Why do workers vote Liberal?

Labor abandoned the working class. Labor no longer the workers party but the wokers party. Completely out of touch with their core voter base.Massive swing against Labor in West Melbourne and West Sydney. Its this voter that will teach Labor its is nothing without the workers at the next election. Not before tim,e too.

Remember Plibersek: "I don't know where this aspiration comes from..."

Really Tanya- the daughter of post war immigrants from Eastern Euorpe attends a private school, attends a prestigious uiniveristy, rises to second in charge of the Federal opposition of her country on an annual salary 10x more than her average voter amassing a multi-million dollar property protfolio along the way before she's 50 years old..DOESN'T KNOW WHAT ASPIRATION MEANS
Not according to random shazz in sydneys west that i spoke to today

morrison - ****head
gladys - ok

Labor abandoned the working class. Labor no longer the workers party but the wokers party. Completely out of touch with their core voter base.Massive swing against Labor in West Melbourne and West Sydney. Its this voter that will teach Labor its is nothing without the workers at the next election. Not before tim,e too.

Remember Plibersek: "I don't know where this aspiration comes from..."

Really Tanya- the daughter of post war immigrants from Eastern Euorpe attends a private school, attends a prestigious uiniveristy, rises to second in charge of the Federal opposition of her country on an annual salary 10x more than her average voter amassing a multi-million dollar property protfolio along the way before she's 50 years old..DOESN'T KNOW WHAT ASPIRATION MEANS

I would be really surprised if Tanya made such a clueless comment when she knows people send their kids to school hoping to better themselves.

I can assure you 100% she did exactly that- the exact quote was : " ‘Honestly, this aspiration term — it mystifies me’, . DYOR if you don't believe me.

It was one of three classic Labor election comments:

Chris Bowen : "If you don't like, don't vote for us." And the electorate said : "Sure Chris, we won't".

And of course the class warfare platform that was the central pillar of their campaign : The Top End of Town. Apparently anyone who owns CBA shares and gets franking credits or negative gears a rental is "The Top End of Town". Of course millions of Labors working class voters had and did exactly that...

Here' an accurate account of what's going on that answers the question of thread, not that I expect the far Left within Labor to listen. They still think it was the *way* the message was delivered, not the policies that cost them the election...

Labor. The woking [insert gender of choice here] Party.

Not according to random shazz in sydneys west that i spoke to today

morrison - fu**head
gladys - ok

Oh sure there's the rusted on ones who still Believe, that Labor is by the working class for the working class, and they will never change.

What matters is the swingers:

Oh sure there's the rusted on ones who still Believe, that Labor is by the working class for the working class, and they will never change.

What matters is the swingers:

Yeah we've mentioned this a few times on here since the last election.

How lower income areas voted lib and higher voted Labor ( on the whole )

I won't dig up the relevant articles because i've already done so about 12 times but if you have a play with the search bar, there'll be some posts you can have a suss of.

think it was during one of Krams " episodes "

The only aspiration a Liberal Party voter seems to have is to kick sand in the face of a cripple and at the moment they're getting their way.

See the problem with that is that many current Liberal voters once were Labor voters.

But that was back in the day when Labor actually wasn't offended by the smell of the working man's sweat. Voting Greens Lite doesn't cut through with those growing number of ex-Labor voters. Class warfare rhetoric doesn't cut through to them when its not backed by policy and action either.

Plibersek has a $1+ million dollar annual household income and multiple rentals which at some point at least she would have negative geared. Now that she's there, she wants to pull up the ladder for everyone else-and is mystified why that might a problem...

The only aspiration a Liberal Party voter seems to have is to kick sand in the face of a cripple and at the moment they're getting their way.
But they’re not really crippled. They could use their arms to drag themselves out of the way but they are just too lazy !!!!11!11

TO be honest,

While it's stupid of them to vote this way,

I can see why blue collar poorly educated people can relate more to people like Morrison, Abbott and Cash than they can to Shorten, Albanese and Plibersek.

