Why do people hate Bruce?

• Thread starter Thread starter Slatts

BSA,
I doubt it had anything to do with the Dons forum. From what I read (both here and elsewhere) Russo was almost universally despised for his constant justification of decisions, whether they were good or not. At the end of the day all we all care about is whether a free HAS been paid or not, not WHY!

It would be hard to start a campaign on the Crows forum, because THEY DON'T HAVE ONE!!
They took it away because people were complaining about the Coach and players when the team was playing poorly at the start of the season. They were afraid that players could start litigation or some such rubbish.

I like Cornsey on his radio show, but when he commentates he gets sidetracked and waffles on about something that happened three minutes ago, when you really want to know what is happening this very minute. At the game the crowd gets heated about the umpiring, so when you get home and watch the replay to see just what happened, Graham is waffling on about a totally unrelated incident. Very frustrating.

when will brucie come out of the closet and admit to being *** i think one of the reasons he loves Sydney and thinks they are so speeecialll

blood stained angel--you object to the 'sydneyization' of lockett?--what sort of swans fan are you, in any case. you always seem to be talking them down in favour of north melbourne or some other team.

I hearby officially wish to announce to everyone at this message board that the days of the cultural cringe are over--swans fans are legitimate fans of the footy, not the fickle and uneducated fans the media still try to paint them out to be. so, stop being so defensive and feel proud of your team.

perhaps lockett identifies with sydney so strongly because he got far more out of the club than he did at st kilda--even though he may have kicked more goals or played more games at his first club--obviously he feels more for the club you (and I) supposedly support.

stop being so down on the swans all the time! I don't doubt you are a sincere and passionate fan, you must be (all swans fans are nowdays)--but you should hear yourself! sometimes it certainly doesn't sound like the swans are your team.

I don't know if anyone has said this, but I really wish Bruce would say Shane O'Bree's name right!
As I understand it, it's O-Bree right? But he insists on saying O-ber-ee (as in ovary) instead.

Get up anyone elses nose?

He is the best at 7, who saw the interview on 7 with him and Eddie, very interesting, they were both trying to host the show.

How can people like Hudson? What he actually says is okay but that shrill voice of his really gives me the sh^ts. I was watching commentate Gee vs ? at SS earlier in the season and when Burns kicked a good goal, he got so excited. Trust me , when he warms up that voice of his, noone will wanna watch t.v.

Sandy is one of my hated commentators. I wonder what the all time record is for fitting in cliches in every sentence. I think Sandy goes for that record every match.

Dermie...... He's still finding his feet commentating now that he's on tv not radio. Just tell us who has got the ball and what is happening at the moment.

Bartlett is definitely the best ex-player commentator. I like him. Dennis Commetti is someone I also like. Just gotta love that dry sense of humour.

I won't comment on Sydney ex players, All I'll say is that they give me the sh^ts the most!!!!!

Watched the Crows, Bulldogs game today and listened to Jim Stynes properly for the first time. I was very impressed. He didn't just talk about his ex team mates and his assesment of what was happening seemed quite balanced. He has risen up the list in my books.

I think all the commentators are just as bad as the others - trying to push their own personalities and creating their own "special" phrases that are assocoted with them. All this at the detriment of the game. Just commentate on what's happening on the ground please fellas!!

I think Bruce is obviously the best footy commentator around. Its the people that surround him that stuff it up. Last week:
Hawks v. Magpies
Bruce
Jason Dunstall (ex-Hawthorn)
Dermott Brereton (ex-Hawthorn)
Dipper (ex-Hawthorn)
If he had said something bad about Hawthorn he would have been mauled. A biased panel.
Swans v. Saints
Bruce
Tony Lockett (ex-Sydney)
Paul Roos (ex-Sydney)
The *** boundary rider
You couldn't hear Bruce's worthwhile comments over the sounds of "Ball!" "That should have been a free to the Swans" "Hope Paul Kelly's alright, he's such a great mate of ours " and "Go Sydney." Nobody but Bruce made comments on Brett Moyle's great game and Harvey's injury. All they could talk about was Dunkley getting it on with his wife. A biased panel.

Bruce is simply outnumbered.

aaah give me the old days of Peter Landy, Lou Richards and special comments by Bob Skilton. They made many calls wrong but they had chemistry together. Like their counterparts at the time in the WWE of Vince McMahon, Jesse Ventura and special comments by Bruno Sammartino.

Todays commentators go over the top already in the first quarter of the game. Seems they are trying too hard to get a legendary moment that will live on forever such as

“Jesalanko you beauty”
“If you don’t mind umpire”
“Hit the boundary”
“He did well”

These just came naturally.

