Why didnt Essendon trade much ?

Sep 9, 2000
Glenelg, Redbacks, Lakers
I am confused as to why essendon didnt trade some more. We need to keep the list hungry as the main cause of a premiership hangover is players that are satisfied, I am really worried about a hangover next year now. Also, I think it is disgraceful how they delisted Peter Berbakov. The poor guy has had serious injuries but remained loyal to the club instead of pulling the pin which some would have and he was still there waiting for next season but then they delist him, essendon are the best club for looking after their players but this one is so
un-essendon like ! I was talking to him last year and he is a good bloke too, There are many that should go before him.

Berbakov rooted his knee something shocking just before the end of the season and would miss 2001 regardless.

With lists getting cut from 42 to 38 - being a great bloke won't save a then 30 year old who hasn't played a game in nearly 3 years come 2002.

Unfortunatley, you have to make thses decisions on the basis of winning games. Berbakov, I'm sure is a nice bloke, but if it's not beneficial to keep him on our list, he has to go.

You don't keep an employee if they are worthless to your company. You tell them, that despite their hard work ethic, we can't find a place for you. It's a business decision.

It was a decision that had to be made. Sure, it would have been a hard decision, but he was injury prone and getting on in years (27). You can't let semtiment get in the way.

I think the reason we didn't trade much (as usual) was because we tend to develop our own players, who we recruit through the draft. Blumfield, Caracella, Hefferenan, Johnson&Johnson, Lloyd, Hird, etc etc, are all players we recrutied and developed.

The club is no doubt attempting to draft more young players in Novemeber and develop them in a similar fashion. Essendon, generally don't go for "hand-me-downs". There is always the odd exception, but generally we recruit our "own" players. Sheedy has often said, that we were the only club that didn't take a player from Fitzroy when they were down. (Doc Wheildon doesn't count)

It would be interesting to see if someone like McAlister holds his place on the list. He is still young, but has had 3 years now to find a spot in the team. How much time do you give a player ? I'd expect him, possibly, to be delisted, along with Grgic, and maybe a couple of others.

There is no doubt, however, that you need to 'turn-over' your list to keep it vibrant and competitive. The Essendn hierachy knows this, but you don't go trading willy-nilly just for the sake of it. The Bombers usually play hard-ball at trade time.

I have faith that the Essendon hierachy knows what they are doing. They traded Prior for a draft pick, which I think is a good decision.

eastaugh- 'cos you didn't need too!
biggrin.gif

I reckon we did need to though, we have to keep the list hungry and hopefully they will be because if we have a premiership hangover then I will be able to say - I told you so.
But hopefully they dont and they win the flag again as it was a great feeling that weekend after the game and I want that again.
Also, berbakov is not useless to the team at all and he has more worth than grgic,mcallister,fraser etc, I dont reckon 27 is old either

i think the club did a great job
dan once again spot on
you dont have to trade to keep a list fresh
kids can do that for you
essendon have got were they are now by drafting players, why change now?
who would we trade? take a bloke like bell for example. of course he come straight into your 22. plays another 3 years of good footy and then calls it a day
mean while jason johnson and justin blumfield lose opportunities
and a bloke like danny jacobs, cory mcgrath or adam switala who will all be good footballers dont get a chance at all and we miss out on ten years of footy from all of them
the future is in kids, look at were carlton and nth have got by recruiting has been, what good did mansfield and oreilly do for carlton
there simply was no-one worth trading
we traded for a draft pick
remember ramanauskas came from a trade for olarenshaw for a draft pick, and lloyd and heffernan were other example i think maybe lucas aswell

To any of the Dons blokes. Wheres Mcallister fit in at the moment? He looked pretty promising to me a while back but just seems to have been swallowed up and disappeared. Was slightly suprised at hearing his name in trade talk, even though it didnt happen is he struggiling with injury or just poor form and lack of opportunity?

Re Berbakov, sometimes you just get unlucky situations, and with the lists being reduced and many others ahead of him plus age, well it is a suprise hes been cut.

Really feel for Berbakov - he'd be gutted. Missed so much footy - but truth be told he'd never get back into the seniors... particularly with Henneman coming on.

McAlister has just been starved of opportunities as has McGrath and McVeigh and Eastaugh.

Reckon McGrath (on ball), Hille (ruck), Rioli (everywhere), Jacobs (on ball & forward - like Blumfield) and Henneman (CHB) are all going to be sensational next year having missed out in 2000. Scary thought I suppose....

Must say good luck to Michael Prior at the Eagles - I think a very good pick up for them and has been a very good and consistent player for us over the years when not injured. Onya Micky for a great career so far...

Dutch

dutchman mcgrath never had opportunities
he was recruited to the rookie list this year and was promoted before the finals for ladhams and grgic
was hardly going to get a game in the finals
but his opportunities will come

you also forgot switala, will make a great wing/midfield/half back/ half forward
marcus picket has showed a bit but still a long way to go

Sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings but i dont reckon Henneman will make it. To restricted in his movements and cant 'benndd' he may be a handy back up but no way will he get a game ahead of what you have in your backline already. Trade bait at the end of next season.

Now i'll see if this comes back and bites me on the arse in twelve months time.

ps Dutch while Rioli has the talent for an anywhere role, he wont ever have the fitness, blokes like him are to naturally gifted to work hard at it. Half forward and he go together like Thorpe and size 17feet!

biggrin.gif

Why didnt Essendon trade much ?