Why is Queensland so conservative?

Fair point

Though the Libs were utterly destroyed by Labor at the state election
With a local boy as the prospective PM, that swing is rather meek. I'm not so sure the state voted that out of step with the rest of the country

More that it was expected Victoria would deliver the victory, despite any gains in QLD.
Monash boy as well, they seem to be pumping out the politicians.

Hasn't this actually proven that Victoria is actually the state out of step with the rest of the country?
I don't see how.

Sydney and Melbourne are home to over 40% of Australia's population. Victoria and NSW make nearly 60% of Australia's population. How the election panned out in terms of swings etc. weren't that different between the two.

Queensland is where we saw the big difference.

In terms of seats, Labor are somewhat disadvantaged. They traditionally poll respectably in Cairns/Rockhampton/Mackay/Gladstone/Bundaberg, but all of these regional centres are within seats that are outweighed by a larger, rural, anti-ALP vote. If the electorates were just a bit smaller, they'd have won a bigger proportion of seats over the years.

Wouldn't have made an ounce of difference yesterday, but I suppose you could argue it affects the type of people who get to craft ALP policy.

Nope

Queenslander North of Noosa have pretty simple needs from the alp, talk about jobs, then jobs in heavy industry and in mining.

As a secondary idea given qld is the retirement state don't take money off old folk.

The alp pitch in Qld was perceived as anti jobs and anti retirees.

Who ever ran and devised this campaign for the alp was a moron.

Wondering why the boomers of today, who voted for Joh for two decades are in favour of people like Morrison, Dutton, Palmer and Hanson?
Ehhh... the electoral environment in Queensland was so artificial during that time that I find it hard to read anything at all into the results. Joh lucked out impressively by implementing the Bjelkemander in 1972, then having Labor wiped off the map in 1974 as a reaction to Whitlam's unpopularity. He then had the freedom to set to work dismantling the Liberal Party.

I get the impression that the ALP's situation in the early '80s had got so dire that a lot of people had simply given up voting for them. They were seen as structurally unable to achieve government. Better to support the Liberals, because at least they might have a shot of influencing the Nationals in Coalition.

The more I read about the Bjelke-Petersen era, the more I realise how little the rest of Australia understood (or still understands, really) about what was going on in Queensland. It really was a genuine authoritarian police state, in a non-hyperbolic sense.

Wondering why the boomers of today, who voted for Joh for two decades are in favour of people like Morrison, Dutton, Palmer and Hanson?
Self-interest. A greedy and inward looking generation overall, with little care or regard for anyone else.

It shames me to be one of them.

The ultimate irony is that I care far more for the future of their kids and grandkids than they do.

Tell you one thing.

Queensland farmers can sit there looking at us as latte sippers - but theyve just had a hideous drought

Then voted for a party with policies that will make that scenario happen more often and be worse.

They wouldnt want to ask us latte sippers for help either - on your own.

Tell you one thing.

Queensland farmers can sit there looking at us as latte sippers - but theyve just had a hideous drought

Then voted for a party with policies that will make that scenario happen more often and be worse.

That's what rural Australia already knows Labor couldn't give a s**t about them.

Queensland may have a Labor state government, but when it comes to federal politics it remains conservative to the core.

It's been three decades since Sir Joh reigned supreme and his legacy seems to live on...

Last night there was only one state that mattered...

In Queensland the LNP experienced huge swings... 10.7% in Capricornia... 11.3% in Dawson...

Within days of becoming PM Scomo visited drought-stricken parts of Queensland...

People laughed at him when he took the Scomo bus around Queensland in November... but it was a masterstroke...

Queenslanders were luke-warm to a left-leaning liberal leading the party but have embraced the conservative Scomo with open arms and a big thumbs up.

View attachment 676808
The City people from Brisbane mostly recognise that the country folk are important as well. They respect and value their views and opinions.

That's what rural Australia already knows Labor couldn't give a **** about them.
Absolutely true.

