
secondly eagleskickarse only two essendon players have pulled out, you cant questions lloyds desire to play, he trained at all sessions before being told by the all-aust team that it would be better if he didnt play

brad sholl as goal keeper, he has enough trouble looking after his opponent let alone a whole net

chris heffernan got in the team for having an outstanding season and is well suited to the game, he is quick, agile and awesome skills
there are five players in the team from essendon, hird, caracella (who scored one of two unders in the prac match), blumfield, heffernan and hardwick

and you could still consider barnes, m&j johnson and misiti stiff to miss out

as for my pick as goalie i reckon leppitch would be best suited although they gave the honours to kellaway in the prac match before changing with someone whos name escapes me at the moment

and i think the reason clive waterhouse isnt is the team is because he was dreadful in the matches last year

Sandie I disagree completely. The game means a lot and will mean more as the years pass. It will thrive because it is a chance to see our footballers represent Oz ... and ditto for national representation for the Irish.

It will also thrive because the game itself is quite spectacular and faster and more direct than either national code.

Sabre - you're right Waterhouse should be in Dublin.

PS back to the topic - Kellaway it is and Dermie says "he's got a bit of the kamikaze" in him. Having watched the All-Ireland final on SBS last Sunday - I think Gaelic goal-keepers need to be more Kamikaze than Soccer goalies.

Walshy,

sorry to disagree with you, but Waterhouse starred in those games last year. I am no Waterhouse fan, believe me, but he was a standout last year, and was always dangerous. He most certainly should have been one of the extra players chosen to go over to Ireland, just based on those performances, and his not too bad year for Freo.

Cheers, ArdenSt

Walshy

You must ahve been watching another game
Because i think the majority of the people here will agree he was excellent last year.
They simply couldn't play on him (same in the afl) and he was one of the most dangerous players

And if a collingwood supporter can agree and say waterhouse deserves to be in the team over their beloved Rocca's
Well thats gotta mean something

i went and saw the match at the MCG last year and personally i thought Waterhouse had trouble grabbing the ball, ill admit he got a bit of it, but personally, and i must say this is only my opionon, i think he was fairly ordinary
and by the looks of things his place will be taken by leppitch who is a far better player anyway
by the paper today it will be kellaway in goals, croad at chb, leppitch at chf and hird at ff

who's going to be the Goalie ?