Why does Adelaide get such a bad wrap?

Devils Elbow is not used by trucks it is now the South Eastern Freeway, and I think you are saying the Britannia Roundabout and that is still there.(Blast)

That thing is the bane of every commuters existance.

IMO the true answer is "because Adelaide is not Sydney or Melbourne and does not aspire to be, where Brisbane and Perth do". Also known as the "you sold your native breweries' souls and we didn't" defence. Our beer makes people go "huh?" as well.

To take a bit of a leap... I wonder if "the difference" just goes back to the relative sizes of the 60s-70s resource booms in the 3 states and the amount of capital rolling around looking for things to demolish. WA/QLD have conservative governments and loads of brown paper bags of money rolling in, here we had a Labor premier wearing pink hot pants to parliament. Cops would have spotted him a mile away picking up brown paper bags of money, even if there were any to be had.

we were just talking about this in tourism!

we came to this

Adelaide is Australia's retirement villiage.

Adelaide's better than where I came from though!
Any day!

and in melbourne it takes you half an in a car to go 100 metres. *raises left eyebrow*

Paul your stretching the truth a bit.

Its the race Arnold (Labor) gave to the Vics out of spite. Due to the fact that the Libs were going to win the next election because of John Bannon's State Bank con job.

The GP was already gone before the state election.

2 things one i am curious as to how you know my first name

2.It was meant as a joke i have no interest in politics except on election nights when my mates and i have bets on the close seats and only went to 2 GPs as no interest in Car Racing.I like my horse power with 4 legs.

Sorry Port fans, thought I'd delve into this.:thumbsu: I love living in Adelaide, its no way near as hard to get around as other states I believe, because of our population size. I also tend to think eastern states think we are 'behind' in terms of technology and what not. When really, we are about to witness the contruction of the biggest and most advanced swimming centre in Australia (even though it has taken yonks for it finally to be contructed!). For a state behind in technology, I doubt they could achieve such a contruction. I love living here, and would happily for my entire life.

Devils Elbow is not used by trucks it is now the South Eastern Freeway, and I think you are saying the Britannia Roundabout and that is still there.(Blast)
It Lives on !! HAHAHA!!.... gee in the old days when you used to have the Vic park races on a Saturday The Magic Roundabout used to be a nightmare
At least Adelaide has not got the worst drivers, Perth wins that hands down by a country mile.

No worries.

I was gonna make the same thread on your board but didn't coz I barely visit it.

re swimming centre, kinda ridiculous how it's gonna be at Marion though....
Well it seems they have always planned it for there, so it hasnt been a suprise for a long time now. However, the location is a little odd, but its good for the Southerners like me I guess!:thumbsu:

Agree with Magpiespower..
========================================
Even though Adelaide will always be 'home' I still find it to be a stifled, conservative, navel-gazing city.

Only reason I head back now is to see Mum who's getting on a bit. Once the old duck goes, I really won't have a reason to return.
=========================================

I'd add that it does seem a bit like an old-folks home too now...every time I've been back it seems the population demographic is nearing retirement! (My parents are still there too...and they're getting on a bit!).

Melbourne is the best place I've lived...much more to offer, and my house is in Richmond within walking distance of the MCG, the city, tennis centre, etc..... and I love my sport!

Living in Houston now....due to work....would take Adelaide over this place anyday. They don't know what fine wines are, nor classy restaurants, public transport, white, sandy beaches....I could go on and on.

The easy answer to this is what other city in Australia would hold a royal commission into erecting light towers?

The problem with Adelaide is simple: the people who are here don't want anyone else to come and mess up their pristine retirement village. So they stifle change, complain bitterly about anything that looks remotely like progress, and shout down anyone who presents a clear vision for the city.

Case in point - the river bank of the Torrens. Why couldn't this be a strip of restaurants and entertainment ala Darling Harbour or Crown Casino? Instead, we have losers like Rann promoting the site of the old RAH as an open-space like Federation Square in Melbourne - without the pubs and restaurants. I'm sorry, but the reason why Federation Square works is BECAUSE it is surrounded by pubs and restaurants.