Neither does liberal and neither does the party thats supposed to represent them - the nationals - who are bought and paid for by coal oil and gas.

They are rightfully skeptical of the greens as despite being natural allies in theory - the greens are too knee jerk and could instigate a policy that sends them broke without thinking first and ameliorating that policy so it doesnt ruin people.

I think its time for a centrist country party. With moderate economic policy and greener credentials - against fraccing and pro mmcc minimisation policies.

Reckon you would clean up with the farmers as they are painted into a corner

They aren't conservative they just have better ********e detectors. Well except for the Mexican invasion.

Really they are old school Labor jobs, mines, power, heavy industry agriculture. Don't like handouts and latte sippers.
My golfing mate who works for Aurizon and is a union man wouldn’t vote for Labor. He voted informal because closing and not expanding coal mines will cost him his job.

I think its time for a centrist country party. With moderate economic policy and greener credentials - against fraccing and pro mmcc minimisation policies.
IMO terms like 'centrist' don't make a lot of sense when you talk about rural and regional politics, where the divide is far more city vs country than left vs right. If you do want to talk in two dimensions, the country is very much conservative - just take a look at the VoteCompass results by postcode.:

https://public.flourish.studio/stor...ight=600&abcnewsembedheightmobile=500#slide-6

The thing that city people often have trouble getting their head around is that all the 'normal' assumptions break down in the country. Being in favour of agrarian socialism doesn't mean you're not socially conservative, but being socially conservative doesn't mean that you don't oppose fracking, but opposing fracking doesn't mean you're against mining, but not being against mining doesn't mean you don't favour better water management, but favouring better water management doesn't mean you support city people telling you how to do it.

The problem that country people have with the Nationals isn't that they're too old fashioned and conservative. It's that they're not an effective rural advocate. That's why so much of the vote is going to the SFF and One Nation. Yeah, they have some wacky policies that a lot of country people don't support - but they're also the only parties standing up for them on the issues they DO care about.

Craven Morehead could probably speak more eloquently than I can.

IMO terms like 'centrist' don't make a lot of sense when you talk about rural and regional politics, where the divide is far more city vs country than left vs right. If you do want to talk in two dimensions, the country is very much conservative - just take a look at the VoteCompass results by postcode.:

https://public.flourish.studio/stor...ight=600&abcnewsembedheightmobile=500#slide-6

The thing that city people often have trouble getting their head around is that all the 'normal' assumptions break down in the country. Being in favour of agrarian socialism doesn't mean you're not socially conservative, but being socially conservative doesn't mean that you don't oppose fracking, but opposing fracking doesn't mean you're against mining, but not being against mining doesn't mean you don't favour better water management, but favouring better water management doesn't mean you support city people telling you how to do it.

The problem that country people have with the Nationals isn't that they're too old fashioned and conservative. It's that they're not an effective rural advocate. That's why so much of the vote is going to the SFF and One Nation. Yeah, they have some wacky policies that a lot of country people don't support - but they're also the only parties standing up for them on the issues they DO care about.

When i say say centrist i mean economically

I live in country wa - our region constantly polls around 92% against fraccing. We have one watersource - underground bore - not the greatest water to start with - very calcified. No rivers or dams. The rivers that 50 years ago were 30m deep and full all year round flood every other year for a few weeks. NO IDEA WHAT COULD POSSIBLY HAVE HAPPENED THERE?????? ANYONE???

They plan on fraccing near that watersource and using the watersource for the gigalitres that fraccing uses.

What could go wrong huh?

We literally have nothing whatsoever as a back up if that source is contaminated.

Our representative is melissa “the” price “is right”

Who didnt even bother campaigning - the 6th most right wing electorate in australia.

She could do tv ads just bending over, spreading her arse cheeks and farting at the camera and be elected - and prob get even more of a majority for the lols.

