johnsmith05

Cricket
when we call buddy a star it meens he is one of the best....now in the past for people to be called a star like the names of ablett, dunstall, lockett, and carey........

the elements of the best players and full forwards had to contend with
-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-scragging-to the traditional hard earnt.
-pack mark

question: which of these elements arnt allowed in todays game, does that make buddy an INSTANT champion? coz the names mentioned above were stars with all of those....

So you're saying any present or future player can't be a star because they haven't had to put up with what past players did? The changes in rules have made the game more clinical for all players. Is Gary Ablett or Judd not a star because they don't have to put up with the same sort of dirty treatment midfielders of the past did?

when we call buddy a star it meens he is one of the best....now in the past for people to be called a star like the names of ablett, dunstall, lockett, and carey........

-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-pack mark

question: which of these elements arnt allowed in todays game, does that make buddy an INSTANT champion? coz the names mentioned above were stars with all of those....

In the same regard, buddy is very rarely allowed a one out contest. And if he is, he has as much chance (and does) of being pinged for holding, hands in the back, scragging, jumper pulling.

Same dif. Forwards will always have to contend with some kind of rubbish from defenders. Right now it is flooding, loose men in defence cutting off space or third man up affecting a spoil. And if you think players dont still hold then you are crazy. Buddy gets manhandled plenty!

-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-pack mark

He is a star at the moment, and future Champion of the game if he continues at current pace.

-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-pack mark

All those players you mentioned were great 1 on 1 players.

With flooding these days players usually always go up against more than one opponent. Rarely are there 1 on 1's and Buddy is the best 1 on 1 player in the comp.

Therefore he is a STAR:thumbsu:

Arrogant, but still a star.

Not just another Buddy Franklin thread, but the same Buddy Franklin thread yet again. It will soon get to a point where no-one will have enough creativity left to even come up with a different title for each of them.

B-O-R-I-N-G.

-arm chopping
-holding - always been illegal
-pushing in the back -always been illegal ( although hands in the back interperatation has changed)
-jumper pulling - always been illiegal
-scragging-to the traditional hard earnt. always been illegal
-pack mark - sorry when did this become illegal???

Of the elements you mentioned there has been one change to the rules with arm chopping becoming illegal. All the other rules have been in place for 100 years. Dunstall, Lockett, Carey and Ablett used to push, wrestle and hold as much as any defender of the day. Your thought process is greatly flawed.

So because today's rules are different to rules from 10 - 20 years ago (and further back) none of today's current guns can be called a star.

Lucky then because whoever plays the Cats will be able to take on a star-less midfield.

Joke troll OP surely.:thumbsd:

You've got to remember that it went both ways. Players like Plugger used to completely manhandle their opponents, while fullbacks like Silvagni did the same. That's not to mention that these days forwardlines are a lot more congested with flooding, double teaming and the playing of loose men in defence.

i agree with what everyone is saying, u cant compare eras coz u cant compare apples and oranges...but for someone to be called " the best ever" after 1 or 2 years.........look at lance whitnall, he had a good first season and did nothing for the rest of his career.....

buddy is great and all just to be called one of the best of all time after 2 years.....

the rules might of been illegal but all the players got away with it.......and someone mentioned locket man handled guys....well they could of done it back if they were strong and tuff enough.....

This thread should be in Bay 13 for the kiddies.

(a) Dunstall, Lockett et al gave BETTER then what they copped. Not too many modern defenders would be volunteering to wrestle these blokes in the free for all it used to be.

(b) Past forward never had to compete with 2-3 defenders like Buddy does now.

(c) I can't remember any past forward having the same free kick differential Buddy has had over the last two years. You're welcome to grab and sgrag him all day but he's not entitled to do it back.

I grew up watching the great forwards and Dunstall is my favourite footballer of all time. But I reckon it's harder for modern forwards. Fev, Buddy etc would have been unbelievable in a past era with their size and athleticism. Just look what they do against sides that play one on one - Collingwood and Essendon.

-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-pack mark

Sorry Johnnie but you are being a bit petty. While I am sick of the Buddy hype (couldn't even get away from it during the Pies vs. Saints telecast) but like it or not, the kid is a star. It doesn't take anything away from the players you have mentioned or the deeds of the current Cats, just enjoy it mate.

regards,

REB

This thread should be in Bay 13 for the kiddies.

(b) Past forward never had to compete with 2-3 defenders like Buddy does now.

Bulltish. Carey and Lockett in particular had to contend with this when Buddy was in primary school.

regards,

REB

Wow, what a really inciteful thread.:rolleyes:

Keep trying to tear him down, wont you? He is 21 and sits on 110 goals so far this season.

Which makes you a stupid flog.

That was a clever/unintentional play on words.

Seriously, though, Buddy is already a star and I think he'll even get better. I think he could be right up with the best ever at the end of his career. I love watching him play.

Back in the day gameplans were much more attack focused and a forward was one out more often that not. Nowadays they have to deal with flooding and increased defence tactics. I think it evens out.

When will people learn that its pointless to compare different era's of AFL. The greats of the 60,70,80's would blow out a lung playing in todays game. Their skills would be exposed in todays game as well.

But take todays stars to that time and they'd just get whacked until they were no longer effective :D

-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-pack mark

Highlighted areas apply to all midfielders as much as forwards,
G.Ablett FF = 41, FA = 15
L. Franklin FF= 26, FA = 68

Goes to show If Lance could push in the back, chop a defenders arms out, pull a defenders jumper in a marking contest and or hold him in the contest he would not give away so many free kicks. And in turn could be an even greater forward.

Great, so Gary Ablett Jnr and Bartel aren't stars because they haven't been having to deal with taggers like Liberatore and play in the period where almost EVERY possession was contested.

Player comparisons between different eras should be done very sparingly, but what you can do is compare him to other current players, and it's safe to say that Buddy is the best forward in the league at the moment. And you would kill to have him at Geelong, and we would kill to have Ablett at Hawthorn.

But you're a nobody, so whatever

-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-pack mark

You forgot he doesn't sport NESCAFE on his jumper.

-arm chopping
-holding
-pushing in the back
-jumper pulling
-pack mark

This rule is thrown out when a player does it to Franklin 9 out of 10 times.