Two days in a row (Friday was an "Exclusive" :rolleyes:) Wayne Carey occupies half of the front page of our only locally produced daily newspaper. :eek:

LOL at people who whinge about Adelaide and the small town mentality and then complain that the new swimming centre is going to be built at Marion. I'm sure there was a similar hew and cry in Sydney that the Olympic Stadium was not going to be built at Circular Quay. :)

Two days in a row (Friday was an "Exclusive" :rolleyes:) Wayne Carey occupies half of the front page of our only locally produced daily newspaper. :eek:

:)

Just curious

Your reasoning for saying this should not be on the front is

A: Cause he is a ex Crows player
B: Hes Victorian
C: Its not front page worthy
D: All of the above

Theres so many ways to go about answering this, or giving an opinion. Hell I always think about this question. Why is Adelaide so shit compared to the other cities.

I seem to think the State Bank is the answer. During the late 1980's Adelaide was said to be in a boom. They were even planning a second city for Monarto (where now a safari is). Then through some stupid deceison making on a state backed bank, the state was left with a debt that only this year was paid off. Something to the tune of 9 billion I think(?).

Debt paid for by the tax payer. That money could have built a two way freeway to the south, train lines, tram lines, a new stadium, public works all over the place.

Put simply, for over ten years Adelaide could not afford to build the infrastructure that the other states were building. And thus we were stuck in our time warp. We also made some ridiculous choices in those years, such as propping up unsustainable business and such. You also have to remember that the mid 90's was Oz's boom period. Yet Adelaide just froze. Nothing much of ANYTHING happened. I read a stat somewhere that a crane was not on Adelaides skyline for over 5 years!

And another thing also happened, to tune that debt we had to sell assets. Assets to service our debt. Assets which other states would use to fund roads and alike, public works on massive scales. (however NSW still owns alot of assets...but look how that worked out for them...what a basketcase that place is!).

And thus we enter the twenty first century. We have paid off our debt, and now we are here. A poor mans Victoria.

However looking at alot of the indicators, SA is set to make a quick catch up.

SA has near record low unemployment, improving migration numbers, low office vacancy rates (sign of business confidence) etc. Plus we are seeing more public works these last few years then ever before. Tram extentions, train line to seaford, Gallipoli Underpass, Bakewell underpass, South Road Superway, Northern Connector. Mining and Defence are taking the employment left behind manufacturing.

So I reckon we have endured the shit, its only up from here, and with the recession I reckon we will catch up much faster.

Lastly, I just hope SA starts making some long term plans about making the state better. Stupid choices like building a state swimming centre in Marion is just yet another example of short sightedness. Spending money on single sport stadiums is perhaps the most ridiculous thing about SA. Now that we have the money, we have to use it properly, and not on band aid solutions.

Anyway, just remember SA is heaps good, or atleast it will be... soon...hopefully(!)
Seriously, how on earth is the new swimming centre a marion a stupid idea? Far out, it will bring top line swimming competitions to Adelaide which means better tourism, and a boost for the economy. Olympic trials, Worlds trials and the like will be held right here in Adelaide, and maybe even the next Commonwealth games in Aus will be held here as Swimming Australia will want to show off their new facility. You do not have a clue as to how signigicant this is for the state, its going to be the best swimming centre in Australia for goodness sakes! Take pride it will be located here in Adelaide.

Adelaide has produced some great talent Apart from the footy talent

World great cricketers Ian and Greg Chappell

Bands such as Cold Chisel Master Apprentices The Angels very successfull Australian Bands

Glen Berrigen a silver Medilast at the Olympics Glyniss Nunn A Gold Medilast Dean Lukin A Gold Medal

Greatest Horse trainer this Country maybe the world WILL EVER SEE Bart Cummings and Colin Hayes

Wimbledon Winner yeah i know Lleyton Crow Hewitt but a lot of great players did not win Wimbledon

Critically acclaimed actors Gary Sweet Peter O'Brien

International Successfull actor Anthony La Paglia

WE go alright here in sleepy hollow

Adelaide has produced some great talent Apart from the footy talent

World great cricketers Ian and Greg Chappell

Bands such as Cold Chisel Master Apprentices The Angels very successfull Australian Bands

Glen Berrigen a silver Medilast at the Olympics Glyniss Nunn A Gold Medilast Dean Lukin A Gold Medal

Greatest Horse trainer this Country maybe the world WILL EVER SEE Bart Cummings and Colin Hayes

Wimbledon Winner yeah i know Lleyton Crow Hewitt but a lot of great players did not win Wimbledon

Critically acclaimed actors Gary Sweet Peter O'Brien

International Successfull actor Anthony La Paglia

WE go alright here in sleepy hollow
All those big names really mean nothing for the average South Aussie, what does count is things like Bridgestones pulling the rug up and leaving 600 workers out in the cold.