Morrison and Cash barely sound like they went to private school. The LNP is failed business people who people can relate to. They guy is one of the worst, but Christensen is exactly like half his constituents. Slothful, well-paid and spends a tiny bit of time at the parlours in SE Asia. I reckon a lot of Qld FIFO miners can relate to his lifestyle.

The ALP appear to be all lawyers and far too well spoken and removed from ordinary people, especially the workers.

The ALP needs some actual blue collar workers and union members to run for higher office or any office, not their so-called representatives with legal degrees and private school educations.

There's gotta be some teachers, nurses or somebody who wants to run for office (not saying they need to be the PM or deputy PM, but just one or two people workers can relate to.)
Albo sounds like he's been private school educated and Cash doesn't. Really?

Since when has being well educated and well-spoken been an obstacle to being accepted electorally on the Labor side of politics. Whitlam, Gillard, Rudd, Keating. Many on the State scene haven't found it to be an obstacle either.

What I find intriguing is that at a time when workers wages are reducing, when they are losing employment bargaining power, are being systematically underpaid, have lost security and benefits through casualisation, have lost penalty rates, get the worst end of the stick when it comes to taxation, and the Liberals are hunting workers with the likes of Robodebt while overlooking the plutocracies plundering et al, all due to Liberal policy workers accept this s**t. Your explanation is that it's due to well educated well spoken Labor pollies just doesn't cut it. It's either workers are easily duped, are thick, or are so uninterested in politics they are blind to the reality they are being right royally screwed.

I'm interested in knowing why PAYEE workers and employees generally vote Liberal when it is antithetical to their best interests.

I understand why those born with a silver spoon in every orifice who live a privileged existence like Millie want to protect their privileged lifestyle and let the workers "eat cake". However for the workers, under the Liberal stewardship:

1. Wages have stagnated. Every occasion there is a wage case put to the Liberal stacked Fair Work Commission the Liberals fight tooth and nail to oppose it.

2. The Liberals have casualised the workforce thereby robbing workers of job security and bargaining power and is a major factor in underemployment.

3. Whenever there are tax cuts it's the top end who are by far the major beneficiaries.

4. Executive pay has exploded as have payouts to failed executives.

5. The Liberals have sat on their hands while the big end of town has rorted the system. No better example than the banks.

6. Underpayment of workers is rife.

7. The Liberals wet dream is to Americanise the workforce where workers have to have little security, the pay is so poor workers need to work 2 and 3 jobs to keep a roof over their heads and in industries like hospitality and tourism rely on tips to survive.

8. Shown they have no genuine regard for women

9. Left us with a record deficit.

10. Want to privatise every government asset they can get a return on and do it stealthily - most recently Australia Post.

11. Waste millions of taxpayer funds on consultant mates.

12. "Dob Seeker" is an attack on the least among us.
libs give tax cuts to low income workers and capital owners. They took away childcare subsidies from high income workers and gave higher subsidies to low income worekrs.

libs work for the tradies/farmers and fair dinkum Aussie families and the capital owners. They hate the educated workforce Such as doctors, engineers, scientists etc.

they only screw over high income workers.

libs give tax cuts to low income workers and capital owners. They took away childcare subsidies from high income workers and gave higher subsidies to low income worekrs.

libs work for the tradies/farmers and fair dinkum Aussie families and the capital owners. They hate the educated workforce Such as doctors, engineers, scientists etc.

yeah sure. that"s why people are working two jobs. the disparity between workers and the rich hsa never been greater. the wealth of the rich has never been higher. many of whom pay no tax.

The cost of living is outstripping most working people. minor tax reductions doesn't make up the difference.

Wealth accumulation is where the biggest difference is. The wealth escalator of property ownership is beyond most people.

Even the benefits of superannuation are being attacked by the protection party of the wealthy, the LNP.

Interesting view of ALP supporters demographics past, present and future. Sorry if already posted:

You mustn't have read the fine print where the low income workers are about to lose their tax cuts which were temporary and the educated workforce are about to get $5k tax cuts each per year.