State labor got in power recently - and almost immediately cancelled royalties for regions - which finally allowed the country to have a few of the nice things the city has - replaced 150 year old crumbling town halls etc. telling us theres no money at the same time as announcing a billion dollars worth of nice things in the city.

The greens would kill live animal export overnight if they had the leverage - which federal labor looked like doing anyway.

There was nowhere for them to vote that had a good outcome for them. Noone that represents them.

Libs / nats = fracking
Labor = killing live export and spending all the coin in the city
Greens = too radical and also city focussed.

Im pretty proud to say less of us fell for phon and clive custardguts than elsewhere.

Queensland does not have the concentration of demographics that allows Labor to consistently win a large chunk of the vote.

* Less concentrated heavy industry, and where there is 'industry' it's increasing Coalition-friendly (e.g. coal mining).
* Less ethnic diversity.
* Less of what might be called the 'inner city Green' demographic.

In NSW for example, even if Labor has a poor result, there's enough of these demographics to prop them up and give an 'okay' result. The Hunter, Wollongong, inner city Sydney, and the ethnically heavy south-western suburbs will always come through for them.

Queensland has Griffith (inner city trendy), Rankin and Oxley (poor working class), and to a lesser extent Moreton (ethnic diversity) as their only real 'safe' sets in Queensland.

State government is much more about administration and competence than hardcore ideology, so the state comparisons aren't really valid.

Tell you one thing.

That's quite a mysterious thing to say when you consider what you said below.
I'd ask what option there was other than to vote conservative, ON or UAP?

When i say say centrist i mean economically

I live in country wa - our region constantly polls around 92% against fraccing. We have one watersource - underground bore - not the greatest water to start with - very calcified. No rivers or dams. The rivers that 50 years ago were 30m deep and full all year round flood every other year for a few weeks. NO IDEA WHAT COULD POSSIBLY HAVE HAPPENED THERE?????? ANYONE???

They plan on fraccing near that watersource and using the watersource for the gigalitres that fraccing uses.

What could go wrong huh?

We literally have nothing whatsoever as a back up if that source is contaminated.

Our representative is melissa “the” price “is right”

Who didnt even bother campaigning - the 6th most right wing electorate in australia.

She could do tv ads just bending over, spreading her arse cheeks and farting at the camera and be elected - and prob get even more of a majority for the lols.

State labor got in power recently - and almost immediately cancelled royalties for regions - which finally allowed the country to have a few of the nice things the city has - replaced 150 year old crumbling town halls etc. telling us theres no money at the same time as announcing a billion dollars worth of nice things in the city.

The greens would kill live animal export overnight if they had the leverage - which federal labor looked like doing anyway.

There was nowhere for them to vote that had a good outcome for them. Noone that represents them.

Libs / nats = fracking
Labor = killing live export and spending all the coin in the city
Greens = too radical and also city focussed.

Im pretty proud to say less of us fell for phon and clive custardguts than elsewhere.

I would respectfully ask WHICH rivers were flowing at 30 metres deep, all year round, which aren't now?

Actually, I couldn't.
Bloody good post and right on the money.

Had a friend tell me that when he was on boothing all day on Election Day, not one Indian person took a labor how to vote card

I've always thought that we should have thrown the Battle of the Coral Sea, and let the Japanese take Queensland.

Good riddance.
The Brisbane line is alive and well!
And people wonder why Qld'ers are so parochial.

That's what rural Australia already knows Labor couldn't give a **** about them.
Yep and over here in the West the Libs are on target for 12 seats to Labors 4. Why is it always Qld and WA left to save the country from its own stupidity? Iron Ore prices are at a 5 year high do we are on target to save the economy too. Dont mention it.

Not for me, I love Victoria, best State in Australia. (Tassie next best for mine).

Fantastic for sport, shopping, plenty of parks and great restaurants.
The problem with Victoria is its full of Victorians. People with no awareness that outside the city limits is a great proud land and people called Australia.