Why Carlton-Essendon is the biggest rivalry.

Dan26

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
No doubting the Coll-Carl rivalry, but I MUST state a few points. In head-to-head meetings, Carlton are 15 wins ahead of Collingwood.However, in Carl-Ess matches, Carlton only lead by 11. Essendon and Carlton have BOTH won 16 flags, while the Pies are back on 14.

Carlton and Collingwood have met each other in 6 Grand Finals (with the Blues. winning 5, making it a lopsided rivalry). Essendon and Carlton have ALSO met in 6 Grand Finals, winning 3 each (including a recent Grand Final and TWO preliminary finals)

Now, considering that Carlton and Essendon have BOTH won 16 flags, and that Essendon is CLOSER than Collingwood in head-to-head wins agaisnt the Blues, in ADDITION to the fact that Essendon have met Carlton 6 times in Grand Finals (same as Coll-Carl), wouldn't this logically make the Essendon-Carlton rivalry the biggest in football?

If you ask a Carlton suporter which team they would most like to beat right now, they'd say Essendon. I've got Carlton mates that just despise Essendon. Thwey don;t give a crap about Ciollingwood. I can't speak for all Carlton supporters of course, since everyone feesl differently. Anway, like I was saying, Carlton want to beat Essendon so bad because Essendon have been so good recently, admittedly. But that is one of the things that make a rivalry.......success. And Collingwood has been lacking for a long time in that respect.

Why would a club with 14 premierships vs a club with 16 premierships prsent a bigger rivalry that two clubs who are both on 16 ???

Esspecially given that Carlton has won virtually EVERY important game when they play Collingwood in their history. Carlton have won the last 5 Grand Finals between the clubs, the 1992 Collingwood centenary match, and the Blues have also won 12 out of the last 14.

Nope, Essendon and Carlton is the leagues biggest rivalry.

When I say Esendon-and Carlton is the biggest rivalry, I'm not just saying that because I am an Essendon supporter. It's no big secret that Carlton-Essendon is a huge rivalry. I'd probably be writing these exat same words if i baracked for, say, Hawthorn.
Like I said, any Carlton supporter would want to beat Essendon more than Collingwood currently.

I can hear all the Magpie supporters saying,:"Yeah, but that's only because Essendon won the premiership, and have been succesful recently"

Well, if that's the reason, so be it. That;s one of the rweason everyone wanted to beat Collingwood in the old days - because they'd always win ! The really big rivalrys happen because both clubs are successful, and they are at each other year after year for a long period of time. Carlton despise Essendon because Essendon have won 16 premierships (and are closest to Carlton in head-to-head matches) When Carlton announced a new sponsor last week, the one other team Joh Elliott referred to was Essendon.

Essendon-Carlton Grand Finals go back longer than Carlton-Collingwood. Essendon and Carlton first met in 1908. They then met in 1947, 49, 62, 68 and 1993. There seems to be this absurd notion that Ess-Carl is a recent rivalry. Bullshit ! They have been at each other for 100 years. It didn't just "happen" in 1993 !

Carlton have met Collingwood in 1910,1915, 38,70,79,81.

It's not as if Carlton and Collingwood have been at it any longer than Essendon-Carlton.
In fact, Essendon-Carlton Grand Finals span from 1908 to 1993 (85 years). Carlton-Collingwood Grand Finals span from 1910 to 1981 (71 years)

The great part about Essendon-Carlton is that the two clubs have been so even. No club has really got the upper hand. 3 Grand Final wins each, a slight advantage to the Blues in head-to-head meetings, and 16 premierships each.

Meanwhile, the Carlton-Collingwood rivalry has the Blues 15 wins clear, 2 premierships clear, and 5-1 leaders in Grand Finals.

Ask most Blues supporters nowadays who they' would rather beat, and I think they will say Essendon. Essendon are closer to Carlton in every respect than what Collingwood are, so that is only natural.

The fact that I am an Essendon suppoerter is irrelevant. I hate Carlton. I'd state that the Carlton-Collingwod rivalry was number 1 if it deserved it, but it's probably at number 2. I always call it as i see it.

My rivalry's rankings are :

1.) Ess-Carl
2.) Coll-Carl
3.) Ess-Coll
4.) Rich-Carl
5.) Melb-Coll
6.) Rich-Coll
7.) Adel-Port
8.) WCE-Freo
9.) Ess-Haw
10.) Ess-Roos
11.) Haw-Roos
12.) Ess-Rich

[This message has been edited by Dan24 (edited 23 January 2001).]