What do we have today?

“The ball is bubbling about”

Ok, commentators

My favourite is Dennis Cometti by a mile. Lovely voice, dry humour, virtually unbiased (but does have a soft spot for WCE / Freo) and well informed.

Anthony Hudson is also very good, squeaky shrill voice not withstanding, he knows his footy and displays enthusiasm and good humour without going over the top.

Ian Robertson is not bad, but I get the impression the modern game leaves him a little cold.

Drew Morphett - quite good but his best was years and years ago when he hosted The Winners

Bruce McAvaney - Hate him, hes just so over the top with his overblown rhetoric I find him patronising and mildly offensive.

Sandy Roberts - Beautiful voice but why is he so cliched all the time ?

As for ex footballers commentating - they are all crap, lack professionalism and balance and think they are much better than they really are.

Graham Cornes - a South Australian shocker, always criticising umpires and such a mumbler.

Same goes for Blight - difficult to hear clearly at the best of times.

Doug Hawkins - Grasp of the English language is so poor he shouldn't be engaged in any activity that involves talking. Same goes for Dipper - just a shocker really.

Lockett and Roos are a tag-team joke and are only there to give Sydney viewers something to relate to.

Dunstall and Brereton - know it alls who are just annoying

Healy, Viney, Longmire and Shaw - terrible, just terrible.

Kevin Bartlett - probably the best of the ex-players but what is the phrase I am looking for ?

"most eminent mediocrity"
What is the phrase you are looking for??

KB - legend, best in the business??

aaah give me the old days of Peter Landy, Lou Richards and special comments by Bob Skilton. They made many calls wrong but they had chemistry together. Like their counterparts at the time in the WWE of Vince McMahon, Jesse Ventura and special comments by Bruno Sammartino.

Todays commentators go over the top already in the first quarter of the game. Seems they are trying too hard to get a legendary moment that will live on forever such as

“Jesalanko you beauty”
“If you don’t mind umpire”
“Hit the boundary”
“He did well”

These just came naturally.

What do we have today?

“The ball is bubbling about”
" The next goal is huge" often said in the 1st QTR!

A lot of people I have talked to all hate Bruce Mc. I don't know why. I reckon he is easily Ch 7's best tv commentator. He is very good at picking up the tempo when the action is fast and furious. I haven't seen him commentate too many sh^t games. He's very consistent and not influenced by bias.

..... Well maybe he's slightly influenced by his belovered Sydney. But only marginally.
The only time I have had to switch off because of him was when Plugger reached his milestone goal. Now that was a load of drivel I admit....

Commentators I simply can't stand include Dermie, Sandy, a Hudson. Also hate Sydney players-Plugger and Roos, My god they are so bias towards Sydney that its embarassing.
I know they want to promote the game there but don't sugar coat everything towards Sydney- please.
Hate is a strong word!

I like Bruce. Nobody does their homework better than him. Sure he has his favourite players, and (now) often gets it wrong (I put that down to age and illness). But he is still easily one of the best.

An aside. After the 1988 Seoul Olympics which Channel 10 called I remember running into Bruce in a restaurant in Camberwell. I mentioned in passing to him how much I enjoyed his call and Bruce thanked me. When he was leaving the restaurant a few hours later Bruce came over to my table and shook my hand, thanked me again and said just how much it meant to him to get positive feedback like that. Hell of a nice guy with absolutely no tickets on himself, and not something you would expect any other commentator to do.

He’s become a parody of himself.

Once great, now well past his use by.

Yeah Bruce 2000 was fine. Bruce 2020 is grating. It all started to go down hill when Ch 7 decided that him and Commetti were a double act. Bruce setting Dennis up for a quip all seemed very forced. Ch 7 on the whole have become a terrible football broadcaster.

Agree, there was the good, knowledgable Bruce, that wasn't over the top and then it's been the decline over the years.

However in fairness to Bruce, the commentary used to be better when it was more focussed without it being a boys club.
Sometimes I feel like the commentary now is like new born chicks all chirping for their mum's attention for a bit of food.

If only Ch10's US owners were still interested in sport, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

No one on be hates him do they?
Surely they are being precious don’t you think?

So many rhetorical questions

I don't hate him, I'm tired of him. You know exactly what he's going to say before he says it.

He's patronising to Indigenous players. It's not all 'special skills, oh he's a special player, you've got to admire those skills.' There's room for Byron Pickett too.

Speaking of bumps, good one, well done on using the search feature. 21 years old, that must be a record.