gocatsgo

Reading
I wasn't going to comment on this weeks practice games but I now feel compelled to after seeing the headline today. "Dockers fade to hand Cats victory"

NEWSFLASH ; GEELONG WON BY ALMOST 10 GOALS, In may opinion a 10 goal margin is not handing a team victory rather than being thrashed by a BETTER side.

Why are Geelong given absolutely no credit whenever they beat someone? The story was how the Dockers tried hard but in the end weren't good enough because of their lack of depth. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

Add to that, when they defeated Essendon is was all about Essendon injuries, not about how Geelong won.

Even when they lose, there seems to be no mention of Geelong - ie Port Power it was great for Port to win a tough game in Melbourne, Sydney - Sydney controlled the game early and held on to win in terrible condition by 13 points. etc etc

Now this has gone to far - If you are going to report about a match interstate in a Melbourne paper at least report about the team that the majority interested in the match would support.

The fact remains, the Dockers kicked with a four goal wind in the first quarter and still traied at quarter time, Geelong were 3 goals up at half time, they were still that margin ahead at 3qtr time and got out to a 68 point lead before winning by 56. Did you ever think that Geelong kicking with a 4 goal wind in the last quarter may have had something to do with the result?

Add to that, Geelong were without Hocking, Sholl, Kilpatrick, Murphy, Graham and Burns. A bit of credit where it is due please

[This message has been edited by gocatsgo (edited 11 March 2001).]

Originally posted by [*]Magpie_Guy20[*]:
They don't get any credits because they are all old and ready to retire and a poor contest for any team (except Freo)

Ah Magpie G.a.y
You lost to a team that only had 17 men on the field.
How bad are the Pies
rolleyes.gif

------------------
"Hey ,just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand"

[This message has been edited by JUBJUB (edited 11 March 2001).]

Originally posted by JUBJUB:
Ah Magpie G.a.y
You lost to a team that only had 17 men on the field.
How bad are the Pies
rolleyes.gif

They ended the game early you ******g ********ing fuker! Collingwood had that game in the bag. Pull your head out your arse!

JUB JUB Jub, not only are you a *******! You also dont know ya footy!

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Originally posted by gocatsgo:
I wasn't going to comment on this weeks practice games but I now feel compelled to after seeing the headline today. "Dockers fade to hand Cats victory"
(snips)
Now this has gone to far - If you are going to report about a match interstate in a Melbourne paper at least report about the team that the majority interested in the match would support.
(more snips)

Mic Cullen is a Richmond supporter who lives in Perth. He has recently started contributing match reports for AAP, which are then picked up by various media outlets, not just Melbourne newspapers.

Here is the article in question:
http://afl.com.au/news/story_214612.htm

Here is the report from the local WA newspaper, which does give some credit to Geelong, albeit from a WA point of view:
http://afl.com.au/news/story_214702.htm

Gocatsgo,

Geelong have been a middle of the road side for the last 3 years, so until the start to get back up the ladder again like they were in 1997, people will continue to dismiss such practice match results.

The addition of White nad Murphy adds a lot of class to your team, and you've got a good coach, and some very, very good young players. But it remains to be seen, whether the club has got the "overall class" on their playing list that can match it with the talent of Essendon, Carlton and perhaps even Brisbane on a consistent basis.

Originally posted by [*]Magpie_Guy20[*]:
They don't get any credits because they are all old and ready to retire and a poor contest for any team (except Freo)

HA HA HA HA. You've got to be joking. Your team are the laughing stock of the league. When someone mentions Collingwood we all laugh. You and your bogan mates and your whole club SUCK!!
When you learn to talk sense then come back to the board.

Yes, Dan we have been middle of the raod for 3 years, at least we made the finals in 2000.

But if a side like Collingwood win a game, then the media outlets start prasing every one at the club, until they all get big heads and the wheels fall off.

The fact remains after the Essendon win, nobody made mention of how Geelong played, all everyone was concerned with was Essendon's injury list and their supposed depth which wasn't firing.

Even when they lost to Port, nobody gave a stuff about how poorly Geelong played, the only thing they were concerned about was how Port were able to win in Melbourne and how they were so unlucky to lose Lade and Montgomery.

And Nick, you don't know who Geelong are, let me remind you, 6.8 v 1.7 at half time in round 12, in wet, slippery conditions, yet you somehow managed to earn defeat out of certain victory. 1999, Geelong have lost 9 YES 9 in a row and Collingwood lead at 3qtr time by 26 points, yet you somehow manage to lose that as well, need I say more!

goCatsgo,
Why worry about it ?? I think I would be happy for my team to quietly creep up on the pack without the fanfare, while you can watch collingwood fall flat in a blaze of media fueled disgrace. I personally think geelong, along with hawthorn will be big improvers this year- but thats just my opinion i spose.

A good mate of mine is a big cats fan and he waent along to the game at Freo oval, and said he was most impressed, especially considering the benching of a number of top players half way thru, while the youngsters came out and continued to demolish the dockers. Apparently Cameron Mooney & Clint Bizzel were particularly impressive, and the Cats coaching staff could be seen walking off getting drinks and snacks during play, so relaxed were they about the performance.

cheers.