You're right that they hate educated people, though.

Albo sounds like he's been private school educated and Cash doesn't. Really?

Since when has being well educated and well-spoken been an obstacle to being accepted electorally on the Labor side of politics. Whitlam, Gillard, Rudd, Keating. Many on the State scene haven't found it to be an obstacle either.

What I find intriguing is that at a time when workers wages are reducing, when they are losing employment bargaining power, are being systematically underpaid, have lost security and benefits through casualisation, have lost penalty rates, get the worst end of the stick when it comes to taxation, and the Liberals are hunting workers with the likes of Robodebt while overlooking the plutocracies plundering et al, all due to Liberal policy workers accept this s**t. Your explanation is that it's due to well educated well spoken Labor pollies just doesn't cut it. It's either workers are easily duped, are thick, or are so uninterested in politics they are blind to the reality they are being right royally screwed.

The problem is that when millionaire politicians with private school educations try to explain it to them, they don't trust them. The trust has eroded from all politicians.

Don't forget what the NSW Labor Party has been convicted of. We're talking mostly about NSW and QLD people and for some reason, the ALP has decided they'd rather fight for the inner-city types rather than the outer urban and rural working classes. Commitments to closing coal mines and wishy-washy commitments about what comes next is silly. Their policy should have been the other way around. Commitments to what the new jobs are for those regions/people first, worry about closing coal plants later, since it's mostly not even a Govt decision.

If you read a speech by Cash, you'd understand it regardless of education level. I'm guessing their public discourse is the same level as party-room discourse. The LNP have to talk to each other in short sentences whereas I imagine the ALP party room is 90% governance interjections and 10% self-righteousness.

You mustn't have read the fine print where the low income workers are about to lose their tax cuts which were temporary and the educated workforce are about to get $5k tax cuts each per year.

You're right that they hate educated people, though.
Atleast the low income earners got there’s. Those high income tax cuts will never happen. They are dangled like a carrot to keep high income earners on side. But if they didn’t happen during covid they never will.

someone has to pay off the debt. It certainly won’t be capital owners or low income workers.

One of the first things tony Abbott did when he came to power is impose a 2 percentage point tax levy on all the high income owners. he then took away their child care Subsidies.

they then increased all the tax rates on the super of high income earners. High income earners now pay taxes on money they wont see for 30 years.

they then increased the cost of uni courses.

make no mistake. The liberal party hates high income workers. They don’t want people rising up the classes due to things like merit and intelligence.

Atleast the low income earners got there’s. Those high income tax cuts will never happen. They are dangled like a carrot to keep high income earners on side. But if they didn’t happen during covid they never will.

someone has to pay off the debt. It certainly won’t be capital owners or low income workers.

One of the first things tony Abbott did when he came to power is impose a 2 percentage point tax levy on all the high income owners. he then took away their child care Subsidies.

they then increased all the tax rates on the super of high income earners. High income earners now pay taxes on money they wont see for 30 years.

they then increased the cost of uni courses.

make no mistake. The liberal party hates high income workers. They don’t want people rising up the classes due to things like merit and intelligence.

You obviously haven't read the fine print yourself. They're already legislated to happen. They had to legislate to extend the low-income cuts, but unless new legislation is passed, the higher income tax cut happens and the low-income one expires.

The bracket creep happening to lower income earners was greater than the impact of a 2% tax on the very rich who's income has increased a lot more than the 2% additional tax over the same period.

You're absolutely right about the LNP being against merit and intelligence. It's basically the one consistent position they hold.

But the tax cuts coming are being paid for with cuts to Medicare, stalled pensions and hare-brained schemes like Robodebt.