No, I never asked that.

Hey I don't care either way. As long as we win the premeirship. We'lllet our premierships do the talking. From my observations in 1999 and 2000 throughout the city of Melbourne where I live.....Carlton despise Essendon. They hate them. I don't barrack for Carlton so it's hard for me to understand, but I'm sure some Carlton fan will enlighten us.

Things change. It's not 1970 anymore. It depends on the individual supporter of course. If you ask a Carlton fan if they would take two wins over the Pies "OR" two wins over Essendon in 2001 (not both) I guarantee they would take the 2 wins over Essendon.

This has NOTHING to do with the fact that I barrack for Essendon by the way. It just happens by coincidence that the leagues biggest rivalry just happens to involve my team. I mean, both teams have won 16 premierships each, so it's not exactly a controversial statement. I could be barracking for Freo and I'd be writing the same thing.

[This message has been edited by Dan24 (edited 24 January 2001).]

I don't really know much about this, but they probably want to beat Ess. because you're such arrogant bastards, who can back it up. If Collingwood were a better team, they'd enjoy beating them more. It's only human nature to want to beat the best and at the moment Ess. are it.

Dan,

Couldn't you have replied within the thread that was already started on this topic? What a pain having too read through both to achieve the same result.

------------------
So much for the afterglow

Gerday Dan, I dunno if we've ever posted to each other, so I thought a Gerday was in order. Don't worry, I won't lock horns with you in any sort of testy way. In fact, I'm usually so respectful of the opposing argument that nobody usually even answers me
biggrin.gif

Only thing I have to say on the subject, based primarily on the inaugural post of this thread is as follows :

Re the flags #s, the win/loss ratios and the GF Win #s, I would agree that they are probably very important factors when determining the bottom line to this rivalry issue.

However, I would by no means call these factors the be all and end all. Other factors such as :

a) The full supporter base (discussed on other threads, Collingwood are either 1st or 2nd depending on which of yourself or those arguing against you are on the money). The more fans, the more possibility of a pronounced rivalry.

b) simply current public opinion, ie, who all the fans reckon is the biggest rival club to their's. Maybe there should be a party preferred system, where Bris-Nth or WCE-Freo rivalry fans are required to choose from one of the big few
smile.gif

c) the quota of inciteful (I maintain that this is a word although the missus begs to differ) incidents between teams; eg (random examples, not claiming the rivalries to be rivals for the biggest rivalry
biggrin.gif
) :
c.i)a bloodbath (or pronounced heavy-clash) match (eg Haw-Ess GF '89), or
c.ii) one that results in a smart-arse comment from a coach (eg Ess-WCE scarf-wave, Carl-Fitz 'start at 1am', Bris-Fitz pending merger), or
c.iii) a match that results in a long-running complaint from players/staff (eg Bris-WB, Sandy-Coburg-Fitz, racism incidents)

I definitely agree that head-to-head, GF meeting, and flag figures are also important factors. I'm just saying that their not the only ones.

Hope this makes sense.

My idea of the biggest rivalry? Hard to tell. I would probably argue for Collingwood-Essendon, though your points DO say a lot for the magnaminity (I think I made that one up) of the Essendon-Carlton rivalry.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Jesus Dan, what did you start this for? Why didn't you just post in the rivalries thread?

For the last time the only rivalry between Essendon and Carlton exists in the minds of the Essendon fans. It's Collingwood and Carlton.

SHITE SHOWBAGS,GIVE IT A REST WILL YA YOUR GIVING EVERYONE THE SHITS,YOUR LIKE THAT BLOODY PARROT THAT WONT SHUT UP,YOU ARE WRONG,NOW ADMIT IT,THE GREATEST RIVALRY IN FOOTY IS COLLINGWOOD VERSUS CARLTON AND ALLWAYS WILL BE,END OF ARGUMENT.

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

Originally posted by Dan24:

The fact that I am an Essendon suppoerter is irrelevant.

Absolute and utter crap.

You are the single most partisan person on this entire board.

Mags and Joffa are less one-eyed than you.

Carlton supporters describe Carl v Coll as the biggest rivalry.

Collingwood supporters describe Carl v Coll as the biggest rivalry.

Get over it McEssendon!!

BTW: I've said once - I'll say it again - If you want respect, try talking about someone other than Essendon for a frigging change.

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

You are are splitting hairs yet again.
Some of those premierships are so long ago that they have no relevance.

