boffo

There are thousands of blokes playing footy every week for nothing, for the sheer fun of playing.

Wouldn't it be great if a fantastic former AFL player like Ben Hart said 'well, I reckon I can still play...I'll play for North Adelaide for the sheer joy of playing'.

Would be good for SANFL footy, good for NAFC and hopefully good for Ben. He may even get to play in another Premiership.

And I'm not even a North supporter!

Would be great for the SANFL competition. Didn't Josh Francou say that he was going to try and play a few games for North as well? I'm sure A Jars will be on the phone soon if he hasn't already.

I reckon Ben is keen to test the water with the other 15 AFL clubs.....

if that doesn't turn up anything - I reckon he will try and stay with the Crows in an off-field role.

The tough thing for Ben is.....during his adult life - he has known nothing else other than playing for the AFC.

boffo said:
There are thousands of blokes playing footy every week for nothing, for the sheer fun of playing.

Wouldn't it be great if a fantastic former AFL player like Ben Hart said 'well, I reckon I can still play...I'll play for North Adelaide for the sheer joy of playing'.

Would be good for SANFL footy, good for NAFC and hopefully good for Ben. He may even get to play in another Premiership.

I can see what you are saying mate but these blokes are professionals not amateurs. They put themselves through more rigorous training and spend more months a year training than us amateurs do. I think asking them to play for nothing would be probably be a small smack in the face considering what he has been doing the past 15 years. If it was a match like Showdown, by all accounts yes as it is for a good cause. He has been in a business for 15 years and to work for nothing probably wouldn't gel with him so I think he would test the waters with the 15 other clubs before making any big decisions. These AFL players have managers who "guide" them in the right direction and playing for free would probably not appeal to them. The love of the guernsey went out years ago as we know. Footy as become a business these ddays and sadly enough there is only a smaller amount of love than there used to be. There is still pride for the guernsey but like I said its all business.

I doubt Ben Hart will come back and play for North next season. It would be awesome if he did though.
Josh Francou has said he will have a crack, see how he goes over the preseason and hopefully he gets fully fit because he will become an important player for us.

RoosterLad said:
I doubt Ben Hart will come back and play for North next season. It would be awesome if he did though.
Josh Francou has said he will have a crack, see how he goes over the preseason and hopefully he gets fully fit because he will become an important player for us.
Why?....if he has a desire to continue to play this would be a perfect way to "ease" himself out of footy.

After all he has played footy almost half his life...he knows very little else

boffo said:

Not a bad idea.

Perhaps Ben could play for the Roosters & have a development role at the Crows at the same time. Wouldn't be too taxing I would have thought.

I really hope he doesn't play for another AFL club, though I wouldn't begrudge him if he did.

RoosterLad said:

Would you guys be under the salary cap if that happened?

;)

WW just a feeling I have. I havent heard anything about Ben's future at this stage as it is far too early anyway. I would love to see him play at least one season with North, it was sensational to see him in the red and white in the reserves 2nd semi.

King Elvis: please name the clubs which have been caught for salary cap indescretions ;) ill give you a hint, North isnt one of them.

RoosterLad said:
WW just a feeling I have. I havent heard anything about Ben's future at this stage as it is far too early anyway. I would love to see him play at least one season with North, it was sensational to see him in the red and white in the reserves 2nd semi.

King Elvis: please name the clubs which have been caught for salary cap indescretions ;) ill give you a hint, North isnt one of them.
I just would not be surprised if he suited up for North ;)

RoosterLad said:
Well first i have to hope no other AFL clubs pick him up!
I don't think in a couple of weeks after his emotions subside that he'll prefer to stay in Sth Aust and North may just be perfect for him....in fact the AFC may encourage him

Yeah that is a good point. He wouldnt really want to move interstate after living in SA all his life, especially to somewhere like Melbourne and he will probably end up at a crap victorian club, infact they are all crap. He definitely doesnt deserve that.

RoosterLad said:
Yeah that is a good point. He wouldnt really want to move interstate after living in SA all his life, especially to somewhere like Melbourne and he will probably end up at a crap victorian club, infact they are all crap. He definitely doesnt deserve that.

Does that new veterans thing the SANFL will include in the Salary Cap include playing for either Crows or Power, provided you came from that club?

RoosterLad said:
I'm hoping the dust settles and Ben stays in SA. I would hate to see his reputation and standing tarnished by struggling to make a side in another State, at the age of 33.....that would be sad.....:(

I don’t have a problem with Ben Hart (or any other AFC player in the future) moving to a different club to finish there careers. If they decided that they can still offer something to a AFL club and can get a contract after there time with the AFC has ended so be it.

If they want to play a year or two with a different club to end there career I don’t have a problem wishing them well and cheering them on as I don’t care to much for the romantic side of the game where one player plays his entire career at one club.

I am more than likely the only person to admit this or have this point of view but I enjoyed watching the Washington Wizards when Michael Jordan came out of retirement and the year and a half Wayne Carey spend with us (didn’t like what we gave up for him).

In 10 year time no one will remember Wayne Carey as an Adelaide Crows player or Michael Jordan as a Washington Wizard but they will be remembered as a North Melbourne and Chicago Bulls great. Whatever team Ben Hart end’s up playing for (if it works out that way)everyone will remember his as a 2 time premiership player with the Adelaide Football Club.

crows98 said:
everyone will remember his as a 2 time premiership player with the Adelaide Football Club.
Unless he happens to go to a capable side and gets one or two there, St Kilda perhaps or Sydney, Richmond even. saints could do with a Benny Hart type in their back 6, could be the difference in fact.
I wonder how Carey would be remembered if he jagged a couple of flags while he was here?

Carey would have been remembered as an Adelaide hero who became the missing piece in our premiership jigsaw.

My bladder just exploded from laughter at you mentioning Richmond as a possible premiership side in the next year or two.