Don't forget what the NSW Labor Party has been convicted of. We're talking mostly about NSW and QLD people and for some reason, the ALP has decided they'd rather fight for the inner-city types rather than the outer urban and rural working classes. Commitments to closing coal mines and wishy-washy commitments about what comes next is silly. Their policy should have been the other way around. Commitments to what the new jobs are for those regions/people first, worry about closing coal plants later, since it's mostly not even a Govt decision.
I mostly agree. Elections are won in the suburbs and in regional cities, which is where Labor need to fight. If that means the Greens taking over the inner city, so be it, because there aren't that many inner-city electorates, there's no chance of the Greens backing a Coalition government in the event of a hung parliament and 82% of Greens preferences flow to Labor anyway.

The only thing I'd quibble with is the need to appeal to the rural working class, unless you're including the regional working class in that term. The bulk of the rural working class is socially conservative and wouldn't vote for Labor regardless of their economic focus, but that's not a big deal since rural electorates don't decide elections either.

I mostly agree. Elections are won in the suburbs and in regional cities, which is where Labor need to fight. If that means the Greens taking over the inner city, so be it, because there aren't that many inner-city electorates, there's no chance of the Greens backing a Coalition government in the event of a hung parliament and 82% of Greens preferences flow to Labor anyway.

The only thing I'd quibble with is the need to appeal to the rural working class, unless you're including the regional working class in that term. The bulk of the rural working class is socially conservative and wouldn't vote for Labor regardless of their economic focus, but that's not a big deal since rural electorates don't decide elections either.

I was thinking more like places in the Hunter and regional Qld towns and outer areas of Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne etc.

The LNP don't fight with the Nats over country areas, I don't think the ALP should fight over inner-city electorates so much because it's costing them too many votes in the outer suburbs and drawing too much focus.

I was thinking more like places in the Hunter and regional Qld towns and outer areas of Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne etc.

The LNP don't fight with the Nats over country areas, I don't think the ALP should fight over inner-city electorates so much because it's costing them too many votes in the outer suburbs and drawing too much focus.

you're plan means giving up green preferences because to get those seats you have to have a hardcore pro coal/logging/land clearing policy platform

and there are fewer of these seats in play than there are inner city seats in Melbourne/Sydney/Brisbane

Ironically, Liberal Party voters help 'cripples' as you call them a lot more than the morally superior, virtue signalling Labor voters through the high amount of tax they contribute.

Just more wealth envy from you, as usual.

you're plan means giving up green preferences because to get those seats you have to have a hardcore pro coal/logging/land clearing policy platform

and there are fewer of these seats in play than there are inner city seats in Melbourne/Sydney/Brisbane
I'm not sure winning over outer suburbs of capital cities requires you to be hardcore per se. The Hunter, yes, but not the outer suburbs.

And there are many more suburban seats in cities than inner city seats, especially in Brisbane which doesn't have that big an inner city population. The Division of Brisbane is held by the Liberals because the CBD and surrounds don't have enough people, so Brisbane's versions of Toorak and Brighton have to be combined with it and they make the seat blue.

You might let the Greens win 2-3 seats in inner-city locations because you don't commit to Climate Change. You commit to new jobs for outer urban areas (you don't need to be hardcore pro-coal, just not anti-coal/logging).

Then when you win 6 seats from the LNP, you've won, but you have to form a coalition with the Greens and you give those people new jobs and the coal mines close anyway (like they already are).

This is what the Libs did with the Nats and it continues to work. They stiff the Nat regions on healthcare and infrastructure, but give them diesel exemptions and a couple of other crumbs.

You might let the Greens win 2-3 seats in inner-city locations because you don't commit to Climate Change. You commit to new jobs for outer urban areas (you don't need to be hardcore pro-coal, just not anti-coal/logging).

Then when you win 6 seats from the LNP, you've won, but you have to form a coalition with the Greens and you give those people new jobs and the coal mines close anyway (like they already are).

This is what the Libs did with the Nats and it continues to work. They stiff the Nat regions on healthcare and infrastructure, but give them diesel exemptions and a couple of other crumbs.

greens are true believers. They will not form govt will a party that wants to revitalize the Hunter with fracking

the nats is different because they sold out their constituents for the lib agenda long ago