Some rivalries come and go (Hawthorn Essendon not so relevant these days) but some are permanent

Ask WA or SA fans and they would tell you something completely different. That their local rivalries are the biggest.

The Carlton Collingwood has some class basis so perhaps thats why it persists.

But perhaps we should be glad we don't have rivalries as bad as the Rangers-Celtic one, for example

So, Carlton has a slight advantage of 11 wins over Essendon but is a huge 15 wins well clear of Collingwood, making the latter rivalry less significant.

Turn it up Dan, not even you believe this shit.

[This message has been edited by Darky (edited 24 January 2001).]

Surely rivalries are a purely subjective thing, all the stats in the world can not explain peoples irrational emotions. Most supporters just follow the herd mentality (all essendon supporters hate carlton so I am going to), then try and justify the herds opionion with any type of argument. What these people must realise is that the strength of their arguments are greatly diminished because they have not formulated the original opinion themselves.

My greatest rivalries are with hawthorn and carlton, most saints supporters would say collingwood. The day brereton kicked shanahan in the head was the day I started hating hawthorn, the moment I learned that john elliot voted to fold st kilda at a creditors meeting is the day I started to despise carlton, these are both irrational and emotional reasons for continually hating a side, but that is just the way I feel.

In general the greatest of the melbourne sides rivalries are all the melbourne sides against collingwood. Collingwood have been hated for generations, there lack of success has muted the emotion a little bit, but once they start to win again everyone will hate them again with a passion.

Obviously the Carlton victory in the prelim final of 1999 has permanently affected Dan's brain (note all the posts in their different guises on the importance of rewarding the minor premiers that stumble in the finals) so that every subject has to somehow get back to the fact that McEssendon were the undisputed heavyweight champions of the world in 99. No matter Dean Wallis still didn't break that tackle...

Invisible Mullet,
99 bit all Essendon supporters on the bum so hard they can never forget the pain. Even after last years' GF win, their president still had to have a go at Carlton and the 99 prelim. That is why they hate Carlton so much, except they won't admit it.

Perfect tackle, Fraser, just perfect

------------------
The BLUES. The Best in the Business.

Originally posted by TigerTank:
Absolute and utter crap.

You are the single most partisan person on this entire board.

Mags and Joffa are less one-eyed than you.

Carlton supporters describe Carl v Coll as the biggest rivalry.

Collingwood supporters describe Carl v Coll as the biggest rivalry.

Get over it McEssendon!!

BTW: I've said once - I'll say it again - If you want respect, try talking about someone other than Essendon for a frigging change.

Something I really hate is when opposition idiots like TT here, start telling me what I am thinking. I hate it wyhen others put words into your mouth. how does this TT moron know what I am thinking. THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ESSENDON. Dons vs Blues is clearly the leagues biggest rivalry. I could be a Bulldgos supporter and I'd be writing rhe same thing.

Oh, and i think the "Mc" reference in front of the name is more suited to the Kangaroos. They sell their club name, jumper, everything.......all for money. Carlton have too. Essendpon has NEVER changed their jumper for the dollar. Never. Even Richmond has tried a test pattern style pre-season jumper. Essendon has been around for 100 years, and are unchanged from the early years. "Tradition" and "character" are two words which are synonomous with a club which has never sold out, and has been able to be successful at the same time.

Originally posted by Bee:
Jesus Dan, what did you start this for? Why didn't you just post in the rivalries thread?

For the last time the only rivalry between Essendon and Carlton exists in the minds of the Essendon fans. It's Collingwood and Carlton.

Ha ha ha ha ha

Yeah right. I suppose you think there is no rivalry between Carlton and Richmond either. Go to the football club and ask the players, coach, president who they think their rivals are, Bee.

Carlton like to say that Collingwod are rivals because they can beat the Pies.

But the Blues don't like to admit Essendon are rivals (even though they obviously are.....look at the massive history between the 2 clubs), because Carlton can't beat Essendon. Carlton only want to have a rivalry which they can win at. Hence, Carlton are arrogant front-runners. Only an ignorant dill would say that Essendon and Carlto are not rivals. Everyone knows they are !

Carlton just want a rival who they can beat (eg Collingwood), but we all know they hate Essendon. I've got heaps of Carlton mates, and judging by them, they hate the Dons. It doesn't really bother me, as long as we win. I'm just telling you how it is !

It is difficult to believe that an Essendon supporter could be so insecure.

It's not so much that you are wrong, Dan, it's more that you humiliate yourself in your rightness.

