Why do WA and SA only have one AFL stadium each?

Jesus christ. Okay so we are counting Mars Stadium as am AFL ground to aspire to? That's an AFL ground only to help a club expand/consolidate their footprint.

Same with the Tasmanian grounds. They are accepted to help Hawks/Kangas expand theirs but remember, neither stadium was acceptable to the AFL for a standalone footy team so don't give me this 4 grounds for 10 teams bs.

The reality is that if any of the WA/SA teams wanted to go and take their brand to the regions they may be able to do it for a game or two a season but you wouldn't suggest that whatever suburban ground they build a commentary box on is all of a sudden an AFL venue. Plus there is noone in the regions of those states.

It is a ratio of 1 ground:2 teams in SA WA. That is superior to the Melbourne ratio of 2 grounds:9 teams.

Okay Sydney has a ground each but they, like Brisbane/Gold Coast are geographically different.

You dont spend hundreds of millions of dollars to build a stadium so it can sit empty every second weekend. Even less so when it doesn't have the opportunity to host grand finals etc.

Haha this is just too good.
Yep..I also wonder why WA and SA, who have recently built world class modern stadiums, aren’t inspired to try and build stadiums to complete with Darwin, Alice Springs and Townsville.

It’s crazy stuff really.

Where do the WAFL and SANFL teams play?

Much happier attending a redeveloped Adelaide Oval for both football & cricket.... than 2 sub-standard facilities prior to the upgrade.

Made perfect sense to have 1 quality stadium.

Reckon WA are a monty for a 3rd team shortly after Tasmania. Both freo and WC have big enough followings, are financially stable, population is accellarating, and a third team would average home crowds at a minimum of 30-35,000, which would smoke the likes of Melbourne, Stkilda, Bulldogs, North, Hawthorn, not to mention the rugby state teams.

It would be financially irresponsible not to have team 20 from there.

Reckon WA are a monty for a 3rd team shortly after Tasmania. Both freo and WC have big enough followings, are financially stable, population is accellarating, and a third team would average home crowds at a minimum of 30-35,000, which would smoke the likes of Melbourne, Stkilda, Bulldogs, North, Hawthorn, not to mention the rugby state teams.

It would be financially irresponsible not to have team 20 from there.
Yeah nah.

You would end up with another tin rattler team.

Pointless.

With SA and WA not having a second ground that is used for AFL games, it would hurt their chances for hosting the Magic Round that has been pontificated by Gil.

Just like it hurt their chances to host the whole covid hub.

With SA and WA not having a second ground that is used for AFL games, it would hurt their chances for hosting the Magic Round that has been pontificated by Gil.

It wasn't a problem for SA being able to host magic round this year and for the following three years. Could they play games at Subiaco Oval if WA were to host magic round?

Games played at recess and lunch time.

WA could manage it as well, Stadium for the main games, WACA for the next tier down, Joondalup or Leederville or Fremantle for a couple of low-drawing games.
I was going to mention how great would it be to have footy back at the WACA. A short bus ride from the CBD after work would be perfect for the 6:10pm WST friday night game under lights. Then you can have 3-4 games at Optus.

Waca, Joondalup and Leederville all good for AFL.

Waca 20k joondalup 16k and leederville 15k

Good call mate 😂😂😂

It does pose the question, if there was some sort of incident at Optus Stadium or Adelaide Oval, that rendered them unable to host AFL games, what is the contingency plan?

As any other venue is not up to scratch. Less than half the capacity as the biggest, and no where near the same level of corporate facilities.

I’m fairly confident that they’d find a suitable ground somewhere without too much hassle.

It does pose the question, if there was some sort of incident at Optus Stadium or Adelaide Oval, that rendered them unable to host AFL games, what is the contingency plan?

As any other venue is not up to scratch. Less than half the capacity as the biggest, and no where near the same level of corporate facilities.

I think we would just wear the lower capacity.

I think in SA we would set up a temporary facility lke they did at Mount Barker. As long as you have space around the ground and money then anything is possible.

There will be a time and it's probably not that far away where the Western Stand at AO will need to be rebuilt. Alot has changed since that was built and a way to increase capacity while saving the Hill if there is the demand. Maybe planning starts in ten years.

I presume they will move everyone around and cut the tickets during construction.

4 afl grounds available, but more importantly no covid in wa.

We had a normal life. After 2 weeks iso the players could have too. They could have played the entire season in front of crowds.

Waca, Joondalup and Leederville all good for AFL.

Waca 20k joondalup 16k and leederville 15k
I think Freo could work as well. Not sure what the capacity is but it is easy enough to get to by train. Schedule some extra buses for other areas and it'd would be fairly simple.

Shouldn’t SA and WA have four teams each considering they are major footy states only second to Victoria?

SA

Port Adelaide Power
Norwood Redlegs
Sturt Bluebirds
Adelaide Crows representing the rest

WA

East Perth Royal
Subiaco Cougars
Fremantle Dockers representing the Fremantle area
West Coast Eagles representing the rest
Subiaco ManBearPigs

Good call mate [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

I never would have presumed the AFL would have been ok to use 2 grounds with less than 10,000 capacity. I sure was wrong. It seems the smaller capacity (which increased the likelihood of sell outs) and the amount of funding coming from the SA Government was enticing enough.

Collingwood got less than 15k to whatever its called this week stadium a couple years ago

That is true. But not a lot of effort has gone in to ensuring the game remains the activity of choice on a Saturday afternoon in the country.
And here is where the problem lies.

The AFL doesn't give a stuff about the SANFL or WAFL.

If they did, they would invest more money in country SA and country WA.

The AFL has no issues putting in cash to country Victoria. See the nab or tac cup or whatever league it's called now

Funny that the eagles and dockers are the ones that fund country WA footy with their revenue.

Yeah nah.

You would end up with another tin rattler team.

Pointless.
The Western Australian footy commision or WAFC would disagree with your view.

The WAFC would love a 3rd license to own.

They don't care about the dockers , as long as they make money.

I sort of wished Subiaco wasn't demolished as that ground would of suited the 3rd WAFL side.

Then again, the WACA could be used as a temporary home ground

Why do WA and SA only have one AFL stadium each?

Write your reply...