The easy answer to this is what other city in Australia would hold a royal commission into erecting light towers?

The problem with Adelaide is simple: the people who are here don't want anyone else to come and mess up their pristine retirement village. So they stifle change, complain bitterly about anything that looks remotely like progress, and shout down anyone who presents a clear vision for the city.
You have said it as it is Janus,you win the Villi's pie pack and a carton of Coopers

LOL at people who whinge about Adelaide and the small town mentality and then complain that the new swimming centre is going to be built at Marion. I'm sure there was a similar hew and cry in Sydney that the Olympic Stadium was not going to be built at Circular Quay. :)

Despite my earlier remark about the location, I'm glad that we're getting such a swimming centre, and obviously am glad that it will be located somewhere in suburbia, as opposed to nowhere at all :thumbsu:

Will have great results for the state.

All those big names really mean nothing for the average South Aussie, what does count is things like Bridgestones pulling the rug up and leaving 600 workers out in the cold.

Good point and the place where I use to work might be gone in 6 months not there fault but that's the problem when you depend solely on uncle Sam

Seriously, how on earth is the new swimming centre a marion a stupid idea? Far out, it will bring top line swimming competitions to Adelaide which means better tourism, and a boost for the economy. Olympic trials, Worlds trials and the like will be held right here in Adelaide, and maybe even the next Commonwealth games in Aus will be held here as Swimming Australia will want to show off their new facility. You do not have a clue as to how signigicant this is for the state, its going to be the best swimming centre in Australia for goodness sakes! Take pride it will be located here in Adelaide.

I agree with what you have said, but is it in the right location?

IMO, I think that was his point. I don’t think anyone could dispute the fact it needed to be built but the centre had to be built in a central location, not 5 or 10 kilometres in suburbia.

They needed to build it adjacent to the North Adelaide swimming complex and then bulldoze the current one. If they wanted a second one in Marion, build the something but on a much smaller scale and budget.

Just curious

Your reasoning for saying this should not be on the front is

A: Cause he is a ex Crows player
B: Hes Victorian
C: Its not front page worthy
D: All of the above
C: It's not front page worthy.

It is not even news. It is a shameless plug for his book and News Ltd has obviously paid some big bucks to be able to publish "exclusive" extracts.

The fact that he is an ex-Crows player and therefore a major celebrity in Adelaide may make something he did newsworthy but when did the events reported in those two front page articles occur? The day before? The week before? Try thirty f@#$% years ago. ".... My brother tried to murder my father when I was 18 months old .....". Fantastic recall for someone so young :rolleyes:

Wayne Carey is not a Victorian, he was born in, and grew up in NSW. However his state of birth is irrelevant to his actions being newsworthy.

Any international visitor, let alone interstate visitor, glancing at their complimentary copy of The Advertiser over breakfast in their hotel is sent the message loud and clear, "Welcome to Hicksville".

Exactly. Just as I pointed out, we have singular sport stadiums all over this city. We need centralised stadiums, that are multisports. We don't need a Aquatic centre and a state swimming centre(located in a suburb) FFS
Fair enough. I'm not sure why they chose the location, but everyone has known for ten years it will be built there, so there has been time if you felt a more central location would be suitable, which I do agree with.

C: It's not front page worthy.

It is not even news. It is a shameless plug for his book and News Ltd has obviously paid some big bucks to be able to publish "exclusive" extracts.

The fact that he is an ex-Crows player and therefore a major celebrity in Adelaide may make something he did newsworthy but when did the events reported in those two front page articles occur? The day before? The week before? Try thirty f@#$% years ago. ".... My brother tried to murder my father when I was 18 months old .....". Fantastic recall for someone so young :rolleyes:

Wayne Carey is not a Victorian, he was born in, and grew up in NSW. However his state of birth is irrelevant to his actions being newsworthy.

Any international visitor, let alone interstate visitor, glancing at their complimentary copy of The Advertiser over breakfast in their hotel is sent the message loud and clear, "Welcome to Hicksville".
Cant disagree with that. There are far more newsworthy matters that are current right now which could have been put there instead. A whole front page for an ex player plugging his book aint needed.