Your constant begging to be elevated above Collingwood to equal status with Carlton is an embarrassment to decent, self-aware, Essendon fans.

The very fact that you keep posting this fawning shows that you don't feel Essendon is legitamate yet.

SHOWBAGS

GO ANYWHERE IN AUSTRALIA AND EVERYONE WILL TELL YOU THE GREATEST RIVALRY IN FOOTBALL IS COLLINGWOOD AND CARLTON ALLWAYS WAS AND ALLWAYS WILL BE,ITS FOOTBALL FOLKLORE AND A VERY BIG PART OF ITS TRADITION AND WILL BE IN ANOTHER ONE HUNDRED YEARS TIME,COLLINGWOOD HAVE BEEN SHOCKING IN RECENT YEARS BUT CAN STILL DRAW MASSIVE CROWDS TO THE CARLTON GAMES,WHEN ESSENDON ARE SHIT NO ONE WILL CARE ABOUT THE SO CALLED ESSENDON AND CARLTON THING AS YOU PUT IT.BUT THE COLLINGWOOD CARLTON GAMES ARE SPECIAL IT HASNT BEEN A LAST 5 YEAR THING ITS BEEN AROUND FOR DECADES AND DECADES,IF ANYONE ON HERE DISPUTES THE COLLINGWOOD CARLTON RIVALRY AS THE BIGGEST IN FOOTBALL,WELL THEN FOR WHAT EVER REASON OR MOTIVE I THINK ITS JEALOUSY. YOU ARE TALKING SHIT I WILL SAY IT AGAIN YOU ARE TALKING UTTER SHIT.COLLINGWOOD AND CARLTON ARE THE BIGGEST RIVALS IN FOOTBALL,DAN GET OUT OF FANTASY LAND YOU ARE MAKING A FOOL OF YOUR SELF.

YOU VERY OWN WEBSITE THE ESSENSCUM ONE,YOUR OWN SUPPORTERS ARE SAYING THAT COLLINGWOOD CARLTON ARE THE GREATEST OF RIVALS,
GIVE IT A MISS MATE YOU ARE SOUNDING SILLIER AS EACH DAY PASSES,BUT THEN AGAIN YOUR NAME IS SHOW BAGS(FULL OF SHIT) WE NUST REMEMBER THAT!!!
IM NOT GETTING INVOLVED IN THIS CHILD LIKE DEBATE ANYMORE!!!!

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

Dan,
I didn't say we don't hate you. WE DO! We just don't respect you, that's all. We hate Collingwood too, but we do respect them!
Who says we can't beat Essendon? The season hasn't started yet, I wouldn't start bleating if I was you!

I think that rivalries only apply to the specific clubs and not to the AFL as a whole. In other words, I think what one team considers a rival may not be for the other.

Essendon does consider Carlton its greatest rival, but Carlton probably considers Collingwood its own. It isn't entirely mutual between them.

I think Dan probably is a bit biased in this case, but he makes a case for Ess-Carl being ONE of the biggest rivalries for sure.

It's all up to who you support really. I would think that most South Australians feel Port-Crows is more important and most Western Australians feel Freo-WCE is more important.

I think that most clubs probably have their own designated main rival. For Essendon, it's Carlton. For Carlton, it's Collingwood and vice versa.

What about Sydney or Brisbane? Or Footscray?

until collingwood actually get good, if they ever do !, Most clubs are sick of this dumb rule the AFL has where Carlton and Collingwood HAVE to play twice a year, the matches of late have absolutely sucked and the only benefit of their matches is to reduce the crime rate around the state while the match is on !

That is very funny easty,ILMAO

------------------

One hopes that one day Dan will be able to come to terms with it otherwise he might have to be locked away in the room with rubber walls (as opposed to Robert Walls).

Originally posted by Bee:
Invisible Mullet,
99 bit all Essendon supporters on the bum so hard they can never forget the pain. Even after last years' GF win, their president still had to have a go at Carlton and the 99 prelim. That is why they hate Carlton so much, except they won't admit it.

Perfect tackle, Fraser, just perfect

Originally posted by eastaugh36:
until collingwood actually get good, if they ever do !, Most clubs are sick of this dumb rule the AFL has where Carlton and Collingwood HAVE to play twice a year, the matches of late have absolutely sucked and the only benefit of their matches is to reduce the crime rate around the state while the match is on !

Shut up, Easty or I will send a couple of homosexuals around to give you a big kiss!

Why Carlton-Essendon is the biggest rivalry.